CONNECTICUT STATE DENTAL COMMISSION MINUTES OF REGULAR MEETING September 13, 2023

COMMISSION MEMBERS PRESENT: Peter Katz, DMD, Chairman

Sarita Arteaga, DMD Deborah Dodenhoff, RN Mark Longobardi, DMD Craig Fontaine, Esq.

COMMISSION MEMBERS ABSENT: Monica Cipes, DMD

Anatoliy Ravin, DDS

ALSO PRESENT: Olinda Morales, Hearing Office, DPH (Counsel for the Commission)

Kevin Hansted, Hearing Office, DPH (Counsel for the Commission)

Tyra Peluso, Administrative Hearings Specialist, DPH

Joelle Newton, Staff Attorney, DPH Craig Sullivan, Staff Attorney, DPH Lavita Sookram, Nurse Consultant, DPH

Judith Bailey, DPH Lavita Sookram, DPH Charai Bellini, DPH

Mary Alice Moore Leonhardt, Esq.

Shawn Rutchick, Assistant Attorney General

Richael Cobler, Central Regional Dental Testing Service (CRDTS)

Steven Lepowski, UConn Mark Edwards, DMD

David Perkins, DMD, American Association of Dental Boards

CALL TO ORDER - Dr. Katz called the meeting to order at 1:04 p.m. All participants were present via the Microsoft TEAMS application.

1. MINUTES

 Review and approval of the minutes from June 7, 2023. Dr. Longobardi moved to approve the minutes with an amendment to reflect that no votes were taken during the executive session. Dr. Arteaga seconded the motion. Craig Fontaine abstained. The motion was unanimously approved.

2. ADMINISTRATIVE MATTER

 Scheduling of Steven R. Ruiz, D.D.S. – Petition No. 2021-1191 PHHO to schedule a hearing in this matter on a Wednesday afternoon. Panel Assignment: Dr. Katz, Dr. Longobardi and Craig Fontaine

3. NEW BUSINESS

A. Dennis Flanagan, D.D.S. - Petition No. 2020-692

Staff Attorney Joelle Newton appeared on behalf of the DPH to present its Motion to Amend the Statement of Charges. Attorney Mary Alice Moore Leonhardt appeared for Respondent. Dr. Katz moved to deny the motion to amend statement of charges. Attorney Fontaine seconded. The motion to amend the Statement of Charges was denied unanimously.

B. Vincent J. Fazzino, D.M.D. - Petition No. 2021-742

Staff Attorney Craig Sullivan appeared on behalf of the DPH. Neither Respondent nor his counsel were present. Dr. Katz moved to approve the motion to withdraw statement of charges. Dr. Longobardi seconded. The motion was approved unanimously.

C. Alison Nichols, D.M.D. – Petition No. 2021-106

Dr. Katz moved to accept the memorandum of decision as written. Attorney Fontaine seconded. The memorandum of decision was approved unanimously.

D. Applications for Dental Provisional Licensure

Angie Cure Urrego – Dr. Katz made a motion to approve the application, seconded by Ms. Dodenhoff. The motion passed unanimously.

Angelica Gargano - Dr. Katz made a motion to approve the application, seconded by Dr. Longobardi. The motion passed unanimously.

4. OLD BUSINESS

A. Idlibi v. Connecticut State Dental Commission HHB-CV 195026330-S

A motion was made by Dr. Katz to enter into executive session for the purposes of Discussing strategy for a pending civil litigation matter. The motion was seconded by Ms. Dodenhoff. The motion was approved unanimously. The Commission entered executive session at 1:45pm. Tyra Peluso, Attorney Olinda Morales, Attorney Kevin Hansted, and Assistant Attorney General Shawn Rutchick were present during the executive session. There were no votes taken during the executive session.

Public Session resumed at 2:53pm. Attorney Fontaine made a motion to approve the Commission's response to the Judge's order, seconded by Dr. Katz. The response was approved unanimously with Dr. Arteaga recusing herself.

5. UPDATES

 The Commission heard a presentation from Richael Cobler and Dr. Edwards regarding the Central Regional Dental Testing Service. The Commission also heard a presentation from Dr. Perkins regarding the ADEX exam and a proposed Dental Compact by the ADA and American Association of Dental Boards. No votes were taken related to the presentations.

ADJOURN - Attorney Fontaine moved to adjourn. Ms. Dodenhoff seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously. The meeting was adjourned at 3:55 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,
Peter Katz, DMD - Chairman
Connecticut State Dental Commission