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3. State regulations provide that orthodontic services for services provided for individuals 
less than 21 years of age will be paid for when provided by a qualified dentist and 
deemed medically necessary as described in these regulations.  [Conn. Agencies 
Regs. § 17-134d-35(a)] 
 

4. Connecticut General Statutes § 17b-282e provides that the Department of Social 
Services shall cover orthodontic services for a Medicaid recipient under twenty-one 
years of age when the Salzmann Handicapping Malocclusion Index indicates a 
correctly scored assessment for the recipient of twenty-six points or greater, subject to 
prior authorization requirements. If a recipient’s score on the Salzmann Handicapping 
Malocclusion Index is less than twenty-six points, the Department of Social Services 
shall consider additional substantive information when determining the need for 
orthodontic services, including (1) documentation of the presence of other severe 
deviations affecting the oral facial structures; and (2) the presence of severe mental, 
emotional or behavioral problems or disturbances, as defined in the most current 
edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, published by the 
American Psychiatric Association, that affects the individuals daily functioning. 

 
5. State regulations provide that the study models submitted for prior authorization must 

clearly show the occlusal deviations and support the total point score of the 
preliminary assessment [Conn. Agencies Regs. § 17-134d-35(f)].  
 

6. Because the child’s four Malocclusion Severity Assessments were less than 26 points 
and there was no substantial evidence presented about the presence of severe 
deviations affecting her mouth and underlying structures, orthodontic services are not 
determined medically necessary. 

 
7. The Appellant failed to establish that even though the child’s scores on the four 

assessments were less than the required 26 points, she suffered from the presence of 
severe mental, emotional, and/or behavioral problems, disturbances or dysfunctions 
caused by her dental deformity. 

 
8. The child’s malocclusion severity does not meet the requirements for medical 

necessity for approval of her prior authorization request for orthodontic treatment. 
 

9. BeneCare correctly denied the request for orthodontic treatment for the child as it is 
not medically necessary. 
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DECISION 
 
The Appellant’s appeal is DENIED. 
 
 

          _________________________ 
Carla Hardy  
Hearing Officer 

 
 
 
Pc: Diane D’Ambrosio, Connecticut Dental Health Partnership 
          Rita LaRosa, Connecticut Dental Health Partnership 
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RIGHT TO REQUEST RECONSIDERATION 
 
The appellant has the right to file a written reconsideration request within 15 days of 
the mailing date of the decision on the grounds there was an error of fact or law, new 
evidence has been discovered or other good cause exists.  If the request for 
reconsideration is granted, the appellant will be notified within 25 days of the request 
date.  No response within 25 days means that the request for reconsideration has been 
denied.  The right to request a reconsideration is based on §4-181a (a) of the 
Connecticut General Statutes. 
 
Reconsideration requests should include specific grounds for the request:  for example, 
indicate what error of fact or law, what new evidence, or what other good cause exists. 
 
Reconsideration requests should be sent to: Department of Social Services, Director, 
Office of Administrative Hearings and Appeals, 55 Farmington Avenue, Hartford, 
CT  06105-3725. 
 
 

RIGHT TO APPEAL 
 
The appellant has the right to appeal this decision to Superior Court within 45 days of 
the mailing of this decision, or 45 days after the agency denies a petition for 
reconsideration of this decision, provided that the petition for reconsideration was filed 
timely with the Department.  The right to appeal is based on §4-183 of the Connecticut 
General Statutes.  To appeal, a petition must be filed at Superior Court.  A copy of the 
petition must be served upon the Office of the Attorney General, 55 Elm Street, Hartford, 
CT  06106 or the Commissioner of the Department of Social Services, 55 Farmington 
Avenue, Hartford, CT 06105-3725.  A copy of the petition must also be served on all 
parties to the hearing. 
 
The 45 day appeal period may be extended in certain instances if there is good 
cause.  The extension request must be filed with the Commissioner of the Department 
of Social Services in writing no later than 90 days from the mailing of the 
decision.  Good cause circumstances are evaluated by the Commissioner or the 
Commissioner’s designee in accordance with §17b-61 of the Connecticut General 
Statutes.  The Agency's decision to grant an extension is final and is not subject to 
review or appeal. 
 
The appeal should be filed with the clerk of the Superior Court in the Judicial District of 
New Britain or the Judicial District in which the appellant resides. 

 
 




