Connecticut Coalition for Sustainable Materials Management Meeting

Meeting Minutes

October 4, 2022 Increase Reuse & Recycling Working Group Meeting

Present:	See Attachment A
Next meeting:	January 10, 2023 1:00-2:30pm
Prepared by:	Emma MacDonald, DEEP

I. Call to Order and Announcements

Meeting began at 1:03pm.

Denise Raap, First Selectman, Town of Litchfield provided welcoming remarks, introductions, housekeeping rules and an overview of the Increase Recycling Working Group as part of the CCSMM initiative process. Co-chair Ben Florsheim, Mayor, City of Middletown was unable to attend the meeting.

II. Committee Reports

Denise Raap provided an overview of the meeting and noted that there would be time for discussion and questions for the presenters at the end of the meeting.

A panel composed of the following representatives presented on municipal recycling enforcement in their respective municipalities:

Cesar Zapata, Solid Waste Official, Town of East Hartford presented on East Hartford's planning efforts to implement a municipal recycling enforcement program.

James Stewart, Director of Public Works, Borough of Naugatuck presented on Naugatuck's Recycling Enforcement Program.

Samuel Saunders, Refuse & Recycling Coordinator, Town of Ellington presented Ellington's Recycling Enforcement Program and data collected.

III. Roundtable

There was opportunity for Q&A of the panelists. Members were interested in separate glass recycling programs, how contamination of recycling is measured/determined, printing recycling info directly onto recycling bins, what additional costs are incurred when beginning an enforcement program, other topics included questions on the RecycleCT wizard app, avoidance of illegal dumping, public education about recycling correctly and recycling/waste budgets, etc.

IV. Public Comment

Members of the public were asked to use the "chat" or "raise hand" feature to indicate if they wanted to make a comment as well.

V. Adjournment

Meeting adjourned at 2:26pm.

Appendix A.

A // 1
Attendees
Aaron Budris - NVCOG
Alice Kosowsky
April Clayton
Ashley Zane
Bill Watkins
Brian Bartram Salisbury Sharon TS
Brian Popovich
Bud MCALLISTER PHC
Carolyn Bayne
Cesar Zapata
Chelsey Hahn (she/her)
Chris Nelson - CT DEEP
Christine O'Neill (NVCOG)
Christopher Kelly
CJ May - Waterbury
David Boomer
Denise Raap
Diane Lauricella
Elizabeth Moore
Emma MacDonald
Eric Fredericksen
Gaia McDermott
Gary Jamgotchian
Gary Jones
Helen Simko
Ian McDonald
James Albis - CT DEEP
James Stewart
Janice EhleMeyer
Jean Speck
Jennifer Baum-HRRA
Jennifer Heaton-Jones
Joe Canino
Joe DeRisi Town of Hamden
Josh Hughes
Julie DesChamps
Kaelah Smith
Karen Weeks
Katherine Bruns
Kevin Spinella
T T

Kevin Sullivan
Kim O'Rourke
Kimberly Hunter
Krishna Winston
Kristin Clancy
Lidia Howard
Linda Orr-Torrington
Lisa Fecke
Lisa Marotta
Lori Martin
Luciana Granstrand - CT DEEP
Margaret Henderson
Mari Jackson
Mayor Mike Rell
Morgan Treacy
Nancy Alderman
Pamela Roach
Paul Aresta- CEQ
Pippa Bell Ader
Raymond Drew
Reagan Kenney
Rebecca Bunnell
Sam Saunders
Sherill Baldwin sher/her CT DEEP
Stacey Leitch
Sue Bush
Susan Barney
Tammy Thornton
Theresa Christenson
Tracey Hanson
Virginia Walton