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On , 2020, in accordance with sections 17b-60, 17-61 and 4-176e to 4-
189, inclusive, of the Connecticut General Statutes, OLCRAH held an administrative 
hearing. The following individuals were present at the hearing: 
 
Stephen B. Keogh Esq., for the Appellant 
Ellen Hain Esq. for the Appellant 

, Appellant’s son and POA 
Shawn Hardy, Department’s Representative via telephone  
Megan Finlayson, Department’s Representative 
Thomas Monahan, Hearing Officer 
 
 
 

STATEMENT OF THE ISSUE 
 
The issue to be decided is whether the Department’s decision to deny the Appellant’s 
CHCPE application due to assets in excess of the program limit is correct. 
 

FINDINGS OF FACT 
 

 
1. On  2019, the Appellant applied for Medicaid through the Connecticut Home 

Care Program for the Elderly.  (Appellant’s Exhibit 3B: Correspondence with 
application form) 

 
2. The Appellants is  years old [D.O.B. ].  (Appellant’s Exhibit 3B: 

Correspondence with application form) 
 

3. The Appellant’s power of attorney (“POA”) is her son  and he is 
represented by attorneys Stephen Keogh and Ellen Hain.  (Appellant’s Exhibit 3B: 
Correspondence with application form) 
 

4. On the application the Appellant listed income from a promissory note.  The note 
stated that the borrowers were to pay $70,000.00 to the Appellant (the lender) in the 
form of monthly payments of $465.71 effective . The note stated that as 
of the maturity date of  any outstanding balance would be paid to the 
Appellant.  (Appellant’s Exhibit 3B: Correspondence with application form, Exhibit C: 
Attorney’s fax with promissory note, Exhibit G: attorney’s fax with notification of 
delayed maturity) 

 
5.  On , 2019, the Department received the amortization schedule for the 

promissory note from the Appellant.   The balance owed to the Appellant as of  
, 2019 was $60,067.24. (Exhibit C: Attorney’s fax including Amortization schedule) 

 
6. On  2019, the Department sent the Appellant’s POA a Verification We Need 

form requesting various asset verifications.  The form also notified the Appellant that 
the promissory note’s balance of $60,067.24 would be treated as an available asset. 
(Exhibit F: Verification We Need forms) 
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7. On , 2019, the Appellant’s attorney informed the Department that they 
were attempting to sell the promissory note on the secondary market.  He requested 
that the promissory note be counted as an inaccessible asset if they were unable to 
find a buyer.  (Exhibit C:  Attorney’s fax and letter) 

 
8. On  2019, the Department received verification from the attorney of 

three offers to purchase the promissory note.  The highest offer was $41,725.00. 
The Appellant’s attorney accepted the highest offer and requested that the 
promissory note be treated as a non-countable asset because of the Appellant’s 
good faith to sell the note. (Exhibit D: offer letters and acceptance of offer) 

 
9. On  2019, the Department requested the following information 

regarding the promissory note:  A list of payments made on the note, the current 
balance owed on the note, principal plus interest, and were there any attempts by 
the Appellant to call in the note after the  2019 maturity date. (Exhibit F: 
Verification We Need form, /19) 

 
10. On , 2019, the Appellant’s attorney notified the Department of the 

payments made by the borrower to the Appellant, the current balance on the note of 
$59,719.23 and that the parties later postponed the maturity date and agreed to 
allow the borrower to continue to make monthly payments.  (Exhibit G: Attorney’s 
letter, payment history and amortization schedule, /19) 

 
11. On , 2019, the Department denied the Appellant’s application for CHCPE 

Medicaid Waiver because the appellant’s assets exceeded the $1,600.00 asset limit.  
The promissory note valued at $59,719.23 was counted as an available asset by the 
Department.  (Exhibit G: Notice of Action, /19) 

 
12. The Appellant reapplied for assistance on , 2019, and the application 

remained pending at the time of the hearing.  (Testimony) 
 

13.  On  2019, the Department emailed the Appellant’s attorneys and 
notified them that the offer for the promissory note was acceptable.  The email also 
stated that the Department’s position was that the Appellant remained over assets 
until the note was sold and assets reduced to within the $1,600.00 limit.  (Appellant’s 
Exhibit 3B: Correspondence, email /19) 

 
14. The issuance of this decision is timely under Connecticut General Statute Section 

17b-61(a), which requires that a decision be issued within 90 days of the request for 
an administrative hearing. The Appellant requested an administrative hearing on 

 2019, and the decision was due on  2020. The Appellant 
requested a continuance of the hearing resulting in a delay of 20 days.  Therefore, 
this decision was due not later than  2020 and is therefore timely. 
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CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 
 
1. Section 17b-2 of the Connecticut General Statutes, authorizes the Department of 

Social Services to administer the Medicaid program pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act.   
 

2. Connecticut General Statutes § 17b-342 provides for the Connecticut home-care 
program for the elderly. (a) The Commissioner of Social Services shall administer 
the Connecticut home-care program for the elderly state-wide in order to prevent the 
institutionalization of elderly persons (1) who are recipients of medical assistance, 
(2) who are eligible for such assistance, (3) who would be eligible for medical 
assistance if residing in a nursing facility, or (4) who meet the criteria for the state 
funded portion of the program under subsection (i) of this section. For purposes of 
this section, a long-term care facility is a facility which has been federally certified as 
a skilled nursing facility or intermediate care facility. The commissioner shall make 
any revisions in the state Medicaid plan required by Title XIX of the Social   Security 
Act prior to implementing the program. The annualized cost of the community-based 
services provided to such persons under the program shall not exceed sixty per cent 
of the weighted average cost of care in skilled nursing facilities and intermediate 
care facilities. The program shall be structured so that the net cost to the state for 
long-term facility care in combination with the community-based services under the 
program shall not exceed the net cost the state would have incurred without the 
program. The commissioner shall investigate the possibility of receiving federal 
funds for the program and shall apply for any necessary federal waivers. A recipient 
of services under the program, and the estate and legally liable relatives of the 
recipient, shall be responsible for reimbursement to the state for such services to the 
same extent required of a recipient of assistance under the state supplement 
program, medical assistance program, temporary family assistance program or 
supplemental nutrition assistance program. Only a United States citizen or a 
noncitizen who meets the citizenship requirements for eligibility under the Medicaid 
program shall be eligible for home-care services under this section, except a 
qualified alien, as defined in Section 431 of Public Law 104-193, admitted into the 
United States on or after August 22, 1996, or other lawfully residing immigrant alien 
determined eligible for services under this section prior to July 1, 1997, shall remain 
eligible for such services. Qualified aliens or other lawfully residing immigrant aliens 
not determined eligible prior to July 1, 1997, shall be eligible for services under this 
section subsequent to six months from establishing residency. Notwithstanding the 
provisions of this subsection, any qualified alien or other lawfully residing immigrant 
alien or alien who formerly held the status of permanently residing under color of law 
who is a victim of domestic violence or who has mental retardation shall be eligible 
for assistance pursuant to this section.  Qualified aliens, as defined in Section 431 of 
Public Law 104-193, or other lawfully residing immigrant aliens or aliens who 
formerly held the status of permanently residing under color of law shall be eligible 
for services under this section provided other conditions of eligibility are met. 
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3. Connecticut General Statutes § 17b-342 (c) provides the community-based services 

covered under the program shall include, but not be limited to, the following services 
to the extent that they are not available under the state Medicaid plan, occupational 
therapy, homemaker services, companion services, meals on wheels, adult day 
care, transportation, mental health counseling, care management, elderly foster 
care, minor home modifications and assisted living services provided in state funded 
congregate housing and in other assisted living pilot or demonstration projects 
established under state law. Personal care assistance services shall be covered 
under the program to the extent that (1) such services are not available under the 
Medicaid state plan and are more cost effective on an individual client basis than 
existing services covered under such plan, and (2) the provision of such services is 
approved by the federal government. Recipients of state-funded services and 
persons who are determined to be functionally eligible for community-based services 
that have an application for medical assistance pending shall have the cost of home 
health and community-based services covered by the program, provided they 
comply with all medical assistance application requirements. Access agencies shall 
not use department funds to purchase community-based services or home health 
services from themselves or any related parties. 
 

4. Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies § 17b-342-1 (c) (4) provides for category 
types. The following three category types define the funding sources which pay for 
the client's community based services and home health services. The category types 
apply to care managed cases, self-directed cases and the assisted living service 
program component. (A) Category Type 1: This category applies to elders who are 
at risk of institutionalization but who might not immediately enter a hospital or 
nursing facility in the absence of the program. This category type is available to 
elders who meet the financial and functional eligibility criteria for the state-funded 
portion of the program as defined in section 17b-10-1 of the Regulations of 
Connecticut State Agencies and the department's Uniform Policy Manual section 
8040. Some clients under Category Type 1 may be Medicaid recipients because 
they do not meet the functional criteria for the Medicaid waiver portion of the 
program. (B) Category Type 2: This category applies to elders who would otherwise 
require admission to a nursing facility on a short or long term basis. This category 
type is available to elders who meet the financial and functional eligibility criteria for 
the state-funded portion of the program as defined in the department's Uniform 
Policy Manual section 8040. (C) Category Type 3: This category applies to elders 
who, but for the provision of home care services, would require nursing facility care 
funded by Medicaid. This category type is available to elders who meet the financial   
and functional eligibility criteria for Medicaid under the federal waiver as defined in 
the department's Uniform Policy Manual section 2540.92. 

 
5. Uniform Policy Manual (“UPM”) Section 2540.92(A)(B) provides for eligibility criteria 

for individuals receiving home and community based services. This group includes 
individuals who:  1. would be eligible for MAABD if residing in a long term care 
facility (LTCF); and 2. qualify to receive home and community-based services under 
a waiver approved by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services; and 3.would, 
without such services, require care in an LTCF.  Individuals qualify for Medicaid as 
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categorically needy for as long as they meet the conditions above and receive 
home and community-based services under a waiver.   
 

6. UPM § 2540.92 (C) provides for the income and asset criteria for individuals receiving 
home and community based services.  1.  Except as described in subparagraph 3 
below, the Department determines income eligibility under this coverage group by 
comparing the individual's gross income to the Special Categorically Needy Income 
Limit (CNIL), set at 300% of the maximum SSI amount for one person.  To qualify as 
categorically needy, the individual's gross income must be less than the special CNIL. 
2. Except as described in subparagraph 3 below, the Department uses the AABD 
asset limit to determine eligibility.  3. Individuals who are eligible for Medicaid under 
the “Working Individuals with Disabilities” coverage group, the “Severely Impaired” 
coverage group or the “Severely Impaired Non-SSI Recipients” coverage group, and 
who also meet the non-financial eligibility criteria described in paragraph A to receive 
home and community-based services under the Personal Care Assistance waiver, the 
Acquired Brain Injury waiver, the Department of Developmental Services 
Comprehensive waiver or the Department of Developmental Services Individual and 
Family Support waiver are considered to meet the income and asset criteria of this 
coverage group (Cross References: 2540.85, 2540.76 and 2540.77). 

 
7. Connecticut General Statues 17b-261(c) provides that for the purposes of 

determining eligibility for the Medicaid program, an available asset is one that is 
actually available to the applicant or one that the applicant has the legal right, 
authority or power to obtain or to have applied for the applicant's general or medical 
support. If the terms of a trust provide for the support of an applicant, the refusal of a 
trustee to make a distribution from the trust does not render the trust an unavailable 
asset. Notwithstanding the provisions of this subsection, the availability of funds in a 
trust or similar instrument funded in whole or in part by the applicant or the 
applicant's spouse shall be determined pursuant to the Omnibus Budget 
Reconciliation Act of 1993, 42 USC 1396p. 

 
UPM § 4000.01 defines an “available asset” as “cash or any item of value which is 
actually available to the individual or which the individual has the legal right, 
authority or power to obtain, or to have applied for, his or her general or medical      
support. 

 
UPM § 4000.01 defines a counted asset as an asset which is not excluded and    
either available or deemed available to the assistance unit. 
 
UPM § 4000.01 defines non-home property as real property which a person owns but 
is not using as principal residence. 
 
UPM § 4000.01 defines real property as an asset in the form of real estate- that is, 
land and buildings, or campers, trailers or mobile homes which have been 
permanently affixed to the land. 
 
The Appellant’s promissory note is not non-home property. 
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8. UPM § 4030.50 provides that  mortgage notes, loans, installment contracts and 

similar financial instruments must be evaluated as both an asset representing an 
investment and as income that the beneficiary may receive on a regular basis (cross 
reference: 5050, Treatment of Specific Types).  Also the right to receive income is 
regarded as an available asset.  

 
UPM § 4030.50 provides that the assistance unit's equity in a mortgage note, loan, 
installment contract or similar financial instrument is a counted asset to the extent that 
the assistance unit can sell or otherwise obtain the entire amount of equity in the 
investment. 
 
 UPM § 3029.14(F) provides that notwithstanding any other provision of this paragraph, 
the Department evaluates a mortgage note, loan, installment contract or similar 
financial instrument, and the income stream derived from any such instrument, as an 
available asset. 

 
The Department correctly determined that the promissory note is an available 
asset.  

 
9. UPM 4005.05 (A),(B)provides that the Department counts the unit’s equity in an asset 

toward the asset limit if the asset is not excluded by state of federal law and is either: 
available to the assistance unit; or deemed available to the unit.  

 
UPM § 4005.05(D) provides that an assistance unit is not eligible for benefits under a 
particular program if the unit's equity in counted assets exceeds the asset limit for the 
particular program.  

 
UPM § 4005.10 provides that the Medicaid asset limit for a needs group of one is 
$1,600.00.    

 
UPM § 4005.15 provides that in the Medicaid program at the time of application, the 
assistance unit is ineligible until the first day of the month in which it reduces its equity 
in counted assets to within the asset limit.   

 
The Department correctly determined that the Appellant’s promissory note 
valued at $41,725.00 exceeded the limits for Medicaid eligibility. 

 
The Department correctly denied the Appellant’s LTC Medicaid application. 
 

 
DISCUSSION 

 
The Appellant’s counsel argued that the asset is excluded because the Appellant is 
in the process of selling the note.  He argued that the note is tied to the mortgage 
deed and that the mortgage deed is interest in real property. He stated that you can’t 
sell the promissory note without selling the mortgage. The Department’s definition of 
real property is an asset in the form of real estate- that is, land and buildings, or 
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campers, trailers or mobile homes which have been permanently affixed to the land.  
Promissory notes and mortgages are not real property. 

 
The Appellant’s counsel argued that the offers to purchase the note were submitted 
to the Department on  2019 but the Department did not verify that the 
highest offer was acceptable for fair market value until  2019 when the 
Appellant reapplied.  Although there was a delay in notifying the Appellant regarding 
the fair market value of the highest offer, the Department had enough information to 
determine that the asset was available and in excess of the asset limit for the CHCP 
Medicaid Waiver program and thus deny the initial application.  

 
 

DECISION 
 
    The Appellant’s appeal is DENIED. 
 

__________________ 
                     Thomas Monahan 

                                                                                                        Hearing Officer 
 
 
 

C: Fred Presnick, Operations Manager, Bridgeport Regional Office 
     Yecenia Acosta, Operations Manager, Bridgeport Regional Office  
     Tim Latifi, Operations Manager, Bridgeport Regional Office 
     Shawn Hardy, Hearing Liaison 
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RIGHT TO REQUEST RECONSIDERATION 
 
The appellant has the right to file a written reconsideration request within 15 days of 
the mailing date of the decision on the grounds there was an error of fact or law, new 
evidence has been discovered or other good cause exists.  If the request for 
reconsideration is granted, the appellant will be notified within 25 days of the request 
date.  No response within 25 days means that the request for reconsideration has been 
denied.  The right to request a reconsideration is based on §4-181a (a) of the 
Connecticut General Statutes. 
 
Reconsideration requests should include specific grounds for the request:  for example, 
indicate what error of fact or law, what new evidence, or what other good cause exists. 
 
Reconsideration requests should be sent to: Department of Social Services, Director, 
Office of Administrative Hearings and Appeals, 55 Farmington Avenue, Hartford, CT  
060105-3725. 
 
 

RIGHT TO APPEAL 
 
The appellant has the right to appeal this decision to Superior Court within 45 days of 
the mailing of this decision, or 45 days after the agency denies a petition for 
reconsideration of this decision, provided that the petition for reconsideration was filed 
timely with the Department.  The right to appeal is based on §4-183 of the Connecticut 
General Statutes.  To appeal, a petition must be filed at Superior Court.  A copy of the 
petition must be served upon the Office of the Attorney General, 55 Elm Street, Hartford, 
CT  06106 or the Commissioner of the Department of Social Services, 55 Farmington 
Avenue, Hartford, CT  06105-3725.    A copy of the petition must also be served on all 
parties to the hearing. 
 
The 45 day appeal period may be extended in certain instances if there is good cause.  
The extension request must be filed with the Commissioner of the Department of Social 
Services in writing no later than 90 days from the mailing of the decision.  Good cause 
circumstances are evaluated by the Commissioner or the Commissioner’s designee in 
accordance with §17b-61 of the Connecticut General Statutes.  The Agency's decision 
to grant an extension is final and is not subject to review or appeal. 
 
The appeal should be filed with the clerk of the Superior Court in the Judicial District of 
New Britain or the Judicial District in which the appellant resides. 
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