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PARTY

PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND

On , 2015, the Department of Social Services (the “Department”) sent
, (‘POA”) the Appellant’s Authorized Representative and Power of Attorney
on behalf of (the “Appellant”) a Notice of Action (“NOA) granting
Medicaid eligibility under the Long Term Care Program (“LTC") effectivejjj 2015 and
informing him that he must contribute $3,362.23 per month toward the cost of

convalescent care to the nursing facility beginning | 2015

On 2016, the POA on behalf of the Appellant requested an administrative
hearing to contest the Department’s calculation of the applied income.

On I 2016, the Office of Legal Counsel, Regulations, and Administrative
Hearings (“OLCRAH") issued a notice scheduling the administrative hearing for

I 2076.

On I 2016, in accordance with sections 17b-60, 17-61 and 4-176e to 4-189
inclusive, of the Connecticut General Statutes, OLCRAH held an administrative hearing.

The following individuals were present at the hearing:

, Power of Attorney for the Appellant
Janet Giunti, Department Representative



Lisa Nyren, Fair Hearing Officer

The hearing record remained open for the submission of additional evidence. On
I 2016, the hearing record closed.

STATEMENT OF THE ISSUE

The issue to be decided is whether the Department correctly calculated the amount of
income the Appellant must pay toward his cost of care under the Medicaid Long Term
Care Program.

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. On I 2015, the Appellant entered Masonicare Health Center (the “nursing
facility”). (POA’s Testimony and Department Representative’s Testimony)

2. The Department granted Medicaid under the LTC program effective |Jjjjilij 2015.
(Exhibit 1: Notice of Approval)

3. The Appellant receives gross social security benefits (“SSA”) of $472.00 per
month from the Social Security Administration. (Exhibit 4: Unearned Income
Screenprint and Exhibit D: Social Security Administration Notice Jjjij15)

4. For 2015, the Social Security Administration withheld $464.00 from
the Appellant's SSA benefits as repayment for an overpayment of benefits that
occurred in ] 2015. (Exhibit C: Letter of Explanation [Jjjij16 and Exhibit D:
Social Security Notice JJilj15)

5. In 2015, the Appellant paid Medicare Part B premium of $104.90 per month.
(Exhibit 1: Notice of Approval)

6. Beginning I 2016, the Medicare Part B premium increased to $121.80 per
month. (Department Representative’s Testimony)

7. The Appellant receives a pension from the | (‘rension’)
totaling $3,055.13 gross per month. Federal income tax of $350.00 per month,
Connecticut state tax of $125.00 per month, and Internal Revenue Service
(“IRS”) wage garnishment of $600.00 per month is withheld from the Appellant’s
monthly pension leaving a net distribution of $1,980.13 paid to the Appellant.
(Exhibit 3: Wage Stub, Exhibit A: Wage Stub, and POA’s Testimony)

8. Beginning I 2015, the following deductions ended: federal income tax of
$350.00 per month and Connecticut state tax of $125.00 month. The Appellant
stopped the withholding of taxes leaving a net distribution of 2,455.13 paid to the



9.

10.

11.

Appellant. (Exhibit A: Wage Stub, Exhibit B: Withholding Certificate and POA'’s
Testimony)

The Appellant received a personal needs allowance of $60.00 per month.
(Department Representative’s Testimony)

On I 2015, the Department determined the Appellant must pay
$3,362.23 toward his cost of care effectivejjlll. 2015 and issued a notice to
the POA. The notice stated the Department granted Medicaid effective Jjjj 2015
and that the Appellant must pay $3,362.23 toward his cost of care beginning
I 2015. (Exhibit 1: Notice of Approval)

Beginning | 2016, the Appellant must pay $3,345.33 toward his cost of

care to the nursing facility. (Hearing Summary and Department Representative’s
Testimony)

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

Connecticut General Statutes (“C.G.S.”) 8 17b-2(6) provides that the
Department of Social Services is designated as the state agency for the
administration of the Medicaid program pursuant to Title XIX of the Social
Security Act.

Uniform Policy Manual (“UPM”) § 5045.20 provides that assistance units who are
residents of Long Term Care Facilities (LTCF) or receiving community based
services (CBS) are responsible for contributing a portion of their income toward
the cost of their care. For LTCF cases only, the amount to be contributed is
projected for a six-month period.

UPM § 5050.13(A)(1) provides that income from Social Security and Veteran’s
benefits are treated as unearned income in all programs.

The Department correctly included the Appellant’s SSA benefits in the calculation
of applied income.

UPM 8§ 5050.09(A) provides that payments received by the assistance unit from
annuity plans, pensions and trusts are considered unearned income.

The Department correctly included the Appellant’s pension in the calculation of
applied income.

. UPM 8§ 5025.05(B)(1) provides that if income is received on a monthly basis, a

representative monthly amount is used as the estimate of income.



8. UPM 8§ 5050.66(C) provides that when money is withheld from an income source
to recoup an overpayment, the amount of income to be counted is the amount
the household would receive if no withholding had occurred unless:

1. The income was received concurrently with AABD or MAABD assistance at
the time the overpayment occurred; and

2. The overpaid amount was included in determining AABD or MAAABD
eligibility.

9. The Department correctly calculated the gross SSA as $472.00 per month.
10.The Department correctly calculated the gross pension as $3,055.13.

11.UPM 8§ 5045.20(B)(1) provides for the amount of income to be contributed in
LTCF cases in the initial calculation.

a. For each month in the six month period for which the contribution is projected,
monthly gross income is established as follows:

1. Total gross monthly income which was paid or payable to the applicant or
recipient, in the six months prior to the period for which the contribution is
projected is divided by six;

2. Any additional counted income expected in the period for which the
contribution is projected, is divided by six;

3. Any amount of the counted income received in the previous six months,
but not expected to be received in the period for which the contribution is
projected, is divided by six. The resulting figure is subtracted from the
total of the amounts calculated in (1) and (2), above.

b. Total gross income is reduced by post-eligibility deductions (Cross reference:
5035-“Income Deductions”) to arrive at the amount of income to be
contributed.

12.The Department correctly determined the Appellant’'s gross monthly income as
$3,527.13. ($472.00 SSA + $3,055.13 pension = $3,527.13)

13.UPM 8§ 5035.20 provides that for residents of long-term care facilities (LTCF) and
those individuals receiving community-based services (CBS) when the individual
does not have a spouse living in the community, total gross income is adjusted
by certain deductions to calculate the amount of income which is to be applied to
the monthly cost of care.

14.UPM 8§ 5035.20(A) provides that the deductions described below are subtracted
from income:

1. Beginning with the month in which the 30" day of continuous LTCF care or
the receipt of community-based services occurs; and



2.

Ending with the month in which the unit member is discharged from the LTCF
or community-based services are last received.

15.UPM 8§ 5035.20(B) provides that the following monthly deductions are allowed
from the income of assistance units in LTCF’s:

1.

For veterans whose VA pension has been reduced to $90.00 pursuant to P.L.

101-508, and for spouses of deceased veterans whose pension has been

similarly reduced pursuant to P.L. 101-508, as amended by Section 601(d)of

P.L. 102-568, a personal needs allowance equal to the amount of their VA

pension and the personal needs allowance described in 2. below;

A personal needs allowance of $50.00 for all other assistance units, which,

effective July 1, 1999 and annually thereafter, shall be increased to reflect the

annual cost of living adjustment used by the Social Security Administration.

An amount of income diverted to meet the needs of a family member who is

in a community home to the extent of increasing his or her income to the

MNIL which corresponds to the size of the family;

Medicare and other health insurance premiums, deductibles, and coinsurance

costs when not paid for by Medicaid or any other third party;

Costs for medical treatment approved by a physician which are incurred

subsequent to the effective date of eligibility and which are not covered by

Medicaid;

Expenses for services provided by a licensed medical provider in the six

month period immediately preceding the first month of eligibility providing the

following conditions are met:

a. The expenses were not for LTCF services, services provided by a medical
institution equivalent to those provided in a long term care facility, or home
and community-based services, when any of these services were incurred
during a penalty period resulting from an improper transfer of assets; and

b. The recipient is currently liable for the expenses; and

c. The services are not covered by Medicaid in a prior period of eligibility.

The cost of maintaining a home in the community for the assistance unit,

subject to the following conditions:

a. The amount is not deducted for more than six months; and

b. The likelihood of the institutionalized individual's returning to the
community within six months is certified by a physician; and

c. The amount deducted is the lower of either:

1. The amount the unit member was obligated to pay each month in his
or her former community arrangement; or

2. $650per month if the arrangement was Level 1 Housing; or

3. $400 per month if the arrangement was Level 2 Housing; and

d. The amount deducted includes the following:

Heart

Hot water

Electricity

Cooking fuel

PwpnPR



5. Water

6. Laundry

7. Property taxes

8. Interest on the mortgage
9. Fire insurance premiums
10.amortization

16.State statute provides effective July 1, 2011, the Commissioner of Social
Services shall permit patients residing in nursing homes, chronic disease
hospitals and state humane institutions who are medical assistance recipients
under sections 17b-260 to 17b-262, inclusive, 17b-264 to 17b-285, inclusive, and
17b-357 to 17b-361, inclusive, to have a monthly personal fund allowance of
sixty dollars. [C.G.S. § 17b-272]

17.The Department correctly allowed the Personal Needs Allowance of $60.00.

18.The Department correctly allowed the Medicare Part B premium deduction of
$104.90 per month from the Appellant’s income.

19.The Department correctly determined the $125.00 state income tax deduction
from the Appellant’s pension is not an allowable deduction.

20.The Department correctly determined the $350.00 federal income tax deduction
from the Appellant’s pension is not an allowable deduction.

21.The Department correctly determined the $600.00 wage garnishment from the
Appellant’s pension is not an allowable deduction.

22.The Department correctly determined the $464.00 withheld by Social Security in
October 2015 as repayment of an overpayment is not an allowable deduction.

23.The Department correctly calculated the Appellant’s applied income as $3,362.23
effective August 1, 2015. ($3,527.13 monthly gross income - $60.00 PNA -
$104.90 = $3,362.23 applied income)

24.UPM § 5045.20(B)(2) provides that the recalculation of the amount to be
contributed in any month of the six month period is required under the following
conditions:

a. A significant change occurs in income which amounts to an increase or
decrease in monthly income of $15.00 or more per month; or
b. A change occurs, in any amount, in any deduction.

25.Beginning | 2016, the Department correctly allowed the Medicare Part
B deduction of $121.80 per month from the Appellant’s income.



26.Effective | 2016, the Department correctly calculated the Appellant's
applied income as $3,345.33. ($3,527.13 gross monthly income - $60.00 PNA -
$121.80 = $3,345.33)

27.UPM 8 5045.20(A) provides that the amount of income to be contributed is
calculated using the post-eligibility method starting with the month in which the
30™ day of continuous LTCF care or receipt of community-based services occurs,
and ending with the month in which the assistance unit member is discharged
from the LTCF or community-based services are last received.

28.The Department correctly determined the Appellant must pay applied income of
$3,362.23 beginnino N 2015.

29.The Department correctly determined the Appellant must pay applied income of
$3,345.33 beginnino N 2016.

DECISION

The Appellant’s appeal is DENIED.

Lisa A. Nyren
Fair Hearing Officer

CC: I Power of Attorney, I

Lisa Wells, Social Services Operations Manager
Bonnie Shizume, Social Services Program Manager
Brian Sexton, Social Services Operations Manager
Janet, Giunti, Eligibility Services Specialist



RIGHT TO REQUEST RECONSIDERATION

The appellant has the right to file a written reconsideration request within 15 days of
the mailing date of the decision on the grounds there was an error of fact or law, new
evidence has been discovered or other good cause exists. If the request for
reconsideration is granted, the appellant will be notified within 25 days of the request
date. No response within 25 days means that the request for reconsideration has been
denied. The right to request a reconsideration is based on 84-18la (a) of the
Connecticut General Statutes.

Reconsideration requests should include specific grounds for the request: for example,
indicate what error of fact or law, what new evidence, or what other good cause exists.

Reconsideration requests should be sent to: Department of Social Services, Director,

Office of Administrative Hearings and Appeals, 55 Farmington Avenue Hartford, CT
06105.

RIGHT TO APPEAL

The appellant has the right to appeal this decision to Superior Court within 45 days of
the mailing of this decision, or 45 days after the agency denies a petition for
reconsideration of this decision, provided that the petition for reconsideration was filed
timely with the Department. The right to appeal is based on 84-183 of the Connecticut
General Statutes. To appeal, a petition must be filed at Superior Court. A copy of the
petition must be served upon the Office of the Attorney General, 55 Elm Street, Hartford,
CT 06106 or the Commissioner of the Department of Social Services, 55 Farmington
Avenue Hartford, CT 06105. A copy of the petition must also be served on all parties to
the hearing.

The 45 day appeal period may be extended in certain instances if there is good cause.
The extension request must be filed with the Commissioner of the Department of Social
Services in writing no later than 90 days from the mailing of the decision. Good cause
circumstances are evaluated by the Commissioner or the Commissioner’s designee in
accordance with 817b-61 of the Connecticut General Statutes. The Agency's decision
to grant an extension is final and is not subject to review or appeal.

The appeal should be filed with the clerk of the Superior Court in the Judicial District of
New Britain or the Judicial District in which the appellant resides.






