### Instructions on How to Complete an Application for the Registration of Pesticides for the State of Connecticut

Pursuant to section 22a-48 of the Connecticut General Statutes, every pesticide which is distributed, sold or offered for sale in Connecticut must be registered by the Department of Energy and Environmental Protection (DEEP). New products are registered for 1 year and will go into renewal annually. Applications submitted October 1st or later will be registered through the following year for their initial registration.

# **New Product Registration**

New product registration applications must be submitted electronically using the State of Connecticut's on-line registration system. **PLEASE READ THESE INSTRUCTIONS CAREFULLY AND IN THEIR ENTIRETY BEFORE LOGGING ON.** Once you have logged in, the system will provide instructions on how to proceed through the submittal process. You will be required to upload all required supporting documents and registration fees can be paid using a credit card or e-check. The registration fee is non-refundable. If your application is found to be deficient, you will be notified of the deficiency via e-mail and will have 30 days from the date of the notification to respond. If you do not provide the missing information within 30 days of the notice, your application will be denied and you will be required to submit a new application and registration fee. You will receive an e-mail when the processing of your application is complete.

When completing your on-line registration application:

a. Registration of various colors, scents, package sizes/counts and fertilizer guarantees for the same product isn't required. When entering the product name, you must indicate that there are various sizes, counts, etc., for the product. For example: "Disinfectant Spray (Various Scents)". However, you must upload a label for each of the various scents; and

b. When uploading labels on-line, EPA stamped labels are not required unless specifically requested.

# Additional Information

Confidential statements of formula and additional data on new active ingredients may be required. If requested, you will provide this information separately from the on-line registration system. Trade secrets are exempt from freedom of information disclosure, so clearly mark any such information confidential.

# Additional Brand Names

Additional brand names (ABN) must be registered separately and are subject to the registration fee.

Exempt (25b) Pesticide Products

Pesticides exempt from federal registration under section 25(b) of the Federal Insecticide, Fungicide, and Rodenticide Act must be registered in Connecticut. Additional information on the registration of 25(b) can be found <u>here</u>. A state tracking number will be assigned to your product. However, this number will not need to appear on the product label.

#### **Registration Fee**

The registration fee is \$188 per product per year and is billed on a five-year cycle. The registration fee can be paid on-line using a credit card or e-check and is non-refundable. If you discontinue a product within the 5 year registration period, you will receive a pro-rated refund. Remember: Various colors, scents, package sizes/counts and fertilizer guarantees for the same product are not subject to the registration fee.

### DO NOT REGISTER A NEW ACCOUNT THE FIRST TIME YOU ACCESS THE ON-LINE SYSTEM. YOUR COMPANY ALREADY HAS AN ACCOUNT. YOU SIMPLY NEED TO LOG IN USING THE USERNAME AND PASSWORD PROVIDED IN THE WELCOME E-MAIL.

If you are a company registering your first product in Connecticut see section titled 'New Registrant'.