

NOTICE OF ADOPTED STREAM FLOW CLASSIFICATIONS SOUTHEAST COASTAL, PAWCATUCK & THAMES MAJOR RIVER BASINS

In accordance with the Connecticut Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies Section 26-141b-5, the Commissioner of the Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection hereby gives notice that the Department, through consideration of the factors required by and following the procedures specified in the regulations, has adopted stream flow classifications for the rivers and streams of the Southeast Coastal, Pawcatuck and Thames Major River Basins. The stream flow classification of a stream or river segment is based on ecological conditions and human use characteristics, and determines flow management goals and applicable flow standards for that segment.

The maps of the stream flow classifications are available on-line at www.ct.gov/deep/streamflow. Such maps include river and stream segments in the following towns: Andover, Ashford, Bolton, Bozrah, Brooklyn, Canterbury, Chaplin, Colchester, Columbia, Coventry, East Lyme, Eastford, Franklin, Griswold, Groton, Hampton, Hebron, Killingly, Lebanon, Ledyard, Lisbon, Mansfield, Montville, New London, North Stonington, Norwich, Old Lyme, Plainfield, Pomfret, Preston, Putnam, Salem, Scotland, Sprague, Stafford, Sterling, Stonington, Thompson, Tolland, Union, Vernon, Voluntown, Waterford, Willington, Windham, and Woodstock.

Additional information on the Stream Flow Standards and Classifications is available on the Department's website at: www.ct.gov/deep/streamflow. Anyone requiring more information may contact the Department by email at deep.streamflowclass@ct.gov or by phone at 860-424-3020.