PA 12-155 Workgroup 3 - Municipal options to address phosphorus reduction in receiving waters

April 8, 2014, 9:00 AM Meeting Notes

Attendees: Demetri Athanasiou, Denis Cuevas, Sarah Cwikla, Rowland Denny (Co-chair), Tim Dupuis, Mike LeClaire, Steve Seigal, Dennis Setzko and Dennis Waz (Co-chair).

Meeting notes from the March meeting: M/S to approve with two corrections: add Denis Cuevas and Dennis Setzko to the attendees list. Tim Dupuis/Mike LeClaire. Motion passed.

There was significant discussion on the spreadsheet of data collected to date. Consensus was reached on graphing the data using cost per pound removed versus flow. Making a differentiation between levels of treatment technologies clear on the chart is important. Then a few variations showing just the simulation data, just the pilot data, etc...would be helpful for analysis. Demetri will work up some graphs for the next meeting.

The New York data appears to be significant and would be helpful. It may take some additional prodding to get an adequate response.

The deadline for the legislative report may be moved out to October 2015 since currently CASE has a final deliverable date two weeks before the report is due to the legislature this October. This does not give enough time for review.

The next Coordinating Committee meeting is coming up at DEEP Headquarters on May 12, 2014 at 1 pm, on the third floor in the Russell Hearing room.

The letter concerning the "First Three" phosphorus grant increase was sent to the 12 facilities that responded initially. There is a house bill being considered to provide a 20% grant bonus to all facilities required to remove phosphorus to 0.2 mg/l or less.

Rowland will ask Chris Malik about the format the non-point workgroup will be using to report costing of the BMPs.

Our next meeting will be Tuesday, May 13th from 9:00 AM to 11:00 AM in conference room 2B at DEEP headquarters. Future meetings will continue on the second Tuesday of the month from 9:00 AM to 11:00 AM.

M/S to approve adjourning at 10:00 AM: Tim Dupuis/Steve Seigal, motion passed.

If you have any questions, please contact Rowland Denny at 860-424-3749 or rowland.denny@ct.gov.