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Change of Ownership overview/process

Fingerprints are the most important item and the 1st thing that you should do:
The Connecticut General Statutes require that we collect Fingerprints from any person who owns 10% or more of the stock of the licensee.  We also collect Fingerprints when there is a change of ownership and new entities are added.  Not just the new entities, but all entities involved would have to submit prints, even if they had previously been through the process.
(This is different from the ABCMS process)

Fingerprints can be either “Ink & Roll” or “Live Scan”.  YOU MUST let the technician who will be taking the fingerprints if you want the Live Scan before they start the process.  The Green Card that we (DPH/Connecticut) sends can be used for either type of fingerprinting.  If you do NOT have our “green card” the technician may use the “Black & White” card, but the technician MUST use the Connecticut coding.  Connecticut Coding is:  CT920220Z.  Checks must be made payable to Treasurer State of Connecticut, but mailed to DPH at:
            Department of Public Health
            Legal Office
            410 Capitol Avenue, MS#12LEG
            P.O. Box 340308
            Hartford, CT  06134-0308

With that said, the first thing that you should do is Notify me with the names of the people who will be required to be fingerprinted, so that the cards can be mailed to you.  They must be mailed.  We cannot email them.  Once this step is completed, I will never see them again.  Our legal office will notify me when they receive the cards and the check (Made payable to the Treasurer of the State of Connecticut).  

90 to 120 day prior notification:
Any change of ownership should be submitted in writing to me at least 90 days prior to the proposed closing of the transaction.  I ask for 120 days because the fingerprint process can take that long.  The following should be included in that notification (which I would be happy to receive via email):
1. A description of the transaction
1. An organizational chart for the new entity.  (this must be a firm & accurate representation, as any changes will mean that we shred the previously submitted documents and start all over again).
1. Principals (if not disclosed earlier for fingerprint purposes).

CHOW inspections:
At this time you may also want to contact our Building & Fire Safety Unit.  They conduct the physical plant inspections.  An inspection is conducted for “chows” unless there is some circumstance where it can be waived (but not likely).  Once the inspection is conducted, the new entity will need to submit a POC (Plan of Correction), which must be accepted by our Building & Fire Safety Unit (BFSI).  When they accept the POC, then I can draft the Physical Plant Consent Order (all chows must sign this).  There is a $565.00 TA (Technical Assistant Fee) for this.  An inspection will not be scheduled until payment is received.  I also notify that unit when I receive your notification.

There will also be a Clinical Consent Order, to address any clinical issue that the facility may have.

While you are either waiting for or going through the Physical Plant inspection, you should be submitted to me, the application and all of the attachments.

Background checks on new owners (entities and individuals) will be conducted.  This is accomplished by contacting other states that you may have had health care holding in; checks for fraudulent activities; etc.  In certain cases, a written statement describing an activity or circumstance may be required, which we would run by our Assistant Attorney General (our legal counsel).

Face to Face meetings may be scheduled if warranted.

You should also be contact The Department of Social Services (Rate Review).  This agency set’s the rates that the entity can charge.  There are other monetary issues that I don’t get involved with.  This is Christopher Levigne’s office.  I believe that the phone number for his associate, Kathleen Shaughnessy is 860-424-5105.

Once all of the above is in place, we will issue our “approval” letter.  The transaction can now go to “closing”.  Once the closing takes place, I need to receive the appropriate documents (Bill of Sale; Warranty Deed or Stock Transfer Certificate) within 2 weeks.  That is when we process the new license.

So, to summarize:

Notify me for fingerprints
Followed by the letter of intent (describing the transaction and submitting the new ownership info).
Submit the apps.
Schedule the physical plant inspection
Contact DSS/Rate Review
Make sure all items are in and acceptable
Receive approval letter
Close transaction
Receive new License.

Also, if there will be a separate Management Company, there are separate forms for that.

(Deep breath) 

Call or email me with any questions.



