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PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND 

 
On  2016, the Department of Social Services (the “Department”) issued  (the 
“Appellant”) a Notice of Approval for Long-Term Care Medicaid, stating that the agency had 
determined that she was subject to a penalty period of ineligibility for Medicaid coverage of her 
long-term care services at Miller Memorial.  The penalty period of ineligibility would run from 

 2016 through  2016. 
 
On  2016, the Appellant filed a request for an administrative hearing with the Office of 
Legal Counsel, Regulations, and Administrative Hearings (“OLCRAH”) to dispute the imposition 
of a penalty period of ineligibility. 
 
On  2016 and  2016, the OLCRAH issued a notice scheduling an administrative 
hearing for  2016.  On  2016, the Appellant requested a postponement of the 
administrative hearing; the OLCRAH granted the request. 
 
On  2016, the OLCRAH issued a notice scheduling an administrative hearing for  

 2016.  On  2016, the Appellant requested a postponement of the administrative 
hearing; the OLCRAH granted the request. 
 
On  2016, the OLCRAH issued a notice scheduling an administrative hearing for  

 2016. On  2016, in accordance with sections 17b-60, 17b-61, and 4-176e to 4-189, 
inclusive, of the Connecticut General Statutes, the OLCRAH held an administrative hearing.  
The following individuals participated in the hearing: 
 

 Appellant’s representative (daughter) 
 Appellant’s counsel 

John Dileonardo, Department’s representative 
Eva Tar, Hearing Officer 
 
The hearing record closed on  2016. 
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STATEMENT OF ISSUE 
 
The issue to be decided is whether the Department correctly determined that the Appellant is 
subject to a penalty period of ineligibility for Medicaid payment of long-term care services due to 
$2,610.00 in transfers.  The Department is assessing a penalty period of ineligibility to run from 

 2016 through  2016. 
 

FINDINGS OF FACT 
 
1. The Appellant is  years old.  (Department’s Exhibit 13: Ascend Connecticut printout, 

16) 
 
2. The Appellant’s representative is the Appellant’s daughter.  (Appellant’s representative’s 

testimony)   
 
3. On  2005, the Appellant assigned her Power of Attorney to the Appellant’s 

representative.  (Department’s Exhibit 3: Power of Attorney w/other docs, varying dates) 
 
4. The  2005 Power of Attorney notes in part that the Appellant “specifically 

authorize and encourage my attorney-in-fact to make gifts (outright, in trust or otherwise) of 
any assets owned by me, to my children, including any of my children who may be agents 
under this Power of Attorney.  Such gifts are subject only to the limitation that gifts to my 
children must be equal.”  (Department’s Exhibit 3) 

 
5. The  2005 Power of Attorney does not authorize the Appellant’s representative 

to enter into contracts with the Appellant.  (Department’s Exhibit 3) 
 
6. Miller Memorial (the “Facility”) in  Connecticut is a skilled nursing facility.  

(Department’s Exhibit 13) 
 
7. On , 2015, the Facility admitted the Appellant as a long-term care patient.  

(Department’s Exhibit 13) 
 
8. The Facility had previously admitted the Appellant for short-term stays in  2015 (20 

days) and  2015 (29 days).  (Department’s Exhibit 13) 
 
9. Prior to her  2015 admission to the Facility, the Appellant resided in an apartment in 

 Connecticut.  (Department’s Exhibit 13)(Department’s Exhibit 1: Long-Term 
Care/Waiver Application, signed 15)(Appellant’s representative’s testimony) 

 
10. The Appellant kept her apartment in the community until  2015.  (Appellant’s 

representative’s testimony) 
 
11. On  2015, the Appellant’s representative signed a Personal Services Agreement 

in her capacity as the Appellant’s attorney-in-fact (“THE PRINCIPAL [Appellant’s Name]”) 
and in her capacity as a contractor (“THE AGENT [Appellant’s representative’s name]”).  
(Department’s Exhibit 3) 

 
12. There are no other signatures on the  2015 Personal Services Agreement 

besides that of the Appellant’s representative.  (Department’s Exhibit 3) 
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13. The  2015 Personal Services Agreement involves self-dealing
1
 by the Appellant’s 

representative.  (Department’s Exhibit 4: Email, 16) 
 
14. The  2015 Personal Services Agreement is not a legally enforceable contract.  

(Department’s Exhibit 4) 
 
15. The  2015 Personal Services Agreement states that the Appellant will pay the 

Appellant’s representative (the Agent) $30.00 per hour for the services of assisting the 
Appellant (the Principal) to review, manage and monitor her business, financial and 
personal affairs and to perform her activities of daily living, beginning  2015.  
(Department’s Exhibit 3) 

 
16. Since  2016, the Facility has provided the Appellant with daily aid with her 

activities of daily living.
2
 

 
17. The Appellant’s representative claims to have provided the following services to the 

Appellant personally, or in conjunction with other individuals, in the period from  
 2015 through  2016: laundry (44 hours), paperwork/paying bills (11.5 hours), 

telephone inquiries (3 hours), meeting a funeral director (2 hours), visiting the Appellant (3 
hours), visiting an attorney (12.5 hours), moving furniture (9 hours), cleaning the Appellant’s 
apartment (37 hours), shopping for the Appellant’s clothing and snacks (3 hours), and 
transportation for medical visits (3 hours).  (Department’s Exhibit 3) 

 
18. Laundry services are provided by the Facility to its residents.  (Department’s 

representative’s testimony) 
 
19. Private laundry services are not compensable services, as the Appellant receives those 

services for free from the Facility.  (Department’s representative’s testimony) 
 
20. The Appellant’s representative’s visits with the Appellant, her mother, are not services that 

merit compensation.  (Department’s Exhibit 4) 
 
21. The Appellant pays her own attorney’s fees.  (Appellant’s representative’s testimony) 
 
22. Visits to the Appellant’s attorney are not compensable services. 
 
23. The Appellant’s authorized representative used relatives, a friend, the apartment owner with 

his trailer to move the Appellant’s furniture from her apartment; one dresser was transported 
to the Appellant’s room at the Facility; the Appellant’s representative retained the 
Appellant’s bedroom set.  (Appellant’s representative’s testimony) 

 
24. The Appellant’s authorized representative used relatives and a friend to clean the 

Appellant’s apartment.  (Appellant’s representative’s testimony) 
 
25. On  2015, the Appellant’s representative issued a $600.00 check (# ) to 

herself from the Appellant’s Bank of America ( ) account; “Personal Services 
Agreement” is noted in the memo section of the check.  (Department’s Exhibit 2: Transfer 
checks, varying dates) 

                                                 
1
 self-dealing. n. Participation in a transaction that benefits oneself instead of another who is owed a 

fiduciary duty.  • For example, a corporate director might engage in self-dealing by participating in a 

competing business to the corporation’s detriment. – self-deal, vb. Cf. FAIR DEALING.  Black’s Law 
Dictionary 1364 (7

th 
ed. 1999). 

2
 “Activities of daily living” involve eating, bathing, dressing, toileting, transferring and continence. 

-
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26. On 2015, the Department received the Appellant's Medicaid application, 
signed by the Appellant's representative on 2015. (Department's Exhibit 11: 
Notice Content-NCON, -16)(Department's Exhibit 1) 

27. On 2016, the Appellant's representative issued three checks to herself from the 
Appellant's Bank of America (~ccount: a $600.00 check-•), a $410.00 check 
(- 0), and a $600.00 check~). "Personal Services Agreement" is noted in the 
memo section of the three checks. (Department's Exhibit 2) 

28. On 2016, the Department issued a Preliminary Decision Notice (W-495A) to the 
Appellant stating that the Department had made an initial decision that the Appellant had 
transferred $2,61 0.00 in order to be eligible for assistance. (Department's Exhibit 6: 
Preliminary Decision Notice, -16) 

29. In making the determination that the Appellant had improperly transferred $2,61 0.00, the 
Department considered the following: the 2015 Personal Services Agreement 
was not-legally enforceable, the Appellant's representative having participated in self­
dealing, the proximity in time between the Appellant's institutionalization and the date of the 
agreement, many of the services listed on the agreement had been provided by the Facility 
(or duplicated those provided by the Facility), visiting the Appellant was not a compensable 
service, and the proximity of receipt of previously unexpected funds from an insurance 
policy with issuances of checks to the Appellant's representative. (Department's 
representative's testimony)(Department's Exhibit 4 )(Department's Exhibit 5: Email, -16) 

30. The Department's ••■ 2016 Preliminary Decision Notice (W-495A) stated that the 
agency made the initial decision because she was applying for or receiving medical help for 
long-term care services or home care services; and she or her spouse transferred assets 
that affect her eligibility; and she had not given the agency proof that the transfer was not 
made in order to be eligible for assistance. (Department's Exhibit 6) 

31. The Department's 2016 Preliminary Decision Notice (W-495A) stated that the 
purpose of the notices is to tell the Appellant about the preliminary decision and to give her 
a chance to contact the agency before the decision became final. (Department's Exhibit 6) 

32. The Department's 2016 Preliminary Decision Notice (W-495A) stated that if the 
agency did not hear from the Appellant by ••• 2016, the agency would act upon its 
decision about the transfer. (Department's Exhibit 6) 

33. On 2016, the Department received correspondence from Appellant's counsel, 
seeking to rebut the Department's preliminary decision. (Department's Exhibit 7) 

34. The Appellant did not submit to the Department probative evidence as to the "actual cost" of 
the services allegedly provided by her representative or by the representative in conjunction 
with other individuals. 

35. After receiving the 2016 correspondence, the Department did not issue an interim 
form, W-495B,3 to the Appellant. (Department's representative's testimony) 

36. The information captured by the W-4958 form was the same as that captured by the W-
495C form. (Department's representative's testimony) 

3 Notice of Response to Rebuttal/Hardship Claim (W-495B). 



37. On  2016, the Department issued a Final Decision Notice (W-495C) to the 
Appellant, stating that the agency had decided that the Appellant had transferred $2,610.00 
to become eligible for Medicaid benefits, and that she was subject to a penalty period of 
ineligibility for payment of long-term care services effective  2016.  Her penalty 
period would end  2016.  (Department’s Exhibit 8: Final Decision Notice, 16) 

 
38. The Department’s  2016 Final Decision Notice (W-495C) noted that should the 

Appellant disagree with the decision, she may ask for a fair hearing. (Department’s Exhibit 
8) 

 
39. On  2016, the Department issued a Notice of Approval for Long-Term Care 

Medicaid to the Appellant, stating that she was eligible for Medicaid as of  but 
that Medicaid would begin paying for her long-term care services effective  2016.  
(Department’s Exhibit 9: Notice of Approval for Long-Term Care Medicaid, 16) 

 
40. On  2016, the Department issued an amended Notice of Approval for Long-Term 

Care Medicaid to the Appellant, stating that the Appellant was eligible for Medicaid as of 
 2016, but that Medicaid would begin paying for her long-term care services 

effective  2016.  (Department’s Exhibit 10: Notice of Approval for Long-term Care 
Medicaid, 16) 

 
41. With the  2016 Notice of Approval for Long-Term Care Medicaid, the Department 

provided written clarification as to the reason for the discrepancy between the end-dates of 
the penalty periods previously stated in the   2016 mailing. (Department’s 
representative’s testimony) (Department’s Exhibit 10) 

 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 
 
1. The Department of Social Services is designated as the state agency for the administration 

of the Medicaid program pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act.  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 
17b-2. 
 

2. Section 17b-60 of the Connecticut General Statutes provides for fair hearings by the 
commissioner and any person authorized by him to conduct a hearing under this section. 
 

3. Section 17b-61 of the Connecticut General Statutes addresses the decision, appeal, and 
extension for filing appeal.  Subsection (a) of this section notes in part that the 
commissioner or his designated hearing officer shall render a final decision based upon all 
the evidence introduced before him and applying all pertinent provisions of law, regulations 
and departmental policy, and such final decision shall supersede the decision made without 
a hearing. 

4. Section 4-180 (c) of the Connecticut General Statutes provides in part that a final decision 
in a contested case shall be in writing or orally stated on the record and, if adverse to a 
party, shall include the agency’s findings of fact and conclusions of law necessary to its 
decision, including the specific provisions of the general statutes or of regulations adopted 
by the agency upon which the agency bases its decision. Findings of fact shall be based 
exclusively on the evidence in the record and on matters noticed.  
 

5. With respect to administrative hearings conducted under the authority of Conn. Gen. Stat. § 
17b-60, an administrative hearing officer’s past ruling regarding one appellant does not bind 
another administrative hearing officer at a later date to issue a similar or identical ruling for a 
different appellant.   
 

-

-
-

--



6. The Fair Hearing official determines the issue of the hearing.  Uniform Policy Manual 
(“UPM”) § 1570.25 (C)(2)(c). 
 

7. The Medicaid asset limit for a single individual residing in a skilled nursing facility is 
$1,600.00.  UPM § 4005.10 (A)(2)(a). 
 

8. This chapter describes the technical eligibility requirement in the Medicaid program pertaining 
to the transfer of an asset for less than fair market value.  The policy material in this chapter 
pertains to transfers that occur on or after  2006.  UPM § 3029. 
 

9. There is a period established, subject to the conditions described in this chapter, during which 
institutionalized individuals are not eligible for certain Medicaid services when they or their 
spouses dispose of assets for less than fair market value on or after the look-back date 
specified in 3029.05 C.  This period is called the penalty period, or period of ineligibility.  UPM 
§ 3029.05 (A). 
 

10. The policy contained in this chapter pertains to institutionalized individuals and to their 
spouses.  An individual is considered institutionalized if he or she is receiving: a. LTCF 
services; or  b. services provided by a medical institution which are equivalent to those 
provided in a long-term care facility; or c. home and community-based services under a 
Medicaid waiver (cross references:  2540.64 and 2540.92).  UPM § 3029.05 (B). 
 

11. Institution.  An institution is an establishment that furnishes food, shelter and some 
treatment or services to four or more persons unrelated to the proprietor.  UPM § 3000.01. 
 

12. Skilled Nursing Facility.  A skilled nursing facility is an institution which provides daily 
inpatient medical services ordered by and provided under the direction of a physician and 
24-hour nursing services.  UPM § 3000.01. 
 

13. The Appellant has been an institutionalized individual since  2015. 
 

14. The Appellant’s requirements for her activities of daily living are met by the staff of the 
skilled nursing facility in which she has resided since  2015. 
 

15. The look-back date for transfers of assets is a date that is 60 months before the first date 
on which both the following conditions exist:  1. the individual is institutionalized; and 2. the 
individual is either applying for or receiving Medicaid.  UPM § 3029.05 (C). 
 

16. The Appellant’s look-back period ran from 60 months prior to and up to  2015. 
 

17. Medical assistance shall be provided for any otherwise eligible person whose income, 
including any available support from legally liable relatives and the income of the person’s 
spouse or dependent child, is not more than one hundred forty-three per cent, pending 
approval of a federal waiver applied for pursuant to subsection (e) of this section, of the 
benefit amount paid to a person with no income under the temporary family assistance 
program in the appropriate region of residence and if such person is an institutionalized 
individual as defined in Section 1917 of the Social Security Act, 42 USC 1396p(h)(3), and 
has not made an assignment or transfer or other disposition of property for less than fair 
market value for the purpose of establishing eligibility for benefits or assistance under this 
section. Any such disposition shall be treated in accordance with Section 1917(c) of the 
Social Security Act, 42 USC 1396p(c). Any disposition of property made on behalf of an 
applicant or recipient or the spouse of an applicant or recipient by a guardian, conservator, 
person authorized to make such disposition pursuant to a power of attorney or other person 
so authorized by law shall be attributed to such applicant, recipient or spouse. A disposition 



of property ordered by a court shall be evaluated in accordance with the standards applied 
to any other such disposition for the purpose of determining eligibility. The commissioner 
shall establish the standards for eligibility for medical assistance at one hundred forty-three 
per cent of the benefit amount paid to a family unit of equal size with no income under the 
temporary family assistance program in the appropriate region of residence. In determining 
eligibility, the commissioner shall not consider as income Aid and Attendance pension 
benefits granted to a veteran, as defined in section 27-103, or the surviving spouse of such 
veteran. Except as provided in section 17b-277, the medical assistance program shall 
provide coverage to persons under the age of nineteen with family income up to one 
hundred eighty-five per cent of the federal poverty level without an asset limit and to 
persons under the age of nineteen and their parents and needy caretaker relatives, who 
qualify for coverage under Section 1931 of the Social Security Act, with family income up to 
one hundred eighty-five per cent of the federal poverty level without an asset limit. Such 
levels shall be based on the regional differences in such benefit amount, if applicable, 
unless such levels based on regional differences are not in conformance with federal law. 
Any income in excess of the applicable amounts shall be applied as may be required by 
said federal law, and assistance shall be granted for the balance of the cost of authorized 
medical assistance. The Commissioner of Social Services shall provide applicants for 
assistance under this section, at the time of application, with a written statement advising 
them of (1) the effect of an assignment or transfer or other disposition of property on 
eligibility for benefits or assistance, (2) the effect that having income that exceeds the limits 
prescribed in this subsection will have with respect to program eligibility, and (3) the 
availability of, and eligibility for, services provided by the Nurturing Families Network 
established pursuant to section 17b-751b. Persons who are determined ineligible for 
assistance pursuant to this section shall be provided a written statement notifying such 
persons of their ineligibility and advising such persons of the availability of HUSKY Plan, 
Part B health insurance benefits.  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 17b-261 (a). 
 

18. Fiduciary Duty.  Fiduciary duty is the duty of a person who stands in a special relationship of 
trust, confidence, or responsibility in his obligation to others.  UPM § 3000.01. 
 

19. As possessor of the Appellant’s power of attorney, the Appellant’s representative was in a 
position of fiduciary duty, as defined by UPM § 3000.01, to the Appellant. 
 

20. Transfer of an Asset.  A transfer of an asset is the conveyance of interest in property, the 
disposal of an asset in some other way or the failure to exercise one’s right to property.  
UPM § 3000.01. 
 

21. The Department considers transfers of assets made within the time limits described in 
3029.05 C, on behalf of an institutionalized individual or his or her spouse by a guardian, 
conservator, person having power of attorney or other person or entity so authorized by law, 
to have been made by the individual or spouse.  UPM § 3029.05 (D)(1). 
 

22. Any transfer or assignment of assets resulting in the imposition of a penalty period shall be 
presumed to be made with the intent, on the part of the transferor or the transferee, to 
enable the transferor to obtain or maintain eligibility for medical assistance. This 
presumption may be rebutted only by clear and convincing evidence that the transferor’s 
eligibility or potential eligibility for medical assistance was not a basis for the transfer or 
assignment.  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 17b-261a (a). 
 

23. Prior to denial or discontinuance of LTC [Long-Term Care] Medicaid benefits, the 
Department notifies the individual and his or her spouse of its preliminary decision that a 
transfer of an asset is determined to have been improper.  The notification includes a clear 



explanation of both: a. the reason for the decision; and b. the right of the individual or his or 
her spouse to rebut the issue within 10 days.  UPM § 3029.35 (A)(1) and (2). 
 

24. The Department’s  2016 Preliminary Decision Notice (W-495A) provided a clear 
explanation for the Department’s decision that the Appellant’s transfer of assets had been 
determined to have been improper.   
 

25. The Department’s  2016 Preliminary Decision Notice (W-495A) gave the Appellant in 
excess of 10 days to rebut the issue.   
 

26. The Department’s  2016 Preliminary Decision Notice (W-495A) met or exceeded the 
minimal criteria required by UPM § 3029.35 (A). 
 

27. An institutionalized individual, or his or her spouse, who is notified of the Department’s 
determination that an asset transfer was improper, has 10 days from the date of the notice 
to rebut this determination prior to the implementation of the negative action.  The 
Department may grant an extension if the individual so requests and the request is 
reasonable.  UPM § 3029.35 (B)(1). 
 

28. Rebuttal must include: a. a statement from the individual or his or her spouse as to the 
reason for the transfer; and b. objective evidence, which is (1) evidence which rational 
people agree is real or valid; and (2) documentary or non-documentary.  UPM § 3029.35 
(B)(2). 
 

29. The Appellant had adequate opportunity to submit a rebuttal to the Department.  
 

30. If the individual does not rebut the Department’s preliminary decision to impose a penalty 
period, the Department sends the individual a final decision notice regarding the penalty 
period at the time of the disposition of the Medicaid application.  The notice contains all the 
elements of the preliminary notice, and a description of the individual’s appeal rights.  UPM 
§ 3029.35 (C)(1). 
 

31. If the individual rebuts the Department’s preliminary decision to impose a penalty period, the 
Department has 10 days from the receipt of the rebuttal to send an interim notice to the 
individual stating that it is either upholding or reversing its preliminary decision.  UPM § 
3029.35 (C)(2). 
 

32. The notification described in UPM § 3029.35 (C)(2) informs the individual that: a. the 
Department is reversing its preliminary decision, and is not imposing a penalty period with 
respect to LTC [Long-Term Care] services; or b. the Department’s preliminary decision is 
upheld and a penalty period is being established, during which Medicaid will not pay for LTC 
services.  UPM § 3029.35 (C)(3). 
 

33. The Department sends a final decision notice regarding the rebuttal issue at the time of the 
mailing of the notice regarding the disposition of the Medicaid application.  UPM § 3029.35 
(C)(4). 
 

34. UPM § 3029.35 does not formally identify the notices or forms by number and/or header 
that the agency uses with respect to issuing a “preliminary decision,” an “interim notice,” or 
a “final decision notice” with respect to the Department’s determination that a transfer of 
assets had been improper and the Department’s proposed action regarding that 
determination.  
 



35. Upon review of the plain language of UPM § 3029.35, it is reasonable to conclude that the 
function of the Department’s issuing an “interim notice” is informational only: to notify an 
individual as to the Department’s decision regarding the receipt of that individual’s rebuttal 
and whether the Department was upholding or overturning its preliminary decision that an 
improper transfer of assets had occurred. 
 

36. The Department committed procedural error when the agency failed to issue an “interim 
notice” to the Appellant within 10 days of its receipt of the Appellant’s  2016 
rebuttal. 
 

37. The Department’s  2016 Final Decision Notice (W-495C) provided the Appellant 
with the same information, as described in UPM § 3029.35 (C)(2), that would have been 
listed in a timely-issued “interim notice” associated with the Appellant’s  2015 
Medicaid application: 1) that Department was upholding its preliminary decision; and 2) that 
the Department had established a penalty period during which Medicaid would not pay for 
the Appellant’s long-term care services.   
 

38. The Department’s  2016 Final Decision Notice (W-495C) provided the Appellant 
with adequate notice that the agency was upholding its preliminary decision; notified the 
Appellant that a penalty period was being established during which Medicaid would not 
provide for long-term care services; and instructed the Appellant on her right to appeal the 
Department’s action through the fair hearing process.  
 

39. The Department’s procedural error in failing to issue an “interim notice” to the Appellant was 
harmless error, as the Appellant’s rights were not adversely affected by the Department’s 
oversight. 

 
40. Any transfer or assignment of assets resulting in the establishment or imposition of a 

penalty period shall create a debt, as defined in section 36a-645, that shall be due and 
owing by the transferor or transferee to the Department of Social Services in an amount 
equal to the amount of the medical assistance provided to or on behalf of the transferor on 
or after the date of the transfer of assets, but said amount shall not exceed the fair market 
value of the assets at the time of transfer. The Commissioner of Social Services, the 
Commissioner of Administrative Services and the Attorney General shall have the power or 
authority to seek administrative, legal or equitable relief as provided by other statutes or by 
common law.  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 17b-261a (b). 

 
41. Transfers that do not result in a penalty include, but are not limited to, transfers of a home 

to certain individuals; transfers made to or for the benefit of spouses, subject to limitations; 
transfers to a disabled child; transfers to certain trusts; transfers made exclusively for 
reasons other than qualifying; transferor intended to transfer the asset for fair market value; 
transfers made for other valuable consideration; the return of a transferred asset; transferor 
subject to undue hardship; and, with certain conditions, transfers “for the sole benefit of” an 
individual.  UPM § 3029.10 (A) through (J).   
 

42. An otherwise eligible institutionalized individual is not ineligible for Medicaid payment of LTC 
[long-term care services] if the individual, or his or her spouse, provides clear and 
convincing evidence that the transfer was made exclusively for a purpose other than 
qualifying for assistance.  UPM § 3029.10 (E). 
 

43. An institutionalized individual, or his or her spouse, may transfer an asset without penalty if 
the individual provides clear and convincing evidence that he or she intended to dispose of 
the asset at fair market value.  UPM § 3029.10 (F). 
 



44. Fair Market Value.  Fair market value is the amount at which an asset can be sold on the 
open market in the geographic area involved at the time of the sale or the amount actually 
obtained as a result of bona fide efforts to gain the highest possible price.  UPM § 3000.01. 
 

45. Compensation.  Compensation is all money, notes, real or personal property, food, shelter, 
or services received in exchange for something of value.  UPM § 3000.01. 
 

46. Value of Compensation.  Each form of compensation is assigned a dollar value to compare 
with the fair market value of the transferred asset.  UPM § 3029.30 (B). 
 

47. Uncompensated Value.  Uncompensated value is the difference between the fair market value 
of an asset and the compensation received.  UPM § 3000.01. 
 

48. Compensation in exchange for a transferred asset is counted in determining whether fair 
market value was received.  UPM § 3029.30. 
 

49. When an asset is transferred, compensation is counted when it is received at the time of the 
transfer or any time thereafter. UPM § 3029.30 (A)(1). 
 

50. Compensation received prior to the time of the transfer is counted if it was received in 
accordance with a legally enforceable agreement.  UPM § 3029.30 (A)(2). 

 
51. Legally-Enforceable Agreement.  A legally-enforceable agreement is a binding and credible 

arrangement, either oral or written, wherein two or more parties agree to an arrangement in 
consideration of the receipt of money, property, or services and in which all parties can be 
reasonably expected to fulfill their parts of the agreement.  UPM § 3000.01. 
 

52. The Appellant’s $2,610.00 transfer to her representative was not in accordance with a 
legally enforceable agreement. 
 

53. In determining the dollar value of services rendered directly by the transferee, the 
Department uses the following amounts: a. for all services of the type normally rendered by 
a homemaker or home health aide, the current state minimum hourly wage for such 
services.  b. for all other types of services, the actual cost.  UPM § 3029.30 (B)(1). 
 

54. It is reasonable to consider that fair market value assigned to “compensation” for services 
provided is governed by: 1) the type of services provided; 2) the level of specialized 
knowledge, skill, or professional certification required by the contractor to competently 
perform those types of services; and 3) the competitive market rate for completion of those 
types of services by a competent contractor in the geographic area, at the time the services 
would be provided.   
 

55. It is reasonable to conclude that performing the services of: paperwork/paying bills, 
telephone inquiries, meeting a funeral director, moving furniture, cleaning an apartment and 
transportation for medical visits do not require a level of specialized knowledge, skill, or 
professional certification. 
 

56. The performing of services associated with paperwork/paying bills, telephone inquiries, 
meeting a funeral director, moving furniture, cleaning an apartment and transportation for 
medical visits are reasonably similar to the range of services provided by a homemaker. 
 

57. The hearing record is silent as to the current state minimum hourly wage for all services of 
the type normally rendered by a homemaker or home health aide.   
 



58. Connecticut minimum wage equals $9.60 per hour, effective January 1, 2016. 
 

59. It is reasonable to conclude that the Appellant’s representative provided $628.80 worth of 
the types of services provided by a homemaker or home health aide in exchange for the 
$2,160.00. [$9.60 (Connecticut minimum wage) multiplied by 65.5 hours of the Appellant’s 
authorized representative performing compensable services] 
 

60. The uncompensated value of the Appellant’s $2,610.00 in transfers to her representative 
equals $1,981.20.  [$2,610.00 (total transfer) minus $628.80 (value of services provided, 
based on Connecticut minimum wage multiplied by hours of compensable services 
performed)] 
 

61. The Appellant did not provide clear and convincing evidence that the $1,981.20 in transfers 
had been made exclusively for a purpose other than qualifying for assistance.   
 

62. The Appellant did not establish by clear and convincing evidence that she transferred 
$1,981.20 to the Appellant’s representative within the look-back period for a purpose other 
than to qualify or potentially qualify for Medicaid. 
 

63. The Appellant’s $1,981.20 in transfers to the Appellant’s representative subjects the 
Appellant to a transfer penalty of ineligibility for the Medicaid program. 
 

64. During the penalty period, the following Medicaid services are not covered: a. LTCF services; 
and b. services provided by a medical institution which are equivalent to those provided in a 
long-term care facility; and c. home and community-based services under a Medicaid waiver.  
UPM § 3029.05 (G)(1). 
 

65. Payment is made for all other Medicaid services during a penalty period if the individual is 
otherwise eligible for Medicaid.  UPM § 3029.05 (G)(2). 
 

66. The penalty period begins as of the later of the following dates:  1.  the first day of the month 
during which assets are transferred for less than fair market value, if this month is not part of 
any other period of ineligibility caused by a transfer of assets; or  2. the date on which the 
individual is eligible for Medicaid under Connecticut’s State Plan and would otherwise be 
eligible for Medicaid payment of the LTC services described in 3029.05 B based on an 
approved application for such care but for the application of the penalty period, and which is 
not part of any other period of ineligibility caused by a transfer of assets.  UPM § 3029.05 (E). 
 

67. The first date of the month in which the Appellant was otherwise eligible for Medicaid 
payment of the LTC services based on an approved application for such care but for the 
application of the penalty period is  2016. 
 

68. The length of the penalty period consists of the number of whole and/or partial months 
resulting from the computation described in 3029.05 F. 2.   UPM § 3029.05 (F)(1). 

 
69. The length of the penalty period is determined by dividing the total

uncompensated value of all assets transferred on or after the look-back date  described in 
3029.05 C by the average monthly cost to a private patient for LTCF services in Connecticut.  
For applicants, the average monthly cost for LTCF services is based on the figure as of the 
month of application.  UPM § 3029.05 (F)(2)(a). 

 
70. Effective  2015, the average cost of care equaled $12,170.00. 
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71. Uncompensated values of multiple transfers are added together and the transfers are 
treated as a single transfer.  A single penalty period is then calculated, and begins on the 
date applicable to the earliest transfer.  UPM § 3029.05 (F)(3). 
 

72. Once the Department imposes a penalty period, the penalty runs without interruption, 
regardless of any changes to the individual’s institutional status.  UPM § 3029.05 (F)(4). 
 

73. The Appellant’s penalty period of ineligibility of Medicaid payment for long-term care service 
equals five days.  [($1,981.20 divided by $12,170.00) multiplied by 31 days in  2016] 
 

74. The Appellant is subject to a penalty period of ineligibility for Medicaid payment of long-term 
care services for the period from  2016 through  2016. 
 

75. The Department incorrectly determined that the Appellant is subject to a penalty period of 
ineligibility for Medicaid payment of long-term care services for the period from  
2016 through  2016. 

 

DECISION 
 
The Appellant’s appeal is GRANTED, in part.   
 
The hearing officer finds that the Appellant’s penalty period of ineligibility for Medicaid payment 
of long-term care services is equal to five days, not six days as had been previously determined 
by the Department. 
 

ORDER 
        
1. The Department is ordered to adjust the Appellant’s penalty period of ineligibility for long-term 

care services to run from  2016 through  2016.  
 
2. Within 14 calendar days of the date of this decision, or  2016, documentation of 

compliance with this order is due to the undersigned. 
 
       
  Eva Tar 
   Hearing Officer 
 
Pc: ,  

Attorney ,  
John Dileonardo, DSS (LTSS)-New Haven (20) 
Ellen Croll-Wisner, DSS (LTSS)-New Haven (20) 

 Tyler Nardine, DSS-Middletown (50) 
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RIGHT TO REQUEST RECONSIDERATION 
 
The Appellant has the right to file a written reconsideration request within 15 days of 
the mailing date of the decision on the grounds there was an error of fact or law, new 
evidence has been discovered or other good cause exists.  If the request for 
reconsideration is granted, the Appellant will be notified within 25 days of the request 
date.  No response within 25 days means that the request for reconsideration has been 
denied.  The right to request a reconsideration is based on § 4-181a(a) of the 
Connecticut General Statutes. 
 
Reconsideration requests should include specific grounds for the request: for example, 
indicate what error of fact or law, what new evidence, or what other good cause exists. 
 
Reconsideration requests should be sent to: Department of Social Services, Director, 
Office of Legal Counsel, Regulations, and Administrative Hearings, 55 Farmington 
Avenue, Hartford, CT  06105. 
 

RIGHT TO APPEAL 
 
The Appellant has the right to appeal this decision to Superior Court within 45 days of 
the mailing of this decision or 45 days after the Agency denies a petition for 
reconsideration of this decision, provided that the petition for reconsideration was filed 
timely with the Department. The right to appeal is based on § 4-183 of the Connecticut 
General Statutes.  To appeal, a petition must be filed at Superior Court.  A copy of the 
petition must be served upon the Office of the Attorney General, 55 Elm Street, Hartford, 
CT  06106 or the Commissioner of the Department of Social Services, 55 Farmington 
Avenue, Hartford, CT 06105.  A copy of the petition must also be served on all parties to 
the hearing. 
 
The 45 day appeal period may be extended in certain instances if there is good cause.  
The extension request must be filed with the Commissioner of the Department of Social 
Services in writing no later than 90 days from the mailing of the decision.  Good cause 
circumstances are evaluated by the Commissioner or his designee in accordance with § 
17b-61 of the Connecticut General Statutes.  The Agency's decision to grant an 
extension is final and is not subject to review or appeal. 
 
The appeal should be filed with the clerk of the Superior Court in the Judicial District of 
New Britain or the Judicial District in which the Appellant resides. 

 

 




