CONNECTICUT MEDICAL EXAMINING BOARD REGULAR MEETING SEPTEMBER 19, 2023 MINUTES

BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT:

Kathryn Emmett, Esq., Chairperson Raymond Andrews, Jr., Esq. Allyson Duffy, MD Marie C. Eugene, DO Robert Green, MD Michele Jacklin Joseph Kaliko, Esq. Marilyn Katz, MD William C. Kohlhepp, DHSc, PA-C Keat Jin Lee, MD Edward G McAnaney, Esq. Daniel Rissi, MD Harold Sauer, MD David Schwindt, MD C. Steven Wolf, MD Andrew Yuan, DO Peter Zeman, MD

BOARD MEMBERS ABSENT:

Shawn London, MD.

Ms. Emmett called the meeting to order at 1:30 p.m.

Approval of Minutes

Dr. Rissi moved to approve the August 15,2023 minutes. Dr. Sauer seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously.

Public Comment

There was no public comment.

Chair Updates

Ms. Emmett led a discussion about resuming in person board meetings. There will be a follow-up prior to or at the next board meeting.

DPH Updates

Steve Carragher, Public Health Services Manager, DPH, and Laura Morris, Manager, PLIS, provided information related to the process of disciplinary reporting in other jurisdictions.

New Business

A. Motion for Reconsideration of Proposed Memorandum of Decision

• Wayne Franco, MD, Petition No. 2018-1345 (Linda Fazzina, Esq., DPH Staff Attorney)

Joseph Kaliko moved to reconsider the proposed MOD. Edward G McAnaney seconded the motion. Dr. C. Steven Wolf recused himself. The motion was approved unanimously.

William C. Kohlhepp moved to amend the MOD as discussed. Edward G McAnaney seconded the motion. Dr. C. Steven Wolf recused himself. The motion was approved unanimously.

B. Consideration of Consent Order

• Robert Krug, MD, Petition No. 2021-1129 (Linda Fazzina, Esq., DPH Staff Attorney)

Dr. Marilyn Anne Katz moved to approve the consent order as presented. Joseph Kaliko seconded the motion. A brief discussion was followed by a roll call vote: Dr. Wolf and Dr. Robert A. Green recused themselves. Ms. Michele Jacklin voted against approval. The remaining Board members voted in favor, and the Consent Order was approved 14-1-2.

Dr. Peter Zeman moved to adjourn the meeting; Dr. Daniel Rissi seconded. The meeting was adjourned at 2:47 pm

Kathryn Emmett, Esq Chairperson