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NOTICE OF DECISION

PARTY

PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND
On H 2019, m (the “facility”), a skilled nursing facility,
issued a Notice of Intent to Discharge proposing to involuntarily dischargegi

_ (the “Appellant”), from its care within 30 days of his receipt of the letter due to
aving an unpaid balance of more than 15 days of the per diem facility room rate.

On F 2019, the Appellant requested an administrative hearing to contest the
facility’s proposed discharge.

On
((IO

2019, the Office of Legal Counsel, Regulations, and Administrative Hearings
") issued a notice scheduling an administrative hearing for . 2019.

On 2019, in accordance with Connecticut General Statutes § 19a-535 and § 4-

176Ee 0 § 4-189, inclusive, OLCRAH held an administrative hearing at ||| Gz

I individuals were present at the hearing:

, Social Worker,
Thomas Monahan, Hearing Officer



STATEMENT OF THE ISSUE

The issue to be decided is whether the facility acted in accordance with state law when
it proposed to involuntarily discharge the Appellant from its care due to non-payment of
services rendered.

FINDING OF FACTS

1. on. 2018, the facility admitted the Appellant and on || 2018.
the faclility discharged the Appellant to his home. The facility readmitted the
Appellant from his home on ||l 2018. after a fall and a hospital
emergency room visit. (Administrator’s Testimony, POA’s testimony)

2. Prior to his hospitalization and admission to the facility, the Appellant resided at his
home residence in |l Connecticut. (Appellant's testimony, POA's
testimony)

3. since his ||l 2018. admission, the Appellant has remained at the facility
without any discharges. (POA’s testimony, Administrator’s testimony)

4. The Appellant has a diagnosis of brain cancer. He takes medication for seizures.
At his residence, he suffered multiple falls. (Appellant’s testimony, POA’s
testimony)

5. The Appellant is a Medicare beneficiary and also has private medical insurance.
The facility received payment for the Appellant’s initial stay from ||| ij 2018.

through [l 2018. (Administrator’s testimony)

6. The Appellant has not made any payments towards the cost of care at the facility
since his |Jj insurance payments terminated. (Hearing record)

7. The Appellant has not paid the facility for the time period of— 2018,
forward. The Appellant’s balance currently owed to the facility is $72,441.00.
(Administrator’s testimony)

8. As of the hearing date the Appellant has not applied for Medicaid assistance.
(POA's testimony)

9. The closing on the sale of the Appellant's home is [ 2019. (POA's testimony)



10. On R . 2019, the facility issued a Notice of Intent to Discharge to the Resident
for non-payment of an arrearage of more than fifteen days. The notice indicated
that the Resident would be discharged to his home. (Appellant’s Exhibit A: Notice of
intent to discharge, [JJij/19)

11. On [l 2019, the Appellant requested an administrative hearing to contest the
facility’s intent to discharge him. (Appellant’s Exhibit A: Notice of intent to discharge,

hearing request, [Jjjj/19)

12. The Appellant’s home is no longer available as a discharge location. (Fact 9)

13. The facility has not developed a written discharge plan with the Appellant’s
physician or with the facility’s Medical Director, Director of Nursing, and the Director
of Social Services. (Hearing record)

14. The issuance of this decision is timely under Connecticut General Statutes § 19a-
535 (h) (1) which requires that a decision be issued not later than thirty days after
the termination of the hearing or not later than sixty days after the date of the
hearing request, whichever occurs sooner. Sixty days from”, 2019, is ||}

(!, 2019 and thirty days from 1, 2019, is , 2019. erefore, this
ecision is due not later than , 2019.

CONCLUSION OF LAW

1. Section 19a-535(h)(1) of the Connecticut General Statutes authorizes the
Commissioner of the Department of Social Services to hold a hearing to determine
whether the transfer or discharge is in accordance with this section.

2. Section 19a-535(a)(4) of the Connecticut General Statutes provides that the term
"discharge" means the movement of a resident from a facility to a non-institutional
setting.

3. Section 19a-535(b) of the Connecticut General Statutes provides that a facility shall
not transfer or discharge a resident from the facility except to meet the welfare of the
resident which cannot be met in the facility, or unless the resident no longer needs the
services of the facility due to improved health; the facility is required to transfer the
resident pursuant to section 17b-359 or section 17b-360, or the health or safety of
individuals in the facility is endangered, or in the case of a self-pay resident, for the
resident’s nonpayment or arrearage of more than fifteen days of the per diem facility
room rate, or the facility ceases to operate. In each case, the basis for transfer or
discharge shall be documented in the resident’s medical record by a physician or the
resident’s advanced practice registered nurse. In each case where the welfare, health
or safety of the resident is concerned the documentation shall be by the resident’s
physician or the resident’s advanced practice registered nurse.

4. Section 19a-535(a)(5) of the Connecticut General Statutes provides in part that “self-



pay resident” means a resident who is not receiving state or municipal assistance to
pay for the cost of care at a facility, but shall not include a resident who has filed an
application with the Department of Social Services for Medicaid coverage for facility
care but has not received an eligibility determination from the department on such
application, provided the resident has timely responded to requests by the department
for information that is necessary to make such determination.

The Resident is a self-pay resident because he has not filed an application for
Medicaid assistance with the Department.

The Resident is a self-pay resident with an arrearage in excess of more than
fifteen days of the per diem facility room rate.

As of , 2019, the Resident has a $72,441.00 balance owed to the Facility

for the period of || 2018. through [ 2019.

. Section19a-535(c)(1) of the Connecticut General Statutes provides that before
effecting a transfer or discharge of a resident from the facility, the facility shall notify, in
writing, the resident and resident’s guardian or conservator, if any, or legally liable
relative or other responsible party if known, of the proposed transfer or discharge the
reasons therefore, the effective date of the proposed transfer or discharge, the location
to which the resident is to be transferred or discharged, the right to appeal the
proposed transfer or discharge and the procedures for initiating such an appeal as
determined by the Department of Social Services, the date by which an appeal must

be initiated in order to preserve the resident’s right to an appeal hearing and the date
by which an appeal must be initiated in order to stay the proposed transfer or

discharge and the possibility of an exception to the date by which an appeal must be
initiated in order to stay the proposed transfer or discharge for good cause, that the
resident may represent himself or herself or be represented by legal counsel, a

relative, a friend or other spokesperson, and information as to bed hold and nursing
home readmission policy when required in accordance with section 19a-537. The
notice shall also include the name, mailing address and telephone number of the

State Long-Term Care Ombudsman. If the resident is, or the facility alleges a

resident is, mentally ill or developmentally disabled, the notice shall include the

name, mailing address and telephone number of the Office of Protection and

Advocacy for Persons with Disabilities. The notice shall be given at least thirty days
and no more than sixty days prior to the resident’s proposed transfer or discharge,
except where the health or safety of individuals in the facility are endangered, or

where the resident’s health improves sufficiently to allow a more immediate transfer

or discharge, or where immediate transfer or discharge is necessitated by urgent
medical needs or where a resident has not resided in the facility for thirty days, in

which cases notice shall be given as many days before the transfer or discharge as
practicable.

The facility provided the Appellant at least 30 days notice of the proposed
discharge date and all other information as required by State Statute.



6. Section 19a-535(e) of the Connecticut General Statutes provides that except in an
emergency or in the case of transfer to a hospital, no resident shall be transferred or
discharged from a facility unless a discharge plan has been developed by the
personal physician or advanced practice registered nurse of the resident or the or
the medical director in conjunction with the nursing director, social worker or other
health care provider. To minimize the disruptive effects of the transfer or discharge
on the resident, the person responsible for developing the plan shall consider the
feasibility of placement near the resident’s relatives, the acceptability of the
placement to the resident and the resident’s guardian or conservator, if any or the
resident’s legally liable relative or other responsible party, if known, and any other
relevant factors which affect the resident’s adjustment to the move. The plan shall
contain a written evaluation of the effects of the transfer or discharge on the resident
and a statement of the action taken to minimize such effects. In addition, the plan
shall outline the care and kinds of service which the resident shall receive upon
transfer or discharge. Not less than thirty days prior to an involuntary transfer or
discharge, a copy of the discharge plan shall be provided to the resident’s personal
physician if the discharge plan was prepared by the medical director, to the resident
and the resident’s guardian or conservator, if any, or legally liable relative or other
responsible party, if known.

7. The facility did not provide the Appellant, a discharge plan developed by the
personal physician of the Appellant or the medical director in conjunction with
the nursing director, social worker or other health care provider.

8. The facility’s proposal to discharge the Appellant does not comply with state
statutes.

DECISION
The Appellant’s appeal is GRANTED.
ORDER
1. The facility shall rescind its proposal to involuntarily discharge the Appellant
from its care.

2. Verification of compliance is due by [Jjjij. 2019

Thomas Monahan
Hearing Officer



C: Desiree Pina, Office Ombudsman
Donna Ortelle, Department of Public Health
, POA



RIGHT TO REQUEST RECONSIDERATION

The Appellant has the right to file a written reconsideration request within 15 days of the
mailing date of the decision on the grounds there was an error of fact or law, new evidence
has been discovered or other good cause exists. If the request for reconsideration is
granted, the appellant will be notified within 25 days of the request date. No response
within 25 days means that the request for reconsideration has been denied. The right to
request a reconsideration is based on 84-181a (a) of the Connecticut General Statutes.

Reconsideration requests should include specific grounds for the request: for example,
indicate what error of fact or law, what new evidence, or what other good cause exists.

Reconsideration requests should be sent to: Department of Social Services, Director,
Office of Legal Counsel, Regulations and Administrative Hearings, 55 Farmington Avenue,
Hartford, CT 06105.

RIGHT TO APPEAL

The Appellant has the right to appeal this decision to Superior Court within 45 days of
the mailing of this decision, or 45 days after the agency denies a petition for
reconsideration of this decision. The right to appeal is based on 84-183 of the
Connecticut General Statutes. To appeal, a petition must be filed at Superior Court. A
copy of the petition must be served upon the Office of the Attorney General, 55 Elm
Street, Hartford, CT 06106 or the Commissioner of the Department of Social Services,
55 Farmington Avenue, Hartford, CT 06105. A copy of the petition must also be served
on all parties to the hearing.

The 45-day appeal period may be extended in certain instances if there is good cause.
The extension request must be filed with the Commissioner of the Department of Social
Services in writing no later than 90 days from the mailing of the decision. Good cause
circumstances are evaluated by the Commissioner or his/her designee in accordance with
817b-61 of the Connecticut General Statutes. The Agency's decision to grant an
extension is final and is not subject to review or appeal.

The appeal should be filed with the clerk of the Superior Court in the Judicial District of
New Britain or the Judicial District in which the Appellant resides.






