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20. On  2020, Veyo marked off the Appellant’s , 2019 mileage 
reimbursement for his  clinic appointment as a $22.50 overpayment.  (Veyo 
Exhibits 2 and 9) 

 
21. On or before  2020, Veyo reversed its request for $22.50 in mileage 

reimbursement for the Appellant’s  2019 trips to the clinic.  (Veyo 
Exhibit 9) 

 
22. The Appellant’s testimony that that he drove himself, , and  individually in 

separate trips three times per day round trip (or for more than 120 miles per day) for six 
days per week, for several months, from , Connecticut to the clinic 
for medical treatment was not supported by probative evidence and was not credible.  

 
23. Connecticut General Statutes § 17b-61 (a), as amended on passage by Section 309 of 

Public Act No. 19-117 (January Session), provides: 
The Commissioner of Social Services or the commissioner's designated hearing 
officer shall ordinarily render a final decision not later than ninety days after the 
date the commissioner receives a request for a fair hearing pursuant to section 
17b-60, … , provided the time for rendering a final decision shall be extended 
whenever the aggrieved person requests or agrees to an extension, or when the 
commissioner documents an administrative or other extenuating circumstance 
beyond the commissioner's control. Such decision shall be based upon all the 
evidence introduced before the commissioner or the commissioner's designated 
hearing officer and all pertinent provisions of law, regulations and departmental 
policy, and shall supersede the decision made without a hearing. … Failure by 
the commissioner or the commissioner's designated hearing officer to render a 
final decision within the time limits set forth in this subsection shall not of itself be 
deemed an approval of the aggrieved person's requested relief on the merits.  

Conn. Gen. Stat. § 17b-61 (a). 
 

ORDER, (Commissioner Deidre S. Gifford, 4/13/20) provides in part: “Section 17b-
61(a)’s timeframe for the commissioner or commissioner’s designated hearing officer to 
render a final decision is extended from 90 to ‘not later than 120 days’ after the date the 
commissioner receives a request for a fair hearing pursuant to Section 17b-60….” 

 
On  2020, the OLCRAH received the Appellant’s hearing request. This hearing 
decision would have become due with the extended deadlines on  2020.  
This final decision is timely. 

 
CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 

 
1. Section 17b-2 of the Connecticut General Statutes provides in part that the Department 

of Social Services is the designated state agency for the administration of the Medicaid 
program pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act.   

 
“The Commissioner of Social Services may make such regulations as are necessary to 
administer the medical assistance program….” Conn. Gen. Stat. § 17b-262. 
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“By enrolling in the Medicaid program or participating in the competitively bid contract for 
nonemergency transportation services, providers of nonemergency transportation 
services agree to offer to recipients of medical assistance all types or levels of 
transportation services for which they are licensed or certified….”  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 
17b-276 (a). 
 
The Department of Social Services had the authority to contract with Veyo to be 
its medical transportation administrator for nonemergency medical transportation 
to covered services under the State of Connecticut’s medical assistance program. 

 
2. “The Commissioner of Social Services shall only authorize payment for the mode of 

transportation service that is medically necessary for a recipient of assistance under a 
medical assistance program administered by the Department of Social Services.”  Conn. 
Gen. Stat. § 17b-276c. 

 
Section 17b-259b (a) of the Connecticut General Statutes provides the definitions for 
“medically necessary” and “medical necessity” with respect to the State of Connecticut’s 
medical assistance program: 

For purposes of the administration of the medical assistance programs by the 
Department of Social Services, “medically necessary” and “medical necessity” 
mean those health services required to prevent, identify, diagnose, treat, 
rehabilitate or ameliorate an individual's medical condition, including mental 
illness, or its effects, in order to attain or maintain the individual's achievable 
health and independent functioning provided such services are: (1) Consistent 
with generally-accepted standards of medical practice that are defined as 
standards that are based on (A) credible scientific evidence published in peer-
reviewed medical literature that is generally recognized by the relevant medical 
community, (B) recommendations of a physician-specialty society, (C) the views 
of physicians practicing in relevant clinical areas, and (D) any other relevant 
factors; (2) clinically appropriate in terms of type, frequency, timing, site, extent 
and duration and considered effective for the individual's illness, injury or 
disease; (3) not primarily for the convenience of the individual, the individual's 
health care provider or other health care providers; (4) not more costly than an 
alternative service or sequence of services at least as likely to produce 
equivalent therapeutic or diagnostic results as to the diagnosis or treatment of 
the individual's illness, injury or disease; and (5) based on an assessment of the 
individual and his or her medical condition. 

Conn. Gen. Stat. § 17b-259b (a) (emphasis added). 
 
“Payment for transportation may be made for eligible recipients under the Medicaid 
program, except as otherwise provided in these regulations, when needed to obtain 
necessary medical services covered by Medicaid, and when it is not available from 
volunteer organizations, other agencies, personal resources, or is not included in the 
medical provider's Medicaid rate.”   Conn. Agencies Regs. § 17-134d-33 (e)(1)(B). 

 
“The Department reserves the right to make the determination as to which type of 
transportation is the most appropriate for a recipient.”  Conn. Agencies Regs. § 17-
134d-33 (e)(2)(A). 
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6. “Reimbursement for all private transportation will be made only if the recipient 
documents a visit to a medical provider for a needed service….”  Conn. Agencies Regs. 
§ 17-134-33 (f)(2)(E).  

 
With respect to private transportation, “[p]ayment shall be made based on the mileage 
from the recipient's home to the medical provider.”  Conn. Agencies Regs. § 17-134-33 
(i)(9)(J). 

 
With respect to private transportation, “[p]ayment may be made at the per mile fee 
established by the Department, but only if the total payment exceeds $1.00.”  Conn. 
Agencies Regs. § 17-134-33 (i)(8)(E). 
 
As the distance between the Appellant’s home and the  clinic exceeded 
20 miles, the total payment would have exceeded $1.00 per trip, based on Veyo’s 
payment rate of $0.54 per mile for private transportation.  

 
7. “If a beneficiary of assistance under the …, medical assistance program, … receives 

any award or grant over the amount to which he is entitled under the laws governing 
eligibility, the Department of Social Services (1) shall immediately initiate recoupment 
action ….”  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 17b-88. 

 
The Appellant did not establish by a preponderance of the evidence that the travel 
to and from the  clinic in his vehicle from  2019 through 

 2019 were rides with either no passengers or a single passenger in 
his vehicle for six individual one-way trips per treatment day rather than two 
shared trips per treatment day. 

 
Veyo’s issuance of $4,963.04—or $6.067.94 minus $1,082.40 in withheld monies, 
minus the $22.50 reversal as documented in the , 2020 correspondence—in 
mileage reimbursement to the Appellant in the relevant period was in error, as it 
was issued based on the premise that the Appellant’s transportation of himself, 

 and  to and from the clinic were not shared rides.   
 

Veyo may initiate recoupment proceedings against the Appellant for $4,963.04 in 
overissued mileage reimbursement.  

 
DISCUSSION 

 
With respect to the first issue, the Appellant has not established that that mileage 
reimbursement is medically necessary as a means of transportation to his covered medical 
appointments—as “medically necessary” is defined at Conn. Gen. Stat. § 17b-259b (a)—
and is not primarily for his convenience.  The Appellant also has not established that public 
transportation is medically contraindicated for him as a means of travel to his covered 
medical appointments.  Veyo’s assignment of public transportation as the Appellant’s 
means of traveling to his nonemergency medical appointments does not conflict with state 
statutes and regulations.   
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With respect to the second issue, for the period from , 2019 through , 
2019, Veyo claims that five hundred and thirty-four (534) of the trips for which the Appellant 
requested mileage reimbursement are “duplicate trips” where the Appellant, , and 

 shared the ride to and from the  clinic in the Appellant’s vehicle. By 
sharing the ride to the common destination, the Appellant would have made only two “one-
way” trips, and not the six “one-way trips” he had claimed mileage reimbursement for on 
each of the treatment days in the relevant period.   
 
The Appellant’s testimony that he drove from  Connecticut to the  clinic 
roundtrip three times per day (a total of more than 120 miles of driving per day), five or six 
days per week, for several months in an empty car or only with a single passenger was not 
credible, taking into account on the driving distance to the common medical provider, two of 
the three patients sharing a common pickup location (the driver’s home), and the relatively 
short intervals between appointments.  The Appellant’s testimony was self-serving and was 
unsupported by probative evidence.  
 
From a review of the hearing record, it is reasonable to conclude that the Appellant,  
and  shared many, if not all these trips to this common medical provider.  Veyo’s 
published policy of paying a single fee for a trip, irrespective of the number of passengers 
on the trip, is supported by regulation. 
 
Veyo may recover $4,963.04 that it issued to the Appellant as overpaid mileage 
reimbursement.  This amount is the difference between the initial amount of mileage 
reimbursement claimed by the Appellant ($6,067.94) for the relevant period and the amount 
withheld by Veyo ($1,082.40) and minus a $22.50 reversal. 
 

DECISION 
 
With respect to the first issue, the Appellant’s appeal is DENIED.  Veyo’s assignment of 
“public transportation” as to the Appellant’s nonemergency medical transportation is upheld.   
 
With respect to the second issue, the Appellant’s appeal is DENIED, with the caveat that 
the Appellant is subject to recoupment procedures for $4,963.04, and not the $4,985.54 
initially claimed by Veyo. 
 
 
  _______________ 
 Eva Tar 
 Hearing Officer 
 
Pc:   Karen Reid, Veyo 
 Shevonne Alexis, Veyo 
 Hunter Griendling, Veyo 
 Mark Fenaughty, Veyo 

Theresa Rugens, DSS-Central Office 
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RIGHT TO REQUEST RECONSIDERATION 

 
The Appellant has the right to file a written reconsideration request within 15 days 
of the mailing date of the decision on the grounds there was an error of fact or law, 
new evidence has been discovered or other good cause exists.  If the request for 
reconsideration is granted, the Appellant will be notified within 25 days of the request 
date.  No response within 25 days means that the request for reconsideration has 
been denied.  The right to request a reconsideration is based on § 4-181a (a) of the 
Connecticut General Statutes. 
 
Reconsideration requests should include specific grounds for the request: for 
example, indicate what error of fact or law, what new evidence, or what other good 
cause exists. 
 
Reconsideration requests should be sent to: Department of Social Services, Director, 
Office of Legal Counsel, Regulations, and Administrative Hearings, 55 Farmington 
Avenue, Hartford, CT  06105. 
 

RIGHT TO APPEAL 
 
The Appellant has the right to appeal this decision to Superior Court within 45 days of 
the mailing of this decision, or 45 days after the agency denies a petition for 
reconsideration of this decision, provided that the petition for reconsideration was 
filed timely with the Department. The right to appeal is based on § 4-183 of the 
Connecticut General Statutes.  To appeal, a petition must be filed at Superior 
Court.  A copy of the petition must be served upon the Office of the Attorney General, 
55 Elm Street, Hartford, CT  06106 or the Commissioner of the Department of Social 
Services, 55 Farmington Avenue, Hartford, CT 06105.  A copy of the petition must 
also be served on all parties to the hearing. 
 
The 45-day appeal period may be extended in certain instances if there is good 
cause.  The extension request must be filed with the Commissioner of the 
Department of Social Services in writing no later than 90 days from the mailing of the 
decision.  Good cause circumstances are evaluated by the Commissioner or his 
designee in accordance with § 17b-61 of the Connecticut General Statutes.  The 
Agency's decision to grant an extension is final and is not subject to review or appeal. 
 
The appeal should be filed with the clerk of the Superior Court in the Judicial District 
of New Britain or the Judicial District in which the Appellant resides. 

 
 




