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PROCEDURAL BACKROUND

OnE 2022, the Department of Social Services (the “Department”) sent
B (Arpellant”), a Notice of Action (“NOA”) indicating the amount of her
income that she must contribute to the cost of her long-term care would be increasing.

OB 2022, (Appellant’s “Power of Attorney”) requested an
administrative hearing to contest the Department’s calculation of the Appellant’s applied
income.

On I 2022, the Office of Legal Counsel, Regulations, and Administrative
Hearings (“OLCRAH”") issued a notice scheduling the hearing for | 2022

On I 2022, in accordance with sections 17b-60, 17b-61 and 4-176e to 4-189
inclusive of the Connecticut General Statutes, OLCRAH held an in-person
administrative hearing via the Middletown regional office.



The following individuals participated in the hearing onj I 2022:

I - A cpellant’s Power of Attorney

Barbara’s spouse
Christine Moffitt, Department’s Long Term Support Services Representative
Joseph Alexander, Administrative Hearing Officer

The Appellant did not participate in the hearing as she resides in a long-term care
facility.

STATEMENT OF THE ISSUE

The issue to be decided is whether the Department correctly calculated the Appellant’s
applied income that is payable to the long-term care facility.

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. The Appellant is a recipient of Medicaid and a resident of a nursing facility. (Hearing
Record)

2. As of I 2022, the Appellant’s gross monthly income consists of a $2,784.00

Pension from the | (D<ot Ex. 2: Notice of Annuity
Adjustment)

3. As of I 2022, the Appellant’s monthly medical insurance premium was
$276.19 (Dept. Ex. 4: Medical Expenses-Details screenshot)

4. OnEE . 2022, the Department sent a NOA to the Appellant notifying her that
the patient liability amount (applied income) was determined to be $2,432.81. (Dept.
Ex. 6: NOA)

5. The issuance of this decision is timely under the Connecticut General Statutes 8
17b-61(a), which requires that a decision be issued within Jjjdays of the request for

an administrative hearing. The hearing was requested on |l 2022, making
this decision is due not later than il 2022.



CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

. Connecticut General Statutes Section 17b-2 (6) provides that the Department of
Social Services is designated as the state agency for the administration of the
Medicaid program pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act.

. Connecticut General Statues 8§ 17b-261(r) provides for the determination of applied
income. (a) For purposes of this section, “applied income” means the income of a
recipient of medical assistance, pursuant to section 17b-261, that is required, after
the exhaustion of all appeals and in accordance with state and federal law, to be paid
to a nursing home facility for the cost of care and services.

. “The Department’s uniform policy manual is the equivalent of a state regulation and,
as such, carries the force of law.” Bucchere vs. Rowe, 43 Conn. Supp. 175,178
(1994) (citing Conn. Gen. Stat 8 17b-10; Richard v. Commissioner of Income
Maintenance, 214 Conn. 601,573 A.2d 712 (1990)).

. Uniform Policy Manual (“UPM”) § 5045.20 provides that assistance units who are
residents of long-term care facilities (“LTCF”) or receiving community-based
services (“CBS”) are responsible for contributing a portion of their income toward the
cost of their care. For LTCF cases only, the amount to be contributed is projected for
a six-month period.

. UPM 8§ 5045.20(B)(1)(a) provides that the amount of income to be contributed in LTC
cases at the initial calculation for each month in the six month period for which the
contribution is projected, monthly gross income is established as follows: total gross
monthly income which was paid or payable to the applicant or recipient, in the six
months prior to the period for which the contribution is projected, is divided by six.

UPM 8§ 5045.20(B)(1)(b) provides that the total gross income is reduced by post-
eligibility deductions (Cross-reference: 5035-"Income Deductions") to arrive at the
amount of income to be contributed.

The Department correctly determined that the Appellant’s gross monthly
Income totals $2,784.00.

. UPM § 5035.25 (B)(1) provides a monthly deduction for LTFC units of a personal
needs allowance (“PNA”) of $50.00, which, effective July 1, 1999, and annually
thereafter, shall be increased to reflect the annual cost of living adjustment used by
the Social Security Administration.

The Department correctly allowed a PNA totaling $75.00 (figure effective
10/1/21).



7. UPM 8§ 5035.25(B)(4) provides that Medicare and other health insurance premiums,
deductibles, and coinsurance costs are allowable deductions when not paid for
the Department or any other third party.

The Department correctly applied a health care premium deduction totaling
$276.19

8. UPM § 5045.25 provides for calculating applied income for Long-Term Care Facility
(“LTCF”) units without community spouses as follows:

General Principles for Calculating Applied Income

A OWONBE

11.

12.

13.

. Determine amount of income to be considered from fixed income sources.

. Determine amount of income to be considered from variable sources. (N/A)

. Add the figures from steps 1 and 2, above.

. Deduct a personal needs allowance of $15.00 per month from the amount derived

in step 3 for veterans whose pension is reduced to $90.00 pursuant to P.L. 101-
508. (N/A)

. Deduct a personal needs allowance of $15.00 per month form the amount derived

in step 3 for spouses of deceased veterans whose pension is reduced to $90.00
pursuant to P.L. 101-508 as amended by Section 601 of P.L. 102-568. (N/A)

. To determine the amount of personal needs allowance to deduct for all other

clients, go to step 7.

. Deduct a personal needs allowance of $60.00 (currently $75) per month from the

amount derived in step 3 for all other clients.

. Deduct an amount diverted to meet the needs of eligible family members who are

in the home to the extent of increasing their income to the MNIL which corresponds
to the number of members. (N/A)

. Deduct Medicare and other health insurance premiums
. Deduct costs for medical treatment approved by a physician, which are incurred

subsequent to the effective date of eligibility, and which are not covered by
Medicaid. (N/A)
Deduct expenses for services provided by a licensed medical provider in the month
period immediately preceding the first month of eligibility. (N/A)
Deduct the cost of maintaining a home in the community, subject to the following
conditions: (N/A)

a. the amount is not deducted for more than six months;

b. the likelihood of the institutionalized individual’s returning to the community

within six months is certified by a physician

Use the resulting figure from the calculations above as the amount to be
contributed to the cost of care.



Fixed Income (Pension)

$2,784.00

Variable Source Income (N/A) +$0.00
Total Income $2,784.00
Less PNA -$75.00
Post PNA Deduction Income $2,709.00
Less Medicare Premium -$0.00
Less Health Care Premium Deduction -$276.19
Post Health Care Premium Deduction $2,432.81
Less Community Home Maintenance -$0.00
Less Community Spousal Allowance -$0.00
Less Community Family Allowance -$0.00
Less Uncovered Medical Expenses -$0.00
LTSS Patient Liability Amount $2,432.81

The Department correctly calculated the LTSS patient liability amount effective

I 2022




DISCUSSION

A Medicaid recipient who is residing in a long-term care facility must contribute to the
cost of his or her care which is referred to as applied income. The regulations allow for
deductions based on specific conditions. The Department correctly calculated the
Applicant’s gross income source and deducted the $75.00 personal needs allowance. In
addition, the Department applied the appropriate health care premium deduction.

The Department correctly calculated the Appellant’s LTSS patient liability amount. The
Power of Attorney’s dispute is not the calculation of the patient liability amount, rather

that the Appellant’s net income (gross income-deductions) is not enough to the cover
the liability amount.

DECISION

The Appellant’s appeal is DENIED

Joseph Alexander
Administrative Hearing Officer

CC. Brian Sexton, Operations Manager, DSS, Middletown Regional Office
Christine Moffitt, Long Term Support Services Representative, DSS, Middletown
Regional Office



RIGHT TO REQUEST RECONSIDERATION

The Appellant has the right to file a written reconsideration request within 15 days of the
mailing date of the decision on the grounds there was an error of fact or law, new
evidence has been discovered or other good cause exists. If the request for
reconsideration is granted, the appellant will be notified within 25 days of the request
date. No response within 25 days means that the request for reconsideration has been
denied. The right to request a reconsideration is based on 84-1181a (a) of the
Connecticut General Statutes.

Reconsideration requests should include specific grounds for the request: for example,
indicate what error of fact or law, or what other good cause exists.

Reconsideration requests should be sent to: Department of Social Services, Director,
Office of Administrative Hearings and Appeals, 55 Farmington Avenue, Hartford, CT
06105-3725.

RIGHT TO APPEAL

The appellant has the right to appeal this decision to Superior Court with 45 days of the
mailing of this decision, or 45 days after the agency denies petition for reconsideration
of this decision, provided that the petition for reconsideration was filed timely with the
Department. The right to appeal is based on 84-183 of the Connecticut General
Statutes. To appeal, a petition must be fooled at Superior Court. A copy of the petition
must be served upon the Office of the Attorney General, 165 Capitol Avenue, Hartford,
CT 06106 or the Commissioner of the Department of Social Services, 55 Farmington
Avenue, Hartford, CT 06105-3725. A copy of the petition must also be served on all
parties to the hearing.

The 45-day appeal period may be extended in certain instances if there is good cause.
The extension request must be filed with the Commissioner of the Department of Social
Services in writing no later than 90 days from the mailing of the decision. Good cause
circumstances are evaluated by the Commissioner or her designee in accordance with
817b-61 of the Connecticut General Statutes. The Agency’s decision to grant an
extension is final and is not subject to review or appeal.

The appeal should be filed with the clerk of the Superior Court in the Judicial District of
New Britain or the Judicial District in which the appellant resides.






