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PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND

On I 2016, the Department of Social Services (the “Department”) sent
I (the “Appellant”) Power of Attorney (POA”) a Notice of
Action (“NOA”) imposing a transfer of assets penalty for the period from |

2016 through | 2016.

On I 2016, the Appellant's Power of Attorney (“POA”) requested an
administrative hearing to contest the Department’s decision to impose a penalty
on the Long Term Care Medicaid benefits.

On I 2016, the Office of Legal Counsel, Regulations, and Administrative
Hearings (“OLCRAH”) issued a notice scheduling the administrative hearing for

I 2016.
On I 2016, the Appellant’s POA requested to reschedule the hearing.

On I 2016, the Office of Legal Counsel, Regulations, and Administrative
Hearings (“OLCRAH”) issued a notice scheduling the administrative hearing for

I 2016.

On I 2016 in accordance with sections 17b-60, 17-61 and 4-176e to 4-
189, inclusive, of the Connecticut General Statutes, OLCRAH held an
administrative hearing. The following individuals were present at the hearing:

I A prellant, Applicant’s Son, Power of Attorney (“POA”)
Jennifer Bucci, Department’s Representative

Sinseara Mercado, Department Representative, via telephone



Maren Walsh, Department’s Representative, via telephone
Shelley Starr, Hearing Officer

The Applicant, | \'2s not present, due to his passing ol
2016.

The hearing record was held open for the submission of additional evidence by
the Department. On |l 2016, the hearing record closed.

STATEMENT OF THE ISSUE

The issue to be decided is whether the Department was correct in its
determination of the effective date of the Applicant’'s Long Term Care Medicaid
benefits based on a Transfer of Assets (“TOA”) penalty.

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. In I the Applicant suffered a stroke and had a reaction to his
medication for shingles that required hospitalization and short term
rehabilitation. (Appellant’s Testimony; Exhibit 2: Ascend printout)

2. In I 2014, the Applicant was |l °CB ] and was a
widower. (Exhibit 1: LTC application; Hearing Record)

3. On I 2014, the Applicant transferred from the hospital to Sharon
Health Care Center Jjlll Connecticut for an anticipated short term
rehabilitation admission. (Appellant’s Testimony; Exhibit 2: Ascend printout

4. On I 2014, the Applicant’'s POA wrote check il rayable to
I for $5,000.00 from the Applicant’s Bank of Millbrook checking

account ending in - (Exhibit 3: Bank of Millbrook bank statement
account N I check image)

5. On I 2014, the Applicant's POA wrote checkijiill rayable to
himself, | from the Applicant’s Bank of Millbrook checking

account ending in il (Exhibit 3: Bank of Millbrook statement account
I check image )

6. The Applicant did not respond to his short term rehabilitation and it was
determined that he would need to stay at the facilty as a long term
placement. (Appellant’s Testimony)

7. On I B 2016, the Department received a W-1LTC application
completed by the Applicant’'s POA, requesting assistance for care in a facility.
(Exhibit 1:W-1 LTC application dated |l ] 2016)



8.

10.

11.

On I 2016, the Department issued the Applicant's POA, a W-495A,
Transfer of Assets, Preliminary Decision Notice stating that the Applicant
transferred $10,000.00 on I 2014 to N °d
I (0 become eligible for Medicaid. (Exhibit 4. W-495A
Transfer of Assets, Preliminary Decision Notice, dated ||l 2016)

On I 2016, the POA responded to the W-495A stating that “the two
checks for $5,000.00 each, one to my brother and one to me, in

2014, was money my father wanted us to put towards the cost of flying our
families out to |l California to attend my son ] Wedding in -
B =s he is in the US and currently stationed at

“In 2014, my father was still on Medicare and undergomg
rehabilitation_at Sharon Health Care Center to determine if he could return
home in ” (Hearing Summary; Exhibit 5: Letter from
POA, dated |jjjll] 2016)

On I 2016, the Applicant was approved for the Long Term Care
Medicaid assistance program. (Exhibit 16: Notice of Action dated [N
2016; Exhibit 13: Notice of Approval for Long Term Care Medicaid; Hearing
Record)

Ol 2016, the Department issued a W-495C, Transfer of Assets Final
Decision Notice stating that the Applicant had transferred $10,000.00 to
become eligible for Medicaid and was subject to a transfer of assets penalty
for Medicaid long term care services for the period of |jjjjiilj 2016 through
B 2016. (Exhibit 4: W-495C dated ] 2016; Hearing Summary)

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

Sections 17b-260 to 17b-264 of the Connecticut General Statutes authorizes
the  Commissioner of Social Services to administer the Title XIX Medical
Assistance program to provide medical assistance to eligible persons in
Connecticut.

Section 17b-2 of the Connecticut General Statue authorizes the Commissioner
of the Department of Social Services to administer the Medicaid program.

Section 17b-80(a) of the Connecticut General Statute states that the
Department shall grant aid only if the applicant is eligible for that aid.

Uniform Policy Manual (‘UPM”) § 3029.05 provides the transfer of assets
basic provisions.

A. General Statement




There is a period established, subject to the conditions described in
this chapter, during which institutionalized individuals are not eligible
for certain Medicaid services when they or their spouses dispose of
assets for less than fair market value on or after the look-back date
specified in 3029.05 C. This period is called the penalty period, or
period of ineligibility.

B. Individuals Affected

1. The policy contained in this chapter pertains to institutionalized
individuals and to their spouses.

2. An individual is considered institutionalized if he or she is
receiving:

a. LTCF services; or

b. services provided by a medical institution which are
equivalent to those provided in a long-term care facility; or

c. home and community-based services under a Medicaid
waiver (cross references: 2540.64 and 2540.92).

UPM § 3029.05 (C) (1)(2) provides that the look-back date for transfers of
assets is a date that is 60 months before the first date on which both the
following conditions exist: the individual is institutionalized and the individual is
either applying for or receiving Medicaid.

The Department correctly determined that the transfers on || NN
2014, occurred within the 60 month look back period.

UPM 8§ 3029.05 D (1) (2) provides the Department considers transfers of
assets made within the time limits described in 3029.05 C, on behalf of an
institutionalized individual or his or her spouse by a guardian, conservator,
person having power of attorney or other person or entity so authorized by
law, to have been made by the individual or spouse. In the case of an asset
that the individual holds in common with another person or persons in joint
tenancy, tenancy in common or similar arrangement, the Department considers
the asset (or affected portion of such asset) to have been transferred by the
individual when the individual or any other person takes an action to reduce or
eliminate the individual's ownership or control of the asset.

The Department correctly determined that the $10,000.00 gifted on
I °014, is within the look back period and subject for review.

Section 17b-261a(a) of the Connecticut General Statutes provides that any
transfer or assignment of assets resulting in the imposition of a penalty
period shall be presumed to be made with the intent, on the part of the
transferor or the transferee, to enable the transferor to obtain or maintain



10.

eligibility for medical assistance. This presumption may be rebutted only by
clear and convincing evidence that the transferor's eligibility or potential
eligibility for medical assistance was not a basis for the transfer or
assignment.

UPM 8§ 3029.10(E) provides that an otherwise eligible institutionalized
individual is not ineligible for Medicaid payment of LTC services if the
individual, or his or her spouse, provides clear and convincing evidence that
the transfer was made exclusively for a purpose other than qualifying for
assistance.

UPM 8 3029.10(F) provides for transferor intended to transfer at fair market
value. An institutionalized individual or his or her spouse may transfer an asset

without penalty if the individual demonstrates with clear and convincing
evidence that he or she intended to dispose of the asset at fair market value.

UPM 8 3025.15 provides for Transfer Not for the Purpose of Qualifying and
provides:

A. Fair Market Value Received

If fair market value is received, the transfer of the asset is not
considered to be for the purpose of establishing or maintaining

eligibility.
B. Assets Within Limits

If the total of the uncompensated fair market value of a transferred
asset plus all other countable assets does not exceed program
limits, the transfer of the asset is not considered to be for the
purpose of establishing or maintaining eligibility. In the case of
multiple transfers involving one asset, this includes the total
uncompensated value of all transfers.

C. Transfer for Another Purpose

If there is convincing evidence that the transfer is exclusively for
another purpose, the transfer of the asset is not considered to be for
the purpose of establishing or maintaining eligibility.

UPM § 3029.15 (B) provides the Department considers a transferor to have
met his or her foreseeable needs if, at the time of the transfer, he or she
retained other income and assets to cover basic living expenses and medical
costs as they could have reasonably been expected to exist based on the
transferor’s health and financial situation at the time of the transfer.

The Department correctly determined the Applicant did not receive fair
market value for the $10,000.00 he gifted to his sons because the money
was for their travel expenses.

The Applicant did not provide clear and convincing evidence that the



11.

$10,000.00 gifted to his two sons was not for the purposes of qualifying
for Medicaid.

The Applicant did not meet his foreseeable needs at the time of the
transfer, based on his admission to a nursing facility and his declining
health.

The Department was correct to impose a transfer of asset penalty
against the Applicant due to his uncompensated transfer of assets
of $10,000.00.

Section 17b-2610(c) of the Connecticut General Statutes provides that the
commissioner shall impose a penalty period pursuant to subsection (a) of
Section 17b-261 or subsection (a) of section 17b-261a if the transfer or
assignment of assets was made by the Applicant’s legal representative or
joint owner of the asset.

UPM § 3029.05 provides that there is a period established, subject to the
conditions described in this chapter, during which institutionalized individuals
are not eligible for certain Medicaid services when they or their spouses
dispose of assets for less than fair market value on or after the look-back
date specified in 3029.05 C. This period is called the penalty period, or
period of ineligibility.

UPM § 3029.05 (E)(2) provides that the penalty period begins as of the later
of the following dates: the date on which the individual is eligible for Medicaid
under Connecticut’s State Plan and would otherwise be eligible for Medicaid
payment of the LTC services described in 3029.05 B based on an approved
application for such care but for the application of the penalty period, and
which is not part of any other period of ineligibility caused by a transfer of
assets.

UPM 8 3029.05 (F) provides that the length of the penalty period is
determined by dividing the total uncompensated value of all assets
transferred on or after the look-back date by the average monthly cost to a
private patient for long-term care services in Connecticut. For applicants, the
average monthly cost for LTCF services is based on the figure as of the
month of application. Uncompensated value of multiple transfers are added
together and the transfers are treated as a single transfer.

The average monthly cost for LTCF services in il 2016, the
applicant’s month of application is $12,170.00.

The Department’s imposition of a 31 day penalty period for ineligibility
of Medicaid Long Term Care Medicaid Services is incorrect. The
correct penalty period equals 25 days ($10,000.00 / $12,170.00 (average
monthly cost of care) = .82 x .31 (# days in March) = 0.25 days.)



12. UPM 8§ 3029.05 (E)(2) provides the penalty period begins as of the date on
which the individual is eligible for Medicaid under Connecticut’s State plan
and would otherwise be eligible for Medicaid payment of the LTC services
described in 3029.05 B based on an approved application for such care but
for the application of the penalty period, and which is not part of any other
period of ineligibility cause by a transfer of assets.

The Department determined the Applicant is otherwise eligible

beginning N 2016.

The Department’s determination of |l 2016, as the start date of
the penalty period is correct.

The Department’s determination of il 2016, as the end date of
the period of ineligibility is incorrect. The correct end date of the

period of ineligibility is |l 2016. (25 days).

DISCUSSION

Based on the evidence and testimony presented, the Department’s action to
impose a Medicaid penalty of long term coverage is upheld; however, the
end date of the penalty period is not correct. | found that the penalty period

to be 25 days | 2016 through | 2016).

The Appellant testified that the Applicant wanted his family to attend his
grandson’s wedding and gifted $5,000.00 each to his two sons for their travel
expenses. At the time of the transfer, the Applicant was

suffering from deteriorating health due to having a stroke and a reaction to
his medication which caused hospitalization and rehabilitation. While at the
time of the transfer, the Applicant’s cost of care was covered by Medicare,
the Applicant did not meet his foreseeable needs based on his health and
financial situation. In addition, the Appellant did not provide clear and
convincing evidence that the intent of the cash transfers were for purposes
other than qualifying for Medicaid.

DECISION

The Appellant’s appeal is DENIED in respect to the imposition of a penalty
and GRANTED in respect to the length of the penalty.



ORDER

1. The Department is to adjust the penalty period to 25 days, effective || N
2016 ending N 2016.

2. Compliance with this order should be forwarded to the undersigned no later
than fifteen days of the date of this decision.

Shelley Starr
Hearing Officer

cc: Annette Lombardi, Operations Manager, DSS, Torrington Regional Office



RIGHT TO REQUEST RECONSIDERATION

The appellant has the right to file a written reconsideration request within 15 days of
the mailing date of the decision on the grounds there was an error of fact or law, new
evidence has been discovered or other good cause exists. If the request for
reconsideration is granted, the appellant will be notified within 25 days of the request
date. No response within 25 days means that the request for reconsideration has been
denied. The right to request a reconsideration is based on 84-181a (a) of the
Connecticut General Statutes.

Reconsideration requests should include specific grounds for the request: for example,
indicate what error of fact or law, what new evidence, or what other good cause exists.

Reconsideration requests should be sent to: Department of Social Services, Director,

Office of Administrative Hearings and Appeals, 55 Farmington Avenue Hartford,
CT 06105.

RIGHT TO APPEAL

The appellant has the right to appeal this decision to Superior Court within 45 days of
the mailing of this decision, or 45 days after the agency denies a petition for
reconsideration of this decision, provided that the petition for reconsideration was filed
timely with the Department. The right to appeal is based on 84-183 of the Connecticut
General Statutes. To appeal, a petition must be filed at Superior Court. A copy of the
petition must be served upon the Office of the Attorney General, 55 EIm Street, Hartford,
CT 06106 or the Commissioner of the Department of Social Services, 55 Farmington
Avenue Hartford, CT 06105. A copy of the petition must also be served on all parties to
the hearing.

The 45 day appeal period may be extended in certain instances if there is good
cause. The extension request must be filed with the Commissioner of the Department
of Social Services in writing no later than 90 days from the mailing of the
decision. Good cause circumstances are evaluated by the Commissioner or the
Commissioner's designee in accordance with §17b-61 of the Connecticut General
Statutes. The Agency's decision to grant an extension is final and is not subject to
review or appeal.

The appeal should be filed with the clerk of the Superior Court in the Judicial District of
New Britain or the Judicial District in which the appellant resides.






