DEEP Marine Fisheries News



December 13, 2024

N24-46

Winter II Commercial Black Sea Bass Possession Limit Increase

NOTICE

Effective 0001 hours Sunday, December 15, 2024, the possession limit for the commercial harvest of black sea bass will be:

- 4,000 pounds per weekly period for endorsement letter holders.
- Reminder: each weekly period begins on Sunday at 0001 hours and ends 7 days later on Saturday at 2359 hours.

The Department estimates, as of Wednesday, December 11, 2024, 79.1% of Connecticut's commercial black sea bass quota has been landed.

For current commercial fishery trip limits and quota status, visit <u>https://portal.ct.gov/DEEP-TL</u> or call 860-434-6374, 24/7 for a recorded message of current possession limits.

The Department monitors landings and adjusts trip limits according to Department regulations in an attempt to provide fishing opportunity throughout the year for all participants in the commercial fishery. In addition, the Department strives to provide advance notification of trip limit changes, although this may not always be possible due to rapidly escalating or unanticipated landings. In such circumstances, only a short notification period may be possible.

For complete information on commercial fishing regulations please see: <u>https://portal.ct.gov/deep-ct-marineinfocircular</u>, or contact the DEEP Marine Fisheries Program by email at <u>deep.marine.fisheries@ct.gov</u>, by mail at PO Box 719, Old Lyme, CT 06371 or by calling 860-434-6043 between the hours of 8:30 AM and 4:30 PM, Monday through Friday.

PLEASE NOTE: The licensing office at OLMHQ will be closed on Friday, December 27, 2024

The Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer that is committed to complying with the requirements of the Americans with Disabilities Act. If you are seeking a communication aid or service, have limited proficiency in English, wish to file an ADA or Title VI discrimination complaint, or require some other accommodation, including equipment to facilitate virtual participation, please contact us at 860-418-5910 or by email at <u>deep.accommodations@ct.gov</u>. Any person needing an accommodation for hearing impairment may call the State of Connecticut relay number - 711. In order to facilitate efforts to provide an accommodation, please request all accommodations as soon as possible following notice of any agency hearing, meeting, program or event.