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PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND 

On  2016,  (the “Facility”) issued a letter proposing to 
involuntarily discharge  (the “Appellant”), from its care within 30 days of 
his receipt of the letter.   

On  2016, the Appellant requested an administrative hearing to contest the 
Facility’s proposed discharge. 

On  2016, the Office of Legal Counsel, Regulations, and Administrative 
Hearings (“OLCRAH”) issued a notice scheduling an administrative hearing for  

 2016.  

On  2016, in accordance with Connecticut General Statutes § 19a-535 and § 
4-176e to § 4-189, inclusive, OLCRAH held an administrative hearing at 

The following individuals were present at the hearing: 

--

--- -
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 Appellant 
Nancy Ptak, Financial Counselor,  
Shenell Charles, Director Social Service,   
Anthony Martinelli, Business Office Manager,  
Patrick McDonnell, Center Executive Director,   
Martine Liberte, Transition Coordinator, Money Follows the Person (MFP) 
Miklos Mencseli, Hearing Officer 
 

STATEMENT OF THE ISSUE 
 
The issue to be decided is whether the Facility’s proposal to involuntarily discharge 
the Appellant complies with all applicable laws.  
 

FINDING OF FACTS 
 
1.  On  2015, the Appellant entered the Facility. (Testimony) 
                                                                                                                         
2.  The Appellant entered the facility due to an infection to his leg. (Testimony) 
 
3.  The Appellant was approved initially for a short term stay. (Testimony)     
                                
4.  On  2016, the Facility sent the Appellant a 30 day discharge notice.  
     The scheduled discharge date was  2016.   (Exhibit 1: discharge  
     notice dated -16)     
 
5. The discharge notice proposed to discharge the Appellant to a shelter in the Greater  
    New Haven area. (Exhibit 1)   
 
6. The Facility has spoken to the Appellant regarding a discharge to a shelter or  
    another facility and assisting him with the transfer. (Testimony) 
 
7.  A transfer to a shelter is not viable due to the Appellant’s use of a an oversize  
     wheelchair.  (Testimony) 
 
8. The Appellant needs assistance with his Activities of Daily Living (“ADL”). He needs  
     assistance with bathing, transfers and toileting.  (Exhibit 3: W-1020 Personal Care  
     Assistance (PCA) Service Plan, Testimony)  
 
9.  The Appellant uses a prosthesis for his right leg. He needs assistance with  
      attaching the prosthesis to his leg. The Appellant is learning to walk with it after  
      having other prosthesis that did not properly fit. (Testimony)      
 
10.  Since  2015 Money Follows the Person (“MFP”) has been working  
        with the Appellant to find housing. (Testimony) 
 
11.  The Appellant has not visited any housing in the community. (Testimony)          

-
- -1111 

-
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12. The Facility has no formal written discharge plan.  
 
13.  No written discharge plan has been presented to the Appellant.  
 

CONCLUSION OF LAW  
 

 
1. Section 19a-535(h)(1) of the Connecticut General Statutes (Conn. Gen. Stat.) 

authorizes the Commissioner of the Department of Social Services to hold a 
hearing to determine whether the transfer or discharge is in accordance with this 
section. 

 
2. Conn. Gen. Stat. 19a-535(a)(4) provides that the term "discharge" means the 

movement of a resident from a facility to a non-institutional setting. 
 
3.  Conn. Gen. Stat.  §19a-535(c)(1) provides that before effecting a transfer or  
     discharge of a resident from the facility, the facility shall notify, in writing, the     
     resident and resident’s guardian or conservator, if any, or legally liable relative or     
    other responsible party if known, of the proposed transfer or discharge the reasons    
    therefore, the effective date of the proposed transfer or discharge, the location to  
    which the resident is to be transferred or discharged, the right to appeal the    
    proposed transfer or discharge and the procedures for initiating such an appeal as         
    determined by the Department of Social Services, the date by which an appeal must    
    be initiated in order to preserve the resident’s right to an appeal hearing and the date    
    by which an appeal must be initiated in order to stay the proposed transfer or  
    discharge and the possibility of an exception to the date by which an appeal must be  
    initiated in order to stay the proposed transfer or discharge for good cause, that the  
    resident may represent himself or herself or be represented by legal counsel, a    
    relative, a friend or other spokesperson, and information as to bed hold and nursing  
    home readmission policy when required in accordance with section 19a-537. The  
    notice shall also include the name, mailing address and telephone number of the  
    State Long-Term Care  Ombudsman. If the resident is, or the facility alleges a  
    resident is, mentally ill or developmentally disabled, the notice shall include the  
    name, mailing address and telephone number of the Office of Protection and  
    Advocacy for Persons with Disabilities. The notice shall be given at least thirty days  
    and no more than sixty days prior to the resident’s proposed transfer or discharge,  
    except where the health or safety of individuals in the facility are endangered, or  
    where the resident’s health improves sufficiently to allow a more immediate transfer  
    or discharge, or where immediate transfer or discharge is necessitated by urgent  
    medical needs or where a resident has not resided in the facility for thirty days, in  
    which cases notice shall be given as many days before the transfer or discharge as  
    practicable. 
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6.  On  2016, the Facility issued a 30 day notice. The notice listed the  
     effective date as  2016 with a discharge to a shelter in the greater New  
     Haven area.     
 
7.  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 19a-535(e) provides that except in an emergency or in the  
     case of transfer to a hospital, no resident shall be transferred or discharged from  
     a facility unless a discharge plan has been developed by the personal physician  
     of the resident or the medical director in conjunction with the nursing director,  
     social worker or other health care provider. To minimize the disruptive effects of  
     the transfer or discharge on the resident, the person responsible for developing    
     the plan shall consider the feasibility of placement near the resident’s relatives,    
     the acceptability of the placement to the resident and the resident’s guardian or  
     conservator, if any or the resident’s legally liable relative or other responsible  
     party, if known, and any other relevant factors which affect the resident’s  
     adjustment to the move. The plan shall contain a written  evaluation of the effects  
     of the transfer or discharge on the resident and a statement of the action taken to  
     minimize such affects. In addition, the plan shall outline the care and kinds of  
     service which the resident shall receive upon transfer or discharge. Not less than  
     thirty days prior to an involuntary transfer or discharge , a copy of the discharge  
     plan shall be provided to the resident’s personal physician if the discharge plan  
     was prepared by the medical director, to the resident and the resident’s guardian  
     or conservator, if any, or legally liable relative or other responsible party, if  
     known.      
 
8. The  presented a verbal discharge plan. There is no  
     written plan.  There is no documentation from the Appellant’s personal physician  
     that the plan meets the welfare of the resident, evaluation of the effects of the  
     transfer and actions taken to minimize such effects.  
 
9. The Facility’s action to discharge the Appellant is incorrect as the  
    Facility’s plan does not meet the statutory guidelines.    
                

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                      
DISCUSSION 

 

The facility in this case, Arden House, has initiated proceedings to discharge the 
Appellant from its care. State statute provides that no resident shall be transferred or 
discharged from a facility unless a discharge plan has been developed by the 
personal physician of the resident or the medical director in conjunction with the 
nursing director, social worker or other health care provider.  Therefore, since the 
Facility did not develop a discharge plan, the facility may not discharge the Appellant 
based on the 30 day notice sent to the Appellant on  2016.  
 
 
 

DECISION 
 

--

-
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The Appellant’s appeal is GRANTED. 
 

ORDER 
 

1. The Facility is ordered to rescind its proposal to involuntarily discharge the 
Appellant from its care. 

 
2. No later than  2016, the Facility will submit to OLCRAH proof of 

compliance with this order. 
                                                                                              
                                                                                                      
                                                                                             _________________ 
                                                                                               Miklos Mencseli 
                 Hearing Officer 
 
 
C:  Desiree C. Pina, LTC Ombudsman Program 
      Dan Lerman, LTC DSS Ombudsman 
       Administrator 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

-
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RIGHT TO REQUEST RECONSIDERATION 
 
The appellant has the right to file a written reconsideration request within 15 days of 
the mailing date of the decision on the grounds there was an error of fact or law, new 
evidence has been discovered or other good cause exists.  If the request for 
reconsideration is granted, the appellant will be notified within 25 days of the request 
date.  No response within 25 days means that the request for reconsideration has been 
denied.  The right to request a reconsideration is based on §4-181a (a) of the 
Connecticut General Statutes. 
 
Reconsideration requests should include specific grounds for the request:  for example, 
indicate what error of fact or law, what new evidence, or what other good cause exists. 
 
Reconsideration requests should be sent to: Department of Social Services, Director, 
Office of Administrative Hearings and Appeals, 55 Farmington Avenue Hartford, 
CT  06105. 
 
 

RIGHT TO APPEAL 
 
The appellant has the right to appeal this decision to Superior Court within 45 days of 
the mailing of this decision, or 45 days after the agency denies a petition for 
reconsideration of this decision, provided that the petition for reconsideration was filed 
timely with the Department.  The right to appeal is based on §4-183 of the Connecticut 
General Statutes.  To appeal, a petition must be filed at Superior Court.  A copy of the 
petition must be served upon the Office of the Attorney General, 55 Elm Street, Hartford, 
CT  06106 or the Commissioner of the Department of Social Services, 55 Farmington 
Avenue Hartford, CT 06105.  A copy of the petition must also be served on all parties to 
the hearing. 
 
The 45 day appeal period may be extended in certain instances if there is good 
cause.  The extension request must be filed with the Commissioner of the Department 
of Social Services in writing no later than 90 days from the mailing of the 
decision.  Good cause circumstances are evaluated by the Commissioner or the 
Commissioner’s designee in accordance with §17b-61 of the Connecticut General 
Statutes.  The Agency's decision to grant an extension is final and is not subject to 
review or appeal. 
 
The appeal should be filed with the clerk of the Superior Court in the Judicial District of 
New Britain or the Judicial District in which the appellant resides. 

 
 




