Connecticut Coalition for Sustainable Materials Management Meeting

Meeting Minutes

November 15, 2022 Extended Producer Responsibility Working Group Meeting

Present: See Attachment A

Next meeting: TBD

Prepared by: Emma MacDonald, DEEP

I. Call to Order and Announcements

Meeting began at 1:01pm.

Chair Matthew Knickerbocker, Wilton's Town Administrator, provided welcoming remarks, introductions, housekeeping rules ad an overview of the Extended Producer Responsibility Working Group as part of the CCSMM initiative process.

II. Committee Reports

Jordan Wells, Director of Advocacy and Communications at the National Stewardship Action Council, presented on her work on EPR Bills in California, specifically their Battery EPR Bill.

Steve Meldrum, CEO of eTracks presented on EPR for Tires in Ontario.

Suna Bayrakal, the director of Policy and Programs of the Product Stewardship Institute, presented on Household Hazardous Waste EPR.

III. Roundtable

Members were interested in the specifics of Battery EPR in California including the path batteries take after they are collected, what lithium-ion battery recycling infrastructure exists, and education regarding new EPR programs.

Topics of discussion regarding Tire EPR included the circularity of recycled tire products, the raw materials of tires, the potential health risks of exposure to tire crumb on playgrounds, the cost of recycling agricultural tires vs. car tires, any permitting required for tire pickup from transfer stations for recycling, tire derived fuel, retreading, and biodegradability of tire materials.

Regarding Household Hazardous Waste (HHW) EPR, members discussed if HHW drop-off is required year-round in HHW EPR bills in other states.

IV. Public Comment

Members of the public were asked to use the "chat" or "raise hand" feature to indicate if they wanted to make a comment.

No comments were offered.

Chair Matthew Knickerbocker asked municipalities to send topics of interest for the next working group meetings to him, Chris Nelson, or Tom Metzner.

V. Adjournment

Meeting adjourned at 2:32pm.

The following working group meeting will be held in December. The date and topic of discussion will be determined.

Appendix A.

Abigail Ellert
Alexis Bourassa
Alice Kosowsky
Amanda Nicholson
Barry Takallou
Brad Weeks
Brenna Toman-CT DEEP (Brenna Toman)
Brian Bartram
Brian O'Connor - CCM (Brian O'Connor)
Brian Popovich
Brian Sear
Cesar Zapata - East Hartford (Cesar Zapata)
Chelsey Hahn-CT DEEP (Chelsey Hahn)
Chris Lippke - Canterbury (Chris Lippke)
Chris Nelson - CT DEEP (Chris Nelson)
Christine O'Neill
Christopher Antonacci
Cyril May
David Aldridge
David Boomer
David Brown
Denise Raap
Ed Spinella
Elly Moore - CT DEEP (Elly Moore)
Emma MacDonald CT DEEP (Emma MacDonald)
Evan Bruning
Francis Brady
Glen Mumford
Harry Nantz - CT DEEP (Harry Nantz)
Jackie Caceci
James Albis - CT DEEP (James Albis)
James Fowler
Janice EhleMeyer
Jay Aronson
Jean Cronin
Jennifer Baum - HRRA (Jennifer Baum)
Jennifer Heaton-Jones - HRRA (Jennifer Heaton-Jones)
Jennifer Perry - CT DEEP (Jennifer Perry)

Joe DeRisi - Hamden (joe DeRisi)
John Sheerin
Jordan Wells (Jordan Wells)
Joseph Canino
Joseph Gresko - State Representative (JosephGresko)
Julianna Larue
Kaelah Smith
Katherine Bruns
Kevin Spinella
Kris Coperine
Kristen Miller
Laura Pointek - CT DEEP (Laura Pointek)
Lew Dubuque
Linda Kowalski
Linda Orr
Lori Vitagliano
Luciana Granstrand - CT DEEP (Luciana Granstrand)
Mary Hogue - Sustainable Fairfield (Mary Hogue)
Mary Isaac - Trumbull Town Council/Sustainable Trumbull (Mary Isaac)
Mary Vihstadt
Matt Knickerbocker - CCSMM (Matt Knickerbocker)
Michael Looney
Mike Manfre
Mike Manfre - Glastonbury (MikeManfre)
Nicole Tomassetti
Patrick McCabe
Paul Catino
Rebecca Bunnell - Sustainable Fairfield Task Force (Rebecca Bunnell)
Richard Eldridge
Robbie McLuckie
Robyn Nichols
Sam Saunders
Sean Hughes
Stacey Leitch
Stephanie Bahramian
Steve Meldrum - CEO (Steve Meldrum)
Suna Bayrakal (Suna Bayrakal)
Susan Barney
Susan Eastwood
SusanSchott
Tammy Thornton - Wilton Go Green (Tammy Thornton)

Tom Metzner, CT DEEP (Tom Metzner)	
Tracy Babbidge - CT DEEP (Tracy Babbidge)	
Virginia Walton	