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28. On , 2021, the Appellant requested a hearing. (Appellant’s Exhibit H: 
Notice of Decision, /22) 

 
29. , M.D. (the “medical provider”) is the Appellant’s medical provider. 

(Testimony) 
 
30. The Appellant was diagnosed with  about years ago. (Medical 

Provider’s Testimony) 
 
31. The Appellant was diagnosed with  in . (Medical Provider’s Testimony) 
 
32. In 2017, the Appellant would have been impaired and not able to make good financial 

decisions. (Medical Provider’s Testimony) 
 

33. On , 2022, a Hearing Officer issued a Notice of Decision. The Department 
was ordered to issue a Transfer of Assets Final Decision Notice (“W495C”) to the 
Appellant by  2022. (Exhibit H) 

 
34. On  2022, issued an NOA to the Appellant approving LTC effective 

 2022, through , 2022, with a Patient Liability Amount (“PLA”) of 
$2,426.00. (After Hearing Exhibit 8: NOA, /22) 

 
35. On  2022, the Department notified the Appellant that $49,000.00 was 

transferred to become eligible for Medicaid. A penalty would be assessed from  
, 2021, through , 2021, due to a $49,000.00 transfer on , 2021. 

(Exhibit 2B: W495, /22) 
 

36. On , 2022, the Department issued an NOA notifying the Appellant that he 
was approved for LTC through , 2022, with a PLA of $2,426.00. (Exhibit 9: 
NOA, /22) 

 
37. The Appellant was last seen by his medical provider on , 2022. (Medical 

Provider’s Testimony) 
 

38. The issuance of this decision is timely under Connecticut General Statutes 17b-61(a), 
which requires that a decision be issued within 90 days of the request for an 
administrative hearing.  The hearing was requested on , 2022. Therefore, 
this hearing was due , 2022. However, this hearing was rescheduled several 
times causing a day delay. Therefore, this decision is due no later than , 
2022. (Hearing  Record)   
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CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 
   

1. The Department is the state agency that administers the Medicaid program 
pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act.  Connecticut General Statutes 
((“Conn. Gen. Stat.”) § 17b-2) 
 

2. The Department may make such regulations as are necessary to administer the 
medical assistance program.  (Conn. Gen. Stat. § 17b-262) 

 
3. The Department is the sole agency to determine eligibility for assistance and 

services under the programs it operates and administers.  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 17b-
261b(a) 
 

4. Conn. Gen. Stat. § 17b-261a(d)(1) provides for purposes of this subsection, an 
“institutionalized individual” means an individual who has applied for or is receiving 
(A) services from a long-term care facility, (B) services from a medical institution 
that are equivalent to those services provided in a long-term care facility, or (C) 
home and community-based services under a Medicaid waiver. 
 

“The department’s Uniform Policy Manual (“UPM”) is the equivalent of state 
regulation and, as such, carries the force of law.” Bucchere v. Rowe, 43 Conn. 
Supp. 175, 178 (1994) (citing Conn. Gen. Stat. § 17b-10; Richard v. Commissioner 
of Income Maintenance, 214 Conn. 601, 573 A.2d 712 (1990)). 

 
Uniform Policy Manual (“UPM”) Section 1500.01 provides that an applicant is the 
individual or individuals for whom assistance is requested. 
 

The Department correctly determined that the Applicant is an institutionalized 
individual of a long-term care facility who has applied for Medicaid coverage 
with the Department. 
 

5. Subsection (a) of section 17b-261a of the Conn. Gen. Stat. provides that any 
transfer or assignment of assets resulting in the imposition of a penalty period shall 
be presumed to be made with the intent, on the part of the transferor or the 
transferee, to enable the transferor to obtain or maintain eligibility for medical 
assistance. This presumption may be rebutted only by clear and convincing 
evidence that the transferor's eligibility or potential eligibility for medical assistance 
was not a basis for the transfer or assignment. 
 

6. UPM § 3029.03 provides that the Department uses the policy contained in this 
chapter to evaluate asset transfers, including the establishment of certain trusts and 
annuities, if the transfer occurred, or the trust or annuity was established, on or after 
February 8, 2006. 
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7. UPM 3029.05(A) provides there is a period established, subject to the conditions 
described in chapter 3029, during which institutionalized individuals are not eligible 
for certain Medicaid services when they or their spouses dispose of assets for less 
than fair market value on or after the look-back date specified in UPM 3029.05(C).  
This period is called the penalty period or period of ineligibility. 

 
8.  UPM § 3029.05(C) provides the look-back date for transfers of assets is a date that 

is sixty months before the first date on which both the following conditions exist: 1) 
the individual is institutionalized; and 2) the individual is either applying for or 
receiving Medicaid.   
 

The Appellant’s look-back period ran from , 2016, through 
, 2021. 

 
The Department correctly determined that the $49,000.00 in transfers 
occurred within the look-back period. 

 
9. UPM § 3029.10(E) provides that an otherwise eligible institutionalized individual is 

not ineligible for Medicaid payment of LTC services if the individual, or his or her 
spouse, provides clear and convincing evidence that the transfer was made 
exclusively for a purpose other than qualifying for assistance. 

 
10. An institutionalized individual or the individual’s spouse is considered to have 

transferred assets exclusively for a purpose other than qualifying for assistance 
under circumstances, which include, but not limited to undue influence; foreseeable 
needs met; transfer to or by legal owner; or that a transferred asset would not affect 
eligibility if retained. UPM § 3029.15(A-D) 
 

11. If the transferor has become incompetent since the transfer and is incompetent at 
the time the Department is dealing with the transfer, the transferor’s conservator 
must provide the information. UPM § 3029.15(A)(2) 
 

12. The Department considers a transferor to have met his or her foreseeable needs if 
at the time of the transfer, he or she retained other income and assets to cover 
basic living expenses and medical costs as they could have reasonable been 
expected to exist based on the transferor’s health and financial situation at the time 
of the transfer. UPM § 3029.15(B) 
 
POA   # 1 did not provide evidence that the Appellant retained assets required 
to meet basic living and medical costs given that the Appellant was 
diagnosed with Dementia in 2016. 

 
POA # 1 did not establish that the Appellant met his foreseeable needs given 
that the Appellant had $14,517.91 in expenses in 2017 and $11,299.97 
in 2017.  
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13. UPM § 3029.05(E) provides that the penalty period begins as of the later of the 

following dates:  
(1) the first day of the month during which assets are transferred for less than fair 

market value; or  
(2) the date on which the individual is eligible for Medicaid under Connecticut’s 

State Plan and would otherwise be eligible for Medicaid payment of the LTC 
services described in 3029.05(B) based on an approved application for such 
care but for the application of the penalty period, and which is not part of any 
other period of ineligibility caused by a transfer of assets. 

 
14. UPM § 3029.05(F) provides in part that the length of the penalty period consists of 

the number of whole and/or partial months resulting from the computation described 
in 3029.05(F)(2).  The length of the penalty period is determined by dividing the 
total uncompensated value of all assets transferred on or after the look-back date 
described in 3029.05(C) by the average monthly cost to a private patient for LTCF 
services in Connecticut.  For applicants, the average monthly cost for LTCF 
services is based on the figure as of the month of application. 
 

The average monthly cost of LTCF services in Connecticut as of 2021, 
the month of the Appellant’s application is $13,512.00. 
 

The $49,000.00 is subject to a transfer of asset penalty. 
 

The Applicant is subject to a penalty of 3.62 months after dividing the 
uncompensated value of the transferred asset by the average monthly cost 
of LTC facility services ($49,000.00/$13,512.00 = 3.62) 
 

The Department correctly determined that the Applicant is subject to a 
penalty of 3.62 months, ending on , 2021.  
  

 

DISCUSSION 

The facility’s attorney asserted that a penalty should not be imposed because the 
Department failed to issue a correct W-495C in a timely manner and that the W-495C 
was invalid because the Department referred to a transfer that occurred in  2021, 
when in fact the transfer occurred in r 2017. The attorney also asserts that the 
Appellant was stripped of due process because the W-495C notified the Appellant that 
he could request a hearing if he did not agree with the W-495C and that his right to a 
fair hearing is explained in a notice that would be sent out the same day,  
2022. The Appellant requested a fair hearing on  2022, and it was honored 
so he was not stripped of his due process. 
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The Attorney believes that the Department waived its right to impose a penalty because 
they failed to comply with the hearing order from , 2022. The order was for 
the Department to issue a W-495 preserving the Appellant’s right to an administrative 
hearing to dispute the penalty period of ineligibility. Although the W-495C did not have 
the correct date of the transfer, the Appellant’s right to request a hearing was reserved. 
Counsel relied on Connecticut General Statute Section 17b-261a(c) which states that 
the imposition of the penalty period may be waived in accordance with UPM § 3025.25. 
UPM 3025 is an obsolete policy. The Department relies on UPM § 3029 for transfers. 
 
The Appellant has a 20-year history with Parkinson’s Disease. In addition to a 
Parkinson’s Disease Dementia diagnosis in 2016. His Neuropsychological Evaluation in 
2016, showed that he would require significant supervision to function safely in the 
community. It should have been expected that his medical needs and expenses would 
be significant. He should have retained more of his assets to meet his foreseeable 
needs. 
 
 

 
DECISION 

 
The Appellant’s appeal is DENIED. 
 
 

 
                        
___________________________                 
 Carla Hardy 

                           Hearing Officer 
 
 
Pc: Angelica Branfalt, Manager, DSS, Manchester  
      Clark O’Neill, Hearing Liaison, DSS, Hartford  
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RIGHT TO REQUEST RECONSIDERATION 
 
The appellant has the right to file a written reconsideration request within 15 days of the 
mailing date of the decision on the grounds there was an error of fact or law, new evidence 
has been discovered or other good cause exists.  If the request for reconsideration is 
granted, the appellant will be notified within 25 days of the request date.  No response 
within 25 days means that the request for reconsideration has been denied.  The right to 
request a reconsideration is based on § 4-181a (a) of the Connecticut General Statutes.  
 
Reconsideration requests should include specific grounds for the request:  for example, 
indicate what error of fact or law, what new evidence, or what other good cause exists. 
 
Reconsideration requests should be sent to: Department of Social Services, Director, 
Office of Administrative Hearings and Appeals, 55 Farmington Avenue Hartford, 
CT  06105. 
 
 

RIGHT TO APPEAL 
 
The appellant has the right to appeal this decision to Superior Court within 45 days of the 
mailing of this decision, or 45 days after the agency denies a petition for reconsideration 
of this decision, provided that the petition for reconsideration was filed timely with the 
Department.  The right to appeal is based on § 4-183 of the Connecticut General 
Statutes.  To appeal, a petition must be filed at Superior Court.  A copy of the petition 
must be served upon the Office of the Attorney General, 165 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, 
CT  06106 or the Commissioner of the Department of Social Services, 55 Farmington 
Avenue Hartford, CT 06105.  A copy of the petition must also be served on all parties to 
the hearing. 
 
The 45 day appeal period may be extended in certain instances if there is good 
cause.  The extension request must be filed with the Commissioner of the Department of 
Social Services in writing no later than 90 days from the mailing of the decision.  Good 
cause circumstances are evaluated by the Commissioner or the Commissioner’s 
designee in accordance with § 17b-61 of the Connecticut General Statutes.  The Agency's 
decision to grant an extension is final and is not subject to review or appeal. 
 
The appeal should be filed with the clerk of the Superior Court in the Judicial District of 
New Britain or the Judicial District in which the appellant resides. 

 

 

 




