# Connecticut Bottle Bill Advisory Group Meeting

## **Meeting Minutes**

July 24, 2023 1:00pm via ZOOM

Present: See Attachment A

Next meeting: Monday, August 21 at 1:00pm via ZOOM

Prepared by: Elizabeth Moore, DEEP

#### I. Call to Order and Announcements

The meeting started at 1:00PM.

Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection (DEEP) Commissioner Katie Dykes provided welcoming remarks.

#### **II.** Committee Reports

James Albis, Director of the Office of Policy and Planning, Bureau of Materials Management and Compliance Assurance, DEEP described logistics and the purpose of the advisory group in meeting regularly to receive updates and provide input on DEEP's implementation of its responsibilities under Public Act 21-58.

Mike Noel, Director of Public Affairs, TOMRA presented on a recent cyber-attack that has directly impacted some of the data systems at TOMRA. He shared steps TOMRA is taking to mitigate any disruption to the system and noted that payments to retailers and redemption centers may be affected until all systems are back online. Noel shared contact information and noted that general updates on the progress made following the cyber-attack are posted regularly on TOMRA.com.

Chris Nelson, Supervising Environmental Analyst, DEEP and Laura Pointek, Environmental Analyst, DEEP presented a history and overview of the current state of the Connecticut Bottle Bill as modified by Public Act 21-58.

#### III. Roundtable and Public Comment

James Albis asked for feedback from attendees and worked with other DEEP staff to answer verbal questions and those written in the ZOOM chat box.

Attendees asked questions about TOMRA's payment system for redemption centers and the safety and security of consumer data following the recent cyber-attack.

Other questions focused on miniature liquor bottle fees and noted some exemplary municipalities using the funding from the five-cent surcharge on miniatures for various environmental efforts. Representative Joseph Gresko noted the Connecticut Council on Environmental Quality is reviewing how municipalities spend the funding.

Participants asked about DEEP's enforcement efforts and how much information DEEP receives related to the deposit system. Others asked about DEEP's ability to track what containers are being recycled outside of the deposit system.

Many participants discussed the need for greater public education and communication campaigns related to the Bottle Bill, particularly regarding the beverages covered by the law and the upcoming change in deposit. Education-related questions centered on efforts the department will take to implement a more robust and creative public education campaign. Some participants offered suggestions like seeking assistance from industry, redemption centers, and legislators.

DEEP encouraged feedback on the advisory group and asked for any suggestions for future meeting topics. One participant suggested a discussion regarding a container database.

#### IV. Adjournment

James Albis closed the meeting and noted that any thoughts related to the topics discussed and any future meeting topics may be sent to James Albis at <u>james.albis@ct.gov</u>, Chris Nelson at <u>chris.nelson@ct.gov</u>, or the <u>DEEP.MMCAPlanning@ct.gov</u> email address.

The next meeting will be held on Monday, August 21 at 1:00pm. The planned topic is preparing for the deposit increase to 10 cents.

### Attachment A.

First Name Last Name
Elizabeth Moore
NBC CT
Patrick Callahan

Aundre Bumgardner

Kevin Ryan Greg Jankura David Michel Jude Malone Linda Kowalski Jean Cronin diane keefe Sarah Keitt David Rutigliano

Kathy Norwood Heather Somers Franklin Perry II Melissa Leonard Zane Ashley Sean Hughes Krishna Winston Rachel Khanna paul aresta Andrew Perham Laura Pointek

Donna Hamzy Carroccia

Lucy Dathan Peggy Diaz

Donald McCalman

Maria Horn Chris Calabrese aronson jay Kenneth Przybysz Mike Noel Jeff Myjak Lauricella Diane Peter Gallo

Mike Manfre

Mitch Bolinsky Tracy Babbidge Rocky Gallo Kathy Kennedy Theresa Christenson Kevin Spinella Viola Jacobs Jeffrey Caggiano Andrew Ginsburg Kevin Reynolds Pamela Roach Hillary Glass Thomas Weik Jonathan Ayala william malitsky Cecelia Drayton Brenda Sisco Nicole Griffin Rick Genovese James Paolino CJ Kowaleski Adam Salina Michael Rell Alexis Bourassa David Kozak Cassie Folk Rosa Kristyn Joseph Gresko chris lippke Ross Hollander David McBride wayne pesce Margaux Gingras Julie Cammarata Dr Bud McAllister Sandra Grance Joseph DeNicola Mara Shulman Gauravi Saini Susannah Smith Molly Mulligan

James Toner
Christine O'Neill
Doug Bedard
Alissa Wesche
Mark Zessin
David Aldridge
Jen Heaton-Jones

John Bailey Patrick Grasso Beth Milligan Tony Manfre Hogue Mary John Cottell Julia Pemberton Shahil Kantesaria Conrad Cutler stan gormley Jennifer Amundsen Michael Johnson Persico Tracy Kelly Colvin Tiffany Moseley Janica Jesson Chris Phelps Kevin Kranzler Karmina Fefferman Susan Johnson Josh Hughes Peter Wilcox Edith Pestana Roark Levine Lentini Joe Eric Filardi

Courtney Raodsavljevic

Canino

Craig

EhleMeyer

Joe

Janice

Lauren

Jennifer Perry
Elizabeth Peterson
ROBYN NICHOLS
Elaine Sistare

Tiffany Moseley David Fleming Mike Smaha Sue Citron Nuccio Tammy Chris Nelson Allen Holcomb James Albis

The Connecticut Network The Connecticut (CT-N) Network (CT-N)

Katie Dykes
Andrew Droney
John Vamos
Caroline Slettedahl
my Morrin Bello

Katherine Bruns Susan Bush

Carrie Rand-Anastasiades

Edward Reagan Vickers Bryan Anthony Nolan Will Healey Ethan Werstler Brian Popovich Stephen Downes Steve Downes Megan Siegel Samantha Davis

Daniel Pestrichello Rachel Schnabel Rachel Rooney Sen. Joan Hartley Steven Gomes Joyce Mikita Gabrielle Frigon Tom Metzner Reagan Kenney Sarah Huang Harrison Nantz Toman Brenna gena parker

scarpelli megan Vannahme Adrian David McKeegan Gary Turco Ken Friesen Brendan Schain Kirsten Witt Sally Davies Mitch Bolinsky kerry brown Robert Isner Melissa Ziobron Rick Lopes Christopher Antonacci Hillary Glass Bhargav Patel Paul Catino Ryan Bingham Partick Grasso Doris Johnson

Humphrey

Amedeo