




 3 

Date of Service Provider Amount 
/18  $4.95 

Total  $4.95 
(Exhibit 1) 

 
10. The Appellant’s net spenddown amount was reduced to $650.97. The 

Department rejected the Details of Your Plans because it appeared that the 
document was a purchase/loan document. (Exhibit 1) 
 

11. On , 2018, the Department rejected a summary of account activity. 
The verification was deemed unacceptable because it was not an actual bill. 
(Exhibit 1: Exhibit 5: Notice of Unusable Spenddown Expense, /18) 

 
12. On  2018, the Department applied the following bill toward the 

Appellant’s spenddown: 
 

Date of Service Provider Amount 
/18 & /18  $5.85 

Total  $5.85 
(Exhibit 1) 

 
13. The Appellant’s spenddown was reduced to $650.09. The Department 

rejected the Appellant’s hearing aid expense. The Department determined 
that it was paid in a prior period. (Exhibit 1) 
 

14. The  bills dated  2018 for $4.95 and  and  
 2018 for $5.85 are not listed on the MA-Spenddown Override-Details 

which catalogues which bills were used and which bills were not used to 
activate a spenddown. (Exhibit 2: MA-Spenddown-Override-Details) 
 

15. On  2018, the Department sent the Appellant a notice advising 
her that the bills submitted could not be used toward meeting her spenddown. 
The bills included $527.00 for a health insurance premium and $300.00 for 
hearing aids. (Exhibit 6: Notice un Unusable Spenddown Expenses) 

 
16. The Appellant did not submit a $527.00 health insurance bill for the 

spenddown. (Representative’s Testimony) 
 

17. The Appellant’s Representative was previously informed by the Department 
that the $3,800.00 bill for the Appellant’s hearing aids was used to activate 
her spenddown in  2017. (Representative’s Testimony) 

 
18. The Department does not know if the cost of the Appellant’s hearing aids 

were used for the previous spenddown periods. (Department’s Testimony) 
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19. The issuance of this decision is timely under Connecticut General Statutes 
17b-61(a), which requires that a decision be issued within 90 days of the 
request for an administrative hearing.  The Appellant requested an 
administrative hearing on  2018.  Therefore, this decision is due 
not later than , 2019. 
 

 
CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 

 
1. Section 17b-2 of the Connecticut General Statutes authorizes the 

Commissioner of the Department of Social Services to administer the Medicaid 
program. 

 
2. Uniform Policy Manual (“UPM”) § 2540.01(A) provides that in order to qualify for 

medical assistance, an individual just meet the conditions of at least one 
coverage group. 

 
3. UPM § 5500.01 provides that a needs group is the group of persons 

comprising the assistance unit and certain other persons whose basic needs 
are added to the total needs of the assistance unit members when 
determining the income eligibility of the assistance unit. 

 
4. UPM § 5515.05(C)(2) (a)(b) provides in part that the needs group for Medical 

Assistance for the Aged, Blind and Disabled (“MAABD”) unit includes the 
applicant or recipient and the spouse of the applicant or recipient when they 
share the same home regardless of whether one or both are applying for or 
receiving assistance, except in cases involving working individuals with 
disabilities.  

 
5. UPM § 2015.05(A) provides that the assistance unit in Assistance to the 

Aged, Blind or Disabled (“AABD”) and MAABD consists of only one member. 
In these programs, each individual is a separate assistance unit.  

 
6. The Department correctly determined that the Appellant is in a needs group of 

one persons and an assistance unit of one member.  
 

7. UPM § 5050.13(A)(1) provides that income from Social Security is treated as 
unearned income for all programs. 

 
8. The Department correctly determined the Appellant’s total gross monthly 

income equals $1,017.00. 
 

9. UPM § 5050.13(A)(2) provides that Social Security income is subject to 
unearned income disregards in the Aid to the Aged, Blind, and Disabled 
(“AABD”) and Medicaid for the Aid to the Aged, Blind, and Disabled (“MAABD”) 
programs. 
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10. UPM § 5030.15(A) provides that except as provided in section 5030.15 D., 

unearned income disregards are subtracted from the unit member's total 
gross monthly unearned income. 

 
11. UPM § 5030.15(B)(1)(a) provides that the standard disregard is $227.00 for 

those individuals who reside in their own homes in the community or who live 
as roomers in the homes of others and those who reside in long term care 
facilities, shelters for the homeless or battered women shelters. Effective 
January 1, 2008, and each January 1st thereafter, this disregard shall be 
increased to reflect the annual cost of living adjustment used by the Social 
Security Administration. The current disregard is $339.00 for those individuals 
who reside in their own homes in the community. 

 
12. The Department correctly determined the Appellant eligible for the $339.00 

standard disregard. 
 

13. The Department was correct when it determined that the appellant’s applied 
unearned income was $678.00 ($1,017.00 - $339.00 = $678.00) 

 
14. UPM § 5045.10(E) provides that the assistance unit’s total applied income is 

the sum of the units applied earnings, applied unearned income and the 
amount deemed.  

 
15. The Department correctly calculated the Appellant’s total applied unearned 

income equaled $678.00. 
 
16. UPM § 5520.20(B)(1) provides that a six month period for which eligibility will 

be determined is established to include the month of application and the five 
consecutive calendar months which follow. 

 
17. The Department correctly calculated the Appellant’s six month period of 

eligibility as  2018, through  2019. 
 

18. UPM § 4530.15(A) pertains to the medical assistance standards. It provides 
that a uniform set of income standards is established for all assistance units 
who do not qualify as categorically needy.  It further states that the Medically 
Needy Income Limit (“MNIL”) of an assistance unit varies according to the 
size of the assistance unit and the region of the state in which the assistance 
unit resides. 

 
19. UPM § 4530.15(B) provides that the MNIL is the amount equivalent to 143 

percent of the benefit amount that ordinarily would be paid under the AFDC 
program to an assistance unit of the same size with no income for the 
appropriate region of residence. 
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20. UPM § 4510.10(B) provides that  is part of  
 

21. The Department correctly determined that the Appellant resides in  
 
22. The monthly Temporary Family Assistance grant for one person residing in 

 is $366.00. 
   

23. The MNIL for one person residing in region B is $696.41 ($366.00 X 143% = 
$523.38). 

 
24. The Department correctly determined that the MNIL for a needs group of one 

is $523.38. 
  

25. UPM § 5520.25(B) provides that when the amount of the assistance unit’s 
monthly income exceeds the MNIL, income eligibility for the medically needy 
assistance unit does not occur until the amount of excess income is offset by 
medical expenses.  This process of offsetting is referred to as a spend-down. 

 
26. The Appellant’s applied income exceeds the MNIL by $154.62 ($678.00 

applied income - $523.38 MNIL = $154.62) 
 

27. The Department correctly determined that during the six month period from 
 2018 through  2019, the Appellant’s applied income 

exceeds the MNIL by $927.72 ($154.62 x 6 = $927.72) 
 

28. UPM § 5520.25(B) provides for the use of medical expenses under a spend-
down. 

 
1. Medical expenses are used for a spend-down if they meet the following 
      conditions: 

a. the expenses must be incurred by a person whose income is used to 
determine eligibility; 

b. any portion of an expense used for a spend-down must not be payable 
through third party coverage unless the third party is a public 
assistance program totally financed by the State of Connecticut or by 
a political subdivision of the State; 

c. there must be current liability for the incurred expenses, either directly 
to the provider(s) or to a lender for a loan used to pay the provider(s), 
on the part of the needs group members; 

d. the expenses may not have been used for a previous spend-down in 
which their use resulted in eligibility for the assistance unit. 

2.  The unpaid principal balance which occurs or exists during the spend- 
       down period for loans used to pay for medical expense incurred before or  
       during the spend-down period, is used provided that: 

a.  the loan proceeds were actually paid to the provider; and 
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32. The Department has not provided evidence that the credit account payments 

are unusable expenses.  
 
 

DISCUSSION 
 

The Appellant has had previous spenddown periods dating back to at least 
 2017, the month in which she incurred the bill her hearing aids. She 

opened a HealthPlan credit account to pay for the $3,800.00 expense. Policy 
states that the unpaid balance for loans used to pay for a medical bill may be 
applied toward the spenddown if it was not applied toward a previous spenddown 
which resulted in eligibility for the program. It is unknown if that bill or any part of 
it was used to activate her spenddown in 2017 or any other 
spenddown period after that. The Department did not provide evidence that this 
was the case. Further research by the Department will be necessary. 
 
In addition, it does not appear that the Appellant’s spenddown was reduced by 
the $4.95 and $5.85 bills that she provided.   

 
DECISION 

 
 The Appellant's appeal is GRANTED. 
 

ORDER 
 

1. The Department shall apply the  bills toward the Appellant’s 
spenddown. 
 

2. The Department shall review the Appellant’s HealthPlan payments to 
verify if any part of that medical expense can be used toward her 
spenddown. 
 

3. Compliance with this order shall be submitted to the undersigned by 
, 2019. 

 
 

                                                
                                              ______________________ 

                  Carla Hardy  
                                    Hearing Officer 

 
 
 
 
Pc: Tricia Morelli, Department of Social Services, Manchester 
      Javier Rivera, Department of Social Services, Manchester 
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RIGHT TO REQUEST RECONSIDERATION 
 
The appellant has the right to file a written reconsideration request within 15 
days of the mailing date of the decision on the grounds there was an error of fact 
or law, new evidence has been discovered or other good cause exists.  If the 
request for reconsideration is granted, the appellant will be notified within 25 
days of the request date.  No response within 25 days means that the request for 
reconsideration has been denied.  The right to request a reconsideration is 
based on §4-181a (a) of the Connecticut General Statutes. 
 
Reconsideration requests should include specific grounds for the request:  for 
example, indicate what error of fact or law, what new evidence, or what other 
good cause exists. 
 
Reconsideration requests should be sent to: Department of Social Services, 
Director, Office of Administrative Hearings and Appeals, 55 Farmington Avenue, 
Hartford, CT  06105. 
 
 

RIGHT TO APPEAL 
 
The appellant has the right to appeal this decision to Superior Court within 45 
days of the mailing of this decision, or 45 days after the agency denies a petition 
for reconsideration of this decision, provided that the petition for 
reconsideration was filed timely with the Department.  The right to appeal is 
based on §4-183 of the Connecticut General Statutes.  To appeal, a petition 
must be filed at Superior Court.  A copy of the petition must be served upon the 
Office of the Attorney General, 55 Elm Street, Hartford, CT  06106 or the 
Commissioner of the Department of Social Services, 55 Farmington Avenue, 
Hartford, CT 06105.  A copy of the petition must also be served on all parties to 
the hearing. 
 
The 45 day appeal period may be extended in certain instances if there is good 
cause.  The extension request must be filed with the Commissioner of the 
Department of Social Services in writing no later than 90 days from the mailing of 
the decision.  Good cause circumstances are evaluated by the Commissioner or 
the Commissioner’s designee in accordance with §17b-61 of the Connecticut 
General Statutes.  The Agency's decision to grant an extension is final and is not 
subject to review or appeal. 
 
The appeal should be filed with the clerk of the Superior Court in the Judicial 
District of New Britain or the Judicial District in which the appellant resides. 

 




