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PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND 
    
On   2023, the Department of Social Services (the “Department”) sent  

  (the “Appellant”) a notice stating that the Department  imposed a 
penalty period of ineligibility effective   2022 through   2022 for 
payment of long term care (“LTC”) services under Medicaid due to the improper 
transfer of assets totaling $40,126.10.  
 
On   2023, ,(“Conservator”), Conservator of the Estate and 
Person for the Appellant, requested an administrative hearing on behalf of the 
Appellant to contest the Department’s action to impose a penalty. 
 
On   2023, the Office of Legal Counsel, Regulations, and Administrative 
Hearings (“OLCRAH”) issued a notice scheduling the administrative hearing for 

  2023. 
 
On   2023, in accordance with sections 17b-60, 17-61 and 4-176e to 4-
189 inclusive of the Connecticut General Statutes, OLCRAH held an 
administrative hearing.  
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The following individuals were present at the hearing: 
 

, Conservator for the Appellant 
Julie Rafala, Department Representative, Participated via telephone 
Ellie Polanco, Department Trainee, Observation via telephone only 
Dorota Zawadzki, Department Host, Observation Only 
Lisa Nyren, Fair Hearing Officer 

 
 

STATEMENT OF THE ISSUE 
 

The issue to be decided is whether the Department correctly determined:  1) the 
Appellant transferred $40,126.10 to become eligible for Medicaid; and 2) the 
$40,126.10 transfer subjected the Appellant to a penalty period of ineligibility for 
Medicaid payment of long-term care services.  
 
 

FINDINGS OF FACT 
 

1. The Appellant lived in the first floor apartment at  
 (“two family home”) owned by  

(“Conservator”), her nephew.  The Conservator purchased the two family 
home on   1996 and later sold the two family home on  

 2019.  The Appellant paid rent to the Conservator while a resident of 
the two family home.   The Conservator lived on the second floor. 
(Conservator Testimony, Exhibit 11:  Conservator Statement, and Exhibit 
19:  Property Information) 
 

2. On   2023, Probate Court granted  , 
Conservatorship of the Person and Estate for the Appellant. Prior to the 
Conservator’s appointment by the Court, the Appellant appointed the 
Conservator as her Power of Attorney.  (Conservator Testimony) 
 

3. On   2015, the Conservator and the Appellant purchased a single 
family home located at  (“single 
family home”) together.  The Conservator and Appellant together qualified 
for a Federal Housing Administration (“FHA”) low interest mortgage loan 
for the purchase of the single family home with  
(“mortgage holder”).  The earnest money/good faith deposit of $5,596.50 
and settlement charges of $1,065.61 on the single family home were 
made solely by the Conservator.  The Conservator and Appellant lived 
together in the single family home upon purchase.  All household 
expenses, including the mortgage and utilities, were shared equally.  
(Conservator Testimony, Exhibit 11:  Conservator Statement, Exhibit 14:  
HUD-1 Settlement Statement, Exhibit 16:  Bank Statement/Cancelled 
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Checks, Exhibit 17:  Conservator Statement, and Exhibit 18:  Treasurer 
Checks) 
 

4. On   2020, the Appellant and the Conservator purchased a 
single family home located at , 
Connecticut (“current residence”) together for $210,000.00.  The 
Conservator and Appellant obtained a $157,500.00 mortgage loan to 
purchase the current residence.  An earnest money/good faith deposit of 
$5,000.00 was paid prior to the closing and $725.00 pre-paid closing 
costs.  $83,225.16 was due at closing.  The Appellant contributed 
$42,000.00 toward the $83,225.16 closing costs. The Conservator and 
Appellant lived together in the current residence upon purchase.  All 
household expenses, including the mortgage and utilities, were shared 
equally. (Exhibit 16:  Bank Statement/Cancelled Checks, Exhibit 17:  
Conservator Statement, Exhibit 20:  Closing Documents, Exhibit 21:  
Cashier’s Check, and Conservator Testimony) 
 

5. The Appellant and Conservator shared household expenses while residing 
together.  The Appellant reimbursed the Conservator monthly for 
household expenses and charges paid by the Conservator on behalf of 
the household.  This included such expenses as mortgage, utilities, 
insurance, property maintenance, vehicle payments and repairs, and 
groceries.  (Exhibit 16:  Bank Statement/Cancelled Checks, Exhibit 17:  
Conservator Statement and Conservator Testimony) 
  

6. On   2020, the Conservator and Appellant sold the single 
family home.  The Conservator kept the proceeds of $86,916.30 from the 
sale of the single family home because the Appellant did not provide any 
personal funds towards the earnest money deposit or closing costs at the 
time of purchase of the single family home.  (Exhibit 14:  HUD-1 
Settlement Statement and Conservator Testimony) 
 

7. The Appellant is age   (Exhibit 1:  
Long-term Care/Waiver Application and Exhibit 12:  Facility Medical 
Records) 
 

8. As of   2018, the Appellant’s active diagnoses since  2011 
included neurofibromatosis, female stress incontinence, osteoporosis, and 
tuberculosis exposure.  Current medication included vitamin D-3.  (Exhibit 
13:  Medical Records) 
 

9. In 2022, the Appellant’s health declined after contracting COVID-19.  The 
Appellant was hospitalized.  Prior to 2022, the Appellant remained in good 
health and was not ill.  (Conservator’s Testimony) 
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10. On   2022,  (“nursing facility”), a skilled 
nursing facility, admitted the Appellant after a brief hospitalization due to 
Covid-19 diagnosis resulting in weakness, fatigue and multiple falls.  The 
Appellant’s diagnosis includes dementia.  (Exhibit 1:  Long-term 
Care/Waiver Application and Exhibit 12:  Facility Medical Records) 
 

11. On   2022, the Department received an application for 
Medicaid under the Long Term Care (“LTC”) program from the  

 (“AREP”), , on behalf of the Appellant.  
The application lists the AREP as the Appellant’s authorized 
representative.   is a private company which 
assists Medicaid applicants with the LTC Medicaid application process for 
a fee.  (Exhibit 1:  Long-term Care/Waiver Application and Conservator 
Testimony) 
 

12. On   2023, the Conservator submitted a written statement to 
the Department.  The Conservator writes he is his aunt’s caregiver while 
working 50-60 hours per week over the last 15-years.  He cooks, cleans, 
shops, does laundry, chauffeur, and seamstress and has never charged 
for his services.  (Exhibit 9:  Conservator Statement) 
 

13. On   2023, the Department determined the Appellant made an 
improper transfer of assets totaling $43,458.15 because the Appellant did 
not receive any portion of the net proceeds totaling $86,916.30 from the 
sale of the single family home on   2020 for which she owned 
jointly.  The Department mailed a notice, Form W495A Transfer of Assets 
Preliminary Decision Notice (“W495A”), to the Appellant regarding the 
transfer of assets.  The notice states that the Department determined that 
the Appellant transferred $43,458.15 from the sale of the single family 
home in order to be eligible for LTC medical benefits.  The notice states, 
“You are applying for or receiving medical help for Long-term care 
services or home care services; and you or your spouse transferred 
assets that affect your eligibility; and you have not given us proof that the 
transfer was not made in order to be eligible for assistance.”  (Department 
Representative Testimony, Exhibit 4:  W495A Transfer of Assets 
Preliminary Decision Notice and Exhibit 15:  Check 9434 $86,916.30) 
 

14. On   2023, the Conservator submitted a signed statement to the 
Department to dispute the Department’s transfer of assets findings.  The 
Conservator writes, “Please Note; my aunt (Appellant) DID NOT contribute 
any founds/cash with the down deposit on [single family home].  My aunt 
became a co-singer on the loan with the intent of getting the best possible 
interest rate from the lender.  The loan was an FHA loan with a 3.5% 
down payment in which I [Conservator], SOLELY contributed the funds 
from the sale of my Two-Family Home/Property (in which I was sole 
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owner).  Also, I was the [only-one] responsible for said property.  Thank 
you in advance.” (Exhibit 11:  Conservator Statement) 
 

15. On   2023, the Department reduced the transfer of asset amount 
from $43,458.15 to $40,126.10.  The Department allowed for the 
reimbursement of earnest money/deposit and settlement charges paid by 
the Conservator from the net proceeds of the sale.  $86,916.30 proceeds - 
$6,664.11 Treasurer Check Total = $80,252.19 / 2 joint owners = 
$40,126.095.   (Exhibit 4:  W-495CTransfer of Assets Final Decision 
Notice, Exhibit 14: HUD-1 Settlement Statement, Exhibit 18:  Treasurer 
Checks,  and Department Representative Testimony)  
 

16. On   2023, the Department determined the Appellant eligible for 
Medicaid beginning   2022 and imposed a transfer of assets penalty 
period beginning   2022 and ending on   2022 during which 
time Medicaid will not pay for room and board at the nursing facility.  
(Exhibit 4:  W-495C Transfer of Assets Final Decision Notice, Exhibit 5:  
Notice of Action and Department Representative Testimony) 
 

17. The Department calculated the penalty period as 2 months and 26-days 
beginning   2022 ending   2022.  $40,126.100 total 
transfer of asset (“TOA”) / $14,060.00 cost of care = 2.85 months.  
(Department Representative Testimony and Exhibit 4:  W-495C Transfer 
of Assets Final Decision Notice) 
 

18. On   2023, the Department mailed a notice, Form W-495C Transfer 
of Assets Final Decision Notice (“W495C”) to the Appellant.  The notice 
states that the Department’s determination of the transfer of $40,126.10 
on   2020 to qualify for Medicaid remains and the Department 
will set up a penalty period beginning   2022 and ending   
2022 in which the Department will not pay for LTC services which includes 
daily room and board at a nursing facility.  (Exhibit 4:  W-495CTransfer of 
Assets Final Decision Notice and Department Representative Testimony) 
 

19. The issuance of this decision is timely under Connecticut General Statutes 
§ 17b-61(a), which requires that a decision be issued within 90 days of the 
request for an administrative hearing.  The Conservator requested an 
administrative hearing on   2023.  Therefore, this decision is due 
not later than   2023. 
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CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 
 
 

1. Section 17b-2(6) of the Connecticut General Statute (“Conn. Gen. Stat.”) 
provides that “the Department of Social Services is designated as the 
state agency for the administration of the Medicaid program pursuant to 
Title XIX of the Social Security Act.” 
  

2. “The Department of Social Services shall be the sole agency to determine 
eligibility for assistance and services under programs operated and 
administered by said department.”  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 17b-261b(a) 
  

3. State statute provides as follows:   
 
Medical assistance shall be provided for any otherwise eligible person (1) 
whose income, including any available support from legally liable relatives 
and the income of the person's spouse or dependent child, is not more 
than one hundred forty-three per cent, pending approval of a federal 
waiver applied for pursuant to subsection (e) of this section, of the benefit 
amount paid to a person with no income under the temporary family 
assistance program, and (2) if such person is an institutionalized individual 
as defined in Section 1917 of the Social Security Act, 42 USC 
1396p(h)(3), and has not made an assignment or transfer or other 
disposition of property for less than fair market value for the purpose of 
establishing eligibility for benefits or assistance under this section. Any 
such disposition shall be treated in accordance with Section 1917(c) of the 
Social Security Act, 42 USC 1396p(c). Any disposition of property made 
on behalf of an applicant or recipient or the spouse of an applicant or 
recipient by a guardian, conservator, person authorized to make such 
disposition pursuant to a power of attorney or other person so authorized 
by law shall be attributed to such applicant, recipient or spouse. A 
disposition of property ordered by a court shall be evaluated in 
accordance with the standards applied to any other such disposition for 
the purpose of determining eligibility. The commissioner shall establish the 
standards for eligibility for medical assistance at one hundred forty-three 
per cent of the benefit amount paid to a household of equal size with no 
income under the temporary family assistance program. In determining 
eligibility, the commissioner shall not consider as income Aid and 
Attendance pension benefits granted to a veteran, as defined in section 
27-103, or the surviving spouse of such veteran. Except as provided in 
section 17b-277 and section 17b-292, the medical assistance program 
shall provide coverage to persons under the age of nineteen with 
household income up to one hundred ninety-six per cent of the federal 
poverty level without an asset limit and to persons under the age of 
nineteen, who qualify for coverage under Section 1931 of the Social 
Security Act, with household income not exceeding one hundred ninety-six 
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per cent of the federal poverty level without an asset limit, and their 
parents and needy caretaker relatives, who qualify for coverage under 
Section 1931 of the Social Security Act, with household income not 
exceeding one hundred fifty-five per cent of the federal poverty level 
without an asset limit. Such levels shall be based on the regional 
differences in such benefit amount, if applicable, unless such levels based 
on regional differences are not in conformance with federal law. Any 
income in excess of the applicable amounts shall be applied as may be 
required by said federal law, and assistance shall be granted for the 
balance of the cost of authorized medical assistance. The Commissioner 
of Social Services shall provide applicants for assistance under this 
section, at the time of application, with a written statement advising them 
of (A) the effect of an assignment or transfer or other disposition of 
property on eligibility for benefits or assistance, (B) the effect that having 
income that exceeds the limits prescribed in this subsection will have with 
respect to program eligibility, and (C) the availability of, and eligibility for, 
services provided by the Connecticut Home Visiting System, established 
pursuant to section 17b-751b. For coverage dates on or after January 1, 
2014, the department shall use the modified adjusted gross income 
financial eligibility rules set forth in Section 1902(e)(14) of the Social 
Security Act and the implementing regulations to determine eligibility for 
HUSKY A, HUSKY B and HUSKY D applicants, as defined in section 17b-
290. Persons who are determined ineligible for assistance pursuant to this 
section shall be provided a written statement notifying such persons of 
their ineligibility and advising such persons of their potential eligibility for 
one of the other insurance affordability programs as defined in 42 CFR 
435.4. 
 
Conn. Gen. Stat. § 17b-261(a) 
 

4. State statute provides as follows:   
 
Any transfer or assignment of assets resulting in the imposition of a 
penalty period shall be presumed to be made with the intent, on the part of 
the transferor or the transferee, to enable the transferor to obtain or 
maintain eligibility for medical assistance. This presumption may be 
rebutted only by clear and convincing evidence that the transferor's 
eligibility or potential eligibility for medical assistance was not a basis for 
the transfer or assignment.   
 
Conn. Gen. Stat. § 17b-261a(a) 
  

5. State statute provides as follows:   
 
Any transfer or assignment of assets resulting in the establishment or 
imposition of a penalty period shall create a debt, as defined in section 
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36a-645, that shall be due and owing by the transferor or transferee to the 
Department of Social Services in an amount equal to the amount of the 
medical assistance provided to or on behalf of the transferor on or after 
the date of the transfer of assets, but said amount shall not exceed the fair 
market value of the assets at the time of transfer. The Commissioner of 
Social Services, the Commissioner of Administrative Services and the 
Attorney General shall have the power or authority to seek administrative, 
legal or equitable relief as provided by other statutes or by common law.   
 
Conn. Gen. Stat. § 17b-261a(b) 
  

6. State statute provides as follows: 
 
The Commissioner of Social Services, pursuant to section 17b-10, shall 
implement the policies and procedures necessary to carry out the 
provisions of this section while in the process of adopting such policies 
and procedures in regulation form, provided notice of intent to adopt 
regulations is published in the Connecticut Law Journal not later than 
twenty days after implementation. Such policies and procedures shall be 
valid until the time final regulations are effective. 
 
Conn. Gen. Stat. § 17b-261a(e) 
 

7. “The department’s uniform policy manual is the equivalent of a state 
regulation and, as such, carries the force of law.”  Bucchere v. Rowe, 43 
Conn. Supp. 175, 178 (1994) (citing Conn. Gen. Stat, § 17b-10; Richard v. 
Commissioner of Income Maintenance, 214 Conn. 601, 573 A.2d 
712(1990)) 
 

8. Section 3029 of the Uniform Policy Manual (“UPM”) provides as follows:   
 
This chapter describes the technical eligibility requirement in the Medicaid 
program pertaining to the transfer of an asset for less than fair market 
value.  The policy material in this chapter pertains to transfers that occur 
on or after February 8, 2006. 
 
The material contained in this chapter pertains only to the Medicaid 
program.  Policy and procedures concerning transfers of assets in the 
cash and Food Stamp programs are contained elsewhere in this section, 
as are the Medicaid policy and procedures that pertain to transfers 
occurring prior to February 8, 2006. 
 
“The Department uses the policy contained in this chapter to evaluate 
assets transfers, including the establishment of certain trusts and 
annuities, if the transfer occurred, or the trust or annuity was established, 
on or after February 8, 2006.”  UPM § 3029.03 
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9. “The policy contained in this chapter pertains to institutionalized 

individuals and to their spouses.”  UPM § 3029.05(B)(1) 
 
Department policy provides as follows: 
 
An individual is considered institutionalized if he or she is receiving: 
 
a. LTCF services; or 
b. Services provided by a medical institution which are equivalent to 

those provided in a long-term care facility; or 
c. Home and community based services under a Medicaid waiver (cross 

references:  2540.64 and 2540.92) 
 
UPM § 3029.05(B)(2) 
 

10. Department policy provides as follows: 
 
There is a period established, subject to the conditions described in this 
chapter, during which institutionalized individuals are not eligible for 
certain Medicaid services they or their spouses dispose of assets for less 
than fair market value on or after the look-back date specified in 
3029.05(C).  This period is called the penalty period, or period of 
ineligibility. 
 
UPM § 3029.05(A) 
 
Department policy provides as follows: 
 
The look-back date for transfers of assets is a date that is 60 months 
before the first date on which both the following conditions exist:   
 
1. The individual is institutionalized; and 
2. The individual is either applying for or receiving Medicaid. 
 
UPM § 3029.05(C) 
 

11. Department policy provides as follows:   
 
The Department considers transfers of assets made within the time limits 
described in 3029.05(C), on behalf of an institutionalized individual or his 
or her spouse by a guardian, conservator, person having power of 
attorney or other person or entity so authorized by law, to have been 
made by the individual or spouse.   
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In the case of an asset that the individual holds in common with another 
person or persons in joint tenancy, tenancy in common or similar 
arrangement, the Department considers the asset (or affected portion of 
such asset) to have been transferred by the individual when the individual 
or any other person takes an action to reduce or eliminate the individual’s 
ownership or control of the asset.   
 
UPM § 3029.05(D) 
 

12. “An otherwise eligible institutionalized individual is not ineligible for 
Medicaid payment of LTC services if the individual, or his or her spouse, 
provides clear and convincing evidence that the transfer was made 
exclusively for a purpose other than qualifying for assistance.”  UPM § 
3029.10(E) 
  
“An institutionalized individual, or his or her spouse, may transfer an asset 
without penalty if the individual provides clear and convincing evidence 
that he or she intended to dispose of the asset at fair market value.”  UPM 
§ 3029.10(F) 
 
Department policy provides as follows:   
 
An institutionalized individual, or his or her spouse, may transfer an asset 
without penalty if the individual provides clear and convincing evidence that 
he or she intended to dispose of the asset in return for other valuable 
consideration.  The value of the other valuable consideration must be equal 
to or greater than the value of the transferred asset in order for the asset to 
be transferred without penalty. (Cross Reference: 3029.20) 
 
UPM § 3029.10(G) 
 
“If the transferor has become incompetent since the transfer and is 
incompetent at the time the Department is dealing with the transfer, the 
transferor’s conservator must provide the information.”  UPM § 
3029.15(A)(2) 
 

13. “Prior to denial or discontinuance of LTC Medicaid benefits, the 
Department notifies the individual and his or her spouse of its preliminary 
decision that a transfer of an asset is determined to have been improper.”  
UPM § 3029.35(A)(1) 
  
The Department correctly determined the Appellant as 
institutionalized. 
  
The Department correctly determined   2020 falls within 
the 60-month look back date for transfers of assets. 
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On   2023, the Department correctly issued form W495A to the 
Appellant. 
 
The Department correctly determined the Appellant transferred 
assets totaling $40,126.10.1  The Conservator on behalf of the 
Appellant failed to provide clear and convincing evidence that the 
reason for the transfer of $40,126.10 on   2020 was not 
for qualifying for assistance.  Both the Appellant and the 
Conservator owned the single family home.  Although the 
Conservator may have paid the monthly mortgage from his 
account(s), documents provided by the Conservator and AREP and 
the Conservator’s testimony establish that the mortgage along with 
utilities and household expenses were shared equally by both 
owners of the single family home and the current residence.  Upon 
the sale of the single family home, the Appellant was entitled to her 
share of the proceeds from the sale of the home.  The   
2020 check from the law firm after the sale of the single family home 
was written to both the Appellant and the Conservator, the joint 
owners of the single family home.  As a co-owner of the home, the 
Appellant had the right to compensation upon the sale of the single 
family home, however there is no evidence to support the Appellant 
received her share of the proceeds.  
 
Testimony provided by the Conservator indicates the Appellant’s 
health was good prior to her 2022 Covid-19 diagnosis supporting the 
Appellant was in good health at the time of the transfer on  

 2020.  The hearing record is void of any evidence to support the 
Conservator provided homecare services to the Appellant to avoid 
institutionalization.  On the contrary, a statement provided by the 
Conservator confirms his employment 50-60 hours per week and 
testimony from the Conservator confirms the Appellant’s health was 
good prior to her Covid-19 diagnosis in 2022.  The hearing record is 
void of medical evidence prior to her admission to the nursing 
facility, except for a medication report dated   2018.   
 
It is noted, both the Appellant and the Conservator purchased the 
current residence together, with the Appellant paying $42,000.00 of 
her own funds of the $83,225.16 monies due at closing on   
2020.  There is no evidence to support monies were returned upon 
the sale of the single family home on   2020, just two 
months after the purchase of the current home.   
 

 
1 The earnest monies and closing costs total $6,662.11 for the single family home.  The total treasurer’s 

checks documenting the earnest monies and closing costs paid by the Conservator equal $6,664.11.  The 

$2.00 difference makes no impact on the outcome of this hearing or the length of the penalty period. 
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The Department correctly determined the Appellant transferred 
assets totaling $40,126.10. 
 
The Department correctly determined the Appellant is subject to a 
transfer of asset penalty under Medicaid Husky C LTC. 
 

14. Department policy provides as follows:  
 
The penalty period begins as of the later of the following dates:  
  
1. The first day of the month during which assets are transferred for less 

than fair market value, if this month is not part of any other period of 
ineligibility caused by a transfer of assets; or 

2. The date on which the individual is eligible for Medicaid under 
Connecticut’s State Plan and would otherwise be eligible for Medicaid 
payment of the LTC services described in 3029.05B based on an 
approved application for such care but for the application of the penalty 
period, and which is not part of any other period of ineligibility caused 
by a transfer of assets. 

 
UPM § 3029.05(E) 
 
Department policy provides as follows:   
 
1. The length of the penalty period consists of the number of whole 

and/or partial months resulting from the computation described in 
3029.05F.2. 

2. The length of the penalty period is determined by dividing the total 
uncompensated value of all assets transferred on or after the look-
back date described in 3029.05C by the average monthly cost to a 
private patient for LTCF services in Connecticut. 
a. For applicants, the average monthly cost for LTCF services is 

based on the figure as of the month of application. 
b. For recipients, the average monthly cost for LTCF services is based 

on the figure as of: 
1. The month of institutionalization; or 
2. The month of the transfer, if the transfer involves the home, or 

the proceeds from a home equity loan, reverse mortgage or 
similar instrument improperly transferred by the spouse while 
the institutionalized individual is receiving Medicaid, or if a 
transfer is made by an institutionalized individual while receiving 
Medicaid (Cross Reference:  3029.15). 

 
UPM § 3029.05(F) 
 
Effective July 1, 2022, the average cost of care equaled $14,060.00. 
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40,126.10 TOA / 14,060.00 cost of care = 2.85391 or 2.85 month 
31 days August x .85 = 26.35 
 
The Department correctly calculated the penalty period as 2 months 
and 26 days beginning   2022, the date on which the Appellant 
is eligible for Medicaid and ending   2022.   

 
15. “The Department sends a final decision notice regarding the rebuttal issue 

at the time of the mailing of the notice regarding the disposition of the 
Medicaid application.”  UPM § 3029.35(C)(4) 
 
On   2023, the Department correctly issued a notice of action 
to the POA regarding the Appellant’s Medicaid eligibility and the 
imposition of a penalty due to the improper transfer of assets. 
 

 
 

DECISION 
 
With regard to whether the Appellant transferred $40,126.10 to become eligible 
for Medicaid, the Appellant’s appeal is denied. 
 
With regard to whether the $40,126.10 transfer subjected the Appellant to a 
penalty period of ineligibility for Medicaid payment of Long-term care services, 
the Appellant’s appeal is denied. 
 
 
 
 
 

       Lisa A. Nyren  

       Lisa A. Nyren 
       Fair Hearing Officer 
 
 
 
CC:  Josephine Savastra, SSOM RO #10 
Lindsey Collins, SSOM RO #10 
Mathew Kalarickal, SSOM RO #10 
David Mazzone, SSOM RO #10 
Julie Rafala, LTC ESW, RO #60   
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RIGHT TO REQUEST RECONSIDERATION 
 
The appellant has the right to file a written reconsideration request within 15 days of 
the mailing date of the decision on the grounds there was an error of fact or law, new 
evidence has been discovered or other good cause exists.  If the request for 
reconsideration is granted, the appellant will be notified within 25 days of the request 
date.  No response within 25 days means that the request for reconsideration has been 
denied.  The right to request a reconsideration is based on §4-181a (a) of the 
Connecticut General Statutes. 
 
Reconsideration requests should include specific grounds for the request:  for example, 
indicate what error of fact or law, what new evidence, or what other good cause exists. 
 
Reconsideration requests should be sent to: Department of Social Services, Director, 
Office of Administrative Hearings and Appeals, 55 Farmington Avenue Hartford, CT  
06105. 
 
 

RIGHT TO APPEAL 
 
The appellant has the right to appeal this decision to Superior Court within 45 days of 
the mailing of this decision, or 45 days after the agency denies a petition for 
reconsideration of this decision, provided that the petition for reconsideration was filed 
timely with the Department.  The right to appeal is based on §4-183 of the Connecticut 
General Statutes.  To appeal, a petition must be filed at Superior Court.  A copy of the 
petition must be served upon the Office of the Attorney General, 165 Capitol Avenue, 
Hartford, CT  06106 or the Commissioner of the Department of Social Services, 55 
Farmington Avenue Hartford, CT 06105.  A copy of the petition must also be served on 
all parties to the hearing. 
 
The 45 day appeal period may be extended in certain instances if there is good cause.  
The extension request must be filed with the Commissioner of the Department of Social 
Services in writing no later than 90 days from the mailing of the decision.  Good cause 
circumstances are evaluated by the Commissioner or the Commissioner’s designee in 
accordance with §17b-61 of the Connecticut General Statutes.  The Agency's decision 
to grant an extension is final and is not subject to review or appeal. 
 
The appeal should be filed with the clerk of the Superior Court in the Judicial District of 
New Britain or the Judicial District in which the appellant resides. 

 
 
 
 
 




