# Connecticut Coalition for Sustainable Materials Management Meeting

## **Meeting Minutes**

September 30, 2022 CCSMM Coalition Meeting via ZOOM

Present: See Attachment A

Next meeting: TBA, Quarter 3, 2022

Prepared by: Elizabeth Moore, CT DEEP

#### I. Call to Order and Announcements

Meeting started at 1:00PM.

DEEP Commissioner Katie Dykes provided welcoming remarks.

## **II.** Committee Reports

James Albis, Office Director, DEEP presented on the existing statutory authority to create regional waste authorities.

David Aldrich, Executive Director, SCRRRA presented on the Southeastern Connecticut Regional Resource Recovery Authority origins and current initiatives.

Jennifer Heaton-Jones, Executive Director, HRRA presented on the Housatonic Resources Recovery Authority origins and current initiatives.

#### III. Roundtable

Members discussed the authorization provided in the Connecticut General Statutes to create regional waste authorities. Presenters SCRRA and HRRA responded to questions regarding their respective models and organizational structures. Questions were also received regarding perceived trepidation of municipalities in losing a sense of control over standard solid waste procedures and how regional waste authorities can address environmental justice. Other members asked about SCRRRA's plan for a composting facility and regional waste authority support for unit-based pricing programs in general. The group also discussed resources for interested municipalities, including how to receive guidance from DEEP, Councils of Governments, and existing regional waste authorities.

#### IV. Public Comment

Members of the public were asked to use the "chat" feature or the "raise hand" feature to indicate if they wanted to make a comment.

Bud McAllister, Partners in Caring Communities of New London, commented on the importance of composting efforts and asked if there's anything in the regional waste authority agreements that would prevent the creation of a recycling center in New London.

Joanna Wozniac-Brown, CT OPM asked about any local ordinances or agreements that have created any problems related to the consideration of organic diversion in municipalities.

## V. Adjournment

The meeting closed with thanks from the two speakers.

Meeting adjourned at 2:23 P.M.

## ATTACHMENT A

First Name	<u>Last Name</u>	Organization
Pauline	Yoder	Capitol Region Council of Governments
Stacey	Leitch	Town of Groton Public Works
Carolyn	Bayne	Darien Advisory Committee on Sustainability
Denise	Raap	Town of Litchfield
Carl	Amento	South Central Regional Council of Governments
Brian	Bartram	Salisbury/Sharon Transfer Station
Edward	Reagan	ssrra
Pamela	Roach	SCRCOG
Josh	Hughes	Capitol Consulting
Bill	Watkins	Town of Coventry Public Works Department
Lisa	Fecke	Gaffney, Bennett
Christine	O'Neill	Naugatuck Valley Council of Governments
Robert	Phillips	Northwest Hills Council of Governments
Kristin	Clancy	Start up
Donna	Hamzy Carroccia	CCM
Reagan	Kenney	Capitol Consulting, LLC
Laura	Francis	South Central Region Council of Governments
Mary	Hogue	Sustainable Fairfield
Joanna	Wozniak-Brown	CT OPM
Lori	Vitagliano	RWA/HazWaste Central
Linda	Kowalski	The Kowalski Group
Diane	Lauricella	Norwalk Zero Waste Coalition
Jillaine	Dellis	Henkel
kristen	brown	WasteZero
Kris	Coperine	NatureWorks LLC

Brian Paganini Quantum Biopower

Janice Plaziak Town of Guilford

Christopher Koehler tetra tech

Cyril May Waterbury Public Works

Stephanie Bahramian Town of Bloomfield

Rebecca Augur OPM

Peter Kramer PURA

Daniel Gorka Veolia North America

Ashley Zane CBIA

Mike Paine Paine's Incorporated and NWRA

David Simpson City of Waterbury

James P. Sandler Hartford solid waste task force

John Filchak Northeastern Connecticut Council of Governments

Matt Riiska Town of Norfolk, Connecticut

Amanda Kennedy SCCOG

Janice Ehlemeyer RiverCOG

Sarah Bloomquist TOMRA

Margaret Henderson UU (Unitarian Universalists) Congregation of Danbury

john sheerin USTMA

Thomas Swarr Hartford SWTF

Carey Duques Town of Essex

Bud McAllister Partners in Healthy Communities

Sean Hughes Hughes and Cronin

Myra Klockenbrink Greenwich sustainability committee

David Boomer The Kowalski Group, LLC

Karen Weeks The Kowalski Group, LLC

Paul Aresta CEQ

Laura Healey Murphy Road Recycling

John Whetton Town of Stafford

Brian Popovich USA

Carl Fortuna Town of Old Saybrook

Tim O'Connor Park City Compost Initiative Inc

Joshua Petro South Central Regional Council of Governments

Paul Catino City of Bridgeport Dept of Pub Facilities

James Albis CT DEEP Pauline Yoder CRCOG

Carolyn Bayne Darien Advisory Comm. on Sustainability

Denise Raap Carl Amento

Pamela Roach **SCRCOG** Peggy Diaz CT DEEP Tom Metzner CT DEEP Jennifer Perry CT DEEP Gabrielle Frigon CT DEEP Dykes Katie CT DEEP Jennifer **Heaton-Jones** HRRA David Aldridge **SCRRRA** Robert **Phillips NHCOG** Aaron **Budris NVCOG** Donna Hamzy Carroccia CCM Laura **Francis SCRCOG** 

Joanna Wozniak-Brown

Lori Vitagliano RWA/HazWaste Central

Jonathan Luiz

Diane Lauricella Norwalk Zero Waste Coalition

Janice Plaziak Guilford
Cyril May Waterbury
Peter Kramer PURA
James Cosgrove Branford
David Simpson Waterbury

James P. Sandler Hartford Solid Waste Task Force

John Filchak

Amanda Kennedy SCCOG
Janice Ehlemeyer RiverCO

Thomas Swarr Hartford SWTF

Carey Duques Essex

Matt Hart

Paul Aresta CEQ
John Whetton Stafford

Carl Fortuna Christine O'Neill Meghan Sloan Joshua Petro Old Saybrook NVCOG CTMetroCOG