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CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 
 
1. Sections l7b-260 to 17b-264 of the Connecticut General Statutes authorizes the      

Commissioner of Social Services to administer the Title XIX Medical Assistance     
Program to provide medical assistance to eligible persons in Connecticut. 

 
2. Uniform Policy Manual (“UPM”) § 5045.20 pertains to assistance units who 

are residents of Long Term Care Facilities (“LTCF”) or receiving community 
based services (“CBS”) are responsible for contributing a portion of their 
income  toward the cost of their care.  For LTCF cases only, the amount to be      
contributed is projected for a six month period. 

 
3. UPM § 5045.20 (B)(1) (a) provides that the amount of income to be contributed      

in LTCF cases at initial calculation for each month in the six month period for      
which the contribution is projected, monthly gross income is established as      
follows: total gross monthly income which was paid or payable to the     
applicant or recipient, in the six months prior to the period for which the     
contribution is projected, is divided by six. 

 
4. The Department correctly determined that the Appellant’s monthly gross       

income is $1,110.16 ($999.00 SSA + $116.16 Pension = $1,110.16).  
 
5. UPM  §  5035.20 provides that for residents of long term care facilities (LTCF) 

and those individuals receiving community-based services (CBS) when the 
individual does not have a spouse living in the community, total gross income 
is adjusted by certain deductions to calculate the amount of income which is 
to be applied to the monthly cost of care.  

 
6. UPM § 5035.25 (B) (1) provides a monthly deduction for LTFC units of a      

personal needs allowance (“PNA”) of $50.00, which, effective July 1, 1999 and      
annually thereafter, shall be increased to reflect the annual cost of living      
adjustment used by the Social Security Administration.  

 
7. Conn. Gen. Stat. § 17b-272. (Formerly Sec. 17-134m). Personal fund  
     allowance. Effective July 1, 2011, the Commissioner of Social Services shall  
     permit patients residing in nursing homes, chronic disease hospitals and  
     state humane institutions who are medical assistance recipients under  
     sections 17b-260 to 17b-262, inclusive, 17b-264 to 17b-285, inclusive, and  
     17b-357 to 17b-361, inclusive, to have a monthly personal fund allowance of  
     sixty dollars. 
 
8. Title 42 of the Code of Federal Regulations (“CFR”) section 435.82 provides 

for required deductions from the assistance units income. 
                                                  
UPM § 5035.20(B) provides that the following monthly deductions are 
allowed from the income of assistance units in LTCF's: 

 



 5 

(1) for veterans whose VA pension has been reduced to $90.00 pursuant 
to P.L. 101-508, for spouses of deceased veterans whose pension has 
been similarly reduced pursuant to P.L. 101-508, as amended by 
Section 601 (d) of P.L. 102-568, a personal needs allowance equal to 
the amount of their VA pension and the personal needs allowance 
described in 2. below; 

 
(2) a personal needs allowance of $50.00 for all other assistance units, 

which, effective July 1, 1999 and annually thereafter, shall be 
increased to reflect the annual cost of living adjustment used by the 
Social Security Administration [current personal needs allowance is 
60.00]; 

 
(3) an amount of income diverted to meet the needs of a family member 

who is in a community home to the extent of increasing his or her 
income to the MNIL which corresponds to the size of the family; 

 
(4) Medicare and other health insurance premiums, deductibles, and 

coinsurance costs when not paid for by Medicaid or any other third 
party; 

 
(5) costs for medical treatment approved by a physician which are 

incurred subsequent to the effective date of eligibility and which are not 
covered by Medicaid; 

 
(6) expenses for services provided by a licensed medical provider in the 

six month period immediately preceding the first month of eligibility 
providing the following conditions are met: 

 
a. the expenses were not for LTCF services, services provided by a 

medical institution equivalent to those provided in a long term 
care facility, or home and community-based services, when any 
of these services were incurred during a penalty period resulting 
from an improper transfer of assets; and 

 
b. the recipient is currently liable for the expenses; and 
c. the services are not covered by Medicaid in a prior period of 

eligibility. 
 

(7) the cost of maintaining a home in the community for the assistance 
unit, subject to the following conditions: 

 
     a. the amount is not deducted for more than six months;  and 
     b. the likelihood of the institutionalized individual's returning 

to the community within six months is certified by a 
physician; and 

     c. the amount deducted is the lower of either: 
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      (1) the amount the unit member was obligated to pay 
each month in his or her former community 
arrangement; or 

      (2) $650 per month if the arrangement was Level 1 
Housing; or 

      (3) $400 per month if the arrangement was Level 2 
Housing; and 

     d. the amount deducted includes the following: 
      (1) heat 
      (2) hot water 
      (3) electricity 
      (4) cooking fuel 
      (5) water 
      (6) laundry 
      (7) property taxes 
      (8) interest on the mortgage 
      (9) fire insurance premiums 
      (10) amortization 
                                   
9. UPM § 5035.20 (B)(7) (a) and (b) provides that the cost of maintaining a 

home in the community for the assistance unit is allowed as a monthly 
deduction from the income of an assistance unit in a LTCF subject to the 
conditions that the amount is not deducted for more than six months 
and the likelihood of the institutionalized individual’s returning to the 
community within six months is certified by a physician.  
 

10.  The Department correctly allowed for the deduction of the $60.00 PNA from the 
Appellant’s gross income. 

 
11. UPM § 5035.25 (B)(4) provides a monthly deduction for LTFC units of       
      Medicare and other health insurance premiums, deductibles, and coinsurance       
      costs when not paid for the Department or any other third party. 
 
12. The Department correctly did not allow any deductions for health insurance 

premiums. 
 

13. UPM § 4520.15(C) provides for Shelter in non-rated housing. 
 

 1.  Level 1 Housing 
a. an applicant or recipient is considered to be living in Level 1 

Housing in the following situations: 
(1) He or she is living in commercial housing or in a Department 

of Mental Health (DMH) sanctioned supervised apartment and 
not sharing a bedroom with any other individual; 

(2) He or she is living in a shelter for the homeless or for battered 
women; 

(3) He or she is living in any type of housing not mentioned in (1) 
or (2) above, and is not sharing his or her bedroom, bathroom 
or kitchen with another individual. 
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b. The standard of assistance for shelter for assistance units living in 
Level 1 Housing is the amount that the assistance unit is obligated 
to pay for housing, up to $400 per month.  This includes rent, 
mortgage principal and interest, fire insurance premiums, property 
taxes, and water bills. 

 2.    Level 2 Housing 
a. An applicant or recipient is considered to be living in Level 2   
 Housing in the following situations: 

(1) he or she is sharing a bedroom in any type of housing 
except a shelter for the homeless or a shelter for battered 
women; 

 (2) he or she is sharing a bathroom or kitchen in any 
 housing except a shelter for the homeless, a shelter for 
 battered women, a DMH sanctioned supervised apartment, 
 or commercial housing. 

 b. The standard assistance for shelter for assistance units living in 
 Level 2 Housing is the amount that the assistance unit is obligated to 
 pay for housing, up to $200.00 per month. This includes rent, 
 mortgage principal and interest, fire insurance premiums, property 
 taxes, and water bills. 
 
14. The Department was incorrect when it determined the Appellant resided in 

Level 2 Housing. 
 

15. The Appellant does not share her bedroom, bathroom or kitchen with another 
individual and therefore, resides in Level 1 Housing. 
 

16. The Department was incorrect when it allowed the Appellant a $400.00 
deduction for maintaining her home in the community. 

 
17. The Appellant is eligible for the maximum $650.00 deduction from her gross 

income for maintaining a home in the community.  
 

18. The Department incorrectly determined the Appellant’s applied income was 
$650.16 ($999.00 SSA + $111.16 Pension - $400.00 Rental diversion - $60.00 
PNA = $650.16) 

 
19. Beginning  2018, the Appellant is responsible to pay $400.16 ($999.00 

SSA + $111.16 Pension - $650.00 Rental diversion - $60.00 PNA = $400.16) in 
applied income that she must pay towards the cost of her care. 
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DECISION 
 
 
The Appellant’s appeal is GRANTED. 
 
 

ORDER 
 

1. The Department shall allow the maximum $650.00 rental diversion in its 
calculation of applied income effective  2018. 
 

2. The Department shall provide proof of compliance with this order no later 
than  2019. 

 
 
                                                                                   __________________ 
                                                                                        Carla Hardy 
                                                                                        Hearing Officer 
 
 
Pc: Patricia Ostroski, Department of Social Services, Greater New Britain Office 
      Turquoise McBride, Department of Social Services, Greater Hartford Office       
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RIGHT TO REQUEST RECONSIDERATION 
 
The appellant has the right to file a written reconsideration request within 15 days of 
the mailing date of the decision on the grounds there was an error of fact or law, new 
evidence has been discovered or other good cause exists.  If the request for 
reconsideration is granted, the appellant will be notified within 25 days of the request 
date.  No response within 25 days means that the request for reconsideration has been 
denied.  The right to request a reconsideration is based on §4-181a (a) of the 
Connecticut General Statutes. 
 
Reconsideration requests should include specific grounds for the request:  for example, 
indicate what error of fact or law, what new evidence, or what other good cause exists. 
 
Reconsideration requests should be sent to: Department of Social Services, Director, 
Office of Administrative Hearings and Appeals, 55 Farmington Avenue Hartford, 
CT  06105. 
 
 

RIGHT TO APPEAL 
 
The appellant has the right to appeal this decision to Superior Court within 45 days of 
the mailing of this decision, or 45 days after the agency denies a petition for 
reconsideration of this decision, provided that the petition for reconsideration was filed 
timely with the Department.  The right to appeal is based on §4-183 of the Connecticut 
General Statutes.  To appeal, a petition must be filed at Superior Court.  A copy of the 
petition must be served upon the Office of the Attorney General, 55 Elm Street, Hartford, 
CT  06106 or the Commissioner of the Department of Social Services, 55 Farmington 
Avenue Hartford, CT 06105.  A copy of the petition must also be served on all parties to 
the hearing. 
 
The 45 day appeal period may be extended in certain instances if there is good 
cause.  The extension request must be filed with the Commissioner of the Department 
of Social Services in writing no later than 90 days from the mailing of the 
decision.  Good cause circumstances are evaluated by the Commissioner or the 
Commissioner’s designee in accordance with §17b-61 of the Connecticut General 
Statutes.  The Agency's decision to grant an extension is final and is not subject to 
review or appeal. 
 
The appeal should be filed with the clerk of the Superior Court in the Judicial District of 
New Britain or the Judicial District in which the appellant resides. 

 
 
 
 




