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PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND 

    
 
On  2016 the Health Insurance Exchange Access Health CT- (“AHCT”) 
sent  (the “Appellant”) a Notice of Action (“NOA”) denying the 
Appellant’s Medicaid Husky D healthcare coverage. 
 
On  2016, the Appellant requested an administrative hearing to contest the 
decision to terminate such benefits. 
 
On  2016, the Office of Legal Counsel, Regulations, and Administrative 
Hearings (“OLCRAH”) issued a notice scheduling the administrative hearing for 

 2016.  
 
On  2016, in accordance with sections 17b-60, 17-61 and 4-176e to 4-
189 inclusive, of the Connecticut General Statutes, OLCRAH held an 
administrative hearing.  
 
The following individuals were present at the hearing: 
 

 Appellant 
Cathy Davis, AHCT Representative 
Almelinda McLeod, Hearing Officer 
 
 

--

-
-
---
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The record was held open for the submission of additional evidence.  The record 
closed on  2016.  

STATEMENT OF THE ISSUE 
 
The issue to be decided is whether Health Insurance Exchange Access Health 
CT (“ACHT”) correctly denied the Medicaid Husky D benefits.  
  
 

FINDINGS OF FACT 
 

 
1. On  2016, the Appellant submitted a change reporting application 

through the State of Connecticut Health Insurance Exchange.  (Exhibit #1, 
ACHT Application #  
 

2. The Appellant resides with her daughter, however, the Appellant applied 
for Husky D for her herself only, thus she is a household of one.  (Exhibit 
#1, Access Health Application )  

 
3. The Appellant’s tax filing status is single filing taxes. ( Exhibit #1, AHCT 

Application)  
 

4. The Appellant is 51 years old and resides in  County. ( Exhibit #1, 
AHCT application)  
 

5. The Appellant self- attested a monthly income of $1666.25 per month and 
an annual income of $19995.00. (Exhibit #1, AHCT Application and AHCT 
testimony)  
 

6. On  2016, AHCT processed the application and denied Medicaid 
Husky D because the Appellant did not meet the financial criteria and was 
found eligible for Qualified Health Plan with an Advance Premium Tax 
Credit of $375.00 and a cost sharing reduction which will help to reduce 
her out of pocket expense towards the premium. (Exhibit #3, Change 
Eligibility decision letter) 
 

7. The Appellant disputes the self- attested income because she is paid per 
diem.  She works Monday, Wednesday and Fridays from 10 am to 6 pm (8 
hours) at a rate of $12.50 per hour. [$12.50 x 24 = $300 x 4.3 = $1290.00 
monthly].   Plus the Appellant works as a live in companion over the 
weekends depending on the need, so there may be an additional 7 to 20 
hours of income, however no dollar amount (exact or average)  was given.  
The Appellant feels that because her income fluctuates that the income 
given as the self-attested income does not truly represent her income.   
(Appellant testimony)  
 

-

- -

-
-
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8. The Appellant provided the 2015 W-1040 reflecting the adjusted gross 
income was $25, 266.00. ( Exhibit B- 2015 W-1040)  
 

9. The Federal Poverty Limit (“FPL”) for the Husky D for a household of one 
is $1366.20. ( Exhibit #3, Change reporting Eligibility Decision letter and 
hearing summary) 
 

10. The Appellant’s verified Modified Adjusted Gross Income (“MAGI”) of 
$25,266.00 is over the FPL for Husky D for a household of one.  
 
 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 
 

 
1. Section 17b-260 of the Connecticut General Statutes (“CGS”) provides for 

acceptance of federal grants for medical assistance.  The Commissioner 
of  Social Services is authorized to take advantage of the medical 
assistance programs provided in Title XIX, entitled “ Grants to states for 
Medical Assistance Programs, contained in the Social Security 
Amendments of 1965 and may administer the same in accordance with 
the requirements provided therein, including the waiving , with respect to 
the amount paid for medical care, of provisions concerning recovery from 
beneficiaries or their estates,  charges and recoveries against legally liable 
relatives , and liens against property of beneficiaries.  
 

2. Title 45 Code of Federal Regulations (“CFR”) 155.110 (A) (2) provides the 
State may elect to authorize an Exchange established by the State to 
enter into an agreement with an eligible entity to carry out or more 
responsibilities of the Exchange.  An eligible entity is:  the State Medicaid 
agency, or any other State agency that meets the qualifications of 
paragraph (a) (1) of this section.   
 

3. 45 CFR 155.505 (c) (1) provides Options for Exchange appeals. 
Exchange eligibility appeals may be conducted by a State  Exchange 
appeals entity, or an eligible entity described in paragraph (d) of this 
section that is designated by the Exchange , if the Exchange establishes 
an appeals process in accordance with the requirements of this subpart; 
or  
 

4. 45 CFR 155.505 (d) Eligible entities. An appeals process established 
under this subpart must comply with § 155.110 (a).  
 

5. 45 CFR § 155.110 (a) (2) provides that the State may elect to authorize an 
Exchange established by the State to enter into an agreement with an 
eligible entity to carry out one or more responsibilities of the Exchange.  
Eligible entities are: the State Medicaid agency, or any other State agency 
that meets the qualification of paragraph (a) (1) of the section.  



 4 

 
6. 42 CFR § 435.119 (b)   provides that Medicaid health coverage is 

available for individuals age 19 or older and under 65 at or below 133 
percent of the Federal Poverty Limit (“FPL”). Eligibility. Effective January 
1, 2014 , the agency must provide Medicaid to individuals who:  1) Are 
age 19 or older and under age 65;  2) Are not pregnant ;  3) Are not 
entitled to or enrolled for Medicare benefits under part A or B of the titled 
XVIII of the Act. 4) Are not otherwise eligible for and enrolled for 
mandatory coverage under a State’s Medicaid State plan in accordance 
with subpart B of this part; and 5) Have household income that is at or 
below 133 percent FPL for the applicable family size.  
 

7. One hundred Thirty-three percent of the FPL for a one person household 
equals $1316.70 (990 x 1.33). 
 

8. Uniform Policy Manual (“UPM”) § 5025.05 (B) provides for conversion of 
income to monthly amounts.  Prospective Budgeting system. 1. If income 
is received on a monthly basis, a representative monthly amount is used 
as the estimate of income.   2. If income is received on other than a 
monthly basis, the estimate of income is calculated by multiplying 4.3 by a 
representative weekly amount that is determined as follows:  a.) if income 
is the same each week, the regular weekly income is the representative 
weekly amount; b.) if income varies from week to week, a representative 
period of at least four consecutive weeks is averaged to determine the 
representative weekly amount.  c.)   if there has been a recent change or if 
there is an anticipated future change, the amount expected to represent 
future income is the representative weekly amount; d.)  if income is 
received on other than a weekly or monthly basis, the income is converted 
to a representative weekly amount by dividing the income by the number 
of weeks covered.  
 

9. 42 CFR § 435.945 (a) provides except where the law requires other 
procedures (such as for citizenship and immigration status information). 
The agency may accept attestation of information needed to determine the 
eligibility of an individual for Medicaid ( with self-attestation by the 
individual or attestation by an adult who is in the applicant’s household, as 
defined in §435.603 (f) of this part, or family as defined in section 36B(d) 
(1) of the Internal Revenue Code , an authorized representative, or , if the 
individual is a  minor or incapacitated, someone acting responsibly for the 
individual)  without requiring further information ( including documentation) 
from the individual.     
 

10. AHCT correctly determined the Appellant’s monthly income of $1666.25 
based on the self- attested income discussed at the time of application.  
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11. 42 CFR § 435.603 (d) provides for the application of the household’s 
modified adjusted gross income (“MAGI”). A State must subtract an 
amount equivalent to 5 percentage points of the Federal poverty level for 
the applicable family size.  
 

12. Five percent of the FPL for one person totals $ 49.50 ($990 x .05). 
 

13. On  2016, the Appellant’s countable MAGI totaled $1616.75. 
($1666.25 – 49.50) 
 

14. The Appellant’s $1616.75 monthly MAGI exceeded the $1366.20 
threshold for a family of one.  
 

15. AHCT correctly determined that the Appellant’s monthly income exceeded 
the Medicaid income threshold for a family of one and denied Medicaid / 
Husky D insurance.    

 
DISCUSSION 

 
The Appellant works as a per diem companion and a live-in companion on the 
weekends whenever there is a need.  She provided to this hearing officer a  W-
1040 Income tax return showing an adjusted gross income of $25,266 for 2015.  
The Appellant self-attested to AHCT that her monthly income was $1666.25 and 
$19,995.00 annually. The Appellant testified that she anticipates her earnings for 
2016 to be less (approximately $16,000 a year) because she will stop working as 
a live-in companion on the weekends.  The Appellant requested that we re-
calculate her income based on the fact that her income fluctuates and take into 
consideration the upcoming changes to her work schedule.   
 
Based on the self-attested income reported by the Appellant at the time of the 
application, the Appellant was over income. The Appellant’s verified 2015 W-
1040 indicated higher wages, thus the result would be the same. The eligibility 
for Husky D Medicaid is based on Modified Adjusted Gross Income, therefore, 
the Appellant is not eligible for the Husky D/Medicaid Program.  With respect to 
upcoming changes to her income, the Appellant can re-apply for Husky D when 
her income changes.   
 

DECISION 
 
The Appellant’s appeal is DENIED. 
 
         ________________ 
         Almelinda McLeod 
         Hearing Officer  
 
CC: Cathi Davis, Health Insurance Exchange Access CT  

-
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RIGHT TO REQUEST RECONSIDERATION 
 
The appellant has the right to file a written reconsideration request within 15 days of 
the mailing date of the decision on the grounds there was an error of fact or law, new 
evidence has been discovered or other good cause exists.  If the request for 
reconsideration is granted, the appellant will be notified within 25 days of the request 
date.  No response within 25 days means that the request for reconsideration has been 
denied.  The right to request a reconsideration is based on §4-181a(a) of the 
Connecticut General Statutes. 
 
Reconsideration requests should include specific grounds for the request: for example, 
indicate what error of fact or law, what new evidence, or what other good cause exists. 
 
Reconsideration requests should be sent to: Department of Social Services, Director, 
Office of Legal Counsel, Regulations, and Administrative Hearings, 55 Farmington 
Avenue, Hartford, CT  06105. 
 

RIGHT TO APPEAL 
 
The appellant has the right to appeal this decision to Superior Court within 45 days of the mailing 
of this decision, or 45 days after the agency denies a petition for reconsideration of this 

decision, provided that the petition for reconsideration was filed timely with the 
Department. The right to appeal is based on §4-183 of the Connecticut General Statutes.  To 
appeal, a petition must be filed at Superior Court.  A copy of the petition must be served upon 
the Office of the Attorney General, 55 Elm Street, Hartford, CT  06106 or the Commissioner of 
the Department of Social Services, 55 Farmington Avenue, Hartford, CT 06105.  A copy of the 
petition must also be served on all parties to the hearing. 

 
 
The 45 day appeal period may be extended in certain instances if there is good cause.  
The extension request must be filed with the Commissioner of the Department of Social 
Services in writing no later than 90 days from the mailing of the decision.  Good cause 
circumstances are evaluated by the Commissioner or his designee in accordance with 
§17b-61 of the Connecticut General Statutes.  The Agency's decision to grant an 
extension is final and is not subject to review or appeal. 
 
The appeal should be filed with the clerk of the Superior Court in the Judicial District of 
New Britain or the Judicial District in which the appellant resides. 

 
 
 




