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PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND 

 
On  2017, the Department of Social Services (the “Department”) sent  

 (the “Appellant”) a notice of action discontinuing his Medicaid for the 
Employed Disabled (“S05”) benefit effective /17 because he did not make the 
required premium payments.  
 
On  2017, the Appellant requested an administrative hearing to appeal the 
Department’s determination the Appellant had an overdue S05 premium amount.   
 
On  2017, the Office of Legal Counsel, Regulations, and Administrative 
Hearings (“OLCRAH”) issued a notice scheduling the administrative hearing for         

 2017.  
 
On  2017, OLCRAH, at the Appellant’s request, rescheduled the administrative 
hearing for  2017.   
 
On  2017, OLCRAH, at the Appellant’s request, rescheduled the administrative 
hearing for  2017.   
 
On  2017, in accordance with sections 17b-60, 17b-61, and 4-176e to 4-189, 
inclusive, of the Connecticut General Statutes, OLCRAH held an administrative hearing.   
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The following individuals were present at the hearing:   
 

 the Appellant 
Joseph Alexander, Department’s Representative 
Jessica Gulianello, Department’s Representative 
Christopher Turner, Hearing Officer 
 

STATEMENT OF THE ISSUE 
 
The issue to be decided is whether the Department is correct in its determination the 
Appellant has an overdue S05 premium.  
 

 FINDINGS OF FACT 
 

1. The Appellant is a recipient of Medicaid benefits under the Employed Disabled 
(“S05”) program. (Hearing summary, Testimony)  
 

2. The Appellant’s earnings as budgeted by the Department are $5,973.00 per month. 
(Exhibit 1: Notice dated /17) 
 

3. For the period of  2016 through  2017, the Appellant’s S05 
premium was $220.80. (Exhibit 4: Benefit History receipts; Exhibit 5: Medical 
Premium spreadsheet)  

 
4. For the period of  2017 through  2017, the Appellant’s S05 premium was 

$217.30. (Exhibit 4; Exhibit 5) 
 

5. On  2017, the Department sent the Appellant a Notice of Discontinuance. 
The notice indicated, “You did not make your premium payment by the due date. 
You will be ineligible until any past due amount is paid in full.” (Exhibit 1: Notice 
dated /17) 

 
6. The Appellant’s monthly premium charges and payments are as follows: 
             

Benefit Month Premium 
Amount 

Payment 
Amount 

Balance 

 2016 $  21.38 $  42.76 ($64.57) cr. 

 2016 $220.80  $156.23 

 2016 $220.80 $242.18 $134.85 

 2016 $220.80  $355.65 

 2016 $220.80 $199.42 $377.03 

 2016 $220.80 $442.00 $155.83 

 2016 $220.80  $376.63 

 2016 $220.80  $597.43 

 2016 $220.80 $662.40 $155.83 

 2016 $220.80  $376.63  

-
1111 

1111 

-
-

-
-



 3 

 2016 $220.80  $597.43 

 2016 $220.80 $220.80 $597.43 

 2017 $220.80 $600.00 $217.79 

 2017 $220.80  $438.09 

 2017 $217.30 $217.00 $438.09 

 2017 $217.30  $655.69 

 2017 $217.30 $478.76 $394.23 

    (Exhibit 4: Benefit History receipts; Exhibit 5: Medical Premium spreadsheet) 
 

7. The Appellant testified he considers the amount of premiums he paid to be correct. 
(Appellant’s testimony) 

 
8. As of  2017, the Appellant has an overdue premium amount of $394.23.    

  
CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 

 
1. Section 17b-2 and § 17b-260 of the Connecticut General Statutes, authorizes the 

Department of Social Services to administer the Medicaid program pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. 

 
2. Connecticut General Statues § 17b-597(a) authorizes the Department of Social 

Services to establish and implement a working persons with disabilities program to 
provide medical assistance as authorized under 42 USC 1396a(a)(10)(A)(ii), as 
amended from time to time, to persons who are disabled and regularly employed.  

 
3. Uniform Policy Manual (“UPM”) § 2540.85 provides there are two distinct groups of 

employed individuals between the ages of 18 and 64 inclusive who have a medically 
certified disability or blindness and who qualify for Medicaid as working individuals with 
disabilities. These groups are the Basic Insurance Group and the Medically Improved 
Group. There is a third group of employed individuals consisting of persons at least 18 
years of age who have a medically certified disability or blindness who also qualify for 
Medicaid as working individuals with disabilities. This is the Balanced Budget Act 
Group. Persons in this third group may be age 65 or older. 

 
UPM § 2540.85(A) provides for the Basic Insurance Group. An individual in this 
group, which is authorized under the Ticket to Work and Work Incentives Improvement 
Act of 1999 (TWWIIA), is subject to the conditions described below. 1. An individual in 
this group must be engaged in a substantial and reasonable work effort to meet the 
employment criterion. (a) Such effort consists of an activity for which the individual 
receives cash remuneration and receives pay stubs from his or her employer. 
 
UPM § 2540.85(A)(4) provides the individual may be required to pay the Department 
a monthly premium for medical coverage if the gross monthly counted income of the 
individual and spouse (minus Impairment-Related Work Expenses described at UPM 
5035.10 C) exceeds 200% of the federal poverty level (FPL) for the appropriate family 
size, including dependent children living in the home. 
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The Department correctly determined the Appellant is eligible for the Basic 
Insurance Group as he is working and receives pay stubs from his employer. 
 
The Department correctly determined the Appellant is required to pay the 
Department a monthly premium due to his earned income.  

  
The Department was correct in its determination the Appellant has an overdue 
S05 premium of $394.23 as of  2017. 
 

 
DECISION 

 
      The Appellant’s appeal is denied.         
 
                                                           
 
 

            __________________ 
               Christopher Turner 

                             Hearing Officer 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  
Cc:  Fred Presnick, Operations Manager, Bridgeport DSS 
        Yecenia Acosta, Social Services Program Manager, Bridgeport DSS  
       Joseph Alexander, Fair Hearing Liaison, Bridgeport DSS 
       Jessica Gulianello, Fair Hearing Liaison, Bridgeport DSS 
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 RIGHT TO REQUEST RECONSIDERATION 
 
The appellant has the right to file a written reconsideration request within 15 days of 
the mailing date of the decision on the grounds there was an error of fact, law, and new 
evidence has been discovered, or other good cause exists. If the request for 
reconsideration is granted, the appellant will be notified within 25 days of the request 
date. No response within 25 days means that the request for reconsideration has been 
denied. The right to request a reconsideration is based on §4-181a (a) of the 
Connecticut General Statutes. 
 
Reconsideration requests should include specific grounds for the request: for example, 
indicate what error of fact or law, what new evidence, or what other good cause exists. 
 
Reconsideration requests should be sent to: Department of Social Services, Director, 
Office of Legal Counsel, Regulations, and Administrative Hearings, 55 Farmington 
Avenue, Hartford, CT  06105. 
 

RIGHT TO APPEAL 
 
The appellant has the right to appeal this decision to Superior Court within 45 days of 
the mailing of this decision, or 45 days after the agency denies a petition for 
reconsideration of this decision, if the petition for reconsideration was filed timely with 
the Department. The right to appeal is based on §4-183 of the Connecticut General 
Statutes. To appeal, a petition must be filed at Superior Court. A copy of the petition 
must be served upon the Office of the Attorney General, 55 Elm Street, Hartford, 
CT  06106, or the Commissioner of the Department of Social Services, 55 Farmington 
Avenue, Hartford, CT 06105. A copy of the petition must also be served on all parties to 
the hearing. 
 
 
The 45-day appeal period may be extended in certain instances if there is good cause.  
The extension request must be filed with the Commissioner of the Department of Social 
Services in writing no later than 90 days from the mailing of the decision. Good cause 
circumstances are evaluated by the Commissioner or his designee in accordance with 
§17b-61 of the Connecticut General Statutes. The Agency's decision to grant an 
extension is final and is not subject to review or appeal. 
 
The appeal should be filed with the clerk of the Superior Court in the Judicial District of 
New Britain or the Judicial District in which the appellant resides. 

 
 




