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PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND 

    
On  2016, the Department of Social Services (the “Department”) sent 

  (the “Appellant”) a Notice of Action (“NOA) informing her that  
effective  2016, her mother, , (“the Recipient”) for whom 
she is conservator, must pay $2832.81 per month in applied income towards her 
cost of care under the Long Term Care Medical Assistance program.  
 
On  2016, the Appellant requested an administrative hearing to contest 
the Department’s calculation of the applied income amount. 
 
On  2016, the Office of Legal Counsel, Regulations, and Administrative 
Hearings (“OLCRAH”) issued a Notice scheduling the administrative hearing for 

 2016. 
 
On  2016, in accordance with sections 17b-60, 17-61 and 4-176e to 4-
189 inclusive, of the Connecticut General Statutes, OLCRAH held an 
administrative hearing. The following individuals were present at the hearing: 
 

, the Appellant, daughter and conservator of  
, the Recipient 

Bryant Grimes, Eligibility Worker, DSS 
Maureen Foley-Roy, Hearing Officer 
 
 

--

---
--
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STATEMENT OF THE ISSUE 
 

The issue to be decided is whether the Department’s decision to increase the 
amount of the Recipient’s applied income from $2390.99 per month to $2832.81 
per month beginning in  of 2016 was correct. 
 

FINDINGS OF FACT 
 
1. The Recipient owns a home in the community that she was sharing with her 

adult daughter, the Appellant. (Appellant’s testimony) 
 

2. On  2015, the Recipient was admitted to a skilled nursing facility for 
a short term stay. (Exhibit 6: Ascend Data) 

 
3. The Recipient receives Medicaid Assistance for Long Term Care. (Hearing 

Record) 
 
4. The Recipient receives a gross benefit of $1150.90 per month from Social 

Security. (Exhibit 5a: SVES printout) 
 

5. The Recipient receives a gross retirement benefit of $1772.25 per month. 
(Exhibit 5b: OSC retirement payroll) 
 

6. The Retirement Services Division reimburses the Recipient $104.90 each 
month for her Medicare Premium. (Exhibit 5b) 

 
7. In addition to her Medicare Premiums, the Recipient pays $30.34 per month 

for dental insurance premiums. (Exhibit 5b) 
 

8. From  of 2015 through  of 2015, the Department permitted the 
Recipient an allowance of $400 per month to maintain her home in the 
community while she was living in the skilled nursing facility. (Exhibit 2: 
Institution screen) 

 
9. In  of 2015, the Appellant began working with the Money Follows 

the Person program (“MFP”) in an effort to have the Recipient return to her 
own home with home health services. The application and approval are still 
pending. (Appellant’s testimony) 

 
10. On  2016, the Department sent the Appellant a letter advising her 

that the amount that the Recipient would have to pay towards her medical 
care would increase from $2390.99 per month to $2832.81 per month 
effective  2016. (Exhibit 1: Notice of Applied Income Change)  

 
 

 

-
-

- -

--
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CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 
 
1. Section 17b-2, section (9) of the Connecticut General Statutes, designates the 

    Department of Social Services as the state agency for the administration of the 
Medicaid program pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act.   

 
2. Uniform Policy Manual (“UPM”) § 5045.20 provides that  assistance units who 

are residents of Long Term Care Facilities (LTCF) or receiving community 
based services (CBS) are responsible for contributing a portion of their income 
toward the cost of their care.   

 
3. UPM § 5045.20 A provides that the amount of income to be contributed is 

calculated using the post eligibility method starting with the month in which 
the 30th day of continuous LTCF care or receipt of community based services 
occurs, and ending with the month in which the assistance unit member is 
discharged from the LTCF or community based services are received.  

 
4. UPM  §  5035.20 provides that for residents of long term care facilities (LTCF) 

and those individuals receiving community-based services (CBS) when the 
individual does not have a spouse living in the community, total gross income 
is adjusted by certain deductions to calculate the amount of income which is 
to be applied to the monthly cost of care.  

 
5. UPM § 5045.20 (B)(1)(b) provides for the amount of income to be contributed  

in LTCF cases and states that total gross income is reduced by post-eligibility 
deductions (Cross reference:  5035-"Income Deductions") to arrive at the 
amount of income to be contributed. 

 
6. UPM § 5035.20 B provides that the following monthly deductions are allowed 
      from the income of assistance units in LTCF’s: 

 
1. for veterans whose VA pension has been reduced to $90.00 

pursuant to P.L. 101-508, and for spouses of deceased 
veterans whose pension has been similarly reduced pursuant 
to P.L. 101-508, as amended by Section 601 (d) of P.L. 102-
568, a personal needs allowance equal to the amount of their 
VA pension and the personal needs allowance described in 
2. below;       

 
    2. a personal needs allowance (“PNA”) of $50.00 for all other 

assistance units, which, effective July 1, 1999 and annually 
thereafter, shall be increased to reflect the annual cost of 
living adjustment used by the Social Security 
Administration;(note: prior to July 2011, the PNA was $69 per 
month; in July of 2011, the PNA was reduced to $60) 

 
    3. an amount of income diverted to meet the needs of a family 

member who is in a community home to the extent of 
increasing his or her income to the MNIL which corresponds 
to the size of the family; 
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    4. Medicare and other health insurance premiums, deductibles, 
and coinsurance costs when not paid for by Medicaid or any 
other third party; 

     
    5.   costs for medical treatment approved by a physician which are 

incurred subsequent to the effective date of eligibility and 
which are not covered by Medicaid; 

     
    6.   expenses for services provided by a licensed medical provider 

in the six month period immediately preceding the first month 
of eligibility providing the following conditions are met:  

 
     a. the expenses were not for LTCF services, services 

provided by a medical institution equivalent to those 
provided in a long term care facility, or home and 
community-based services, when any of these services 
were incurred during a penalty period resulting from an 
improper transfer of assets; and 

 
     b. the recipient is currently liable for the expenses; and 
 
     c. the services are not covered by Medicaid in a prior 

period of eligibility. 
 
  
7. UPM § 5035.20 B 7 a and b provides that the cost of maintaining a home in 

the community for the assistance unit is allowed as a monthly deduction from 
the income of an assistance unit in a LTCF subject to the conditions that 
the amount is not deducted for more than six months and the likelihood 
of the institutionalized individual’s returning to the community within six 
months is certified by a physician. (Emphasis added) 

 
8. The Department was correct when it determined that the Appellant was 

entitled to the personal needs allowance and deductions for her Medicare 
and dental premiums when calculating her applied income. 

 
9. The Department was correct when it allowed the Appellant a deduction for 

maintaining her home in the community for a period of six months.  
 

10. UPM § 1570.10 A 1 provides that the Department mails or gives adequate 
notice at least ten days prior to the date of the intended action if the 
Department intends to discontinue, terminate, suspend or reduce benefits. 

 
11. UPM § 1570.10 B 4 c provides for exceptions to timely notice in the Medicaid 

program and states that the Department sends adequate notice no later than 
the date of the action when the Department authorizes the assistance unit to 
receive assistance for a specific period of time and informs the unit in writing 
at the time of authorization that assistance automatically terminates when the 
specific period ends 

 



 5 

12. The Department was incorrect when it issued a notice on  2016 
stating that the applied income that she must pay towards the cost of her 
medical care would increase from $2390.99 to $2832.81 effective  
2016 because it had not given the Appellant ten days’ notice nor advised her 
that the deduction for maintaining a home in the community was only allowed 
for a six month period.  

 
13. Beginning  2016, the Appellant is responsible to pay $2832.81 in 

applied income to the facility. [$1772.25 (pension) + $104.90 (Medicare 
premium reimbursement) + $1150.90 (Social Security benefit) - $60 
(personal needs allowance - $104.90 (Medicare premium amount) - 
$30.34(dental premium)] 

 
 
 
 

DISCUSSION 
 

The Appellant testified that prior to the Recipient’s institutionalization, she and her 
mother shared her mother’s home. The Appellant cannot afford to stay in the home 
on her own. The regulations are specific in that an allowance for maintaining a 
home in the community is limited to six months. The Appellant testified that she is 
working with the Money Follows the Person (“MFP”) program in an effort to have 
services in place so the Recipient, her mother, can return home. But the 
regulations do not allow for an extension to that six month period under any 
circumstances.  
The regulations do require that the Department send notification of an adverse 
action at least ten days prior to taking such an action. There is an exception in the 
Medicaid program which states that the Department is not required to give the ten 
days’ notice in cases where it had notified the household that it was authorizing 
assistance for a specific period of time and the assistance would automatically 
terminate when the time period ended. However, there is no evidence in the record 
that the Department notified the Appellant in  of 2015 that the allowance 
for maintaining a home in the community was only for six months and would 
terminate after  of 2016. The Department was correct regarding the increase 
in the applied income but incorrect in that it did not give the Appellant the correct 
advance notice of the increase.  

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

- -
-
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DECISION 

 
 
The Appellant’s appeal is DENIED with regards to the amount of the applied 
income. 
 
The Appellant’s appeal is GRANTED with regards to the effective date of the 
increase in the applied income. 

  
 
 

ORDER 
 

The Department is to consider the increase in applied income effective  
2016. Compliance with this order is due by  2016 and shall include 
documentation that the increase in applied income was effective  2016.  

 
 
 

________________________ 
      

 
  Maureen Foley-Roy 

Hearing Officer 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

CC: Brian Sexton, Lisa Wells, Operations Managers, DSS. R.O.#20, New Haven 
Bonnie Beal Shizume, Program Manager, New Haven 
Bryant Grimes, Eligibility Worker, New Haven     

-- -
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RIGHT TO REQUEST RECONSIDERATION 
 
The appellant has the right to file a written reconsideration request within 15 days of 
the mailing date of the decision on the grounds there was an error of fact or law, new 
evidence has been discovered or other good cause exists.  If the request for 
reconsideration is granted, the appellant will be notified within 25 days of the request 
date.  No response within 25 days means that the request for reconsideration has been 
denied.  The right to request a reconsideration is based on §4-181a (a) of the 
Connecticut General Statutes. 
 
Reconsideration requests should include specific grounds for the request:  for example, 
indicate what error of fact or law, what new evidence, or what other good cause exists. 
 
Reconsideration requests should be sent to: Department of Social Services, Director, 
Office of Administrative Hearings and Appeals, 55 Farmington Avenue, Hartford, CT  
06105-3730. 
 
 

RIGHT TO APPEAL 
 
The appellant has the right to appeal this decision to Superior Court within 45 days of 
the mailing of this decision, or 45 days after the agency denies a petition for 
reconsideration of this decision, provided that the petition for reconsideration was filed 
timely with the Department.  The right to appeal is based on §4-183 of the Connecticut 
General Statutes.  To appeal, a petition must be filed at Superior Court.  A copy of the 
petition must be served upon the Office of the Attorney General, 55 Elm Street, Hartford, 
CT  06106 or the Commissioner of the Department of Social Services, 55 , Hartford, CT 
06106.  A copy of the petition must also be served on all parties to the hearing. 
 
The 45 day appeal period may be extended in certain instances if there is good cause.  
The extension request must be filed with the Commissioner of the Department of Social 
Services in writing no later than 90 days from the mailing of the decision.  Good cause 
circumstances are evaluated by the Commissioner or the Commissioner’s designee in 
accordance with §17b-61 of the Connecticut General Statutes.  The Agency's decision 
to grant an extension is final and is not subject to review or appeal. 
 
The appeal should be filed with the clerk of the Superior Court in the Judicial District of 
New Britain or the Judicial District in which the appellant resides. 

 
 




