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PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND 

ehabilitation Center, (the "Facility'' , which is a 
perated facility, issued a 30 Day Discharge Notice to 

(the "Appellant") indicating its intent to involuntarily discharge the Appellant on 
2017 because the health or safety of the individuals in the Facility is endangere 
Appellant's actions. 

On- 2017, the Appellant requested an administrative hearing to contest the Facility's 
proposed discharge. 

On- 2017, the Office of Legal Counsel, Regulations, and Administrative Hea~ 
,tO~') issued a notice scheduling an administrative hearing at the Facility for 11111 
I 2017. 

On- 2017, in accordance with Connecticut General Statutes, sections19a-535 and 
4-1-ffleto 4-184, inclusive, OLCRAH held an administrative hearing to address the 
Facility's intent to discharge the Appellant. The following individuals were present at the 
hearing: 

Appellant 
ellant's Witness and Sister 
Administrator, 

Connecticut (the ''the Facility") 
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Amanda Otto, Facility Social Worker 
- • Director of Nursing Services for the Facility 
~onado, LCSW, Facility Corporate Office, Hartford, Connecticut 
Sybil, Hearing Officer 

The hearing record remained open to allow the submission of additional information by the 
Appellant's sister and the Facility. On - the record closed. 

STATEMENT OF THE ISSUE 

The issue is whether the Facility acted in accordance with state law when it proposed to 
involuntary discharge the Appellant from the Facility. 

FINDINGS OF FACT 

1. The Appellant is a 54 year old (DOB - /62) individual. (Exhibit 2) 

2. nt was admitted to the Facility from -
Connecticut. (Exhibit 6: Admission /~ 

3. During the period of- 2016 through - 2016, the Appellant was admitted 
and discharged fromTeracility several ti~hibit 6) 

4. On 2016, the Facility provided the Appellant a copy of their safety and 
visitation policies which covered drug use, smoking, visitation and room search. The 
Appellant signed the safety contract. (Exhibit 7: - Resident 
Policy, Exhibit 8: Safety Contract,. /17, Exhibit 32: ~ 

5. As a condition of the Ap ellant's admission into the Facility he agreed to meet with a 
representative from the to discuss substance abuse treatment. 
(Administrator's Testimony, x 1 1 : ocIa Service Progress Notes) 

6. The Appellant met with the representative from 
services. (Administrator's Testimony, Exhibit 

and declined their 

7. On - 2016, the Appellant was observed by a Facility staff member 
smokinginanen-smoking area while using his oxygen tank. (Administrator's 
Testimony, Exhibit 10, Exhibit 32) 

8. On - 2016, the Appellant was observed by facility staff meeting someone 
in avaiiiiitriei=acility parking lot. The van left the premises when the Nursing 
Supervisor approached the vehicle. The administrator met with the Appellant to 
discuss visitation policy. (Exhibit 10, Exhibit 32) 
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9. On 
of 180 days 
Connecticut. 
PASRR) 

2016, the Appellant was readmitted to the Facility for short-term care 
after a 27 day stay at - Hospital in -

(Appellant's Testimony, ~otice of Actio~ 

10. The Appellant was admitted to the Facility with a diagnosis of anxiety disorder, chronic 
kidne disease, chronic obstructive pulmonary disease ("COPD"), Endocarditis, -

, pulmonary embolism. The Appellant required physTcal 
erapy, respira ory erapy, medication administration and hands on assistance with 

activities of daily living ("AOL's" (Exhibit 2, Exhibit 4: PASRR Summary of Findings) 

13. On - 2017, the Administrator filed another p 
Poli~ment because the Facili staff found a 
Appellant's doorway and he 
Report,. /17, Exhibit 32 

n 
In e 

(Exhibit 21: Police 

14. On - 2017, the Facility administrator met with the Appellant to discuss drug 
use ~ ility. The Appellant denied any (Exhibit 32) 

15. The Appellant had repeated visits from an unauthorized visitor who would not sign in 
upon entry into the Facility. (Administrator's Testimony) 

16. On - 2017, the Appellant was found unres onsive in his room. EMT services 
werecaffecr and the Apf:>ellant was treated with prior to 
being transported to - ospI a or a 1 Iona reatment. 
(Administrator's Testimo~ nt Care Report-Campion Ambulance 
Service, lnc .• /17, Exhibit 32) 

17. On - 2017, the Administrator met with the Appellant, his sister and a 
represeiitativ'e from to discuss the Appellant's readmission to the 
Facility. (Exhibit 32 

the Appellant was readmitted to the Facility from -
after a nine-day hospitalization. (Appellant's Testimony, 

Administrator's Testimony, Exhibit 32) 
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19. On  2017, the Appellant as cited for a violation of the Facility smoking policy 
when a staff member found a lighter and a broken cigarette in the Appellant’s room 
next to his belongings.  The items were turned over to the Administrator.      (Exhibit 25: 
Written Statement from , /17) 

 
20. The Appellant acknowledged he knew the lighter was in his jacket pocket but intended 

turn the items over to the Facility staff.      (Appellant’s Testimony, Exhibit 23: Written 
Statement from , Director of Social Services, /17) 

 
21. On  2017, the Facility issued a Notice of Discharge to the Appellant, indicating 

that he would be discharged to a local motel because the health or safety of individuals 
in the Facility was endangered due to his actions and he no longer needed the 
services of a skilled facility. (Exhibit 1: Notice of Discharge dated /17) 
   

22. On  2017, the Appellant requested an administrative hearing to contest the 
Facility’s intent to discharge him to a local motel in  Connecticut. (Hearing 
Record) 

 
23. The Appellant does not have a serious mental illness and is not a danger to self or 

others.     (Exhibit 4, Exhibit 14:  Psychiatric Diagnostic Consultation, /17, Exhibit 
15: Behavioral Health Follow-Up: /17) 
 

24.  The Appellant is independent with all his activities of daily living (ADL’s). (Exhibit 11: 
ADL Flow Record) 

 
25. The Appellant frequently leaves the Facility and is able to ambulate without difficulty or 

signs of pain.   (Exhibit 33:  Discharge Plan) 
 

26.  On  2017, Appellant was successfully discharged from his physical therapy 
sessions at the Facility.     (Exhibit 5: Physical Therapy Discharge Summary, /17, 
Exhibit 32) 

 
27. On  2017, the Appellant was successfully reached his goals set by the 

pulmonary rehabilitation program.     (Exhibit 12: Respiratory Therapist Progress Notes, 
/17) 

 
28. On  2017, the Facility staff nurse, , APRN, prepared a report that 

the Appellant was fit and healthy for the community and the Facility could consider 
discharge with support services.     (Exhibit 33) 

 
29.  The Facility has arranged appropriate support services for the Appellant effective upon 

his discharge. (Exhibit 33) 
 

30.  The Appellant is working with Money Follows the Person program (“MFP”) and has 
been approved for services. (Administrator’s Testimony, Exhibit 10, Exhibit 31) 

 

- -
-- -- -

- -

- --
■ -
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31.  The Appellant states he is prepared to live in the community if discharged to the 
proper setting with appropriate support services. (Appellant’s testimony) 

 
32.  As of the date of the hearing, the Appellant is waiting for a suitable apartment setting 

within the  community. (Appellant’s testimony, Facility Social Worker’s 
Testimony)  

  
 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 
      
1. Connecticut General Statutes (“Conn. Gen. Stat.”)Section 19a-535(h)(1) authorizes 

the Commissioner of Social Services or the commissioner’s designee to hold a 
hearing to determine whether a transfer or discharge is being affected in accordance 
with this section.           
  

2. Section 19a-535(a)(4) of the Conn. Gen. Stat. provides “discharge” means the 
movement of a resident from a facility to a non-institutional setting. 
 

3. Section 19a-535 (b) of the Conn. Gen. Stat. provides that a facility shall not transfer 
or discharge a resident from the Facility except to meet the welfare of the resident 
which cannot be met in the Facility, or unless the resident no longer needs the 
services of the Facility due to improved health, the Facility is required to transfer 
the resident pursuant to section 17b-359 or section 17b-360, or the health or 
safety of individuals in the Facility is endangered, or in the case of a self-pay 
resident, for the resident’s nonpayment or arrearage of more than fifteen days of 
the per diem facility room rate, or the Facility ceases to operate. In each case, a 
physician shall document the basis for transfer or discharge in the resident’s medical 
record. In each case where the welfare, health or safety of the resident is 
concerned the documentation shall be by the resident’s physician. A facility which is 
part of a continuing care facility which guarantees life care for its residents may 
transfer or discharge (1) a self-pay resident who is a member of the continuing care 
community and who has intentionally transferred assets in a sum which will render 
the resident unable to pay the costs of facility care in accordance with the contract 
between the resident and the Facility, or (2) a self-pay resident who is not a member 
of the continuing care community and who has intentionally transferred assets in a 
sum which will render the resident unable to pay the costs of a total of forty-two 
months of facility care from the date of initial admission to the Facility. 

 
4. Section 19a-535(c)(1) of the Conn. Gen. Stat. provides that before effecting any 

transfer or discharge of a resident from the Facility, the Facility shall notify, in 
writing, the resident and the resident’s guardian or conservator, if any, or legally 
liable relative or other responsible party if know, of the proposed transfer or 
discharge, the reasons therefore, the effective date of the proposed transfer or 
discharge, the location to which the resident is to be transferred or discharged, 
the right to appeal the proposed transfer or discharge and the procedures for 
initiating such an appeal as determined by the Department of Social Services, the 

-
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date by which an appeal must be initiated in order to preserve the resident’s right to 
an appeal hearing and the date by which an appeal must be initiated in order to 
stay the proposed transfer or discharge and the possibility of an exception to the 
date by which an appeal must be initiated in order to stay the proposed transfer  or 
discharge for good cause, that the resident may represent himself or herself or be 
represented by legal counsel, a relative, a friend or other spokesperson, and 
information as to bed hold and nursing home readmission policy when required in 
accordance  with  section 19a-537. The notice shall also include the name, 
mailing address, and telephone number of the State Long-Term Care Ombudsman. 
If the resident is, or the Facility alleges a resident is, mentally ill or 
developmentally disabled, the notice shall include the name, mailing address, and 
telephone number of the Office of Protection and Advocacy for Persons with 
Disabilities. The notice shall be given at least thirty days and no more than sixty 
days prior to the resident’s proposed transfer or discharge, except where the health 
or safety of individuals in the Facility are endangered, or where the resident’s health 
improves sufficiently to allow a more immediate transfer or discharge, or where 
immediate transfer or discharge is necessitated by urgent medical needs or where a 
resident has not resided in the Facility for thirty days, in which cases notice shall be 
given as many days before the transfer or discharge as practicable.  
 

5. The Facility correctly provided the Appellant at least 30 days prior notice, in writing, 
of the proposed discharge date, which included the effective date of the discharge, 
the reason for discharge, a location to which he would be discharged and his appeal 
rights.  

 

6. Section 19a-535(e) provides that except in an emergency or in the case of transfer 
to a hospital, no resident shall be transferred or discharged from a facility unless a 
discharge plan has been developed by the personal physician of the resident or the 
medical director in conjunction with the nursing director, social worker or other health 
care provider.  To minimize the disruptive effects of the transfer or discharge on the 
resident, the person responsible for developing the plan shall consider the feasibility 
of placement near the resident’s relatives, the acceptability of the placement to the 
resident and the resident’s guardian or conservator, if any or the resident’s legally 
liable relative or other responsible party, if known, and any other relevant factors 
which affect the resident’s adjustment to the move.  The plan shall contain a written 
evaluation of the effects of the transfer or discharge on the resident and a statement 
of the action taken to minimize such affects.  In addition, the plan shall outline the 
care and kinds of services which the resident shall receive upon transfer or 
discharge.  Not less than thirty days prior to an involuntary transfer or discharge, a 
copy of the discharge plan shall be provided to the residents personal physician if 
the discharge plan was prepared by the medical director, to the resident and the 
resident’s guardian or conservator, if any, or legally liable relative or other 
responsible party, if known. 

 
7. The Facility’s proposal to discharge the Appellant does not comply with state 

statutes because there was no discharge plan developed and approved by the 
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Facility's medical director or the Appellant's personal physician. 

DISCUSSION 

The Facility did not present a written discharge plan as required by Conn. Gen. Stat. 
§ 19a-535(e). Statute provides that no resident shall be transferred or discharged 
from a facility unless a discharge plan has been developed by the personal 
physician of the resident or the medical director in conjunction with the nursing 
director, social worker or other health care provider. Since the Facility did not 
develop a written discharge plan that is in compliance with the state statutes, the 
Facility may not discharge the Appellant based on the notice sent on- 2017. 

DECISION 

The Appellant's appeal is GRANTED. 

ORDER 

The Facility is ordered to rescind the Appellant's proposed discharge notice. 

Desiree Pina, L TC Ombudsman Program, 
Department of Social Services, 55 Farmington Avenue, Hartford, CT 06105 

Barbara Cass, Section Chief, Facility Licensing and Investigations Section, 
Connecticut Department of Public Health, 410 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT. 
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RIGHT TO REQUEST RECONSIDERATION 
 
The appellant has the right to file a written reconsideration request within 15 days of 
the mailing date of the decision on the grounds there was an error of fact, law, and new 
evidence has been discovered, or other good cause exists. If the request for 
reconsideration is granted, the appellant will be notified within 25 days of the request 
date. No response within 25 days means that the request for reconsideration has been 
denied. The right to request a reconsideration is based on §4-181a (a) of the 
Connecticut General Statutes. 
 
Reconsideration requests should include specific grounds for the request: for example, 
indicate what error of fact or law, what new evidence, or what other good cause exists. 
 
Reconsideration requests should be sent to: Department of Social Services, Director, 
Office of Administrative Hearings and Appeals, 55 Farmington Avenue Hartford, 
CT  06105. 
 

RIGHT TO APPEAL 
 
The appellant has the right to appeal this decision to Superior Court within 45 days of 
the mailing of this decision, or 45 days after the agency denies a petition for 
reconsideration of this decision, if the petition for reconsideration was filed timely with 
the Department. The right to appeal is based on §4-183 of the Connecticut General 
Statutes. To appeal, a petition must be filed at Superior Court. A copy of the petition 
must be served upon the Office of the Attorney General, 55 Elm Street, Hartford, 
CT  06106, or the Commissioner of the Department of Social Services, 55 Farmington 
Avenue Hartford, CT 06105. A copy of the petition must also be served on all parties to 
the hearing. 
 
The 45-day appeal period may be extended in certain instances if there is good cause. 
The extension request must be filed with the Commissioner of the Department of Social 
Services in writing no later than 90 days from the mailing of the decision. Good cause 
circumstances are evaluated by the Commissioner or the Commissioner’s designee in 
accordance with §17b-61 of the Connecticut General Statutes. The Agency's decision to 
grant an extension is final and is not subject to review or appeal. 
 
The appeal should be filed with the clerk of the Superior Court in the Judicial District of 
New Britain or the Judicial District in which the appellant resides. 
 
 




