19a-102a-1. Caution notice requirements

The Sale of Turtles

19a-102a-1. Caution notice requirements

- (a) Each person who offers for sale a turtle, as defined in section 19a-102a of the Connecticut General Statutes, shall comply with the following notice requirements:
 - (1) The caution notice shall be:
 - (A) within three feet of each turtle enclosure or display:
 - (B) in plain unobstructed view;
 - (C) a minimum of 8 1/2"
 - (D) firmly attached to a wall or other structure; and
 - (E) the bottom edge not less than three feet nor the top edge more than six feet from the floor.
 - (2) The caution notice shall contain the following three parts, each separated by a horizontal four point rule or a space of at least one half inch:
 - (A) part one has the word "Caution" in capital letters set in Times Roman Bold font of a least 60 points and centered on the line:
 - (B) part two has the following set in Times Roman font of at least 25 points:
 "Turtles may carry and transmit germs (including Salmonella) to people."
 The words "turtles" and "Salmonella" shall be in bold; and
 - (C) part three has the following centered heading in underlined Times Roman Bold font of at least 25 points: "Preventive Measures." The heading shall be followed by these bulleted sentences set in Times Roman font of a least 25 points: "Wash hands after touching turtles or other reptiles or tank objects. Keep turtles in their tank to avoid contamination of surfaces in the home. Do not allow turtles or materials from their tank to contact food preparation areas. Households with people at increased risk for infection (e.g., immunocompromised persons, children less than 5 years of age, pregnant women) should consult a physician before purchase."
- (b) Notwithstanding subsection (a) of this section, a caution notice approved by the national Centers for Disease Control and Prevention which contains the same messages as specified in subdivision (2) of subsection (a) of this section, even if the phrasing is different, may be substituted for the caution message specified in subsection (a) of this section.

19a-102a-2. Acknowledgment of caution notice

(Effective October 7, 1997.)

At the time of sale of a turtle:

- (a) the seller shall furnish the buyer with a copy of the caution notice and information obtained from a veterinarian regarding the proper care and feeding for the species of turtle being sold; and
- (b) the buyer or, if the buyer is less than 16 years of age, parent or guardian, shall sign and date a statement indicating that he has read the notice. Signatures may be collected in logbook format, provided the statement appears at the top of each page. (Effective October 7, 1997.)

19a-102a-3. Written verification of the source of the turtle

Written verification that the turtle was bred at a licensed commercial fish farm or aquaculture facility and was not collected from the wild shall be retained and available for inspection by the Commissioner of Agriculture by the seller or whole sale supplier of the seller. If retained by the wholesale supplier, the seller shall receive and retain a statement from the wholesale supplier that such verification is available for inspection. Requested written verification shall be provided by the seller within 24 hours of a request being made by the Commissioner of Agriculture.

(Effective October 7, 1997.)

Current with materials published in Connecticut Law Journal through 06/01/2006