

STATE OF CONNECTICUT

Board of Examiners of Environmental Professionals

Board Members:
Denise Ruzicka, PE, Chairman
John Adams, LEP
Michelle Gamache
Robert F. Good, Jr., LEP
Stephen Holtman PE, LEP
Jeffrey Loureiro, PE, LEP
Kelly Meloy, LEP
Elsie Patton
Alisa Phillips-Griggs
Carol Violette, PhD, CHMM

MINUTES

State Board of Examiners of Environmental Professionals

Regular Meeting – July 13, 2017

A. Call to Order and Sign-In

A regular meeting of the State Board of Examiners of Environmental Professionals ("the Board") was called to order on Wednesday, July 13, 2017 at 9:36 AM in the Russell Hearing Room on the 3rd floor, 79 Elm Street, Hartford, by Chair D. Ruzicka. Board members J. Adams, A. Phillips-Griggs, K. Meloy (phone), J. Loureiro, R. Good (phone), E. Patton and M. Gamache were present. Board Administrator K. Maiorano, David Wrinn from the Attorneys General Office, Mike Cote representing the EPOC and Jacques Gilbert of DEEP were present.

B. Reading and Approval of the Minutes

The draft minutes of the Regular Board meeting of June 8, 2017 were read and approved with minor corrections; motion by J. Loureiro, seconded by A. Phillips-Griggs, passed unanimously.

C. <u>Public Participation</u>

Mike Cote reported that the EPOC Board has posted a position paper regarding the Declaratory Ruling recently made by the Department concerning various RSR components. He described EPOC's concerns including the role of an LEP in meeting regulatory guidance. He was hoping the Board may provide clarification on a number of issues addressed in the ruling.

D. Unfinished Business and General Orders

Update on complaint #15-101- Proposed Consent Order

Attorney Wrinn reported to the Board that the proposed Consent Order had been signed by the LEP and the letter of reprimand was acceptable to the LEP. Attorney Wrinn indicated that the Letter of reprimand would require some additional wordsmithing for use in future disciplinary matters. J. Adams and E. Patton provided a summary of the requirements placed on the LEP by the consent order, and the reasons for the disciplinary actions. A redacted copy of the consent order was provided to the Board members. On a motion by J.

Loureiro and seconded by M. Gamache to forward the Consent order to the Commissioner for a signature, passed unanimously with J. Adams and E. Patton abstaining.

Update on complaint #17-101

R. Good and K. Meloy are reviewing reports associated with the complaint.

Update on renewals

K. Maiorano reported that 23 were admitted to the exam. Twelve applicants passed the exam of which one person was a repeat examinee. Ten individuals failed the exam including 3 repeat examinees. One person did not show up for the exam.

Last year there were 362 LEPs. Fourteen LEPs chose not to renew their licenses, and twelve new LEPs were admitted, resulting in 360 LEPs on the 2017-2018 Roster.

Item Development September 27th and Test Assembly November 1st

J. Adams volunteered for Test Assembly, J. Loureiro for Item Development. Still need additional volunteers.

E. New Business

Course Approvals

Course approval request from AEHS Foundation for conference titled "33rd Annual International Conference on Soils, Sediments, Water & Energy" for CECs. On a motion by J. Adams, seconded by M. Gamache, passed unanimously that workshops would receive one hour of credit for each hour of attendance and the conference sessions would receive one half hour of credit for each hour of attendance, except for the following workshops and sessions that will not receive credit:

- Session 8: State and Local Government Strategies for Reducing Climate Impacts
- Session 10: Advancing Clean Energy Economy in Massachusetts
- Session 14: Sustainable Remediation

Ruling on Antea Petition

E. Patton provided a summary on how the RSRs intended to develop alternative criteria for GWPC, SWPC and Volatilization.

Further discussion was tabled until the next meeting for discussion.

Next meeting is August 10, 2017 at 9:30AM.

F. Adjournment

Chair Ruzicka declared the meeting adjourned at 10:50 AM.

Minutes were approved on September 14, 2017.

Respectfully submitted,

John E. Adams Board Secretary