CONNECTICUT MEDICAL EXAMINING BOARD MINUTES of May 18, 2021

The Connecticut Medical Examining Board held a meeting on Tuesday, May 18, 2021 via Microsoft TEAMS

BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT:	Raymond Andrews, Jr., Esq. Allyson Duffy, MD Marie C. Eugene, DO Robert Green, MD Michele Jacklin William C. Kohlhepp, DHSc, PA-C Edward McAnaney, Esq. Brimal Patel, MD Jean Rexford Daniel Rissi, MD David Schwindt, MD Harold Sauer. MD C. Steven Wolf, MD Peter Zeman, MD
BOARD MEMBERS ABSENT:	Kathryn Emmett, Esq., Chairperson Shawn London, MD Andrew Yuan, DO Joseph Kaliko, Esq Marilyn Katz, MD

Dr. Wolf chaired the meeting in the absence of Ms. Emmett. The meeting was called to order at 1:30 p.m.

I. <u>MINUTES</u>

The draft minutes of the April 20, 2021 meeting were reviewed. Ms. Rexford made a motion, seconded by Dr. Green to approve the minutes as edited. The motion passed with all in favor.

II. OPEN FORUM

Jean Rexford suggested that the Board form a workgroup to include DPH staff and the Office of the Attorney General, to discuss issues related the Board's mission; functions and legislation.

Volunteers will be sought, and future meetings will be scheduled. At the present time, the workgroup will be limited to no more than 9 Board members.

III. UPDATES

A. <u>Chair Updates</u> None

B. Department of Public Health

Christian Andresen, Section Chief, Department of Public Health, Practitioner Licensing and Investigations addressed the Board regarding reinstatement of a lapsed license. Mr. Andresen indicated that Board can recommend conditions and practice restrictions which the licensee must comply with if reinstated.

Mr. Andresen also addressed a question regarding telemedicine oversight. Mr. Andresen indicated that complaints relating to telemedicine are investigated in the same manner as a complaint relating to treatment rendered in person.

IV. <u>NEW BUSINESS</u>

A. Hossam Youssef, MD – Review of License Application

Celeste Dowdell, License and Applications Analyst, Department of Public Health presented a licensure application for Hossam Youssef, MD for a determination that his post-graduate training is equivalent to training in a program accredited by the American Council on Graduate Medical Education.

Dr. Green made a motion, seconded by Dr. Zeman, recommending that Dr. Youssef's application for licensure be approved. The motion passed with all in favor except Dr. Eugen and Dr. Patel who abstained.

V. OFFICE OF LEGAL COMPLIANCE

A. <u>Gabriel Abella, MD; Petition No. 2018-699</u>

Staff Attorney Diane Wilan, Department of Public Health, presented a Consent Order in this matter. Dr. Abella was present with Attorney Donald Leone.

Dr. Rissi made a motion, seconded by Dr. Sauer, to approve the Consent Order which imposes a reprimand, probation for a period of one year, and a \$5000.00 civil penalty. The motion passed unanimously.

B. Manoj Dhariwal, MD; Petition No. 2018-1449

Staff Attorney Linda Fazzina, Department of Public Health, presented a Consent Order in this matter. Attorney Adam Rose was present on behalf of Dr. Dhariwal.

Dr. Rissi made a motion, seconded by Dr. Sauer, to approve the Consent Order which imposes a \$5000.00 civil penalty. The motion passed unanimously.

C. James O'Halloran, MD; Petition No. 2021-282

Staff Attorney Brittany Petano, Department of Public Health, presented a Consent Order in this matter. Attorney David Haught was present on behalf of Dr. O'Halloran.

Dr. Green made a motion, seconded by Dr. Rissi, to approve a modification to practice restrictions that were ordered in 2016. The motion passed unanimously.

D. <u>Vishal Verma, MD; Petition No. 2020-146</u>

Staff Attorney Linda Fazzina, Department of Public Health, presented a Consent Order in this matter Attorney Vincent Roth was present on behalf of Dr. Verma.

Dr. Sauer made a motion, seconded by Dr. Patel, to approve the Consent Order which imposes a reprimand. The motion passed with all in favor except Dr. Patel and Dr. Zeman who were opposed.

VI. <u>ADJOURNMENT</u>

As there was no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 2:29 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Kathryn Emmett, Esq., Chairperson