Connecticut Coalition for Sustainable Materials Management Meeting

Meeting Minutes

December 15, 2022, Extended Producer Responsibility Working Group Meeting – Industry Perspectives on Extended Producer Responsibility (EPR) for Packaging.

Present:	See Attachment A
Next meeting:	TBD
Prepared by:	Luciana Granstrand, DEEP

I. Call to Order and Announcements

Meeting began at 1:03 pm.

Co-chair of the Connecticut Coalition for Sustainable Materials Management (CCSMM) Extended Producer Responsibility (EPR) working group, Wilton's Town Administrator Matt Knickerbocker, provided welcoming remarks, introductions, and an overview of the meeting agenda. Co-chair Diana McCarthy-Bercury was unable to attend the meeting.

II. Committee Reports

Co-chair Matt Knickerbocker reviewed the meeting's agenda and introduced the three guest speakers.

Jillaine Dellis, VP of Sustainability & Industry Affairs at Henkel Corporation, presented Henkel's EPR packaging definition, expectations, and supportive position. Ms. Dellis also provided Henkel's position on chemical recycling and the need to employ it only for problematic plastics.

Kate Bailey, Chief Policy Officer at the Association of Plastics Recyclers (APR), presented the Association's supporting position on packaging EPR. Ms. Bailey's presentation explained why the Association supports packaging EPR and how they've worked to support EPR Bills in Colorado, Washington, and Oregon. Lastly, Ms. Bailey discussed their interpretation of chemical recycling, the need for its clear definition, and the role it should play in packaging EPR.

Caroline James, Director of Sustainability at Atlantic Packaging, presented Atlantic Packaging's supportive position on packaging EPR while stating that for a company that is primarily a distributor, it can be easier to support EPR since they likely won't fall under the producer category. Ms. James presented why Atlantic supports packaging EPR and how it can bring new opportunities to the packaging industry to move its business toward a more innovative direction. Lastly, Ms. James spoke about Atlantic's standing on chemical recycling and the need for its application only when necessary.

III. Roundtable

Jillaine Dellis and Kate Bailey received questions regarding Henkel and the APR's position on chemical recycling, penalties for producers that fail to comply with agreed targets on packaging EPR, and to clarify what problematic plastics are.

Kate Bailey was asked to share Colorado's relationship with the hauling industry during the EPR packaging law implementation and how the bill impacted this industry.

Caroline James was asked to share her views on addressing toxicity in EPR laws versus having toxic and packaging state laws. Another member asked Ms. James to share if the push from environmental groups to shift plastic packaging to paper packaging concerns the pulp and paper industry.

The three panelists were asked to discuss whether their companies rely on a specific life-cycle analysis to determine better processes or products for packaging and if packaging coding can be an issue in terms of recyclability and food safety.

IV. Public Comment

Members of the public were asked to use the "chat" or "raise hand" feature to indicate if they wanted to make a comment.

Kristen Coperine, Circular Economy Specialist at NatureWorks, asked about recommendations for how to include compostable packaging into EPR law language.

John Hall shared that in 2021 Connecticut EPR Bill faced opposition from the environmental nongovernmental (NGO) community due to the possibility of including plastic to fuel as a form of recycling. Mr. Hall asked presenters if the exclusion of this form of recycling would affect their company's support of Connecticut's EPR law.

Tom Metzner, CT DEEP, clarified that the Connecticut EPR Bill did not support burning plastic into fuel, whether it says that if a fuel is created under chemical recycling and it is made into a new tangible plastic product that could be considered plastic.

V. Adjournment

Meeting adjourned at 2:31pm.

Chair Matthew Knickerbocker asked municipalities to send topics of interest for the next working group meetings to him, Chris Nelson, or Tom Metzner. The next meeting date is to be determined.

Attachment A:

Chris Nelson - CT DEEP (Chris Nelson - CT DEEP)
Luciana Granstrand - CT DEEP
Tom Metzner - CT DEEP (Tom Metzner)
James Albis - CT DEEP (James Albis)
Kate Bailey (Kate Bailey)
Caroline James - Atlantic Packaging (Caroline James)
Jillaine Dellis - Henkel (Jillaine Dellis)
Brenna Toman - CT DEEP (Brenna Toman)
Emma MacDonald - CT DEEP (Emma MacDonald)
Fran Brady - Town of Madison (FranBrady)
Matt Knickerbocker - Wilton (Matt Knickerbocker)
Kevin Sullivan (KevinSullivan)
Denise Raap (DeniseRaap)
Alice Kosowsky (AliceKosowsky)
Kim O'Rourke - Middletown (KimO'Rourke)
Brian Sear City of New London (BrianSear)
Katherine BrunsWest Hartford (KatherineBruns)
Jennifer Heaton-Jones - HRRA (JenniferHeaton-Jones)
Jennifer Baum-HRRA (JenniferBaum)
RheaDrozdenko
Laura Pointek - CT DEEP (LauraPointek)
Pamela Roach - SCRCOG (PamelaRoach)
Janice Ehlemeyer - RiverCOG (JaniceEhlemeyer)
Krishna Winston (KrishnaWinston)
Ed Mone - Thomaston (EdMone)
Lori Vitagliano
Courtney Lindberg - Manchester (CourtneyLindberg)
Joseph Gresko - State Representative (josephGresko)
Kaelah Smith
Lewis Dubuque
Jay Aronson
Nancy Alderman
Kevin Sullivan
Lisa Fecke
Joseph Canino
Robbie McLuckie
Mike Manfre
Mary Vihstadt

Mary Vihstadt
Andrew Droney
Josh Hughes
Susan Bush
Megan Fontes - NERC (Megan Fontes)
Denise Raap
Andrew Hackman
Gary Jones
Michael Rell
Bryan Vickers
Carlos Gutierrez
Sam Saunders
Christine O'Neill - NVCOG (Christine O'Neill)
Brian Sear
kevin spinella
Katherine Bruns
Reagan Kenney
Mallory Daley
Liz Vonnellt
Karen Weeks
Ashley Zane
Jennifer Baum
Evan Bruning
Rick
Bruce Browman
Terri Cain
Brennan Georgianni
Kellyn Lovell
Rhea Drozdenko
Kalyn Docchio
Laura Pointek
Ian McDonald
Zach Dendas
Mike Noel
Carolyn Bayne
Sarah Bloomquist
Mary Hogue
Stephanie Buka
Christopher Antonanni
Tony Manfre
Misty Beyer

Demole Deceh
Pamela Roach
Jean Speck - Kent (Jean Speck)
carl fortuna
Gaia McDermott
Tammy Thornton
Olivia Bissanti
Janice Ehlemeyer
Kris Coperine
Carol Patterson
Krishna Winston
Katie Kidalowski
Mary Ann Remolador - NERC (Mary Ann Remolador)
Lauren Kupper
Alyson Brunelli
Emma Sthuhl
Elena Bertocci
Ann Gadwah
Kathy Black
Diane Lauricella
Chris Lippke - Canterbury (chris lippke)
Delia Fey
Janice Plaziak - Guilford (Janice Plaziak)
Tom Modzelewski
Ed Mone
Stacey Leitch
Brian Popovich
Anne Schmidt
Lori Vitagliano
Gary Jamgotchian
Jay Malcynsky
Brian Sullivan
Brendan Fox
David Brown
Robert Martin
John Hall
Linda Kowalski
Dave Boomer
Brad Weeks
Gretchen Spear
Paul Catino
Lew Dubuque