

Deidre S. Gifford, MD, MPH Acting Commissioner



Ned Lamont Governor Susan Bysiewicz Lt. Governor

# **BLAST FAX 2021-16**

TO:	Nursing Homes, Assisted Living Service Agencies, and Managed Residential Communities
FROM:	Acting Commissioner Deidre S. Gifford, MD, MPH Juda 5. Stor
CC:	Deputy Commissioner Heather Aaron, MPH, LNHA Adelita Orefice, MPM, JD, CHC, Chief of Staff Barbara Cass, RN., Branch Chief, Healthcare Quality and Safety Branch Donna Ortelle, Section Chief, Facility Licensing and Investigations Section Vivian Leung, MD, Healthcare Associated Infections & Antimicrobial Resistance Program Nursing Home Testing Care Partners
DATE:	May 26, 2021
SUBJECT:	Updated Requirements for COVID-19 Reporting and Testing for Nursing Homes and Assisted Living/Managed Residential Care Facilities

The following are updated requirements for COVID-19 for reporting and testing for Nursing Homes and Assisted Living/Managed Residential Care Facilities.





Telecommunications Relay Service 7-1-1 410 Capitol Avenue, P.O. Box 340308 Hartford, Connecticut 06134-0308 www.ct.gov/dph Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer

### I. Long-Term Care COVID-19 Reporting Requirements

#### A. <u>Nursing Home Reporting</u>

As of May 20, 2021, Nursing Homes must report COVID-19 data in the following manner:

Report to:	Frequency	Data	
NHSN	At least weekly	All modules required by CMS	
	-If weekly, Wednesday by NOON		
	-Daily reporting is acceptable		
DPH "FLIS" Portal	Within 24h of a staff or resident	1-Aggregate resident and staff COVID-	
Dphflisevents.ct.gov	case, ongoing resident line list	19 case/death numbers since last report	
	updates	2-Resident line list data	
DPH COVID-19 Portal	Within 24h of a staff case (if test	Case data as required by portal.	
Dphsubmissions.ct.gov	done with NH testing)		

- 1. Weekly to CDC's National Healthcare Safety Network (NHSN), each Wednesday by NOON
  - o All CMS-required elements of the COVID-19 modules for long-term care
  - CMS enforcement of reporting to the COVID-19 vaccine module begins 6/13/21
  - Reporting to NHSN daily is also acceptable.
- Within 24 hours of detection of a staff or resident case to the DPH "FLIS" Portal at <u>https://dphflisevents.ct.gov</u> to fulfil state reportable disease and event reporting mandates (Sections 19a-36-A3 and 19a-36-A4 of the Public Health Code and Sections 19a-2a and 19a-215 of the Connecticut General Statutes)
  - Resident line list data must be updated with vaccine, symptom, and death information.
  - Staff cases, if tested positive by the Nursing Home, must also be reported to <u>https://dphsubmissions.ct.gov/</u>.

<u>Note</u>: DPH is eliminating the requirement that Nursing Homes report daily to LTC-MAP, however facilities should still report operational issues to LTC-MAP as issues arise.

#### B. Assisted Living Facility Reporting

As of May 20, 2021, Assisted Living Facilities must report COVID-19 data in the following manner:

Report to:	Frequency	Data	
LTC-MAP	Weekly, on Wednesdays by 10AM	Case #s (even if no new cases during the Wed-	
		Tues reporting period)	
LTC-MAP	Within 24 hours of detection	# staff and/or resident case(s) since prior report	

Reporting to other LTC-MAP modules is not mandated. Operational issues should be reported to LTC-MAP if/when they arise.

#### C. Point-of-Care Testing (POCT) Reporting for All CLIA-Waived Facilities

All CLIA-waived facilities must continue to report all POCT results (positive and negative) for COVID-19 to DPH via NHSN (for Nursing Homes) or other electronic method per guidance here: <u>https://portal.ct.gov/-/media/DPH/HAI/COVID19-Test-Reporting\_092020V11.pdf</u>.

#### II. Long-Term Care COVID-19 Testing Requirements

#### A. <u>Nursing Home Testing</u>

Beginning June 1, 2021, the state will adopt the CMS requirements for Nursing Home COVID-19 testing as the state's requirement.

- 1. The state requirement that all Nursing Home staff must test weekly for COVID-19 will end on May 31, 2021.
- 2. Nursing Homes must follow CMS requirements for routine screening and outbreak testing:
  - CMS requirements for routine testing of staff are outlined on page 5 of https://www.cms.gov/files/document/qso-20-38-nh.pdf
  - County positivity rates that determine frequency of testing unvaccinated staff in the absence of an outbreak are posted here: <u>https://data.cms.gov/stories/s/COVID-19-Nursing-Home-Data/bkwz-xpvg</u>
- 3. Where CMS does not require testing, testing should continue in accordance with CDC guidance.
- 4. The state will continue to fund the state-mandated Nursing Home testing requirements through June 30, 2021. As indicated above, beginning June 1, 2021, the state-mandated Nursing Home testing requirements will be the same as the CMS requirements for Nursing Home testing. Nursing Homes will be responsible for covering the cost of state and federal testing requirements beginning July 1, 2021.

## B. <u>Assisted Living Testing</u>

The state requirement to test weekly for all staff working in Assisted Living/Managed Residential Care facilities will end on May 31, 2021.

- 1. Beginning June 1, 2021, DPH *recommends* that Assisted Living facilities with Memory Care Units follow CDC guidance/CMS requirements for Nursing Home testing:
  - CMS requirements for routine testing of staff are outlined on page 5 of <u>https://www.cms.gov/files/document/qso-20-38-nh.pdf</u>
  - County positivity rates that determine frequency of testing unvaccinated staff in the absence of an outbreak are posted here: <u>https://data.cms.gov/stories/s/COVID-19-Nursing-Home-Data/bkwz-xpvg</u>
- 2. For Assisted Living facilities without Memory Care Units, there are no recommendations for testing in the absence of an outbreak.
- 3. The state will continue to reimburse Assisted Living facilities with memory care units for testing performed per the recommendation above through June 30, 2021. The reimbursement program from Assisted Living facilities will end on June 30, 2021.

	Vaccinated Staff	Unvaccinated Staff	Vaccinated Residents	Unvaccinated Residents
Routine screening		Х		
Outbreak testing	Х	Х	Х	Х
Symptoms consistent with COVID-19	Х	Х	Х	Х
Asymptomatic with exposure (test twice*)	Х	Х	Х	Х

#### Summary of COVID-19 Testing Requirements (NHs) and Recommendations (AL Memory Care)

It is NOT recommended to test anyone recovered from SARS-CoV-2 infection in the last 90 days who remains asymptomatic.

\*For healthcare settings, CDC recommends testing of all individuals with COVID-19 exposure, regardless of vaccination status. CDC recommends testing immediately upon identifying an exposure, and another test 5–7 days after exposure