DEEP Marine Fisheries News



June 14, 2024

N24-26

Commercial Fisheries Possession Limit Changes

NOTICE

Effective 0000 hours, Sunday, June 16, 2024, the following possession limits will be in effect for Connecticut's commercial fisheries:

Black Sea Bass

- 150 pounds for holders of a Black Sea Bass License Endorsement.
- From lobster pots when in possession of lobsters: 60 pounds. No Black Sea Bass License Endorsement required. This does not apply to personal use lobster license holders.

Reminder: call-in required for black sea bass landings from lobster pots: To provide for timely monitoring of black sea bass landings from lobster pots, the Marine Fisheries Program is continuing the mandatory weekly call-in reporting requirement for black sea bass landings from lobster pots. Any commercial fisherman landing black sea bass from lobster pots is required to contact the Marine Fisheries Program weekly (deadline of 2359 hours on Mondays) by calling 860-447-4323 and leaving a message with the following information: the fisherman's name, commercial fishing plate number, the reporting week ending date (reporting weeks run Sunday through Saturday) and total pounds of black sea bass landed from lobster pots during the reporting week.

As of Wednesday, June 12, 2024, the Department estimates 37.8% of Connecticut's 2024 commercial black sea bass quota has been landed.

Scup

- 1,500 pounds for holders of a Scup License Endorsement.
- For Restricted Commercial Fishing License holders: 100 fish.
- From lobster pots when in possession of lobsters: 10 fish. This does not apply to personal use lobster license holders.

As of Wednesday, June 12, 2024, the Department estimates 25.7% of Connecticut's 2024 commercial summer period scup quota has been landed.

Summer Flounder

• 250 pounds for holders of a Summer Flounder License Endorsement.

As of Wednesday, June 12, 2024, the Department estimates 27.6% of Connecticut's 2024 commercial summer flounder has been landed.

REMINDER:

The possession limit applies to the vessel, regardless of how many persons are on board. Possession limits apply per trip or per day, whichever is the longer period of time. Transfer of black sea bass between vessels at sea is prohibited.

For current commercial fishery trip limits and quota status, call 860-434-6374 24/7 for a recorded message of current possession limits, or visit www.ct.gov/deep/TL.

The Department monitors landings and adjusts trip limits according to Department regulations in an attempt to provide fishing opportunity throughout the year for all participants in the commercial fishery. In addition, the Department strives to provide advance notification of trip limit changes, although this may not always be possible due to rapidly escalating or unanticipated landings. In such circumstances, only a short notification period may be possible.

For complete information on commercial fishing regulations please see: https://portal.ct.gov/media/DEEP/fishing/commercial/marinecircpdf.pdf, or contact the DEEP Marine Fisheries Program by email at deep.marine.fisheries@ct.gov, by mail at PO Box 719, Old Lyme, CT 06371 or by calling 860.434.6043 between the hours of 8:30 AM and 4:30 PM, Monday through Friday.

The Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer that is committed to complying with the requirements of the Americans with Disabilities Act. If you are seeking a communication aid or service, have limited proficiency in English, wish to file an ADA or Title VI discrimination complaint, or require some other accommodation, including equipment to facilitate virtual participation, please contact us at 860-418-5910 or by email at deep.accommodations@ct.gov. Any person needing an accommodation for hearing impairment may call the State of Connecticut relay number - 711. In order to facilitate efforts to provide an accommodation, please request all accommodations as soon as possible following notice of any agency hearing, meeting, program or event.