






 4 

20. As of the date of this hearing, the Applicant’s LTC application remained in pend-
ing status due to the unverified annuity and transfers. (Department’s Testimony) 
 

21. The Applicant’s application has been pending for more than forty-five days. 
(Hearing Record) 
 

22.  The issuance of this decision is timely under Connecticut General Statutes 17b-
61(a), which requires that a decision be issued within 90 days of the request for 
an administrative hearing.  The Appellant requested an administrative hearing on 

 2019. Therefore, this decision is due not later than  2019.  
 
 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 
 

1. Connecticut General Statutes authorizes the Commissioner of the Department of 
Social Services to administer the Medicaid program. Conn. Gen. Stats. § 17b-2. 

2. “The department’s uniform policy manual is the equivalent of a state regulation 
and, as such, carries the force of law.” Bucchere v. Rowe, 43 Conn. Supp. 175, 
178 (1994) (citing Conn. Gen. Stat. § 17b-10; Richard v. Commissioner of In-
come Maintenance, 214 Conn. 601, 573 A.2d 712 (1990)). 

3. The Department must tell the assistance unit what the unit has to do to establish 
eligibility when the Department does not have sufficient information to make an 
eligibility determination.  UPM § 1015.05 C. 
 

4.  The Department correctly notified the Appellant what needed to be done in order to 
make an eligibility determination. 
 

5. The Department must determine the assistance unit’s eligibility within the time limits 
specified in Section 1500. UPM § 1015.05 A. 
 

6. The first day of the processing period begins on the day following the date of 
application. UPM § 1505.35 C. 2. 

 
7.   The standard of promptness for processing AABD or MA applications for 

applicants applying on the basis of age or blindness is forty-five calendar days. 
UPM § 1505.35 C. 1. c. 2. 
 

8. The Department failed to process the Applicant’s application within forty-five 
calendar days of the application date. 
 

9.   UPM § 1505.40 pertains to eligibility determinations and provides in part:  
 

    Delays Due to Insufficient Verification (AFDC, AABD, MA Only) 
 
     a. Regardless of the standard of promptness, no eligibility 

determination is made when there is insufficient 
verification to determine eligibility when the following 
has occurred: 
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RIGHT TO REQUEST RECONSIDERATION 
 
The appellant has the right to file a written reconsideration request within 15 days of the mailing 
date of the decision on the grounds there was an error of fact or law, new evidence has been 
discovered or other good cause exists.  If the request for reconsideration is granted, the appellant 
will be notified within 25 days of the request date.  No response within 25 days means that the 
request for reconsideration has been denied.  The right to request a reconsideration is based on 
§4-181a(a) of the Connecticut General Statutes. 
 
Reconsideration requests should include specific grounds for the request: for example, indicate 
what error of fact or law, what new evidence, or what other good cause exists. 
 
Reconsideration requests should be sent to Department of Social Services, Director, Office of 
Legal Counsel, Regulations, and Administrative Hearings, 55 Farmington Avenue, Hartford, CT  
06105. 
 

RIGHT TO APPEAL 
 
The appellant has the right to appeal this decision to Superior Court within 45 days of the 
mailing of this decision, or 45 days after the agency denies a petition for reconsideration 
of this decision, provided that the petition for reconsideration was filed timely with the 
Department. The right to appeal is based on §4-183 of the Connecticut General Statutes.  
To appeal, a petition must be filed at Superior Court.  A copy of the petition must be 
served upon the Office of the Attorney General, 55 Elm Street, Hartford, CT  06106 or the 
Commissioner of the Department of Social Services, 55 Farmington Avenue, Hartford, CT 
06105.  A copy of the petition must also be served on all parties to the hearing. 
 
 
The 45 day appeal period may be extended in certain instances if there is good cause.  The 
extension request must be filed with the Commissioner of the Department of Social Services in 
writing no later than 90 days from the mailing of the decision.  Good cause circumstances are 
evaluated by the Commissioner or his designee in accordance with §17b-61 of the Connecticut 
General Statutes.  The Agency's decision to grant an extension is final and is not subject to 
review or appeal. 
 
The appeal should be filed with the clerk of the Superior Court in the Judicial District of New Brit-
ain or the Judicial District in which the appellant resides. 

 




