## The following minutes are draft minutes which are subject to revision, and which have not yet been adopted by the Board.

# CONNECTICUT MEDICAL EXAMINING BOARD REGULAR MEETING MINUTES OF REGULAR MEETING May 21, 2024

#### **BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT:**

Kathryn Emmett, Esq., Chairperson William C. Kohlhepp, DHSc, PA-C Michele Jacklin
C. Steven Wolf, MD
David Schwindt, MD
Peter Zeman, MD
Shawn London, MD.
Andrew Yuan, DO
Robert Green, MD
Raymond Andrews, Jr., Esq.
Marilyn Katz, MD
Peter Zeman, MD
Keat Jin Lee, MD
Edward G McAnaney, Esq.

#### **BOARD MEMBERS ABSENT:**

Harold Sauer. MD Joseph Kaliko, Esq. Allyson Duffy, MD Barbra Calderson

Daniel Rissi, MD

#### DPH / AAG STAFF PRESENT:

Ryan Burns, DPH Deputy Legal Director
Elizabeth Bannon, Assistant Attorney General
Linda Fazzina, DPH Staff Attorney
Joelle Newton, DPH Staff Attorney
Craig Sullivan, DPH Staff Attorney
Celeste Dowdell, License and Applications Analyst
Derrick Williams, Board Liaison
Steve Carragher, DPH Pubic Health Services Manager
Chris Andresen, Practitioner Licensing, and Investigations

CALL TO ORDER. The meeting was called to order at 1:38 pm

#### APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Dr. Keat Jin Lee moved to approve the minutes of the March 19, 2024, regular meeting. Dr. Robert Green seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously with

#### **PUBLIC COMMENT**

There was no public comment.

#### CHAIR UPDATES

Chairwoman Kathryn Emmett announced the appointment of a new board member by the name of Barbara Calderon.

Chairwoman Kathryn Emmett discussed her meeting with Commissioner Juthani held on April 10<sup>th</sup>, 2024 where the board's concerns relating to board administration were raised. Chairwoman Emmett expressed her appreciation to the Commissioner for her support in addressing these issues and looks forward to inviting the Commissioner to a meeting in the fall.

Chairwoman Kathryn Emmett discussed the changes to Senate Bill 1 and the removal of the proposed graduate physician license category.

Chairwoman Kathryn Emmett requested that agenda item requests be sent to her prior to placement on the agenda.

#### **DPH UPDATES**

Chris Andresen from the Department addressed Senate Bill 1 and gun safety legislation. Chris Andresen discussed a bill that prohibits hospitals from requiring certain certifications.

Derrick Williams requested that all board members submit updated contact information to the Department.

#### REVIEW FOR REINSTATEMENT REQUEST

Celeste Dowdell presented the reinstatement request of Kevin Strong MD who has been out of practice since 2021. After the board reviewed the matter, Dr. Robert Green moved to reinstate Dr. Strong's license. William C. Kohlhepp seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

Celeste Dowdell presented the reinstatement request of Sherwin Borsuk MD who has been out of practice since 2018. William C. Kohlhepp moved to table this matter. Edward G. McAnaney seconded. The motion to table passed unanimously.

#### PROPOSED MEMORANDUM OF DECISION

Akiva Bronstein, P.A., Petition No. 2022-918. The board considered the Memorandum of Decision. William C. Kohlhepp moved to table this matter. Dr. Steven Wolf seconded. The motion to table passed unanimously and the Memorandum of Decision for Akiva Bronstein, P.A., Petition No. 2022-918 to the June 18, 2024, regular meeting.

#### PROPOSED CONSENT ORDER

Timothy A. Tobin, MD, Petition No. 2021-100. Staff Attorney Craig Sullivan represented the Department. Staff Attorney Craig Sullivan gave a synopsis on the matter. Respondents' Attorney was present. Edward McAnaney moved to approve the consent order. Dr. Robert Green seconded. This motion passed by roll call vote with Dr. Robert Green voting nay, Dr. Steven Wolf abstaining, and the remainder of the members present voting in favor.

<u>Trung Nam Nguyen, DO, Petition No. 2023-425.</u> Staff Attorney Joelle Newton represented the Department. Staff Attorney Newton gave a synopsis on the matter. Dr. Daniel Rissi moved to approve the consent order. Dr. Robert Green seconded. The motion was approved unanimously.

### **ADJOURN**

Dr. Robert Green moved to adjourn the meeting; Chairwoman Kathryn Emmett seconded. The meeting was adjourned at 3:17 pm