STATE OF CONNECTICUT
DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES
OFFICE OF LEGAL COUNSEL, REGULATIONS AND ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS
55 FARMINGTON AVENUE
HARTFORD, CT 06105

2020
SIGNATURE CONFIRMATION

I
I
Request # 162651

NOTICE OF DECISION

PARTY

PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND

O 2020, the Department of Social Services (the “Department”) sent | R
B (the “Applicant”), a notice that she had transferred $135,060.00 to become
eligible for Medicaid, and that the Department was imposing a penalty period of ineligibility
for Medicaid for Long Term Care Services (‘LTC”) effective |l 2020 through

I 2021

On 2020, B (the “Appellant”), requested an administrative
hearing to contest the Department’s penalty determination.

On B °020, the Office of Legal Counsel, Regulations, and Administrative
Hearings (“OLCRAH") scheduled an administrative hearing for | 2020.

On I 020, in accordance with sections 17b-60, 17b-61, and 4-176e to 4-189,
inclusive, of the Connecticut General Statutes, OLCRAH held a telephonic administrative
hearing. The following individuals participated in the hearing:

I A rrellant and Applicant’s son

Jessica Gomez, Department’s Representative
Carla Hardy, Hearing Officer

The Applicant did not participate in the hearing because she expired injjjij 2020.
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STATEMENT OF THE ISSUE

The issue is whether the Department correctly imposed a penalty period beginning on |l
2020, and ending on | 2021, due to a $135,060.00, transfer of asset penalty for
the LTC program.

FINDINGS OF FACT

. The Applicant was born on | 1929 (Appellant’s Testimony)

. The Applicant resided at |l S " B Connecticut. (Hearing
Record)

. The Applicant’s income consisted of a monthly $2,013.60 in Social Security benefit
and $845.00 Veteran’s Administration pension. (Department’s Testimony)

. The Appellant is the son of the Applicant. (Hearing Record)

. Thejl Tax Assessors describes the property as a six-bedroom home with
one bathroom and 2,434 square feet of living space. (Exhibit 7: Case Notes)

. On I 2018, the Applicant sold her home to | for
$30,000.00. (Exhibit 5: Residential Seller's Closing Statement; Exhibit 7; Appellant’s
Testimony)

. I 2018, the Applicant had a stroke. She was admitted to the hospital for
approximately two weeks. The Applicant moved in with the Appellant after she was
discharged from the hospital. Prior to the stroke, the Applicant used a walker and was
able to dress herself. She was mentally fit and was able to handle her own finances.
(Appellant’s Testimony)

. On I 2019, the Applicant was admitted to the |
(“the nursing facility”) located at | S " B Connecticut.

(Appellant’s Testimony; Department’s Testimony)

. On I 2020, the Department received an on-line application for LTC on

behalf of the Applicant. |l Sl o' I s the Applicant’s authorized
representative (“AREP”). (Exhibit 1A: On-line Application, Jjiilj20)

is the Applicant’s Power of Attorney (“POA”) and AREP. (Exhibit
1A Exhibit 1B: W1-LTC application, |jjij/20))
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11.The Department requested that the Applicant complete the W-1 LTC paper application
because the paper application is more comprehensive than the on-line application.
(Department’s Testimony)

12.0n I 2020, the Department received a paper application (“W-1 LTC”) for
LTC on behalf of the Applicant. (Exhibit 1B: W-1 LTC Application; Hearing Summary)

13.O" 2020, the Department issued to the Applicant and her AREPs a
request for bank statements; tax returns; spouse’s death certificate; proof of pension;
medical card; proof of health insurance premium; proof of vehicle ownership; and
proof of any income or assets owned by the Applicant within the last five years. The
requested information was due byl 2020. (Exhibit 2: Worker Generated
Request for Proofs Jjjjj20)

14.Or 2020, the Department issued to the Applicant and her AREPs a request
for additional information. The requested information was due by | 2020.
(Exhibit 3: Worker Generated Request for Proofs, Jjjjj/20)

15.0n I 2020, the Department issued to the Applicant and the AREPs a request
for a copy of the Applicant's HUD1 and a copy of the appraisal of the Applicant’s
property at the time it was sold. (Exhibit 4: Notification from Department of Social
Services (“W-3016" i 20)

16.Prior to | 2020, the Department made a referral to the Department’s
Resources Unit for a valuation for Applicant’s home property. (Hearing Record)

17.0n I 2020, the Department received the Applicant’s Residential Seller’'s
Closing Statement. The Applicant's home that was located at || "
was sold for $30,000.00. The Applicant received $27,597.92 in net

proceeds. (Exhibit 5: Residential Seller’s Closing Statement; Exhibit 7: Case Notes)

18.OnI 2020, the Department’s Resources Unit concluded that the Applicant’s
home property was sold for $30,000.00. The Tax Assessor for the city of | N
Connecticut describes the property as a 2.25 story colonial home with six bedrooms
and one bathroom. The home has 2,434 square feet of living space. The city of
I 2rpraised the home at $165,060.00 in 2018. There were no foreclosure
proceedings against the property and no outstanding encumbrances. Two other
comparable properties that were sold within six months of the Applicant’s property had
an average sale price of $211,000.00. One of the homes was a five-bedroom, two
bath, multi-family with 2,519 square feet that sold for $235,000.00 and appraised at
$150,360.00. The other home was a five-bedroom, 2 bath, multi-family with 2,392
square feet that sold on || 2017, for $187,000.00. This home appraised at
$166,610.00. (Exhibit 6: Resources Investigation Report; Exhibit 7: Case Notes)
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19.0n I 2020, the Applicant’'s Power of Attorney (“POA”) wrote a letter to the
Department on behalf of the Applicant indicating the Applicant sold her home for
$30,000.00 because she had no other options. The | thc
Applicant’s insurer gave the Applicant one year to update the home after completing
a home inspection. The home needed a new roof. The electrical and plumbing
required updating. The walkway also required repair. (Exhibit 8: Letter from the POA,

I 20)
20.ON 2020, the Applicant expired. (Appellant’s Testimony)

21.0n I 2020, the Department determined through its examination of the
Applicant’s documentation that the Appellant made $135,060.00 in a property transfer
in order to be eligible for assistance and issued a notice proposing to apply a penalty
resulting from the alleged improper transfer of assets. (Exhibit 9: Notice of Possible
Improper Transfer of Assets JJjjjij20)

22.0On . 2020, andl 2020, the Department requested the Applicant’s dividend
statements from | 2nd proof payments made to |- (Exhibit
10: Worker Generated Request for Proofs, jjj/20; Exhibit 11: Worker Generated
Request for Proofs, Jjjj/20)

23.0n I 2020, the Department notified the Applicant that $135,060.00 was
transferred to become eligible for Medicaid and that a penalty would be assessed from
B 2020, through | 2021. (Exhibit 12: Response to Your Transfer of
Assets Explanation, JJjilij/20)

24.The issuance of this decision is timely under Connecticut General Statutes 17b-61(a),
which requires that a decision be issued within 90 days of the request for an
administrative hearing. The Applicant’'s Representative requested a hearing on
2020. This decision is due no later than | 2020 and is

therefore, timely. (Hearing Record)

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. The Department is the state agency that administers the Medicaid program
pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. The Department may make such
regulations as are necessary to administer the medical assistance program.
Connecticut General Statutes (“Conn. Gen. Stat.”) § 17b-2; Conn. Gen. Stat. 8 17b-
262

2. The Department is the sole agency to determine eligibility for assistance and
services under the programs it operates and administers. Conn. Gen. Stat. § 17b-
261b(a)
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3. Conn. Gen. Stat. 8 17b-261a(d)(1) provides for purposes of this subsection, an
“institutionalized individual” means an individual who has applied for or is receiving
(A) services from a long-term care facility, (B) services from a medical institution
that are equivalent to those services provided in a long-term care facility, or (C)
home and community-based services under a Medicaid waiver.

4. The Department correctly determined that the Applicant is an institutionalized
individual of a long-term care facility who has applied for Medicaid coverage with
the Department.

5. Subsection (a) of section 17b-261a of the Conn. Gen. Stat. provides that any
transfer or assignment of assets resulting in the imposition of a penalty period shall
be presumed to be made with the intent, on the part of the transferor or the
transferee, to enable the transferor to obtain or maintain eligibility for medical
assistance. This presumption may be rebutted only by clear and convincing
evidence that the transferor's eligibility or potential eligibility for medical assistance
was not a basis for the transfer or assignment.

6. “The department’s Uniform Policy Manual (“UPM”) is the equivalent of state
regulation and, as such, carries the force of law.” Bucchere v. Rowe, 43 Conn.
Supp. 175, 178 (1994) (citing Conn. Gen. Stat. 8 17b-10; Richard v. Commissioner
of Income Maintenance, 214 Conn. 601, 573 A.2d 712 (1990)).

7. Uniform Policy Manual (“UPM”) Section 1500.01 provides that an applicant is the
individual or individuals for whom assistance is requested.

8. UPM § 3029.03 provides that the Department uses the policy contained in this
chapter to evaluate asset transfers, including the establishment of certain trusts and
annuities, if the transfer occurred, or the trust or annuity was established, on or after
February 8, 2006.

9. UPM 3029.05(A) provides there is a period established, subject to the conditions
described in chapter 3029, during which institutionalized individuals are not eligible
for certain Medicaid services when they or their spouses dispose of assets for less
than fair market value on or after the look-back date specified in UPM 3029.05(C).
This period is called the penalty period or period of ineligibility.

10. UPM 8 3029.05(C) provides the look-back date for transfers of assets is a date that
is sixty months before the first date on which both the following conditions exist: 1)
the individual is institutionalized; and 2) the individual is either applying for or
receiving Medicaid.

11.The look-back date is | I 2015.
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12.UPM § 3029.10(E) provides that an otherwise eligible institutionalized individual is
not ineligible for Medicaid payment of LTC services if the individual, or his or her
spouse, provides clear and convincing evidence that the transfer was made
exclusively for a purpose other than qualifying for assistance.

13.An institutionalized individual or the individual’s spouse is considered to have
transferred assets exclusively for a purpose other than qualifying for assistance
under circumstances, which include, but not limited to undue influence; foreseeable
needs met; transfer to or by legal owner; or that a transferred asset would not affect
eligibility if retained. UPM § 3029.15(A-D)

14.The Applicant's Representative did not establish with clear and convincing
evidence that the Applicant transferred assets exclusively for a purpose other than
qualifying for assistance.

15.UPM 8§ 3029.05(E) provides that the penalty period begins as of the later of the

following dates:

(1) the first day of the month during which assets are transferred for less than fair
market value; or

(2) the date on which the individual is eligible for Medicaid under Connecticut’s
State Plan and would otherwise be eligible for Medicaid payment of the LTC
services described in 3029.05(B) based on an approved application for such
care but for the application of the penalty period, and which is not part of any
other period of ineligibility caused by a transfer of assets.

16.UPM 8§ 3029.05(F) provides in part that the length of the penalty period consists of
the number of whole and/or partial months resulting from the computation described
in 3029.05(F)(2). The length of the penalty period is determined by dividing the
total uncompensated value of all assets transferred on or after the look-back date
described in 3029.05(C) by the average monthly cost to a private patient for LTCF
services in Connecticut. For applicants, the average monthly cost for LTCF
services is based on the figure as of the month of application.

17.The average monthly cost of LTCF services in Connecticut as of |Jjjiiili§ 2020, the
month of application is $13,143.00.

18.The $135,060.00 is subject to a transfer of asset penalty.

19.The Applicant is subject to a penalty of 10.27 months after dividing the
uncompensated value of the transferred asset by the average monthly cost of LTC
facility services ($135,060.00/$13,143.00 = 10.27)

20.The Department incorrectly determined that the Applicant is subject to a penalty of
10.27 months, ending on | 2021.
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21.The Applicant is subject to a penalty of 10.27 months, ending on |l 2021.

DISCUSSION

The Appellant testified that the Applicant sold her home for $30,000.00 because she could
not get more for it because it was in such poor condition. The Appellant did not provide any
documentation to justify that the fair market value of the Applicant's home was $30,000.00
and not $165,060.00 as appraised by the | Assessor's in 2018.

DECISION

The Appellant’s appeal is DENIED.

Carla Hardy
Hearing Officer

Pc: . ~ppelant

Yecenia Acosta, Tim Latifi, Jessica Gomez, Department of Social Services, Bridgeport
Office



RIGHT TO REQUEST RECONSIDERATION

The appellant has the right to file a written reconsideration request within 15 days of the
mailing date of the decision on the grounds there was an error of fact or law, new evidence
has been discovered or other good cause exists. If the request for reconsideration is
granted, the appellant will be notified within 25 days of the request date. No response
within 25 days means that the request for reconsideration has been denied. The right to
request a reconsideration is based on 84-181a (a) of the Connecticut General Statutes.

Reconsideration requests should include specific grounds for the request: for example,
indicate what error of fact or law, what new evidence, or what other good cause exists.

Reconsideration requests should be sent to: Department of Social Services, Director,

Office of Administrative Hearings and Appeals, 55 Farmington Avenue, Hartford,
CT 06105-3725.

RIGHT TO APPEAL

The appellant has the right to appeal this decision to Superior Court within 45 days of the
mailing of this decision, or 45 days after the agency denies a petition for reconsideration
of this decision, provided that the petition for reconsideration was filed timely with the
Department. The right to appeal is based on 84-183 of the Connecticut General
Statutes. To appeal, a petition must be filed at Superior Court. A copy of the petition
must be served upon the Office of the Attorney General, 55 EIm Street, Hartford,
CT 06106 or the Commissioner of the Department of Social Services, 55 Farmington
Avenue Hartford, CT 06105. A copy of the petition must also be served on all parties to
the hearing.

The 45-day appeal period may be extended in certain instances if there is good
cause. The extension request must be filed with the Commissioner of the Department of
Social Services in writing no later than 90 days from the mailing of the decision. Good
cause circumstances are evaluated by the Commissioner or the Commissioner’s
designee in accordance with 817b-61 of the Connecticut General Statutes. The Agency's
decision to grant an extension is final and is not subject to review or appeal.

The appeal should be filed with the clerk of the Superior Court in the Judicial District of
New Britain or the Judicial District in which the appellant resides.






