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Good afternoon Senators Osten, Formica, Moore, and Logan, Representatives Walker, Lavielle, 

Abercrombie, and Case and honorable members of the Appropriations and Human Services 

Committees.  My name is Deidre Gifford and I am the Commissioner Designee for the 

Department of Social Services (DSS).  I am pleased to be here with Kathy Bruni, who serves as 

Director in the Community Options Unit at DSS.  

 

Under the provisions of section 17b-8 of the Connecticut General Statutes, we are here today to 

seek your support to renew DSS’ Acquired Brain Injury II (ABI II) waiver and to amend the 

Acquired Brain Injury I (ABI I) waiver.  As Connecticut’s single state agency for the Medicaid 

program, DSS has administrative authority over these waivers. 

 

The current Acquired Brain Injury II waiver expires on November 30, 2019.  The Centers for 

Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) requires submission of renewal applications no less than 

90 days prior to the expiration of the involved waiver.   

 

The Notice of Intent to renew the waiver was published on the Department’s website and in the 

Connecticut Law Journal on June 18, 2019, requesting comments for a 30-day period.  The 

Department has provided the Committees with the comments that were received. 

 

Under the ABI I and ABI II waivers, DSS provides services to individuals who have experienced  

a traumatic or acquired brain injury.  There are no proposed changes to eligibility requirements 

or payment rates.   

 

DSS proposes the following changes to both the ABI I and ABI II waivers:  

 Adding a Board Certified Behavioral Analyst credential to the list of authorized providers 

of cognitive behavioral services; 

 

 Adding an annual training requirement of six (6) hours of continuing education for 

Independent Living Skills Training (ILST) providers; 
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 Adding Certified Adult Day Health Provider to the list of provider types that may provide 

ABI Group Day Services – note that Adult Day Health is an existing service in the waiver 

and is not being modified in this renewal; 

 

 Removing the historical requirement that providers have CARF or JCAHO certifications 

to become providers of ABI Group Day - this will allow providers without these 

certifications, who otherwise meet requirements, to provide the service; and 

 

 Updating the service name from “Specialized Medical Equipment and Supplies” to 

“Assistive Technology” to more accurately describe the service being provided and 

aligning the service limit with other Medicaid waiver programs. ABI Waiver participants 

typically receive technology items such as modified computers with specific software to 

assist with cognitive deficits, smart phones, tablets and medication reminder boxes.  The 

new “Assistive Technology” service will not permit the replacement of smartphones, 

tablets, or computers at the Department’s expense within a three-year period from 

delivery to the participant.  Further, the $10,400 per person annual limit for this service 

will be replaced with a $15,000 limit over three years to align with other Medicaid waiver 

programs, Money Follows the Person and Community First Choice. 

 

Specific to the ABI II waiver, 10 reserve slots are being added for current ABI I waiver 

participants who are unable to self-direct their Personal Care Services and wish to transition to 

the ABI II waiver in order to obtain access to the agency-based Personal Care Services that are 

available under that waiver. 

 

The state assures CMS that these waivers will be cost neutral.  This means that the expenditures 

for home and community-based services under the waivers will be less than the costs of 

institutional care.  The changes that are being proposed to these waivers do not impact the state 

appropriation for ABI Waiver I or II. 

 

DSS respectfully requests that the Committees approve the request to renew the ABI II waiver 

for a period of five years and to amend the ABI I waiver.  We would be happy to answer any 

questions that you may have. 
   
 


