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PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND

On I the Department of Social Services (the “Department”) sent
B (the “Applicant”) a Notice of Action (“NOA”) imposing a transfer of
assets penalty on her Medicaid for Long Term Care benefits for the period from

On I  the Applicant’s Conservator, | (the “‘Appellant”)
through his attorney, | 'covested an administrative hearing to

contest the Department’s decision to impose a penalty on the Applicant’s Long
Term Care Medicaid benefits.

On I Office of Legal Counsel, Regulations, and Administrative
Hearings (“OLCRAH”) issued a notice scheduling the administrative hearing for

I 2018

On I the Appellant's Counsel requested a continuance of the
hearing, which OLCRAH granted.

On I OLCRAH issued a notice rescheduling the administrative
hearing for



On I " accordance with sections 17b-60, 17b-61 and 4-176e to 4-
189, inclusive, of the Connecticut General Statutes, OLCRAH held an
administrative hearing. The following individuals were present at the hearing:

B he Appellant, brother and conservator for the Applicant,

I

I \ife of Conservator

I Counsel for I Conservator,

, Legal Officer for |

Care, facility where resides,

Glenda Gonzalez, DSS, New Haven, Department’s representative
Saya Miyakoshi, Fair Hearing Liaison, DSS Manchester Regional Office
Maureen Foley-Roy, Hearing Officer

The hearing record remained open for the submission of additional evidence. On

I the record closed.

STATEMENT OF THE ISSUE

The issue is whether the Department’s decision to impose a Transfer of Assets
(“TOA”) penalty on the Applicant’s Medicaid for Long Term Care benefits beginning
in I of 2017 and ending on [ll2. 2018 for total transfers of $75,943.97
made in 2016 and 2017 was correct.

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. In I the Applicant was incarcerated at |
Institute. She was subsequently admitted to | Hospital.

(Appellant’s testimony)

2. On I the Appellant, who lives in |l Connecticut, was
named conservator of person and estate for his sister, the Applicant. (Exhibit
2: Court of Probate Certificate of Conservatorship)

3. At the time of her incarceration and hospitalization, the Applicant owned a
home in | Connecticut, which was on the verge of foreclosure.
(Appellant’s testimony)

4. The Appellant cleaned the Applicant's home and prepared it for sale using
his own funds. (Appellant’s testimony and Exhibit 4: listing of expenses)

5. On I the Applicant’'s house was sold. (Exhibit 4)



-3-

6. The Appellant attended his sister’s court dates. On occasion, the case would
be continued and the Appellant would have to travel to court on multiple
dates. (Appellant’s testimony)

7. The Appellant visited his sister and attended meetings regarding her
prognosis and care at the |l Hospital. These visits were
lengthier than normal hospital visits due to the level of security at the
hospital. (Appellant’s testimony)

8. On I the Appellant reimbursed himself in the amount of
$17,768.47 for the expenses he had paid in preparing and selling the
Applicant’'s home. (Exhibit 8, p.2: Check #119)

9. ONI the Appellant paid himself $21,175 for the time he had put
in as conservator from his appointment through | (Exhibit
8,p.3: Check #118)

10. The Applicant was released from |l I Hospital to rs
B 2 halfway house supervised by medical staff. was

found not to be an appropriate placement for the Applicant. (Appellant’'s
testimony)

11.0n I /scend, the Department’s consultant, reviewed the
Applicant’'s case and determined that she met the criteria for a long term
level of care placement. (Exhibit 7: Ascend Data)

12.0n I - (he Applicant was admitted to | 2 skilled
nursing facility. (Exhibit 7)

13.0n I (he Appellant applied for Medicaid for Long Term
Care for the Applicant. (Hearing Summary)

14.1n reviewing the application and noting large sums paid to the Appellant from
the Applicant’s funds, the Department requested a copy of a caregiver
contract. (Department representative’s testimony)

15.0n , the Appellant paid himself $13,600 in Conservator
fees for | 2016 through | 2016, $13,100 for Conservator
fees for | 2017 through | 2017. In addition the
Appellant prepaid himself $1200 in conservator fees for the remainder of
2017 and $9,100 in conservator fees for 2018. (Exhibit 8: Account History
printout and Exhibit 4,pgs 8 and 14)

16.0n I n response to the Department’s request, the
Appellant and his attorney created a caregiver contract which was

essentially the duties the Appellant had been performing and been
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compensated for as conservator. (Exhibit 1: Caregiver contract and
Appellant’s testimony)

17.0n . the Appellant paid |
facility $48,545.86 for the Applicant’s care. (Exhibit 8)

18.In I the Applicant became asset eligible for Medicaid for
long term care. (Department representative’s testimony)

19.0n I the probate court judge approved the caregiver
contract. (Exhibit 1)

20.0n I the probate court judge approved the Applicant’s
financial statement, as submitted by the Appellant, and also approved

conservator fees extending until 2021. (Exhibit 4: pages 13 and 15)

21.0n I (he Department issued both a W495A (Transfer of
Assets Preliminary Decision Notice) and W495C (Transfer of Assets Final
Decision Notice) stating that although the Applicant was eligible for Medicaid
effective | 2017, the Department was setting up a penalty. The
notices stated that the penalty was imposed because the Applicant had
transferred $38,943.97 on [} 2016 and $37,000 on N 2017
to become eligible for Medicaid. (Exhibit 3: W495A and W495C)

22.0n I the Department issued a notice of approval for Long
Term Care Medicaid. The notice stated that the Applicant was eligible for
Medicaid as of | 2nd would begin paying nursing home costs
as of il 2018. (Exhibit 6: Notice of Approval for Long Term Care)

23.The Department will begin paying nursing home costs effective |
2018. (Exhibit 11: Email from Department’s representative)

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

. Section 17b-260 of the Connecticut General Statutes provides for the
administration of the Medicaid program pursuant to Title XIX of the Social
Security Act.

. Section 17b-260 of the Connecticut General Statutes authorizes the

Commissioner of Social Services to take advantage of the medical assistance
programs provided in Title XIX, entitled "Grants to States for Medical
Assistance Programs”, contained in the Social Security Amendments of 1965.
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3. UPM § 3029.05 A provides that there is a period established, subject to the
conditions described in this chapter, during which institutionalized individuals
are not eligible for certain Medicaid services when they or their spouses
dispose of assets for less than fair market value on or after the look-back date
specified in 3029.05 C. This period is called the penalty period, or period of
ineligibility.

4. UPM 8§ 3029.05 B provides that the policy contained in the chapter on
transfers of assets pertains to institutionalized individuals and to their
spouses.

5. UPM § 3029.05 D 1 provides that the Department considers transfers of
assets made within the time limits described in 3029.05 C, on behalf of an
institutionalized individual or his or her spouse by a guardian, conservator,
person having power of attorney or other person or entity so authorized by
law, to have been made by the individual or spouse.

6. The look-back date for transfers of assets is a date that is sixty months before
the first date on which both the following conditions exist: 1) the individual is
institutionalized; and 2) the individual is either applying for or receiving
Medicaid. UPM § 3029.05(C).

7. Any transfer or assignment of assets resulting in the imposition of a penalty
period shall be presumed to be made with the intent, on the part of the
transferor or the transferee, to enable the transferor to obtain or maintain
eligibility for medical assistance. This presumption may be rebutted only by
clear and convincing evidence that the transferor's eligibility or potential
eligibility for medical assistance was not a basis for the transfer or
assignment. Conn. Gen. Stat. § 17b-261a(a).

8. UPM Section 3029.10.E provides that an otherwise eligible institutionalized
individual is not ineligible for Medicaid payment of LTC services if the individual,
or his or her spouse, provides clear and convincing evidence that the transfer
was made exclusively for a purpose other than qualifying for assistance.

9. The Appellant presented clear and convincing evidence that the $21,175.00
paid to himself on ]l 2016 was payment due for conservator fees that
had been incurred from ] 2015 through ] 2016 and not for the
purpose of qualifying the Applicant for assistance.

10.The Appellant presented clear and convincing evidence that the $17,768.97
paid to himself on |l 2016 was reimbursement due for expenses
incurred by the Appellant in preparing the Applicant’'s home for sale and not
for the purpose of qualifying the Applicant for assistance.

11.The Appellant presented clear and convincing evidence that the $13,100 paid
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to himself on | 2017 was payment due for conservator fees that

had been incurred from | through . 2017 and not for the
purpose of qualifying the Applicant for assistance.

12.The evidence presented indicates that on | . 2017, the $1200 that
the Appellant prepaid to himself in conservator fees for ||} JNEEE 2017
through . 2017 and $9100 in prepaid conservator fees for 2018
were made for the purpose of reducing the Applicant’'s assets to qualify for
the Applicant for Medicaid.

13. The Department was incorrect when it determined that the Appellant
transferred $75,943.97 in order to qualify for Medicaid. The Appellant
transferred $10,300 on | 2017 for the purpose of qualifying for
Medicaid.

14.UPM § 3029.05 E provides that the penalty period begins as of the later of
the following dates: the first day of the month during which assets are
transferred for less than fair market value, if this month is not part of any other
period of ineligibility caused by a transfer of assets; or the date on which the
individual is eligible for Medicaid under Connecticut's State Plan and would
otherwise be eligible for Medicaid payment of the LTC services described in
3029.05 B based on an approved application for such care but for the
application of the penalty period, and which is not part of any other period of
ineligibility caused by a transfer of assets.

15.The penalty period begins |l 201/, when the Applicant became
eligible for Medicaid.

16.UPM § 3029.05(F) provides that the length of the penalty period is
determined by dividing the total uncompensated value of all assets
transferred on or after the look-back date by the average monthly cost to a
private patient for long-term care services in Connecticut. Uncompensated
values of multiple transfers are added together and the transfers are treated
as a single transfer.

17.The length of the penalty period is .81 months. ($10,300/$12,604[average
monthly cost of care]).

18.The penalty period ends on | 201/ and the Applicant is eligible
for Medicaid for Long Term Care effective ||} . 2017-
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DISCUSSION

In this case, there were misunderstandings on all sides, which caused confusion
regarding the Applicant’s circumstances. The Appellant had been appointed
Conservator for his sister and was entitled to receive payment for his duties.
When eligibility staff saw such payments, they questioned the presence of a
caregiver contract. As the Appellant was indeed taking care of his sister by virtue
of his position of conservator, he and his attorney drew up a caregiver contract.
But although the Appellant was being referred to as both Conservator and
caregiver, he was performing the duties and being paid as Conservator. Due to
his sister’s illness, the situation regarded a great deal of time and work on the
part of the Appellant. In addition, there was a considerable geographic distance
involved. It also required the Appellant to expend significant amounts of time with
bureaucracies, such as the court system and various other government
agencies. For example, seeing his sister and her medical professionals at the

hospital required more time than would be spent at a
community hospital. The costs incurred seemed excessive. But the Appellant
was credible in that the situation warranted the costs and they were approved by
the probate judge.

The Appellant clearly prepaid conservator fees in order to spenddown his sister’s
resources to the point where she would qualify for Medicaid. The Applicant’s
living situation had stabilized once she moved into the nursing facility and once
she became eligible for Medicaid there would have been a change in the
Appellant’s duties as a conservator. The Appellant’s future duties as Conservator
and how long he would have to perform them could not be determined. It is
concluded that the $10,300 that the Appellant prepaid himself in conservator fees
on I 2017 was for the purpose of qualifying the Applicant for
Medicaid and is subject to a transfer of asset penalty.

DECISION

The Appellant’s is granted in part and denied in part.




ORDER

1. The Department shall reduce the transfer of asset penalty to $10,300 and the
penalty period to .81 months, making the Applicant eligible for Medicaid Long
Term care services on |l . 2017.

2. Compliance with this order shall be submitted to the undersigned no later than

I 2018.

Maureen Foley-Roy
Hearing Officer

CC : Tricia Morelli, DSS Operations Manager, DSS, Manchester
Glenda Gonzalez, Eligibility Services, DSS, New Haven



RIGHT TO REQUEST RECONSIDERATION

The appellant has the right to file a written reconsideration request within 15 days of
the mailing date of the decision on the grounds there was an error of fact or law, new
evidence has been discovered or other good cause exists. If the request for
reconsideration is granted, the appellant will be notified within 25 days of the request
date. No response within 25 days means that the request for reconsideration has been
denied. The right to request a reconsideration is based on 84-18la (a) of the
Connecticut General Statutes.

Reconsideration requests should include specific grounds for the request: for example,
indicate what error of fact or law, what new evidence, or what other good cause exists.

Reconsideration requests should be sent to: Department of Social Services, Director,

Office of Administrative Hearings and Appeals, 55 Farmington Avenue, Hartford,
CT 06105.

RIGHT TO APPEAL

The appellant has the right to appeal this decision to Superior Court within 45 days of
the mailing of this decision, or 45 days after the agency denies a petition for
reconsideration of this decision, provided that the petition for reconsideration was filed
timely with the Department. The right to appeal is based on 8§4-183 of the Connecticut
General Statutes. To appeal, a petition must be filed at Superior Court. A copy of the
petition must be served upon the Office of the Attorney General, 55 EIm Street, Hartford,
CT 06106 or the Commissioner of the Department of Social Services, 55 Farmington
Avenue, Hartford, CT 06105. A copy of the petition must also be served on all parties to
the hearing.

The 45 day appeal period may be extended in certain instances if there is good
cause. The extension request must be filed with the Commissioner of the Department
of Social Services in writing no later than 90 days from the mailing of the
decision. Good cause circumstances are evaluated by the Commissioner or the
Commissioner’s designee in accordance with §17b-61 of the Connecticut General
Statutes. The Agency's decision to grant an extension is final and is not subject to
review or appeal.

The appeal should be filed with the clerk of the Superior Court in the Judicial District of
New Britain or the Judicial District in which the appellant resides.






