Connecticut Coalition for Sustainable Materials Management Meeting

Meeting Minutes

February 27, 2024, Increase, Reuse, and Recycling Working Group – Food Waste Prevention & Food Recovery Week

Present: See Attachment A

Next meeting: TBD

Prepared by: Luciana Granstrand, CT DEEP

I. Call to Order and Announcements

Meeting began at 1:03 pm via ZOOM.

Sherill Baldwin, Environmental Analyst, Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection (DEEP) reviewed the agenda and housekeeping rules for the meeting. Co-Chair Denise Raap, Litchfield's First Selectperson, provided welcoming remarks and introduced guest speakers. Co-chair Ben Florsheim, Middletown's Mayor, shared the City's highlights and work on organic materials diversion.

II. Presentations

Minerva Ringland, Climate Manager, ReFED, presented on Climate and Food Waste and shared practical examples of addressing food waste to reduce greenhouse gas emissions. Mrs. Ringland also talked about the work done by ReFED to identify food waste in the US food system and briefly discussed the national policy landscape regarding food waste legislation.

Ethan Van Ness, Senior Advisor on Intergovernmental Affairs, CT DEEP, provided an overview of his role with the Agency and a legislative update on proposals concerning organic diversion laws being raised during the 2024 state legislative session.

RESOURCE REFERENCES: Ethan Van Ness, ethan.vanness@ct.gov, 959.333.8734

Emma MacDonald, Environmental Analyst, CT DEEP, hosted a virtual Trivia Kahoot game on Food Waste Prevention questions.

Sherill Baldwin, Environmental Analyst, CT DEEP, presented on the Food Waste Prevention Week, a national effort to educate the public on food waste prevention and raise awareness of local resources dedicated to combat food waste. CT DEEP is a Food Waste Prevention Week partner this year and will promote educational activities in this regard from April 1-7, 2024.

James Fowler, Senior Advisor Senior Outreach, CT DEEP, shared that CT DEEP will use its social outreach channels to host the annual Food Waste Prevention Week from April 1 - 7, 2024.

Chelsey Hahn, Environmental Analyst, CT DEEP, provided an update on the CT DEEP Sustainable Materials Management (SMM) Grant.

III. Roundtable & Public Comment

Members of the public were asked to use the "chat" or "raise hand" feature to indicate if they wanted to make a comment.

Members asked about the State of Connecticut's proposals for the EPA Climate Pollution Reduction Grants (CPRG) program.

Other members asked if there is some legislation being raised during the state 2024 legislative session to mandate food waste at schools and provide financial incentives to help institutions and municipalities with food waste diversion.

Attendees asked speakers if grants or other funding sources are currently available to fund food waste diversion programs, including to fund food recovery organizations.

Other attendees asked if the CT DEEP will continue funding more SMM Pilot Programs, if lessons learned will be considered in future programs. Additional questions involved whether SMM pilot grantee towns see cost savings and waste reduction.

IV. Adjournment

Meeting adjourned at 2:42 pm.

The next working group meeting will be determined.

Attachment A:

First Name	Last Name	Organization
Kim	ORourke	City of Middletown
Jennifer	Baum	HRRA
Kaelah	Smith	CTOAG
Luciana	Granstrand	CT DEEP
Helen	Zincavage	SCCOG
Lisa	Marotta	Town of Rocky Hill
Julie	DesChamps	Waste Free Greenwich
Brian	Sear	City of New London
Liz	Connelly	Capitol Consulting LLC
Garrett	Daigle	Town of Farmington
Diane	Lauricella	Norwalk Zero Waste Coalition
Virginia	Walton	Town of Mansfield
chris	lippke	TOWN OF CANTERBURY
Sam	Saunders	Town of Ellington
Christine	O'Neill	Naugatuck Valley Council of Governments
kevin	spinella	GBA
Tony	Manfre	south windsor
Mike	Manfre	Sanitation
carl	fortuna	Town of Old Saybrook
Hazel	Levine	UCONN
Raymond	Rogozinski	City of Bristol Department of Public Works
Aaron	Goode	Gnhgf
Samuel	King	Blue Earth Compost
Rachel	Rosen	NA
Jennifer	Heaton-Jones	HRRA
Mary	Hogue	Sustainable Fairfield
Pippa Bell	Ader	Sustainable Westport
Margaret	Henderson	UU Congregation of Danbury
Jeff	Hallowell	Biomass Controls PBC
dawn	sullivan	Sustainable Westport
Paul	Aresta	CEQ
Rachel	Schnabel	Town of Manchester, CT
John	Prinner	Gryphon Environmental
Tiffany	Carlson	Town of Ridgefield
Sean	Hughes	Hughes and Cronin
Sonya	Carrizales	CRCOG
Mara	Shulman	Conservation Law Foundation
Marc	Gonzalez	Conservation Law Foundation
Janice	EhleMeyer	RiverCOG

Krishna	Winston	Middletown Resource Recycling Advisory Commission
lynne	bonnett	na
Anne	Schmidt	LWV of southeastern CT
Carolyn	Bayne	Darien Nature Center
Lisa	Marotta	Town of Rocky Hill
Pamela	Roach	SCRCOG
Joe	Lentini	Municipality
Maureen	Nicholson	Town of Pomfret
Harrison	Nantz	CT DEEP
Minerva	Ringland	ReFED
James	Fowler	CT DEEP
Edith	Pestana	DEEP
Daniel	Pestrichello	USA Waste and Recycling
laura	pointek	DEEP
Greg	McCarron	SCS Engineers
Francis	Brady	Solid Waste Disposal Committee
Russell	Asklof	sustainable waste management committee- Canton
Christine	Beling	USEPA New England
Susan	Eastwood	Sierra Club
Christopher	Antonacci	USA
Liz	Chuff	SCRRRA
Linda	Orr	City of Torrington
Barry	ONell	Town of Old Saybrook
Mari	Jackson	Town of Trumbull
Denise	Raap	Town of Litchfield
Brenna	Toman	CT DEEP
Anna-Kristin	Daub-Murphy	Sustainable Suffield (Town of Suffield)
Mary	Isaac	Town of Trumbull
Jackie	Caceci	Tighe & Bond
Conor	Miller	Black Earth Compost
Cesar	Zapata	Town of East Hartford
Emily	Hofstatter	Civilization Books
Danielle	Buehler	C&S Companies
Kalyn	Docchio	Sustainable Essex
Ethan	Van Ness	CT DEEP
Barbara	Bettigole	Salisbury/Sharon TS Recycling Advisory Committee
Brian	Bartram	Salisbury/Sharon Transfer Station
Jim	Ward	Solid Waste and Recycling Committee
Tim	O'Connor	Park City Compost Initiative
Kevin	Sullivan	CT DEEP
Delia	Fey	NECCOG

barbara	Perkinson	Town of Woodbury
Nicholas	Skeadas	Curbside Compost
Alice	Kosowsky	Solid Waste & Recycling Commission
Mickey & Irene	Weiss	League of Women Voters of S.E. CT climate Committee
Ethan	Werstler	Rome Smith Kowalski
Emma	MacDonald	CT DEEP
Ben	Florsheim	City of Middletown
Jennifer	Weymouth	CT DEEP
maryellen	basham	Old Lyme Waste and Recycling
Elizabeth	Moore	CT DEEP
thomas	Strahle	Pepsi Cola of Bristol
Chelsey	Hahn	DEEP
greg	Lesco	DPW
John	Lundeen	Old Saybrook Recycling Task Force
Andrew	Droney	HRO