Connecticut DEEP Marine Fisheries News

n Department of Energy &
==> Environmental Protection October 30, 2023

N23-34

Winter Il Commercial Summer Flounder Possession Limit

NOTICE

Effective 0001 hours Wednesday, November 1, 2023, the possession limit for the commercial harvest of
summer flounder will be:

e 5,000 pounds per weekly period for endorsement letter holders

e The first weekly period will end on Saturday 11/4 at 2359 hours. Beginning on Sunday 11/5, each weekly
period will begin on Sunday at 0001 hours and end 7 days later on Saturday at 2359 hours.

e Call-in / Call-out is required under weekly landing limits: prior to departure and again prior to offloading
call EnCon Police at 860.424.3503 (24/7) and provide vessel name, Captain’s name, departure date,
return date, port of landing and prior to offloading the hail weight of summer flounder onboard.

For current commercial fishery trip limits and quota status, call 860-434-6374 24/7 for a recorded
message of current possession limits, or visit https://portal.ct.gov/DEEP-TL.

The Department monitors landings and adjusts trip limits according to Department regulations in an
attempt to provide fishing opportunity throughout the year for all participants in the commercial fishery.
In addition, the Department strives to provide advance notification of trip limit changes, although this
may not always be possible due to rapidly escalating or unanticipated landings. In such circumstances,
only a short notification period may be possible.

For complete information on commercial fishing regulations please see: https://portal.ct.gov/-
/media/DEEP/fishing/commercial/marinecircpdf.pdf , or contact the DEEP Marine Fisheries Program by
email at deep.marine.fisheries@ct.gov, by mail at PO Box 719, Old Lyme, CT 06371 or by leaving a
voicemail at 860.434.6043 between the hours of 8:30 AM and 4:30 PM, Monday through Friday.

The Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection is an Affirmative Action/Equal
Opportunity Employer that is committed to complying with the requirements of the Americans with
Disabilities Act. If you are seeking a communication aid or service, have limited proficiency in English,
wish to file an ADA or Title VI discrimination complaint, or require some other accommodation, including
equipment to facilitate virtual participation, please contact us at 860-418-5910 or by email at
deep.accommodations@ct.gov. Any person needing an accommodation for hearing impairment may
call the State of Connecticut relay number - 711. In order to facilitate efforts to provide an
accommodation, please request all accommodations as soon as possible following notice of any agency
hearing, meeting, program or event.
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