PA 12-155 Workgroup 3 – Municipal options to address phosphorus reduction in receiving waters

September 9, 2014, 9:00 AM Meeting Notes

Attendees: Fred Andes (via phone), Dennis Cuevas (via phone), Sarah Cwikla (via phone), Rowland Denny (Co-chair), Mike LeClaire, Steve Seigal and Dennis Waz (Co-chair).

Meeting notes from the August meeting: M/S to approve: Steve Seigal / Mike LeClaire. Motion passed.

It was asked that meeting notes be sent in pdf format as well as word.

Steve spoke to a couple of vendors about getting us data on capital costs (equipment only) - it would be good to get some data for facilities in the 10 to 20 MGD size with 0.2 mg/l or lower limits.

Rowland will see about getting some data on the North Attleboro facility - 0.1 mg/l limit.

Steve asked if we were going down the right path. Rowland felt that we still need to try.

Rowland stated that Sandy (seasonal employee) would be working on data collection. Rowland also stated he may contact Demitri to work on collected data.

There was a Co-chair meeting with the coordinating committee on July 23, 2014 for the purpose of discussing progress.

There was a question on the change in phosphorus grant legislation and what letters went out. Rowland will copy the committee on the letters that went out.

Dennis Cuevas asked if there was going to be a trading program set up. Rowland responded that he did not expect the DEEP would try a trading program as phosphorus is a local water quality issue where it worked well for nitrogen and the impacts on Long Island Sound.

Fred said he sent Illinois operational data - there should be about two years worth.

The curves we develop will be good for estimating - not perfect. If we can get five or six good data points to set the curves we will be in much better shape.

It was asked if Workgroup 1 was going to have BMP costs in a life-cycle format or capital only. Rowland will ask.

Our next meeting will be Tuesday, September 9<sup>th</sup> from 9:00 AM to 11:00 AM in conference room 2B at DEEP headquarters. Future meetings will continue on the second Tuesday of the month from 9:00 AM to 11:00 AM.

M/S to approve adjourning at 10:11 AM: Steve Seigal / Mike LeClaire, motion passed.

If you have any questions, please contact Rowland Denny at 860-424-3749 or rowland.denny@ct.gov.