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12. On , 2021, the Department denied the Appellant’s , 2021, 
application due to excess assets.  (Exhibit 7:  Notice of Action  2021) 

 
13. There is no evidence that the Department sent the Appellant the denial notice.  The 

appellant did not receive the 2021 denial notice.  (Hearing Record) 
 

14. In  2021, the Appellant’s  account #  had a balance of 
$6,507.39.  (Exhibit 6: IMPACT – AVS Results – Liquid assets details)  

 
15. In  2021, the Appellant’s  account #  had a balance of 

$6,507.39.  (Exhibit 6: IMPACT – AVS Results – Liquid assets details)  
 

16. In  2022, the Appellant’s  account #  was spent down to a 
balance of $1040.60.  (Hearing Summary and Exhibit 6: IMPACT – AVS Results – 
Liquid assets details)  

 
17. The asset limit for Long Term Care Medicaid eligibility is $1600.00.  (Department’s 

Testimony)  
 

18. On , 2022, the Appellant applied for Long Term Care Medicaid benefits.  
(Hearing Summary, Exhibit 1: W-1LTC, Long-term Care/Waiver Application,  

 2022)  
 

19. On , 2022, the Department mailed the Appellant a W-1348LTC, Verification 
We Need form.  The Department requested the Appellant provide proof that $9,000.00 
in bank account ending in # belonged to the Appellant’s daughter.  (Hearing 
Summary and Exhibit 2: W-1348LTC,  2022)  

 
20. On  2022, the Department received probate documents and sent the 

Appellant a W-1348 requesting proof that $9000.00 in account # belonged to the 
Appellant’s daughter.  (Exhibit 5: Case notes) 

 
21. On , 2022, the Appellant provided probate documents that the $9000.00 in 

account ending did not belong to the Appellant. (Exhibit 5)  
 

22. On , 2022, the Department sent the Appellant a Notice of Action approving the 
Appellant’s , 2022, application for Long Term Care Facility Medicaid 
effective  2022.  (Exhibit 3: Notice of Action, , 2022)  

 
23. The issuance of this decision is timely under Connecticut General Statutes 17b-

61(a), which requires that the Department issue a decision within 90 days of the 
request for an administrative hearing.  The Appellant requested an administrative 
hearing on  2022; therefore, this decision is due no later than , 
2022.  However, the Appellant requested the hearing record remain opened through 

 2022, for the submission of additional evidence which caused a 7 – day 
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delay. Because this 7-day delay resulted from the Appellant’s request, this decision 
is not due until  2022, and is therefore timely.  (Hearing Record)  

 
 

 
CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 

 
1. Section 17b-2 of the Connecticut General Statutes provides in part that the 

Commissioner is authorized to administer the Medicaid program pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act.    
 

2. The Department’s uniform policy manual (“UPM”) is the equivalent of a state 
regulation and, as such, carries the force of law.” Bucchere v. Rowe, 43 Conn. Supp. 
175, 178(1994) (citing Conn. Gen. Stat. § 17b-10; Richard v. Commissioner of 
Income Maintenance, 214 Conn. 601, 573 A.2d 712 (1990)).  
 

3. “The Department counts the assistance unit's equity in an asset toward the asset 
limit if the asset is not excluded by state or federal law and is either: available to 
the unit; or deemed available to the unit.” UPM § 4005.05 (B)(1) 
 

4.  “Under all programs except Food Stamps, the Department considers an asset 
available when actually available to the individual or when the individual has the 
legal right, authority or power to obtain the asset, or to have it applied for, his or her 
general or medical support.” UPM § 4005.05 (B)(2) 
 

5. “Bank accounts include the following.  This list is not all inclusive.”  UPM § 
4030.50(A) 

 
    1. Savings account; 
    2. Checking account; 
    3. Credit union account; 
    4. Certificate of deposit; 
   6. Patient account at long-term care facility; 

    7. Children's school account; 
    8. Trustee account; 
    9. Custodial account. 
 

The Department correctly determined that the Appellant’s  account 
ending in is an asset and was available to the Appellant.     
 

 
6.   UPM § 1560.10 discusses Medicaid beginning dates of assistance and provides 

that the beginning date of assistance for Medicaid may be one of the following: 
A. The first day of the first, second or third month immediately preceding the 

month in which the Department receives a signed application when all non-
procedural eligibility requirements are met and covered medical services 
are received at any time during that particular month; or 
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B. The first day of the month of application when all non-procedural eligibility 
requirements are met during that month; or 

C. The actual date in a spenddown period when all non-procedural eligibility 
requirements are met. For the determination of income eligibility in spend-
down, refer to Income Eligibility Section 5520; or 

D. The first of the calendar month following the month in which an individual is 
determined eligible when granted assistance as a Qualified Medicare 
Beneficiary (Cross Reference: 2540.94). The month of eligibility 
determination is the month that the Department receives all information and 
verification necessary to reach a decision regarding eligibility.  

 
UPM § 4026.05 pertains to the calculation method for counted assets and states: 

 
The amount of assets counted in determining the assistance unit's 
eligibility is calculated in the following manner: 

 
   A. The Department determines the amount of the assistance unit's available 

non-excluded assets by subtracting the value of the following assets owned 
by the assistance unit: 

 
    1. those assets considered to be inaccessible to the assistance unit at the 

time of determining eligibility; and 
 
    2. assets which are excluded from consideration. 
 
   B. The Department adjusts the amount of the assistance unit's available non-

excluded assets by: 
 
    1. subtracting a Community Spouse Disregard (CSD), when appropriate, 

for those individuals applying for assistance under the MAABD 
program (Cross Reference: 4022.05); and  

 
    2. adding any amount of assets deemed to be available to the assistance 

unit (Cross Reference: 4025); and  
 
    3. subtracting a Long-Term Care Insurance Disregard (LTCID), when 

appropriate, for those individuals applying for or receiving assistance 
under the MAABD program (Cross Reference: 4022.10). 

    
   C. The amount remaining after the above adjustments is counted. 

 
 
    The Department correctly counted the Appellant’s assets for the months of 

 2021 through  2021.  
 
7. “In the Medicaid program, the asset limit for one person is $1,600.00.”  UPM 

4005.10 (A) 
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“In the Medicaid program at the time of application, the assistance unit is ineligible 
until the first day of the month in which it reduces its equity in counted assets to within 
the asset limit.”   UPM § 4005.15 (A)(2) 
 
The Appellant had assets that exceeded the Medicaid asset limit of $1600.00 
for the months of  2021 through  2021.   

 
    On  , 2022, the Department correctly granted the Appellant’s 

application for Long Term Care Medicaid effective  2022, the       
month that the Appellant’s assets were reduced below the allowable limit of      
$1600.00.    

 
DISCUSSION 

 
The Appellant’s counsel argued that the Department failed to send the Appellant 
a notice of denial for the application dated  2021 and denied in  
2021.  The Department’s records reflect that the notice of denial was local printed 
and may not have been sent out.  The Appellant claims non-receipt of the denial 
notice.   

 
This hearing addresses the assets for the months of  2021 to  
2022.  The assets were not reduced until J 2022; therefore, the effective 
date of the 2022 application is correct.   
 
This hearing does not address any other eligibility factors that may be related to 
the previous application from , 2021, and denial in  2021.   
    

 

DECISION 
 

 
 The Appellant’s appeal is DENIED.   
 
 
 Scott Zuckerman 

 Scott Zuckerman 
 Hearing Office 
 
 
 
 
 

 Cc:  Rachel Anderson, Operations Manager, DSS, New Haven Regional Office 
                  Mathew Kalarickal, Operations Manager, DSS, New Haven Regional Office 
                  Ralph Filek, Operations Manager, DSS, New Haven Regional Office 
                  Ellen Croll - Wissner, Fair Hearing Liaison, DSS, New Haven Regional Office 
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RIGHT TO REQUEST RECONSIDERATION 
 
The appellant has the right to file a written reconsideration request within 15 days of the 
mailing date of the decision on the grounds there was an error of fact or law, new evidence 
has been discovered or other good cause exists.  If the request for reconsideration is 
granted, the appellant will be notified within 25 days of the request date.  No response 
within 25 days means that the request for reconsideration has been denied.  The right to 
request a reconsideration is based on § 4-181a (a) of the Connecticut General Statutes.  
 
Reconsideration requests should include specific grounds for the request:  for example, 
indicate what error of fact or law, what new evidence, or what other good cause exists. 
 
Reconsideration requests should be sent to: Department of Social Services, Director, 
Office of Administrative Hearings and Appeals, 55 Farmington Avenue Hartford, 
CT  06105. 
 
 

RIGHT TO APPEAL 
 
The appellant has the right to appeal this decision to Superior Court within 45 days of the 
mailing of this decision, or 45 days after the agency denies a petition for reconsideration 
of this decision, provided that the petition for reconsideration was filed timely with the 
Department.  The right to appeal is based on § 4-183 of the Connecticut General 
Statutes.  To appeal, a petition must be filed at Superior Court.  A copy of the petition 
must be served upon the Office of the Attorney General, 165 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, 
CT  06106 or the Commissioner of the Department of Social Services, 55 Farmington 
Avenue Hartford, CT 06105.  A copy of the petition must also be served on all parties to 
the hearing. 
 
The 45 day appeal period may be extended in certain instances if there is good 
cause.  The extension request must be filed with the Commissioner of the Department of 
Social Services in writing no later than 90 days from the mailing of the decision.  Good 
cause circumstances are evaluated by the Commissioner or the Commissioner’s 
designee in accordance with § 17b-61 of the Connecticut General Statutes.  The Agency's 
decision to grant an extension is final and is not subject to review or appeal. 
 
The appeal should be filed with the clerk of the Superior Court in the Judicial District of 
New Britain or the Judicial District in which the appellant resides. 

 
 

 

 




