Connecticut Coalition for Sustainable Materials Management Meeting

Meeting Minutes

December 13, 2023 Extended Producer Responsibility Working Group Meeting

Present:	See Attachment A
Next meeting:	TBD
Prepared by:	Elizabeth Moore, DEEP

I. Call to Order and Announcements

The meeting began at 1:01pm.

Chair Matthew Knickerbocker, Wilton's Town Administrator, provided welcoming remarks, introductions, housekeeping rules and an overview of the Extended Producer Responsibility (EPR) Working Group as part of the CCSMM initiative process.

II. Committee Reports

Peter Hargreave, President, Policy Integrity, Inc. and The Cylinder Collective presented an update on Connecticut's Gas Cylinder EPR Program.

Steve Meldrum, CEO, eTracks and John Sheerin, Director, End-of-life Tire Programs, United States Tire Manufacturers Association presented on Connecticut's Tire EPR Program and lessons learned from tire EPR programs in Canada.

Suna Bayrakal, Director of Policy & Programs, Product Stewardship Institute presented on National Battery EPR Programs.

III. Roundtable

Members asked about any potential problems in the development of the gas cylinder stewardship program, and how to empty cylinders. Members also asked about how many containers were collected at the Hammonasset Gas Cylinder collection pilot program over the summer. Another question was asked about container collection specifications for gas cylinders at transfer stations.

Members asked John Sheerin if he is satisfied with the support his organization is receiving from the Connecticut authorities, and what could be improved.

Members also asked about the most comprehensive battery programs in the country and where the batteries are going when they are in mixed electronics collections. Another question was asked about the type of battery manufacturers, and which companies are involved in the Washington state battery EPR program.

IV. Public Comment

Members of the public were asked to use the "chat" or "raise hand" feature to indicate if they wanted to make a comment.

Krishna Winston asked about tire uses and tire markets, particularly considering toxics involved in tires.

Jen Heaton-Jones asked about the future of interest in packaging EPR and EPR for household hazardous waste.

V. Adjournment

Matt Knickerbocker closed the meeting. The meeting ended at 2:26pm.

Attachment A.

Mary	Isaac
Christopher	Antonacci
Pamela	Roach
Jarod	Stevens
Lisa	Fecke
Bob	Carlson
Denise	Raap
BARRY	TAKALLOU
Justin	Williams
John	Prinner
Kelly	Colvin
Kelly	Colvin
Robbie	McLuckie
Ethan	Werstler
Diane	Stober
Alice	Kosowsky
Jeff	Hallowell
Jim	Ward
Jeff	Olson

David	Boomer
Brian	Bartram
Brian	Bartram
Susan	Eastwood
Susan	Eastwood
Kim	ORourke
Maureen	Nicholson
Peter	Myers
kevin	spinella
ed	spinella
Gary	Jones
Mary	Vihstadt
Sara	Osorio
Tony	Manfre
Kris	Coperine
Mary	Hogue
Josh	Hughes
Russell	Arnold
Stacey	Ohlmann Leitch
Brian	Sear
Katherine	Bruns
Andrew	Droney
Joe	Canino
Lewis	Dubuque
Mark	Weintraub
Mark	Dennen
Marc	Gonzalez

Jean	Cronin
Leah	Schultz
Janice	Plaziak
Carolyn	Bayne
Anthony	Manfre
Debra	Darby
Chris	Phelps
Liz	Connelly
Tiffany	Moseley
Stephen	Mylly
Thomas	Strahle