# Connecticut Coalition for Sustainable Materials Management Meeting

## **Meeting Minutes**

August 31, 2022, Extended Producer Responsibility Working Group Meeting

Present:	See Attachment A
Next meeting:	September 28, 2022 at 1:00pm
Prepared by:	Elizabeth Moore, DEEP

## I. Call to Order and Announcements

Meeting began at 1:03 pm.

Co-chair of the Connecticut Coalition for Sustainable Materials Management (CCSMM) Extended Producer Responsibility (EPR) working group, Bethel First Selectman Matt Knickerbocker, provided welcoming remarks, introductions, and an overview of the meeting agenda. Co-chair Diana McCarthy-Bercury was unable to attend the meeting.

#### II. Committee Reports

Co-chair Matt Knickerbocker reviewed the meeting's agenda.

Dr. Ben Elling, Professor, Wesleyan University presented on the chemistry and polymer breakdown involved in plastic recycling and focused on the difference between mechanical and chemical recycling. Dr. Elling also distinguished between five types of chemical recycling, including depolymerization, reprocessing, solvolysis/hydrolysis, pyrolysis, and gasification.

Dr. Anja Brandon, U.S. Plastics Policy Analyst, Ocean Conservancy presented on Managing Chemical Recycling in EPR. Dr. Brandon's presentation focused on the state of current plastic recovery and recycling in the United States and emphasized California's SB 54.

James Albis, Office Director, Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection (DEEP) presented the Department's current position on chemical recycling.

## III. Roundtable

Dr. Ben Elling received questions regarding where different types of chemical recycling processes are currently operational as well as the findings of pilots, particularly with respect to end products of the processes in the form of waste materials and greenhouse gas emissions. Members asked about differences in environmental impacts between the various chemical recycling processes described as

well as how those processes differ from mechanical recycling of plastics and creating new plastics from virgin materials.

Dr. Anja Brandon received questions regarding how aggressive recycling recovery goals coexist with EPR in California. Other questions involved how California approached differentiating between different forms of chemical recycling and how Connecticut can work on EPR regionally with other states on the east coast. Another member asked if there is currently a viable alternative to plastics.

# IV. Public Comment

Members of the public were asked to use the "chat" or "raise hand" feature to indicate if they wanted to make a comment.

Nancy Alderman, President of Environment and Human Health, Inc. (EHHI), noted the recent release of an EHHI plastic study featuring recommendations for all levels of government. Alderman asked about emissions from chemical recycling processes beyond pyrolysis and gasification. Alderman also asked about the origin of the CCSMM and whether all towns could join the coalition.

Kristen Coperine, Circular Economy Specialist at NatureWorks, asked if Dr. Brandon still favored mechanical recycling for polyactic acid (PLA) plastics, which are derived from organic sources. Coperine also asked about recommendations for how investment can be put toward chemical recycling projects to receive a diversity of feedstocks.

Bud McAllister, Partners in Healthy Communities, expressed hope to build regional coalitions with other states and asked if New London was listed as a partner of the CCSMM.

Diane Lauricella supported the idea of working regionally and asked if the speakers have access to ways of helping to educate the public and public officials about the plastic problem, including information involving graphics and available in different languages.

Delia Fey, NECCOG asked if there is there any funding available for businesses that make new products out of old products to create a market for recyclable goods beyond paperboard packaging.

## V. Adjournment

Meeting adjourned at 2:30pm.

The next working group meeting will be held on September 28, 2022 at 1:00pm. The group plans to discuss the impact of packaging EPR on consumer prices.

Attachment A:

Chris Nelson - CT DEEP Sherill Baldwin - CT DEEP Elly Moore - CT DEEP Gabrielle Frigon - CT DEEP Tom Metzner CT DEEP James Albis - CT DEEP Christine O'Neill - NVCOG Kevin Sullivan Krishna Winston Virginia Walton - Mansfield Kim O'Rourke - Middletown Carolyn Bayne - Darien Advisory Committee on Sustainability Lori Vitagliano Denise Raap - Litchfield Sam Saunders - Ellington Brian Bartram Salisbury/Sharon TS Connie Mendolia - CT DEEP Paul Aresta - CEQ Carl Fortuna - Old Saybrook Alice Kosowsky Maureen Nicholson - Pomfret Delia Fey - NECCOG Stacey Leitch - Groton Catherine Matzul - CT DEEP Laura Pointek - CT DEEP BudMcAllister Diane Lauricella Matt Knickerbocker - Bethel Steph Bahramian Bill Watkins Town of Coventry Ben Elling - Wesleyan University Anja Brandon - Ocean Conservancy Caitlin Hart (she/her) Jen Heaton-Jones - HRRA Luciana Granstrand - CT DEEP Emma MacDonald - CT DEEP

Deborah Barbieri - Westport Kaelah Smith Janice Ehlemeyer - RiverCOG Michael Bisi - Glastonbury Mary Ann Remolador - NERC State Rep Maria Horn Morgan Treacy Morgan Treacy CT DEEP April Clayton - CT DEEP Pamela Roach Chris Lippke - Canterbury **Christine O'Neill** Sarah Bloomquist Theresa Govert Jean Cronin Melissa Biggs Nicole Tomassetti Thomas Strahle kevin spinella Joe Canino Robbie McLuckie Marcia Kinter Susan Barney Kristen Coperine Mike Noel Jennifer Heaton-Jones Sean Hughes Gary Jones john sheerin Erik Rison Ashley Zane Jessica Olander April Regan Amanda Cox Anne Schmidt Daniel McGowan Meredith Wert Jay Aronson Christopher Antonacci Andrew Hackman Susan Eastwood Josh Hughes Reagan Kenney

Lisa Fecke Nancy Alderman Susan Bush Justine Fallon Helen Sashi Tammy Thornton Patrick Grasso Brad Weeks Ann Gadwah Brian Popovich **Bud McAllister** Sharon Lewis Lori Brown Liz Connelly Karen Weeks Brian Popovich Linda Kowalski David Boomer Kristen Miller Anne Hulick Samantha Dynowski Shannon Laun Pamela Roach Lisa Kroeber **Edward Spinella** Mary Vihstadt Gary Jamgotchian Kristi Vitelli Kevin Budris Pippa Bell Jeanine Behr Getz Andrew Droney Kris Kuhn Erin DeSantis Raza Ali Yasemin Ugurlu Ian McDonald Ian McDonald Martha Kelly chris phelps Terri Cain Brian Hawkinson Nate Spencer

Gaia McDermott chris lippke Joe DeRisi Becky Bunnell Ed Mone