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Declaration of Regulation Change 24-04 
 

Under the authority of section 26-159a-22 of the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies 

(RCSA), the Commissioner of Energy and Environmental Protection (Commissioner) is 

authorized to establish or adjust, by declaration, length limits, creel limits, trip limits and trip limit 

adjustment values in order to comply with interstate fishery management plans adopted by the 

Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission or the U.S. Department of Commerce. 

Under authority of Section 26-102 of the Connecticut General Statutes (CGS), the Commissioner 

is authorized to establish prescribed conditions for the operations of commercial fishing activity 

for any regulated species threatened with undue depletion. 

In accordance with the aforementioned authorities, the following sections of departmental 

regulations are amended in this Declaration. 

26-142a-8a.  Species restrictions 

26-159a-8. Winter flounder 

26-159a-9. Bluefish (Pomatomus saltatrix) 

26-159a-10. Summer flounder (Paralichthys dentatus) 

26-159a-13. Tautog (Blackfish) (Tautoga onitis) 

26-159a-15. Scup (porgy) (Stenotomus chrysops 

26-159a-16. Black sea bass (Centropristis striata) 

26-159a-19. Spiny dogfish (Squalus acanthius) 

 

In addition, this Declaration establishes regulatory measures for commercial fishing of Atlantic 

menhaden and weakfish, as well as regulatory measures for commercial and recreational fishing 

of Jonah crab. 

 

This declaration supersedes Declaration 24-02 with no changes to prevailing rules, shall be 

effective 10 days after signing, and shall remain in effect for 120 days or until amended or 

superseded by subsequent action. 

 
 

 

____________________________________8/16/2024 

Katherine S. Dykes   Date 

Commissioner 
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26-142a-8a. Species restrictions 

(b) Minimum Legal Length. No person shall possess any fish taken by any commercial 

fishing gear or for commercial purposes less than the lengths specified below measured 

from the tip of the snout to the end of the tail and, notwithstanding section 26-159a-4 of 

the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies, no person shall buy, sell, offer for sale or 

possess in a place where fish are offered for sale, any of said species less than the minimum 

legal length stated herein. 

(1) Atlantic tomcod (frostfish) (Microgadus tomcod) - 7 inches 

(2) Tautog (blackfish) (Tautoga onitis) - 14 16 inches 

(3) Scup (porgy) (Stenotomus chrysops) - 9 inches 

(4) Black sea bass (Centropristis striata) - 11 inches 

(5) Winter flounder (Pseudopleuronectes americanus) - 12 inches 

(6) Bluefish (Pomatomus saltatrix) - 9 inches 

(7) Summer flounder (fluke) (Paralichthys dentatus) - 14 inches 

(8) Atlantic cod (Gadus morhua) - [22 inches] as specified in 50 CFR § 648.83(a) 

(9) Weakfish (Cynoscion regalis) - 16 inches 

(10) Yellowtail flounder (Pleuronectes ferrugineus) - [13 inches] as specified in 50 

CFR § 648.83(a) 

(11) Haddock (Melanogrammus aeglefinus) - [22 inches] as specified in 50 CFR § 

648.83(a) 

(12) Pollock (Pollachius virens) - [19 inches] as specified in 50 CFR § 648.83(a) 

(13) Witch flounder (Glyptocephalus cynoglossus) - [14 inches] as specified in 50 CFR 

§ 648.83(a) 

(14) American plaice (Hippoglossoides platessoides) - [14 inches] as specified in 50 

CFR § 648.83(a) 

(15) Redfish (Sebastes marinus) - [9 inches] as specified in 50 CFR § 648.83(a) 

(16) American eel (Anguilla rostrata): 9 inches 

Any of said species less than the minimum legal length taken by any commercial fishing 

gear shall, without avoidable injury, be returned immediately to the water from which 

taken. No person on board any vessel engaged in commercial fishing or landing species 

taken by commercial fishing gear shall possess any summer flounder fillet less than the 

minimum total length for the species unless the carcass of the fish from which the fillet 

was removed has been retained and meets the minimum length. This subsection shall not 

be construed to prevent filleting of fish on shore or at the dockside. 

 

26-159a-8. Winter flounder: modified by the addition of the following specifications. 

(a) Commercial Fishery Possession Limit. 
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(1)  No person engaged in commercial fishing shall possess or 

land winter flounder in excess of 50 pounds or 38 fish, unless such fish were taken 

in federal waters under a federal commercial fisheries northeast multispecies 

permit. 

(2) The possession and landings limits specified in subdivision (1) of this subsection 

shall apply to the vessel, regardless of how many persons are on board. Possession 

and landing limits shall apply per trip or per day, whichever is the longer period of 

time. Transfer of winter flounder between vessels at sea is prohibited. In any 

instance when there is a violation of the possession limit on board a vessel carrying 

more than one person when the catch is commingled, the violation shall be deemed 

to have been committed by the owner of the vessel, or the operator of the vessel, if 

the owner is not on board. 

(3) Any winter flounder taken contrary to this section shall, without avoidable injury, 

be returned immediately to the water from which taken. 

26-159a-9. Bluefish (Pomatomus saltatrix): subsections (c) Open Commercial Fishing Season 

and (d) Commercial Fishery Possession Limit are superseded by the following specifications. 

 (c) Open Commercial Fishing Season. The open commercial fishing season begins January 

1st each year and ends December 31st or such sooner date as one hundred percent of the 

Connecticut quota of bluefish as set forth in subsection (e) of this section has been landed. 

(d) Commercial Fishery Possession Limit. 

(1) No person engaged in commercial fishing shall possess or land bluefish in excess 

of the following possession limits that are based on Connecticut’s annual bluefish 

quota specified in the Bluefish Fishery Management Plan of the Atlantic States 

Marine Fisheries Commission: 

 (A) during the winter one period defined herein as the period between January 

1 and April 30, inclusive, the possession and landing limit shall be 800 

pounds, except as provided in subparagraphs (D), (E) and (F) of this 

subdivision, and the period target quota shall be 33% of Connecticut’s 

annual quota, cumulatively; 

(B) during the summer period defined herein as the period between May 1 and 

October 31, inclusive, the possession limit shall be 800 pounds, except as 

provided in subparagraphs (D), (E) and (F) of this subdivision, and the 

period target quota shall be 84% of Connecticut’s annual quota, 

cumulatively; 

(C) during the winter two period defined herein as the period between 

November 1 and December 31, inclusive, the possession limit shall be 800 

pounds, except as provided in subparagraphs (D), (E) and (F) of this  

subdivision, and the period target quota shall be 100% of Connecticut’s 

annual quota, cumulatively; 

(D) during each period the department shall monitor weekly landings and may 

periodically adjust the possession limit if less than or more than the period 
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target quota specified in subparagraphs (A), (B) and (C) of this 

subdivision is projected to be landed. Except as provided in subparagraph 

(E) of this subdivision, the adjusted possession limit shall be calculated as 

(Q / T / W), rounded to the nearest 100 pounds, where Q is the amount of 

Connecticut’s annual quota remaining in the period and T is the projected 

number of fishing trips per week landing bluefish during the weeks 

remaining in the period and W is the number of weeks remaining in the 

period; 

(E) the possession limit shall not exceed 1,500 pounds at any time. 

(F) when 100% of Connecticut’s annual quota is landed the possession limit 

shall be zero pounds. 

(2) The possession limits specified in subdivision (1) of this subsection shall apply to 

the vessel, regardless of how many persons are on board. Possession limits shall 

apply per trip or per day whichever is the longer period of time. Transfer of bluefish 

between vessels at sea is prohibited. In any instance when there is a violation of the 

possession limit on board a vessel carrying more than one person when the catch is 

commingled, the violation shall be deemed to have been committed by the owner 

of the vessel, or the operator of the vessel, if the owner is not on board. 

(3) Any bluefish taken contrary to this section shall, without avoidable injury, be 

returned immediately to the water from which taken. 

26-159a-10. Summer flounder (Paralichthys dentatus): subsection (c) Commercial Fishery 

Possession Limit is superseded by the following specifications. 

 (c) Summer Flounder Commercial Fishery Possession Limit. 

(1) No person engaged in commercial fishing shall possess or land summer flounder in 

excess of the following possession limits that are based on Connecticut’s annual 

summer flounder quota specified in the Summer Flounder Fishery Management 

Plan of the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission: 

(A) during the winter one period defined herein as the period between January 

1 and April 30, inclusive, the possession and landing limit shall be 500 

pounds per bi-weekly period, except as provided in subparagraphs (D) and 

(E) of this subdivision, and the period target quota shall be 20% of 

Connecticut’s annual quota. If the period target quota is met before April 

30, the possession limit shall be 50 pounds; 

(B) during the summer period defined herein as the period between May 1 and 

October 31, inclusive, the possession limit shall be 150 pounds, except as 

provided in subparagraphs (D) and (E) of this subdivision, and the period 

target quota shall be 95% of Connecticut’s annual quota, cumulatively; 

(C) during the winter two period defined herein as the period between 

November 1 and December 31, inclusive, the possession limit shall be 250 

pounds per weekly period, except as provided in subparagraph (D) of this 
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subdivision, and the period target quota shall be 100% of 

Connecticut’s annual quota, cumulatively; 

(D) during each period the department shall monitor weekly landings and 

periodically adjust the possession limit if less than or more than the period 

target quota specified in subparagraphs (A), (B), and (C) of this subdivision 

is projected to be landed. The adjusted possession limit shall be calculated 

as (Q / T / W), rounded to the nearest 25 pounds, where Q is the amount of 

Connecticut’s annual quota remaining in the period and T is the projected 

number of fishing trips per week landing summer flounder during the weeks 

remaining in the period and W is the number of weeks remaining in the 

period; 

(E) when 100% of Connecticut’s annual quota is landed the possession limit 

shall be zero pounds. 

(2) The possession limits specified in subdivision (1) of this subsection shall apply to 

the vessel, regardless of how many persons are on board. Possession limits shall 

apply per trip or per day whichever is the longer period of time. Transfer of summer 

flounder between vessels at sea is prohibited. In any instance when there is a 

violation of the possession limit on board a vessel carrying more than one person 

when the catch is commingled, the violation shall be deemed to have been 

committed by the owner of the vessel, or the operator of the vessel, if the owner is 

not on board. 

(3) Any summer flounder taken contrary to this section shall, without avoidable injury, 

be returned immediately to the water from which taken. 

(4) When a weekly landing or possession limit specified in subdivision (1) of this 

subsection is in effect, no person engaged in commercial fishing shall possess or 

land summer flounder more than the stated weekly limit during each weekly period 

that begins Sunday morning at 0001 hours and ends the following Saturday night 

at 2359 hours. 

(5) When a biweekly landing or possession limit specified in subdivision (1) of this 

subsection is in effect, no person engaged in commercial fishing shall possess or 

land summer flounder more than the stated biweekly limit during each two-week 

period that begins Sunday morning at 0001 hours and ends on the following second 

Saturday night at 2359 hours. 

(6) When a weekly or biweekly landing or possession limit specified in subdivision (1) 

of this subsection is in effect, the commercial fishing vessel operator shall: (A) prior 

to departure on any trip in which summer flounder will be possessed, inform the 

Department Energy and Environmental Protection Environmental Conservation 

Police of the vessel’s departure and provide information that shall include, but not 

be limited to, the vessel’s name, vessel operator’s name, departure date and time, 

estimated return date and time and the port of landing, (B) at least two hours prior 

to landing summer flounder inform the Environmental Conservation Police of the 

vessel’s name, vessel operator’s name, port of landing, and estimated weight of 

summer flounder on board. 
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26-159a-13. Tautog (Blackfish) (Tautoga onitis): superseded 

by the following specifications. 

 (a) Closed Season. No person engaged in commercial fishing shall possess or land any tautog, 

wherever taken, except from April 1 to April 30, July 1 to August 31, and October 8 to 

December 24, all dates inclusive. 

(b) Commercial Fishery Possession Limit. No person engaged in commercial fishing shall 

possess or land tautog in excess of the following possession limits that are based on 

Connecticut’s annual tautog target harvest limit adopted under Amendment 1 to the 

Tautog Fishery Management Plan of the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission. 

(1)  The possession limit shall be 10 fish for a person engaged in commercial fishing 

under a limited access license issued by the Commissioner. 

(2) The possession limit shall be 3 fish for a person engaged in commercial fishing 

under either a restricted commercial fishing license or a restricted lobster pot 

fishing license issued by the Commissioner. 

(3)  The possession and landing limits specified in this subsection shall apply to the 

vessel, regardless of how many persons are on board. Possession and landing 

limits shall apply per trip or per day, whichever is the longer period of time. No 

person shall transfer tautog between vessels at sea. In any instance when there is a 

violation of the possession limit on board a vessel carrying more than one person 

when the catch is commingled, the violation shall be deemed to have been 

committed by the owner of the vessel, or the operator of the vessel, if the owner is 

not on board. 

(4) At any time when 100% of the annual target harvest limit is landed the possession 

limit shall be zero pounds. 

(5)  Any tautog taken contrary to this section shall, without avoidable injury, be 

returned immediately to the water from which taken. 

(c) Commercial Tautog Tagging Program. Any person engaging in commercial fishing for 

tautog or possessing tautog with the intent to sell, barter, or trade tautog must abide by 

the following provisions for commercial tautog tagging adopted under Amendment 1 to 

the Tautog Fishery Management Plan of the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries 

Commission. 

(1) No person engaged in commercial fishing may land or offload tautog without first 

affixing a commercial tautog tag issued by the Department of Energy and 

Environmental Protection (department) to the left opercula bone (gill plate) of all 

tautog to be landed or offloaded, such that the identifying number on the 

commercial tag is clearly visible. 

(2) Commercial fishermen may only land or offload tautog affixed with commercial 

tautog tags issued by the department during the same calendar year as the landing 

or offloading event. 

(3) No tautog shall be sold, purchased, bartered, or traded in Connecticut unless it 

bears a commercial tautog tag as defined in Amendment 1 to the Tautog Fishery 

Management Plan of the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission. 

(4) No person shall transfer commercial tautog tags between individuals or fish. 
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(5) Any person issued commercial tautog tags by the 

department in any calendar year must return any unused tags and submit a report 

of tag use to the department by February 15 of the following calendar year. 

Failure by any person to return unused tags, submit required reports, or account 

for disposition of tags issued previously may result in loss of future privilege to 

obtain commercial tautog tags. 

(6) Any tautog tagged with a commercial tautog tag must remain tagged until it 

reaches the final consumer. Processed or fileted tautog shall be packed with the 

commercial tautog tag originally affixed to that tautog. Tags must be retained 

with processed or fileted tautog and be available for inspection until the processed 

or fileted tautog is sold to the final consumer.  

26-159a-15. Scup (porgy) (Stenotomus chrysops): subsections (b) Commercial Fishing 

Moratorium and (c) Commercial Fishery Possession Limits are superseded by the 

following specifications. 

 (b) Commercial Fishing Moratorium. 

(1) From May 1 through September 30 inclusive, no holder of a license or registration 

issued under authority of Section 26-142a of the Connecticut General Statutes shall 

possess, or shall have possessed scup unless said person: 

(A) is in immediate possession of a 2003 Scup License Endorsement Letter for 

Connecticut Waters, herein referred to as the “2003 Scup License 

Endorsement Letter,” issued by the Commissioner pursuant to this section 

which attests that: 

(i) the license holder held a 1997 Scup License Endorsement Letter or 

a 1994 Summer Flounder License Endorsement Letter as specified 

in subsection (a) of section 26-159a-10 of the Regulations of 

Connecticut State Agencies and made qualifying landings during the 

qualifying period and reported said landings to the department in 

accordance with section 26-157b-1 of the Regulations of 

Connecticut State Agencies; or 

(ii) the vessel owner held a 1997 Scup License Endorsement Letter or a 

1994 Summer Flounder License Endorsement Letter as specified in 

subsection (a) of section 26-159a-10 of the Regulations of 

Connecticut State Agencies and purchased, or was constructing or 

rerigging a commercial fishing vessel between January 1, 2000 and 

May 31, 2003 for purposes of fishing with qualifying fishing  gear, 

to be based on more than one form of verifiable written proof of 

such activity, provided said vessel owner has or will have made and 

reported qualifying landings with that vessel no later than 12 months 

immediately succeeding the effective date of this regulation; or 

(iii) the vessel owner held a 1997 Scup License Endorsement Letter or a 

1994 Summer Flounder License Endorsement Letter as specified in 

subsection (a) of section 26-159a-10 of the Regulations of 
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Connecticut State Agencies and an operator of that vessel made 

qualifying landings with the vessel during the qualifying period and 

said landings were reported to the department in accordance with 

section 26-157b-1 of the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies; 

or 

(iv) the license holder is the recipient of a license transferred under 

section 26-142b of the Connecticut General Statutes, such license 

was transferred with a 1997 or 2003 Scup License Endorsement 

Letter issued under this section or a 1994 or 2003 Summer Flounder 

License Endorsement Letter issued under section 26-159a-10 of the 

Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies, and such license holder 

made qualifying landings during the qualifying period and reported 

said landings to the department in accordance with section 26-157b-

1 of the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies or has or will 

have made and reported qualifying landings in the 12 months 

immediately succeeding the date of the license transfer, whichever 

is later; or 

(B) is operating a vessel owned by a license holder who has qualified for an 

endorsement letter under subparagraph (A) of subdivision (1) of this 

subsection. During the operation of such vessel, said endorsement letter 

shall remain on such vessel as authorization of the operator to possess scup 

and shall not be used to authorize the possession of scup on any additional 

vessel, except that said license holder shall be allowed to use said 

endorsement letter to authorize possession of scup on any vessel said license 

holder owned prior to January 1, 1997 and that said license holder still 

owns; or 

(C) is engaged in the hauling of lobster pots under the authority of section 26-

142a of the Connecticut General Statutes and is in possession of lobsters; 

or 

(D) is engaged in commercial fishing under a restricted commercial fishing 

license issued by the Commissioner under authority of Section 26-142a of 

the Connecticut General Statutes. 

(2) 2003 Scup License Endorsement Letters will automatically be issued without 

application. Any person who does not receive a 2003 Scup License Endorsement 

Letter, or is denied said endorsement letter, may appeal in writing to the 

Commissioner. The only grounds for appeal is that the Commissioner erred in 

concluding that the license holder did not meet the criteria in subclause (i), (ii), (iii) 

or (iv) of subparagraph (A) of subdivision (1) of this subsection. 

(3) No person shall take scup with a trawl net if the qualifying landings for which the 

2003 Scup License Endorsement Letter was issued and under which that person is 

fishing did not indicate the taking of summer flounder or scup by trawl net. 

(4) No person who has transferred a commercial fishing license according to the 

provisions of section 26-142b of the Connecticut General Statutes, with an 
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endorsement letter issued under this section, shall qualify for a 

2003 Scup License Endorsement Letter based on the landings history for which the 

transferred endorsement letter was issued. 

(c) Commercial Fishery Possession and Landing Limits. 

(1) No person engaged in commercial fishing shall possess or land scup in excess of 

the following possession limits that are based on the coastwide scup quota and 

Connecticut’s summer period scup quota as specified in the Scup Fishery 

Management Plan of the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission: 

(A) during the winter one period defined herein as the period between January 

1 and April 30, both dates inclusive, the possession limit shall be the same 

as the federal waters possession limit for this period as specified by NOAA;  

(B) during the summer period defined herein as the period between May 1 and 

September 30, both dates inclusive, the possession limit shall be 2,000 

pounds except as provided in subparagraph (D) of this subdivision, and the 

period target quota shall be 100% of Connecticut’s summer period quota; 

(C)  during the winter two period defined herein as the period between October 

1 and December 31, both dates inclusive, the possession limit shall be the 

same as the federal waters possession limit for this period as specified by 

NOAA; 

(D) during the summer period the department shall monitor landings weekly and 

periodically adjust the possession limit if less than or more than 100% of 

Connecticut’s summer period quota is projected to be landed. The adjusted 

possession limit shall be calculated as (Q / T / W), rounded to the nearest 

50 pounds, where Q is the amount of Connecticut’s summer period quota 

remaining and T is the projected number of fishing trips per week landing 

scup during the weeks remaining in the period and W is the number of 

weeks remaining in the period, except that: 

(i)  in the lobster pot fishery when in possession of lobsters, the 

possession limit shall be 10 fish; 

(ii) a person engaged in commercial fishing under a restricted 

commercial fishing license issued by the Commissioner, but not in 

possession of a quota managed species endorsement for scup, the 

possession limit shall be the lesser of 100 fish or ten percent of the 

adjusted possession limit as calculated by the department in this 

subparagraph, expressed in equivalent numbers of fish and rounded 

to the nearest 10 fish;  

(iii)  at any time during the summer period, when 100% of Connecticut’s 

summer period quota is landed the possession limit shall be zero 

pounds for all gear types. 

(2) The possession and landing limits specified in subdivision (1) of this subsection 

shall apply to the vessel, regardless of how many persons are on board. Possession 

limits shall apply per trip or per day, whichever is the longer period of time. No 

https://www.facebook.com/CTDEEP/
https://twitter.com/CTDEEPNews
https://www.instagram.com/ct.deep/
https://www.youtube.com/ctdeepvideos
https://www.linkedin.com/company/ctdeep


 
 

 
 

79 Elm Street 

Hartford, CT 06106-5127 

860.424.3000 

An Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer 

            

 

portal.ct.gov/DEEP 

person shall transfer scup between vessels at sea. In any instance 

when there is a violation of the possession limit on board a vessel carrying more 

than one person when the catch is commingled, the violation shall be deemed to 

have been committed by the owner of the vessel, or the operator of the vessel, if the 

owner is not on board. 

(3) Any scup taken contrary to this section shall, without avoidable injury, be returned 

immediately to the water from which taken. 

26-159a-16. Black sea bass (Centropristis striata): subsections (b) Commercial Fishing 

Moratorium and (c) Commercial Fishery Possession Limits are superseded by the 

following specifications. 

 (b) Commercial Fishing Moratorium. 

(1) No holder of a license or registration issued under authority of section 26-142a of 

the Connecticut General Statutes shall possess, or shall have possessed black sea 

bass unless said person: 

(A) is in immediate possession of a 2003 Black Sea Bass License Endorsement 

Letter for Connecticut waters, herein referred to as the “2003 Black Sea 

Bass License Endorsement Letter,” issued by the commissioner pursuant to 

this section which attests that: 

(i) the license holder made qualifying landings during the qualifying 

period and said landings were reported to the department in 

accordance with section 26-157b-1 of the Regulations of 

Connecticut State Agencies; or 

(ii) the vessel owner purchased, or was constructing or rerigging a 

commercial fishing vessel between January 1, 2000 and May 31, 

2003 for purposes of fishing with qualifying fishing gear, to be 

based on more than one form of verifiable written proof of such 

activity, provided said vessel owner has or will have made and 

reported qualifying landings with that vessel no later than 12 months 

immediately succeeding the effective date of this regulation; or 

(iii) the vessel made qualifying landings during the qualifying period and 

said landings were reported to the department in accordance with 

section 26-157b-1 of the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies; 

or 

(iv) the license holder is the recipient of a license transferred under 

section 26-142b of the Connecticut General Statutes, such license 

was transferred with a 2003 Black Sea Bass License Endorsement 

Letter, and such license holder made qualifying landings during the 

qualifying period and reported said landings to the department in 

accordance with section 26-157b-1 of the Regulations of 

Connecticut State Agencies or has or will have made and reported 
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qualifying landings in the 12 months immediately succeeding the 

date of the license transfer, whichever is later; or 

(B) is operating a vessel owned by a license holder who has qualified for an 

endorsement letter under subdivision (1)(A) of this subsection. During the 

operation of such vessel said endorsement letter shall remain on such vessel 

as authorization of the operator to possess black sea bass and shall not be 

used to authorize the possession of black sea bass on any additional vessel, 

except that said license holder shall be allowed to use said endorsement 

letter to authorize possession of black sea bass on any vessel said license 

holder owned prior to May 31, 2003 and that said license holder still owns.; 

or 

(C) is engaged in the hauling of lobster pots under the authority of section 26-

142a of the Connecticut General Statutes and is in possession of lobsters. 

(2) 2003 Black Sea Bass License Endorsement Letters will automatically be issued 

without application. Any person who does not receive a 2003 Black Sea Bass 

License Endorsement Letter, or is denied said letter, may appeal in writing to the 

commissioner. The only grounds for appeal is that the commissioner erred in 

concluding that the license holder did not meet the criteria in subclause (i), (ii),(iii) 

or (iv) of subdivision (1)(A) of this subsection. 

(3) No person shall take black sea bass with a trawl net if the qualifying landings for 

which the 2003 Black Sea Bass License Endorsement Letter was issued and under 

which that person is fishing did not indicate the taking of black sea bass by trawl 

net. 

(4) No person who has transferred a commercial fishing license according to the 

provisions of section 26-142b of the Connecticut General Statutes, with an 

endorsement letter issued under this section, shall qualify for a 2003 Black Sea 

Bass License Endorsement Letter based on the landings history for which the 

transferred endorsement letter was issued. 

(c) Commercial Fishery Possession Limits. 

(1) No person engaged in commercial fishing shall possess or land black sea bass in 

excess of the following possession limits that are based on Connecticut’s annual  

black sea bass quota as specified in the Black Sea Bass Fishery Management Plan 

of the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission: 

(A) during the winter one period defined herein as the period between January 

1 and April 30, inclusive, the possession and landing limit shall be 2,000 

pounds per bi-weekly period, except as provided in subparagraphs (D) and 

(E) of this subdivision, and the period target quota shall be 20% of 

Connecticut’s annual quota, cumulatively; 

(B) during the summer period defined herein as the period between May 1 and 

October 31, inclusive, the possession limit shall be 300 pounds, except as 

provided in subparagraphs (D) and (E) of this subdivision, and the period 

target quota shall be 95% of Connecticut’s annual quota, cumulatively; 
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(C) during the winter two period defined herein as the period 

between November 1 and December 31, inclusive, the possession limit shall 

be 300 pounds, except as provided in subparagraphs (D) and (E) of this 

subdivision, and the period target quota shall be 100% of Connecticut’s 

annual quota, cumulatively; 

(D) during each period the department shall monitor weekly landings and 

periodically adjust the possession limit if less than or more than the period 

target quota specified in subparagraphs (A), (B) and (C) of this subdivision 

is projected to be landed. The adjusted possession limit shall be calculated 

as (Q / T / W), rounded to the nearest 10 pounds or equivalent number of 

fish, where Q is the amount of Connecticut’s annual quota remaining in the 

period and T is the projected number of fishing trips per week landing black 

sea bass during the weeks remaining in the period and W is the number of 

weeks remaining in the period, except that in the lobster pot fishery when 

in possession of lobsters, the possession limit shall be 60 pounds. 

(E) When 100% of the Connecticut quota is landed the possession limit shall be 

zero pounds for all gear types. 

(F) When the target quota for a quota period is met the possession limit shall be 

zero pounds for the remainder of that quota period. 

(2) The possession and landing limits specified in subdivision (1) of this subsection 

shall apply to the vessel, regardless of how many persons are on board. Possession 

limits shall apply per trip or per day, whichever is the longer period of time. No 

person shall transfer black sea bass between vessels at sea. In any instance when 

there is a violation of the possession limit on board a vessel carrying more than one 

person when the catch is commingled, the violation shall be deemed to have been 

committed by the owner of the vessel, or the operator of the vessel, if the owner is 

not on board. 

(3) Any black sea bass taken contrary to this section shall, without avoidable injury, be 

returned immediately to the water from which taken. 

(4) When a weekly landing or possession limit specified in subdivision (1) of this 

subsection is in effect, no person engaged in commercial fishing shall possess or 

land black sea bass more than the stated weekly limit during each weekly period 

that begins Sunday morning at 0001 hours and ends the following Saturday night 

at 2359 hours. 

(5) When a biweekly landing or possession limit specified in subdivision (1) of this 

subsection is in effect, no person engaged in commercial fishing shall possess or 

land black sea bass more than the stated biweekly limit during each two week 

period that begins Sunday morning at 0001 hours and ends on the following second 

Saturday night at 2359 hours. 

26-159a-19. Spiny dogfish (Squalus acanthius): is superseded by the following specifications. 

(a) Commercial Fishery Possession Limits 
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(1) No person engaged in commercial fishing shall possess or 

land spiny dogfish in excess of the following possession limits that are based on the 

northern region spiny dogfish quota as specified in the Spiny Dogfish Fishery 

Management Plan of the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission: 

(A)  between May 1 and October 31, both dates inclusive, the possession limit 

shall be 7,500 pounds, except as provided in subparagraph (C) of this 

subdivision; 

(B) between November 1 and April 30, both dates inclusive, the possession 

limit shall be 7,500 pounds, except as provided in subparagraph (C) of this 

subdivision.   

(C) when 100% of the northern region quota is landed the possession limit shall 

be zero pounds.  

(2) The possession and landing limits specified in subdivision (1) of this subsection 

shall apply to the vessel, regardless of how many persons are on board. Possession 

limits shall apply per trip or per day, whichever is the longer period of time. No 

person shall transfer spiny dogfish between vessels at sea. In any instance when 

there is a violation of the possession limit on board a vessel carrying more than one 

person when the catch is commingled, the violation shall be deemed to have been 

committed by the owner of the vessel, or the operator of the vessel, if the owner is 

not on board. 

(3) Any spiny dogfish taken contrary to this section shall, without avoidable injury, be 

returned immediately to the water from which taken. 

Atlantic Menhaden (Brevoortia tyrannus) 

(a) Commercial Fishery Possession Limits. 

 

(1) No person engaged in commercial fishing outside of Connecticut state 

waters shall possess or land Atlantic menhaden while in Connecticut state 

waters in excess of the following possession limits that are based on 

Connecticut’s annual Atlantic menhaden quota specified in the Atlantic 

Menhaden Fishery Management Plan of the Atlantic States Marine 

Fisheries Commission. Beginning January 1, the possession limit shall be 

120,000 pounds until 75% of the annual quota has been landed, at which 

time the possession limit shall be 20,000 pounds until 90% of the annual 

quota has been landed, at which time the possession limit in the directed 

fishery shall be 0 pounds. Directed fishing means fishing for or landing of 

Atlantic menhaden with gears other than small scale or non-directed gears 

as defined in the Atlantic Menhaden Fishery Management Plan of the 

Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission. 

(2) No person engaged in commercial fishing in Connecticut state waters shall 

possess or land Atlantic menhaden in excess of the following possession 

limits. Beginning January 1, the possession limit shall be 12,000 pounds 
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until 90% of the annual quota specified in subdivision (1) has 

been landed, at which time the possession limit in the directed fishery shall 

be 0 pounds. 

(3) No person engaged in commercial fishing with small scale non-directed 

gears as specified in the Atlantic Menhaden Fishery Management Plan of 

the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission shall possess or land 

Atlantic menhaden in excess of 6,000 pounds once 90% of the annual quota 

specified in subdivision (1) has been landed. 

(4) The possession and landing limits specified in subdivisions (1), (2) and (3) 

of this subsection shall apply to the vessel, regardless of how many persons 

are on board. Possession limits shall apply per trip or per day, whichever 

is the longer period of time. The transfer of more than 6,000 pounds per 

day of menhaden between vessels at sea is prohibited. In any instance when 

there is a violation of the possession limit on board a vessel carrying more 

than one person when the catch is commingled, the violation shall be 

deemed to have been committed by the owner of the vessel, or the operator 

of the vessel, if the owner is not on board. 

(5) Any Atlantic menhaden taken contrary to this section shall, without 

avoidable injury, be returned immediately to the water from which taken. 

(6) When in possession of more than 6,000 pounds of Atlantic menhaden, the 

commercial fishing vessel operator shall: 

(A) prior to departure on any trip in which Atlantic menhaden will be 

possessed, inform the Department of Energy and Environmental 

Protection Environmental Conservation Police of the vessel’s departure 

and provide information that shall include, but not be limited to, the 

vessel’s name, vessel operator’s name, departure date and time, 

estimated return date and time and the port of landing; and 

(B) prior to offloading Atlantic menhaden inform the Environmental 

Conservation Police of the vessel’s name, vessel operator’s name, port 

of landing, and estimated weight of Atlantic menhaden on board. 

(7) The department shall monitor weekly landings and periodically adjust the 

possession limit if less than or more than the annual quota is projected to 

be landed before the end of the fishing season. The adjusted possession 

limit shall be calculated as (Q / T / W), rounded to the nearest 500 pounds, 

where Q is the amount of Connecticut’s annual quota remaining and T is 

the projected number of fishing trips per week landing Atlantic menhaden 

and W is the number of weeks remaining in the season. 

Jonah Crab (Cancer borealis) 

(a) Commercial Fishery. 

(1) No person engaged in commercial fishing by use of a pot or trap shall take Jonah 

crab except by lobster pot or trap meeting the requirements set forth in Sections 

26-157c-2 and 26-157c-4 of the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies. 

https://www.facebook.com/CTDEEP/
https://twitter.com/CTDEEPNews
https://www.instagram.com/ct.deep/
https://www.youtube.com/ctdeepvideos
https://www.linkedin.com/company/ctdeep


 
 

 
 

79 Elm Street 

Hartford, CT 06106-5127 

860.424.3000 

An Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer 

            

 

portal.ct.gov/DEEP 

(2) No person engaged in otter trawl fishing including scallop 

dredge fishing shall possess or land Jonah crabs in excess of 1,000 crabs. 

(3) The possession and landing limits specified in subdivision (2) of this subsection 

shall apply to the vessel, regardless of how many persons are on board. 

Possession limits shall apply per trip or per day, whichever is the longer period 

of time. Transfer of Jonah crabs between vessels at sea is prohibited. In any 

instance when there is a violation of the possession limit on board a vessel 

carrying more than one person when the catch is commingled, the violation shall 

be deemed to have been committed by the owner of the vessel, or the operator 

of the vessel, if the owner is not on board. 

(4) No person engaged in commercial fishing or acting as a seafood dealer shall 

possess or land Jonah crab: 

(A)  less than 4.75 inches carapace width; or 

(B) with ova or spawn attached or from which the ova or spawn has been 

removed; or 

(C) with claws detached from the body of the crab, unless also in possession 

of the body and not more than two claws per body are possessed. 

(b) Recreational Fishery. 

(1) No person engaged in sport fishing for Jonah crab, including by personal 

use lobster pot fishing, shall possess or land: 

(A)   more than 50 crabs per day or per trip whichever is the longer period 

of time; or 

(B)  crabs with ova or spawn attached or from which ova or spawn has 

been removed. 

Weakfish (Cynoscion regalis) 

(a) Commercial Fishery Possession Limits. 

(1) No person engaged in commercial fishing shall possess or land weakfish in 

excess of 100 pounds. 

(2) The possession and landing limits specified in subdivision (1) of this subsection 

shall apply to the vessel, regardless of how many persons are on board. 

Possession limits shall apply per trip or per day, whichever is the longer period 

of time. Transfer of weakfish between vessels at sea is prohibited. In any 

instance when there is a violation of the possession limit on board a vessel 

carrying more than one person when the catch is commingled, the violation 

shall be deemed to have been committed by the owner of the vessel, or the 

operator of the vessel, if the owner is not on board. 

(3) Any weakfish taken contrary to this section shall, without avoidable injury, be 

returned immediately to the water from which taken. 
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Justification 

Measures applying to American eel, Atlantic menhaden, black sea bass, bluefish, Jonah crab, scup, 

spiny dogfish, summer flounder, tautog, weakfish and winter flounder are necessary to maintain 

compliance with the mandatory provisions of the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission 

(ASMFC) fishery management plans adopted for these species under the Atlantic Coastal Fisheries 

Cooperative Management Act. Measures applying to minimum lengths of northeast groundfish 

species (pg. 2) are adopted consistent with Northeast Multispecies (groundfish) federal fishery 

management plans adopted under the Magnuson-Stevens Fishery Conservation and Management 

Act. 

 

These measures are also required to effectively manage Connecticut’s annual adjusted commercial 

fishery allocations of summer flounder, scup, black sea bass, bluefish and Atlantic menhaden and 

the New England region allocation of spiny dogfish. These measures provide Connecticut-based 

commercial fishermen the fullest opportunity afforded under ASMFC and federal fishery 

management plans. 

Under 16 U.S.C. Chapter 17 - Atlantic Coastal Fisheries Cooperative Management Act 

(ACFCMA) Section 5106, states are required to implement and enforce ASMFC fishery 

management plans. If ASMFC finds that a state has failed to implement mandatory measures of a 

Commission plan, the Secretary of Commerce is required to impose a moratorium on fishing for 

that species within the waters of the noncomplying state and prohibit landings of that species 

regardless where taken. 

Special Comment: 

The federal commercial minimum legal lengths for northeast multispecies and redfish are 

incorporated by reference as we currently do for some recreational northeast multispecies fisheries. 

Incorporating the new minimum sizes by reference to the CFR will eliminate the need to revisit 

these measures with each subsequent change in federal rules for species that rarely occur in state 

waters. 

Management Background:  

Winter flounder: Stocks in southern New England are in an overfished state. The low possession 

limit in this Declaration is mandated by ASMFC and is intended to eliminate targeted fishing, but 

prevent waste by allowing unavoidable bycatch to be landed. The possession limit was reviewed 

and reaffirmed by ASMFC in November, 2015. 

State Quota-Managed Species: The Summer Flounder, Scup and Black Sea Bass Management 

Board and the Bluefish Management Board of the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission, 

the Mid-Atlantic Fishery Management Council and NOAA Fisheries establish annual state specific 

commercial quotas for summer flounder, black sea bass and bluefish. Scup quotas are managed 

differently by season with January through April (Winter 1) and October-December (Winter 2) 
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being managed on a coastwide basis whereas in May through 

September (Summer) scup quota is allocated by ASMFC on a state specific basis. 

To allow equitable fishing opportunity for all participants in these commercial fisheries, to 

maximize the economic return of the fish landed, and to ensure that Connecticut does not exceed 

its quota allocation, the department is compelled to implement adjustments to the possession limits 

for summer flounder, scup, black sea bass and bluefish. For the summer 2022 black sea bass fishery 

(starting May 1, 2022), the department elevated the possession limit for black sea bass in the lobster 

pot fishery to 60 pounds (previously 10 fish), to provide additional opportunity for lobster pot 

license holders given the substantial elevation of Connecticut’s black sea bass quota for 2022 

(increase from 1% to 3.67% of coastwide quota) resulting from implementation of Addendum 

XXXIII to the ASMFC Black Sea Bass FMP.  

Tautog: Under ASMFC Addendum VI of the Interstate FMP for Tautog, each state was required 

to reduce both recreational and commercial harvest from 2008-2009 levels by 39%, which resulted 

in just 12,613 pounds or 2,913 fish as Connecticut’s target commercial harvest quota. The 10 fish 

possession first applied in 2012 produced landings less than half of the harvest target in 2013 and 

2014, and slightly over half of the harvest target in 2015. When the open access Restricted 

Commercial Fishing License was implemented in 2016, the department established a 4-fish 

possession limit for that license. The strategy was to provide some opportunity that was 

comparable to the prevailing recreational possession limit, yet fairly preserve opportunity for long 

time participants in the limited-access commercial fisheries. The 4-fish possession limit applied to 

the new Restricted Commercial Fishing License appeared to add negligibly to the 2016 landings. 

Amendment 1 to the Tautog FMP was implemented in October 2017 and required the states of 

Connecticut and New York to make a further combined 23% reduction in commercial harvest. The 

reduction to a 3 fish possession limit for holders of a Restricted Commercial Fishing License was 

a component of an appeal made by CT to the ASMFC Tautog Management Board at their May 1, 

2018 meeting to forego the full reduction required under Amendment 1, while at the same time 

keeping the possession limit for the restricted commercial license in line with the recreational 

fishery, which was reduced from a 4 fish limit to a 3 fish limit during the fall season. Amendment 

1 also mandated the implementation of a coast-wide commercial tautog tagging program to combat 

unreported and illegal harvest, particularly in the live fish market. Illegal harvest of tautog is 

widely considered to be a problem for effective management of the species, and is of particular 

concern in Long Island Sound due the overfished condition of the Long Island Sound tautog stock.  

Spiny dogfish: This species is managed under multiple jurisdictions with ASMFC having its own 

FMP and management measures while NOAA Fisheries establishes management measures 

through FMPs of both the New England and Mid-Atlantic Fishery Management Councils. Under 

ASMFC the coastwide quota is divided into northern (ME-CT), southern (NY-VA) and North 

Carolina regions. In August 2016, NOAA Fisheries increased the possession limit in federal waters 

to 6,000 pounds. This action triggered a conforming change in the ASFMC possession limit for 

state waters, and in October 2019, ASFMC maintained a 6,000 pound possession limit for 2019. 

In 2022, ASMFC took action to increase the possession limit to 7,500 pounds to conform to a 

corresponding increase to the federal waters possession limit. 
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Weakfish: This stock is depleted likely from a combination of 

natural causes and overfishing. Low possession limits mandated by ASMFC are intended to 

eliminate targeted fishing, but prevent waste by allowing unavoidable bycatch to be landed. 

Atlantic Menhaden: In December 2012, ASMFC adopted state by state quota management for 

this species effective April 15, 2013. The 6,000 pound commercial possession limit for small scale, 

non-directed gears established in this Declaration equals the “bycatch limit” maintained by 

ASMFC. In November 2017, ASMFC passed Amendment 3 to the Atlantic menhaden 

management plan, which resulted in Connecticut receiving a fixed minimum allocation of 2.4 

million pounds, a substantial increase from previous quota allocations (approx. 70,000 pounds). 

Connecticut prohibits the use of purse seines, the gear most commonly used in targeted menhaden 

fishing, and historically, with rare exceptions, virtually all menhaden trip landings in Connecticut 

were at or below the bycatch limit. The substantial increase in menhaden quota allocation to 

Connecticut in 2018 therefore created the potential for a substantial change in the character of the 

State’s menhaden fishery. The Marine Fisheries Program held a public informational meeting in 

Hartford, CT on March 26, 2018 to receive input on management goals for the Connecticut 

menhaden fishery. Additional comments were received from industry during a Lobster 

Conservation Management Team meeting held in Old Lyme, CT on March 29, 2018. 

Subsequently, Connecticut implemented a tiered possession limit plan for the 2018 menhaden 

fishing year: 120,000 pounds until 50% of the annual quota is landed, then 80,000 pounds until 

75% of the annual quota is landed, then 20,000 pounds until 90% of the annual quota is landed, at 

which time the directed fishery would be closed (landings of up to 6,000 pounds would still be 

permitted indefinitely under the bycatch limit). Additionally, possession limits for trips prosecuted 

in state waters were set at 12,000 pounds, and vessels intending to possess more than 9,000 pounds 

of menhaden were required to notify the Marine Fisheries Program via phone call prior to departure 

and offload. This management approach was intended to allow opportunity for utilization of 

Connecticut quota by vessels prosecuting the menhaden fishery outside of state waters, avoid 

localized depletion of menhaden within state waters, provide a conservative approach to tiered 

possession limit reductions given uncertainty around the rate at which landings would accumulate, 

and allow ample opportunity for law enforcement inspection of vessels landing menhaden. Based 

on the performance of the fishery in 2018, Connecticut is adopting a revised tiered possession limit 

plan for 2019 and will maintain this management scheme until further notice: 120,000 pounds until 

75% of the annual quota is landed, then 20,000 pounds until 90% of the annual quota is landed, at 

which time the directed fishery will be closed (landings of up to 6,000 pounds would still be 

permitted indefinitely under the bycatch limit). In addition, the threshold for phone call 

notifications has been reduced to 6,000 pounds, to correspond with the bycatch limit. These 

changes are intended to reduce the administrative burden of quota monitoring while still allowing 

for ample precaution against quota overages, as well as facilitate law enforcement inspection of 

vessels landing menhaden. 

Jonah Crab: The ASMFC Lobster Board approved a fishery management plan for Jonah crab 

effective January 1, 2016. The mandatory conservation elements of that plan are included in this 

declaration. Jonah crabs are rare in Long Island Sound. A few thousand pounds are taken annually, 

some from the eastern Sound and most from Block Island Sound. 
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Public Input/Notice:  

Public hearings were held at the time ASMFC mandated the measures pertaining to American eel, 

American lobster, Atlantic menhaden, black sea bass, bluefish, Jonah crab, scup, spiny dogfish, 

summer flounder, tautog, weakfish and winter flounder.  

On December 7, 2023, the Department held a meeting at Marine District Headquarters in Old 

Lyme, CT to receive input on how best to achieve the quota management goals outlined above for 

summer flounder, scup, black sea bass and bluefish in 2024 (see State Quota- Managed Species). 

Notice of the meetings was provided via Marine Fisheries News list-serve, which has 

approximately 1,000 subscribers including fishermen, media outlets and environmental groups. 

The public meeting was also announced and posted on the DEEP Fisheries web page. Attendees 

at the meeting, primarily quota-managed species endorsement holders and seafood dealers, 

developed and were in consensus with the proposed measures. 

Regarding the minimum lengths for species managed under the Northeast Multispecies FMP, all 

public input and notice to date has occurred through the federal fisheries management process, via 

both the New England Fisheries Management Council and NOAA Fisheries. The Northeast 

multispecies fish species affected by this Declaration (Atlantic cod, yellowtail flounder, haddock, 

pollock, witch flounder, American plaice and redfish) do not normally occur in Connecticut 

waters. Therefore, the regulations promulgated for these species pursuant to the federal fisheries 

management process will have no impact on state-water fisheries or fishermen. Federal permit 

holders receive direct notice of these changes from NOAA Fisheries. 

 

 

Declaration Authority 

Regulation 26-159a-22. Compliance with Interstate Fishery Management Plans. 

(a) The Commissioner may, by declaration, establish and adjust closed seasons, length limits, creel 

limits, trip limits, and trip limit adjustment values in order to comply with interstate fishery 

management plans and emergency actions adopted by the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries 

Commission or the U.S. Department of Commerce. 

(b) The Commissioner shall inform the public of all such changes at least 10 days prior to the 

effective date by placing posters at state boat launch areas, by issuing news releases, by mailing 

notices to bait and tackle shops and by mailing notices to all affected license holders. 

(c) Any declaration made under this section shall be for a period not more than 120 days provided, 

if notice of intent to amend regulations has been published under Chapter 54, such declaration 

shall remain in effect until said regulations have been adopted, but not longer than 240 days. 
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Connecticut General Statutes Section 26-102. Fish spawning 

areas and refuges. The commissioner may establish fish spawning areas and refuges on any 

waters; and the commissioner may establish closed areas and safety zones on public lands and 

waters and, with the consent of the owner, on private lands and waters, and close any such area to 

fishing and trespassing. The commissioner shall have emergency authority to declare a closed 

season on any regulated species threatened with undue depletion from any cause and, the 

provisions of section 26- 116 notwithstanding, if such cause is any person, firm or corporation 

engaged in commercial fishing activity, the commissioner shall have the additional emergency 

power to establish prescribed conditions for the operation of such commercial fishing activity, or 

suspend or prohibit the right of such person, firm or corporation to operate within such waters for 

such period of time as the commissioner deems necessary. The commissioner may, if the 

commissioner deems it necessary, close any waters, or portions thereof, in the inland district to 

fishing for limited periods of time. 
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