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15. The POA does not dispute that the Applicant’s assets were not reduced below the 
$1,600.00 asset limit before  of 2020. (Hearing Record; POA’s Testimony) 

 
16.  At the time of the hearing, the Applicant owes the nursing facility approximately 

$7,274.00.  (POA’s Testimony; Hearing Record) 
 
17. The issuance of this decision is timely under Connecticut General Statutes 17b-

61(a), which requires that a decision be issued within 90 days of the request for an 
administrative hearing.  The Appellant requested an administrative hearing on  

 2020.  This decision is due not later than  2020, and is therefore timely. 
 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 
 
 

1. Section 17b-260 of the Connecticut General Statutes authorizes the Commissioner 
of the Department of Social Services to administer the Medicaid program. 
 

2. “The Department’s uniform policy manual is the equivalent of a state regulation 
and, as such, carries the force of law.” Bucchere v. Rowe, 43 Conn. Supp. 175, 
178 (1994) (citing Conn. Gen. Stat. § 17b-10; Richard v. Commissioner of Income 
Maintenance, 214 Conn. 601, 573 A.2d 712 (1990)). 

 
3. Connecticut General Statutes § 17-b 261 (c) defines an “available asset” for 

purposes of determining eligibility for the Medicaid program as “one that is actually 
available to the applicant or one that the applicant has the legal right, authority or 
power to obtain or to have applied for the applicant’s general or medical support.” 

 
Uniform Policy Manual (“UPM”) § 4000.01 defines an “available asset” as “cash or 
any item of value which is actually available to the individual or which the individual 
has the legal right, authority or power to obtain, or the have applied for, his or her 
general or medical support. 

4. UPM § 4005.05(B)(1) provides that the Department counts the assistance unit’s 
equity in an asset toward the asset limit if the asset is not excluded by state or 
federal law and is either: available to the unit; or deemed available to the 
assistance unit.  

 
5.   UPM § 4005.05(B)(2) provides that under all programs except Food Stamps, the 

Department considers an asset available when actually available to the individual 
or when the individual has the legal right, authority or power to obtain the asset or 
to have it applied for his or her general or medical support.   

 
6. UPM § 4005.05(C) provides that “the Department does not count the assistance 

unit’s equity in an asset toward the asset limit if the asset is either: excluded by state 
or federal law; or not available to the unit.           
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7. UPM § 4030 provides that the Department evaluates all types of assets available to 
the assistance unit when determining the unit’s eligibility for benefits. 
 

8. UPM § 4030.05 for the types of bank accounts. 
A. Provides that bank accounts include the following. This list is not all inclusive. 

1. Savings account 
2. Checking account; 
3. Credit union account; 
4. Certificate of deposit; 
5. Patient account at long-term care facility; 
6. Children’s school account; 
7. Trustee account; 
8. Custodial account. 

B. The part of a checking account to be considered as a counted asset during a 
given month is calculated by subtracting the actual amount of income the 
assistance unit deposits into the account that month from the highest balance 
in the account for that month. 

The Department correctly counted the Applicant’s  
checking  as an accessible and countable asset.  

 
9. UPM § 4005.10(A)(2)(a) provides that the asset limit for Medicaid for a needs 

group of one is $1,600.00. 
 
The Department correctly determined the Applicant is a needs group of one 
with a LTC program asset limit of $1,600.00. 

 
10. UPM § 4005.05(D) provides that an assistance unit is not eligible for benefits 

under a particular program if the unit’s equity in counted assets exceeds the asset 
limit for the particular program 

 
The Department correctly determined that the Applicant first reduced her 
assets below the $1,600.00 asset limit in the month of 2020.  
 
The Department correctly determined that the Applicant was not eligible for 
medical assistance under the Husky C-LTC program for the months of 

 2019 and  2019, because her countable assets were not 
reduced below the $1,600.00 program asset limit. 
 
The Department correctly denied the Applicant’s Husky C-LTC application 
for r and  2019, and granted effective  of 2020, 
the month the Applicant first became asset eligible. 
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DECISION 

 
 
 
 
 

 
The Appellant’s appeal is DENIED.     
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
       

  ____________  
                                                                               Shelley Starr  
                                                                                Hearing Officer 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Pc:  Patricia Ostroski, Operations Manager, DSS R.O.# 52, New Britain 
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RIGHT TO REQUEST RECONSIDERATION 
 
The appellant has the right to file a written reconsideration request within 15 days of 
the mailing date of the decision on the grounds there was an error of fact or law, new 
evidence has been discovered or other good cause exists.  If the request for 
reconsideration is granted, the appellant will be notified within 25 days of the request 
date.  No response within 25 days means that the request for reconsideration has been 
denied.  The right to request a reconsideration is based on §4-181a (a) of the 
Connecticut General Statutes. 
 
Reconsideration requests should include specific grounds for the request:  for example, 
indicate what error of fact or law, what new evidence, or what other good cause exists. 
 
Reconsideration requests should be sent to: Department of Social Services, Director, 
Office of Administrative Hearings and Appeals, 55 Farmington Avenue Hartford, 
CT  06105. 
 
 

RIGHT TO APPEAL 
 
The appellant has the right to appeal this decision to Superior Court within 45 days of 
the mailing of this decision, or 45 days after the agency denies a petition for 
reconsideration of this decision, provided that the petition for reconsideration was filed 
timely with the Department.  The right to appeal is based on §4-183 of the Connecticut 
General Statutes.  To appeal, a petition must be filed at Superior Court.  A copy of the 
petition must be served upon the Office of the Attorney General, 55 Elm Street, Hartford, 
CT  06106 or the Commissioner of the Department of Social Services, 55 Farmington 
Avenue Hartford, CT 06105.  A copy of the petition must also be served on all parties to 
the hearing. 
 
The 45 day appeal period may be extended in certain instances if there is good 
cause.  The extension request must be filed with the Commissioner of the Department 
of Social Services in writing no later than 90 days from the mailing of the 
decision.  Good cause circumstances are evaluated by the Commissioner or the 
Commissioner’s designee in accordance with §17b-61 of the Connecticut General 
Statutes.  The Agency's decision to grant an extension is final and is not subject to 
review or appeal. 
 
The appeal should be filed with the clerk of the Superior Court in the Judicial District of 
New Britain or the Judicial District in which the appellant resides. 

 
 

 




