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Pit Stops Fact Sheet    

 
  
Reporting of Oil, Gas and Chemical Spills  

 
Legal Requirements  
In Connecticut, any oil or petroleum product, chemical or waste that is released in any manner 
constitutes a spill [CGS Section 22a-450].  Spills also include gasoline overflows and leaks from 
underground and above ground tanks.  

Legal References 

• Report of Discharge, Any and Immediate -  CGS 22a-450 
• Responsibility, Strict Liability - CGS 22a-451 
• Clean-up must be performed by a permitted spill contractor - CGS 22a-454 

What Immediate Actions Should be Taken? 
In case of a spill, stop the flow, contain the spill, call 911, report the spill to DEEP (see below), 
and then report to the National Response Center if necessary (see below).  
 
When Should a Spill be Reported to the DEEP? 
In Connecticut, a release of oil or petroleum product, any chemical, or waste, must be reported to 
DEEP.  The party causing the spill or pollution and the property owner are responsible for: 

 Immediately reporting the spill to DEEP’s Emergency Response and Spill Prevention 
Division at 860-424-3338 or 866-DEP-SPIL, and beginning the appropriate containment and 
cleanup efforts, which must be performed by a licensed contractor [CGS Section 22a-454]. The 
telephone number is staffed 24-hours/7 days a week. If these numbers are unavailable for any 
reason, call 860-424-3333. 

 Information that will be asked is as follows:  
• location;  
• quantity and type of substance, material or waste;  
• date and the cause of the incident;  
• name and address of the owner; and  
• name and address of the person making the report and his relationship to the owner.  
 

 Connecticut law establishes what is called “strict liability” for spills of most pollutants into 
the environment.  This means that the person or business causing the spill and the owner of 
the property where the pollution occurred is financially responsible for clean up, regardless 
of fault.  All spills must be reported and dealt with quickly. 

 

Note:  Unless specifically requested, 
DEEP does not require a written 
submission when reporting a spill.  
More on reporting requirements.   

 

 Spill Reporting 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_446k.htm#sec_22a-450
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_446k.htm#sec_22a-451
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_446k.htm#sec_22a-454
https://portal.ct.gov/-/media/DEEP/waste_management_and_disposal/transporters_and_facilities/DEEP-Spill-Cleanup-Contractor-List.pdf
https://portal.ct.gov/DEEP/Emergency-Response-and-Spill-Prevention/Spill-Reporting/Reporting-Requirements-for-Spill-Incidents
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When Should an Oil Spill be Reported to the Federal Government?  

Section 311 of the Clean Water Act disallows the discharge of oil into or upon the navigable 
waters of the United States, their adjoining shorelines, or where natural resources may be 
affected [33 USC 1321, 40 CFR 110].  
 
You must report an oil spill to the National Response Center at 800-424-8802 if the: 

1. spill is to navigable waters or the adjoining shoreline, or 
2. water quality standards could be violated, or 
3. spill causes a sheen or discoloration, or 
4. spill causes a sludge or emulsion. 

 
 
When Should a Hazardous Chemical Spill be Reported to the Federal 
Government?  
You must report a hazardous chemical spill to the National Response Center at 800-424-8802 if 
the release could threaten human health off the property. 
The facility owner or operator is also required to provide a written follow-up emergency notice 
as soon as practicable after the release. The follow-up notice or notices must: 

 Update information include in the initial notice, and 
 Provide information on actual response actions taken and advice regarding medical 

attention necessary for exposed individuals. 
 
What Should I Do After the Spill is Over? 
Once the spill has been contained and response is completed as directed by DEEP, properly 
containerize and dispose of any spill cleanup residues.  See Appendix A for more information. 

 
Did you know?   
In the case of spill, if needed, DEEP will give the responsible party the opportunity 
to hire a licensed environmental contractor.  If the responsible party does not make 
proper arrangements, DEEP may make direct arrangements for the clean-up and 

seek recovery of state funds later.    
 
 
DISCLAIMER: This guidance is a tool to help you evaluate compliance at your facility.  It is not a 
complete list of all regulations and requirements that may apply to your business. You are responsible for 
knowing and complying with all updated applicable state, federal, local and tribal requirements. Please be 
aware that environmental laws and regulations, as well as process technology may have changed 
significantly since these were published.  Please do not rely on them for current information, but rather to 
provide background information. 
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