Connecticut Coalition for Sustainable Materials Management Meeting

Meeting Minutes

July 20, 2022, Extended Producer Responsibility Working Group Meeting

Present: See Attachment A

Next meeting: August 31st, 2022

Prepared by: Emma MacDonald and Luciana Granstrand, DEEP

I. Call to Order and Announcements

Meeting began at 1:01 pm.

Co-chair of the Extended Producer Responsibility (EPR) working group Matt Knickerbocker, the First Selectman of Bethel, provided welcoming remarks, introductions, housekeeping rules, and an overview of past successful progress made toward goals established by the Extended Producer Responsibility Working Group as part of the CCSMM initiative process. Co-chair Diana McCarthy-Bercury was unable to attend the meeting.

II. Committee Reports

Co-chair Matt Knickerbocker reviewed the meeting's agenda and provided updates and background on the history of the coalition's efforts over the last two years. He also introduced the Department of Energy and Environmental Protection (DEEP) support staff for the working group, James Albis and Tom Metzner, who shared DEEP's efforts to support the goals of the working group.

A review was provided on the past efforts of the coalition and existing EPR programs, including the 2022 gas cylinders legislation, and existing mattress and paint EPR programs. The group also discussed possible materials to focus on moving forward, including tires, packaging, and Household Hazardous Waste EPR programs and legislative efforts.

III. Roundtable

Co-chair Matt Knickerbocker asked for comments from municipal officials. Working group members discussed potential future EPR legislative action and expressed particular interest in tires, packaging, and Household Hazardous Waste EPR Programs. The group also discussed possible additional materials like carpeting, batteries, motor oil and smoke detectors. Interested municipal representatives were encouraged to reach out to Jennifer Heaton-Jones, Executive Director of the Housatonic Resource Recovery Authority, to join the Connecticut Product Stewardship Council and participate in upcoming

conversations focused on tires and packaging EPR. Jennifer Heaton-Jones also requested that Municipalities share tire data through a survey sent in the chat <u>here</u>.

IV. Public Comment

Members of the public were asked to use the "chat" or "raise hand" feature to indicate if they wanted to make a comment.

Andrew Hackman, representing Ameripen, noted that there has been a good working dialogue between Ameripen and DEEP on packaging EPR and that Ameripen is committed to assisting with future development of a packaging EPR bill.

Representative Joseph Gresko also asked for members of the working group and DEEP to share studies that were referenced throughout the meeting pertaining to packaging EPR costs.

A comment was made about the importance of working with all stakeholders on EPR efforts.

V. Adjournment

Meeting adjourned at 2:01pm.

The next working group meeting will be held on August 31, 2022. The topic will be presentations and discussions on chemical recycling.

Appendix A.

Name
Chris Nelson - CT DEEP (Chris Nelson)
·
James Albis - CT DEEP (James Albis)
Luciana Granstrand - CT DEEP (Luciana Granstrand)
Ed Mone - Thomaston (Ed Mone)
Matt Knickerbocker - Bethel (Matt Knickerbocker)
Joseph Gresko - Bridgeport (joseph Gresko)
Brian Sear City of New London (Brian Sear)
Kim O'Rourke Middletown (Kim O'Rourke)
Brian Bartram Salisbury/Sharon TS (Brian Bartram)
Donna Hamzy Carroccia - CCM (Donna Hamzy Carroccia)
Bill Watkins - Coventry (Bill Watkins)
David Simpson City of Waterbury (David Simpson)
Elly Moore - CT DEEP (Elly Moore)
Morgan Treacy - CT DEEP (MorganTreacy)
Christine O'Neill (NVCOG) (Christine O'Neill)
Jean Speck - Kent (Jean Speck)
Sam Saunders - Ellington (Sam Saunders)
Jennifer Baum-HRRA (Jennifer Baum)
Laura Pointek - CT DEEP (Laura Pointek)
Michael Bisi - Glastonbury (Michael Bisi)
Sherill Baldwin - CT DEEP (Sherill Baldwin)
Lori Vitagliano - RWA/HazWaste Central (Lori Vitagliano)
Kevin Sullivan (Kevin Sullivan)
Dave Aldridge - SCRRRA (David Aldridge)
Harry Nantz - CT DEEP (Harry Nantz)
Tom Metzner CT DEEP (Tom Metzner)
Jen Heaton-Jones - HRRA (Jen Heaton-Jones)
David Capacchione - Killingly (David Capacchione)
Pamela Roach - SCRCOG (Pamela Roach)
Denise Raap- Litchfield (Denise Raap)
Carl Fortuna- Town of Old Saybrook First Selectman (Carl
Fortuna)
Emma MacDonald - CT DEEP (Emma MacDonald)
Maureen Nicholson - Pomfret (Maureen Nicholson)
Steph Bahramian (StephanieBahramian)
Delia Fey (Delia Fey)
Fred Hurley- Newtown (Fred Hurley)
Paul Catino - Bridgeport (Paul Catino)
Virginia Walton- Mansfield (Virginia Walton)

Courtney Lindberg - Manchester (CourtneyLindberg)
Sean Hughes
Kevin Spinella
John Sheerin
April Regan
Lisa Fecke
Brad Weeks
Linda Kowalski
Andrew Hackman
Brian Sullivan
Lena Tan
Mary Vihstadt
Andrew Droney
Reagan Kenney
Lew Dubuque
Nicole Tomassetti
Morgan Treacy
Karen Weeks
Susan Barney
Ashley Zane
Paul Aresta
David Boomer
Kristi Vitelli
Kat McCarthy
Hillary Glass
Daniel McGowan
Patrick Grasso
James Hutton
Kaelah Smith
Mary Isaac
Robbie McLuckie
Stephanie Bahramian
Greg Lesco
David Bodendorf
Kevin Reynolds
Virginia Walton
Joe DeRisi - Hamden (Joe DeRisi)
MaKenna McGuire
Diane Lauricella
John Larkin