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CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 
 

1. Connecticut General Statutes § 17b-2(6) provides that the Department of 
Social Services is designated as the state agency for the administration of 
the Medicaid program pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

 
2. Uniform Policy Manual (“UPM”) § 1505.10 (B) provides for Requesting 

Assistance and states that (1) individuals who desire to obtain aid must file 
a formal request for assistance (2) the formal request must be made in 
writing on the application form (3) at a minimum, the following information 
must be presented: (a) the full name and address of the applicant; and (b) 
the signature of the applicant, caretaker relative or other individual who is 
requesting assistance on behalf of the applicant.  

 
On  2018,  successfully 
sent via fax to the New Haven DSS Regional office, a complete 20 
page W-1 LTC application. 

  
3. UPM § 1505.10(D)(1) provides that for AFDC, AABD and medical 

applications, except for the Medicaid coverage groups noted below in 
1510.10(D)(2), the date of application is considered to be the date that a 
signed application form is received by any office of the Department. 

        
          The Department incorrectly determined the Medicaid application date  
           as  2018, the date the Department received the mailed in 
           W-1 LTC application. 
 
          The correct application date is  2018, the date the  
          Applicant submitted a complete W-1 LTC application via fax to the  
          Department. 

 
4. UPM § 1505.40(A)(4)(c) provides that the Department may complete the 

eligibility determination at any time during the application process when 
the application process is complete and all required verification has been 
obtained. 

        
          On  2018, the Department completed and determined  
          the Applicant’s eligibility.   
         
         The Department made its determination based on the mailed in  
          application received by the Department on  2018.  
           

5. UPM § 1560.10(A) provides that the beginning date of assistance for 
Medicaid may be one of the following:  the first day of the first, second or 
third month immediately preceding the month in which the Department 
receives a signed application when all non-procedural eligibility 
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RIGHT TO REQUEST RECONSIDERATION 
 
The appellant has the right to file a written reconsideration request within 15 days of 
the mailing date of the decision on the grounds there was an error of fact or law, new 
evidence has been discovered or other good cause exists.  If the request for 
reconsideration is granted, the appellant will be notified within 25 days of the request 
date.  No response within 25 days means that the request for reconsideration has been 
denied.  The right to request a reconsideration is based on §4-181a (a) of the 
Connecticut General Statutes. 
 
Reconsideration requests should include specific grounds for the request:  for example, 
indicate what error of fact or law, what new evidence, or what other good cause exists. 
 
Reconsideration requests should be sent to: Department of Social Services, Director, 
Office of Administrative Hearings and Appeals, 55 Farmington Avenue Hartford, CT  
06105. 
 
 

RIGHT TO APPEAL 
 
The appellant has the right to appeal this decision to Superior Court within 45 days of 
the mailing of this decision, or 45 days after the agency denies a petition for 
reconsideration of this decision, provided that the petition for reconsideration was filed 
timely with the Department.  The right to appeal is based on §4-183 of the Connecticut 
General Statutes.  To appeal, a petition must be filed at Superior Court.  A copy of the 
petition must be served upon the Office of the Attorney General, 55 Elm Street, Hartford, 
CT  06106 or the Commissioner of the Department of Social Services, 55 Farmington 
Avenue Hartford, CT 06105.  A copy of the petition must also be served on all parties to 
the hearing. 
 
The 45 day appeal period may be extended in certain instances if there is good cause.  
The extension request must be filed with the Commissioner of the Department of Social 
Services in writing no later than 90 days from the mailing of the decision.  Good cause 
circumstances are evaluated by the Commissioner or the Commissioner’s designee in 
accordance with §17b-61 of the Connecticut General Statutes.  The Agency's decision 
to grant an extension is final and is not subject to review or appeal. 
 
The appeal should be filed with the clerk of the Superior Court in the Judicial District of 
New Britain or the Judicial District in which the appellant resides. 

 
 

 




